What a disappointment.

Yesterday night. All lying photographs will get bigger and hopefully better if You click on them.

I´ve eaten lots of different tomatoes in my life, red, striped yellow, pear shaped, small big white and lots of others and none of them has been boring in the taste. So it was with great anticipation I tried my first Black Russian the other day.

The horses were very curious this morning and came real close. I like the color of this one but as we were walking away I saw that it looked like it has ice blue irises! Never seen that before and it made the horse look evil 🙂 🙂 🙂

I realized that I had forgotten to adjust the camera so some photographs look a bit bad.

Bertil accompanied us as usual.

I don´t think I´ve ever been that disappointed in my whole life, when it comes to tomatoes that is. The best I can say about it is that it at least isn´t awful 🙂 🙂 Water is the only thing I can say it tastes and somewhere I think I even can sense some taste of tomato as well 🙂 🙂 🙂 It is normal that the first tomato often does taste a bit bad so I did hope for the second one to be better but I´m afraid it tasted just the same, water. Not even some salt sprinkled over it brought out anything.

This old shack stands by the church down by the lake. A couple of years ago there also were a big yellow house standing here but it was in such bad shape they had to tore it down.

The little creek I love to walk by here has become a bigger brook down by the lake.

Yesterday was a perfect day, just enough warm with mostly sunshine and a light breeze. Today is still rather warm but every now and again it drizzles and it is that kind of drizzle that sort of gets through all clothes quickly. I think I might continue to work some in the garden despite the drizzle. I weeded out big parts of some flower beds yesterday and after that I planted most of what I had sown this spring. I still have some weeding to do and then this weather is perfect.

Mount Billingen. This mountain contains one of the biggest deposits of uranium in the world I´ve heard and many years ago they had a small mine there. They closed it down thankfully but now new mining companies wants to start mining again. That will never happen because the whole population is against it and this is something the local politicians doesn´t dare go against the people 🙂 🙂 🙂

The church in Bjurum.

I guess someone is burning hay on the other side of the lake.

But I guess it will be a lot of playing with my dogs as well. Nova´s temper is getting better now, She can cope with the other dogs getting what ever I have thrown before her one time, but twice is one to many 🙂 🙂 But every time she shows that aggressive side she´s not allowed to stay outdoors with us and has to go inside the cottage. I think she gets what I´m doing because she doesn´t bite the others that often but she does growl and bark a lot and the neck fur  stands up like the spikes on a hedgehog 🙂 🙂 But she´s getting much better 🙂

There are butterflies everywhere as soon as the sun shines.

I bought a mix of clematis seeds from Gardens North (no I´m not payed to mention them 🙂 It just tell You because it is a great seed firm and my favorite one as well) so I don´t have the name on it. I like it though.

Pardancanda norrisii, one of the plants I got at the plant swapping day.

I went to the grocery store in Gudhem this morning and I stopped by the lake on my way home. I couldn´t see a single bird 🙂 🙂 But I did see a hawk or falcon on my way home but unfortunately on a place where I couldn´t stop the car to photograph it. Well it is time for a cup of tea and then its out into the garden 🙂                                                                       Have a great day!

14 thoughts on “What a disappointment.

  1. hi christer! we finally had some rain last night! a small miracle! now i can plant my mums. i had the same experience when i planted heirloom tomatoes 2 years ago. they had no flavor and i was very disappointed. i am not sure why they are so popular? some of mine were very grainy too. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I´m so glad You finally got some rain! Long since You had a proper rainfall over at Yours now.

      I have no idea why anyone would like to grow tomatoes that doesn´t taste a thing 🙂 🙂 🙂 I don´t think that it is reason enough just because they are heirloom or any other reason to be honest 🙂 🙂 🙂 But these at least has a great color 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. I think this is the first time you got close up shots of the horses. Interesting. I noticed the far window on the shack shows a structural deterioration. That corner is losing it’s footing. If there is a low land on that side the structure will fall into it. Maybe it should be taken down too. I have never tasted a Black Russian tomatoe. So thanks for the tip. If I see them in the nursery we frequent I’ll know better than to try them. Thanks!

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes this was the first time they have come this close, this place is rather new to them and dogs can always be dangerous.

      I´m sure You´re right about that shack! My guess is that if winter gets tough this year too it will fall before spring. It has slowly fallen apart for years now. I don´t think they have anything in it any longer either.

