There´s a fire in the stove.

At least the morning was beautiful when the rest of the day wasn´t.

There´s a fire burning in my stove right now. It´s only 14C (57F) and it has rained heavily almost all day. Almost no wind though. There´s definitely a feeling of autumn in the air even if those knowing better says we still have summer here🙂

So here poor Nova sat, just in front of that tree, looking miserable.

Especially this cow and her calf was curious about what gave away those screams🙂

I was really interested in how Nova was going to react this morning after the debacle yesterday. She wasn´t to keen to leave the garden as it was and she kept a safe distance to the fence🙂 She walked on the other side of my car to the door and she behaved much the same when I came home. That fence (and hopefully all other) are now considered as evil and I think cows might be too🙂🙂🙂

Like always Bertil followed us on our walk this afternoon. But he didn´t like all that wet grass and gravel🙂🙂

She has no one to blame but her self but I do feel sorry for the poor thing. But this can actually help me in her training later on. I do hope I can teach her to walk around without a leash like my other dogs do and if she feels that all fences are evil she won´t follow any animal through them if she tries to catch them. That would make it considerable harder because there are lots of fences around here. They are remains from times when there were a lot more animals in this village.

Kirengeshoma palmata, Yellow wax bells. This normally never gets a chance to flower in my garden because of the frost. But the heat started early this spring.

It´s not much of a SciFi night at channel six today. Only the last episode of Smallville. The rest is Simpsons, Family guy (all reruns) and a film called Quarantine. But they do show Ice age 2 on another channel so I might look at that one again. Or perhaps I´ll go to bed and read a book instead. But first I´ll have a pot of tea and a sandwich or two🙂                   Have a great day!

Teodor sleeping by the pond yesterday evening. I´ve cheated with planting on that area as You can see. I hope this little mulberry tree will survive the winter here by planting it on that little hill I´ve made by the pond.

14 thoughts on “There´s a fire in the stove.

  1. Teodor is waiting for a goldfish to jump up and smack her in the head. Those dark photos look eerie. Almost alien. The sharper contrast makes them look photoshopped. Very good! Have a great weekend.

    • Hi Z&M!

      Or perhaps he is waiting for a frog, they have moved here now🙂

      The photographs get that strange look when I have adjusted the camera for taking photographs when its getting dark but it really is to light yet🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Glad Nova was a little calm today on the walk after the Fence Incident. Teodor seems to be sleeping very hard. BTW, we are on week 6 of the new Eureka season. Hopefully it will be coming your way soon. Hope the weekend weather is good for you. Love to the family!

    • Hi Robin!

      Week six already🙂 I guess it will start here around Christmas then🙂 I do hope they don´t wait until after New year though, it´s the only tv program I miss🙂

      I think he just was fooling us, lots of birds and frogs around the pond now🙂🙂

      I doubt Nova will trie to come close to that evil fence again🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Chriuster.

    • Hi Laurie!
      It´s never nice for anyone to taste the electric wire but perhaps this was a good thing for her after all. If it stops her from chasing animals in the future I guess it was worth it. But I felt so sorry for the little girl when it happened.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! i love the photo of teodor! napping on the job perhaps? i saw a perigrin falcon by my pool yesterday and later found a dead gutted bird right where it had been. i was planting all day and all of a sudden the heaven’s opened. it rained so hard that three people in the city drowned in their cars. weird weather. i am in bed and can hardly keep my eyes open. lots more work tomorrow, as sad as the fence incident was for nova, maybe it will work out for the good! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I guess he is trying to fool the world around him that he is sleeping🙂 To many frogs and birds around the pond that would be so nice to catch🙂🙂

      Even though it isn´t nice to see a gutted bird it is nice to see a peregrine falcon! I don´t think I´ve ever seen one but I did see one of those tiny falcons just the othyer day on a telephone wire. It was so small that I first thought it was a little parrot because of its rather yellow belly🙂🙂🙂

      Well I did wish You more rain but not so much that people drowned in it. We have the same kind of rains here too and it is even worse in Norway. Yes the weather does behave strange now!

      Yes I do hope this fence accident will do good for the future. It might help me to teach her how to walk without a leash in the future🙂

      Have a great day when You wake up again🙂
      Christer.

  4. Great photos, but they always are.🙂
    Love the sleeping Teodor but I just adore that angry little Bertil following you through the wet grass!
    Poor Nova, but if it helps her to learn later then I guess it was a good but painful lesson.
    It was hot and humd AGAIN here in the Midwest. I’m wishing for nice cool weather!
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi CIndi!
      Everyone adors that little angry cat🙂🙂🙂

      I do hope this helps Nova to keep closer if I unleash her. If fences are evil she most probably won´t try to run through them and we have lots of old fences here🙂🙂 but I did feel sorry for that little girl when it happened🙂

      Even though I do love a fire in the stove I wish we could getv some of Your heat instead🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    The interesting thing is, how did she get through the fence without hitting the wire? I can guess, though. Too interested in chasing something to feel pain. I know dogs who get out of their electric fenced yards for that reason but can’t get back in because the interesting pain-killing thing is gone.🙂
    Ah, well. If Nova has learned a lesson then it is all good.
    It was warm and humid here and did eventually rain a bit late in the day. Still warm and humid though.

    • Hi Caryn!
      It might be that the first scream from her came when she went in to the cow pasture. I´m guessing that the tail might have hit the electric wire. She had been gone for just a minute or two so I doubt that she had chased anything, it usually takes over twenty minutes to come back🙂🙂

      Cloudy and dark here this morning but the rain doesn´t fall any longer🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Late getting here, Christer, but I’ve been busy redoing my craft shop and fighting the rains, as well. Tested my new pop-up tent — and it failed. Didn’t keep out the rain and then collapsed. Hope the store will take it back… Maybe Nova has learned her lesson. Well, back to work.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      To bad the pop-up tent didn´t work as it should! Give them hell if they don´t take it back🙂🙂🙂

      I think she has learned her lesson🙂 I had big problems getting her to the garage just now because all cows stood beside it and looked at us🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