      Keep away from black russian 🙂 But if You find a tomato called “Silvery fir tree” buy it! It gives the most delicious tomatoes You´ve ever tasted! I´ll buy seeds from that one next year!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Konstigt, när jag fick fem olika tomatplantor av en väninna för några år sen var Black Russian min absoluta favorit. Fast, snygg, syrlig och vansinnigt god med STOR tomatsmak – och jag är alltså tomatälskare! Måste var nått fel på dina!!
    Nu för tiden kan jag inte ha tomatplantor eftersom vi får potatisbladmögel på dom. Alltså efter flera år sen vi hade sjuk potatis.
    Sen har vi haft päronpest som också är en virussjukdom och som förmodligen kommit hit från dom vilda oxbären (Cotoneaster är nämligen värdväxt för päronpest). Men…det vackra lilla prydnaspäronet sågade vi ner och grävde upp idag, så nu hoppas jag inget mer blir smittat.

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Ja mina är då allt annat än smakrika 🙂 🙂 Ändå har de verkligen fått sol i år!
      Jag lade ned potatisodling i många år här på grund av potatisbladmögel. Men nu satte jag några blå Kongo riktigt sent och än är det lugnt. Synd att tomater också kan få det.

      Visste inte att cotoneaster var bärare av päronpest, men jag vet att silverpäron oftast har det i sig, de var faktiskt förbjudna att importera i många år. Hoppas att ni slipper mer skit nu!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Why should a blue-eyed horse appear any more evil than a blue-eyed dog or a blue-eyed human? Those paint horses often have one or two blue eyes. I think it has some genetic connection with the white hair that they have. It is startling when you first see it, though. Thanks for including the horse photos.
    Your Russian tomato might have gotten too much rain this past summer and so is too watery in the fruit. Happens with berries a lot, too. They will probably make better dried tomatoes than fresh since what little flavor is there will be concentrated.
    Rainy here as well. Drizzly on and off type rain with a cool breeze. Kind of nice actually. I have done nothing today except a bit of knitting and a lot of wasting time playing computer games and reading people’s blogs. 🙂
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I really don´t know 🙂 🙂 🙂 Perhaps because I never have seen that before and it looked so strange and it did stare at me 🙂 🙂 I´m not a horse fan to be honest, they scare me quite a lot 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I´ve had my tomatoes in the temporary greenhouse I built this summer so it isn´t to much rain, that would have explained it though. They have gotten lots of sun too. I got so disappointed since I´ve heard they are delicious. It happened to the wild raspberries here. The rain started just after I had picked some to make jam so my jam taste just like it should 🙂

      I haven´t done much either, showers suddenly appeared and after that I read a book instead 🙂
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer…i see you every day at joyce’s..i saw a dissapointment and wondered what it was…
    i haven’t had much luck with those either. tasteless. and mushy.

    happy to stop by today
    kary and l’il teddy
    (l’il teddy is named after joyce’s teddy…joyce saved me when Buddy died..sent me a big box of pet loss books ….and we have been friends ever since…i just love joyce and teddy !)

    • Hi Kary and welcome to my blog 🙂

      So it´s not only here then 🙂 I had heard so much positive about those tomatoes so I got very disappointed but it was nothing worse 🙂

      Joyce is very special in that way, she knows just what to do and when to do it! She is also the most generous person I know of!

      Have a great day and welcome back!
      Christer.

  6. Sorry about the tomato, Christer. There’s been a few I’ve tasted, along the way, with the same result and wonder what others like about them. I want to taste that kissed-by-the-sun flavor! The horse photos are beautiful. Remind me of a mural my daughter painted for her nieces, one year. I miss my horses but not the work… well, I must be off, So much to do and so little time. Enjoy your evening and remind Nova that there is such a thing as Mulligan stew!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Now at least I know there are more people that has gotten just as bad Black Russians as I have. But some say it is a tomato that tastes fantastic! Perhaps the seeds I bought was cross pollinated with some other kind and that it was just a bad combination?

      I like horses on the other side of a fence 🙂 Preferable both barbed and electric 🙂 🙂 I´ve only really liked two horses in my whole life to be honest, but even I have to admit that they are beautiful 🙂

      I´ll remind here every now and again 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Christer, if you lived closer, you could just come over to the Frog & PenguINN garden and pick a whole lot of tomatoes that rteally taste wonderful. Grenville likes them just between slices of bread with salt, pepper and mayonnaise. And, we also make tomato and pepper salad – lots of peppers here now and eggplant too. We agree that a tasteless tomato is not worth wasting one’s time on – heirloom or not.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I am a bit annoyed at myself because I failed with all tomato plants I sowed except for the black russian so it is the only tomato I have this year.

      I do like tomatoes that way too but I usually skip the mayo. I have nothing against mayo really but it isn´t my favorite thing to eat.

      You do have a great vegetable year this year! Well I still have those potatoes so it might be a half descent year here 🙂 But I don´t think we´ve had a better year for fruits and berries in years here!

      I really should live closer to You since You have the climate I love 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

