Daylily day.

Even though it is a rather warm morning it still feels a bit chilly. We are having the kind of rain that sort of makes its way through all the clothes, a kind of foggy drizzle shower if You can understand how I mean🙂🙂 It is really the perfect weather for the last day of vacation to be honest🙂

Some trees are changing colors rather early.

I don´t know how many varieties of day-lilies they have but I think it was around 320 that flowered yesterday.

Yesterday however the weather was just fine. It started out a bit rainy but then the sun broke through the clouds and it stayed that way most of the day. Perfect weather to spend most of the day outside in a garden-friends garden at a Daylily day.

The daylilies I do like are usually dark red.

They arrange a daylily day around this weekend every year and lots of people are coming. I´m not that great daylily fan myself to be honest but there are loads of other plants and trees that I like to look at and the biggest reason of them all, I get to meet a lot of garden friends that I normally only meets here in real life (even though we do meet on the internet🙂

Ahlstromeria.

Even though I live rather close this garden has a much milder climate than mine has. It is placed close to lots of water that helps to even out the cold and the hot while I live close to a huge bog that sort of does the opposite🙂🙂 So while there grows trees and plants in that garden that mostly grows further south and can be seen as rare here I have to look towards the north to find plants and trees that can manage a totally different climate🙂

This is more my kind of perennials, Purple Coneflowers. I wonder if this is the variety I brought home with me.

This variety I really like.

But we also always have a plant swapping day when we meet. Almost all of us brings plants we´ve either sown our selves or just have to many of in our gardens. Those that are new to gardening or doesn´t have many plants to spare still gets plants in this swapping🙂 It is actually a great way to get new plants for a very low cost. Somehow we all come home with more plants than we brought with us, no one of us can understand how that works🙂🙂🙂

Codonopsis something.

There are different ways in how this swapping works. We always gather in a big group and in some places they sort of have an auction like way. They show one plant at a time and the one shouting fastest and loudest gets the plant. I´m not to happy about this way because some people are just afraid of shouting out loud especially if they are new to this or doesn´t know a lot of people. I would most probably get everything I wanted because I´m loud🙂🙂🙂

Maple leafs.

We have another way to do this. First all walks around and looks on what other people had brought with them. Now it is easy to believe, that since most of us are what we call “garden freaks”  only rare plants would be accepted but that´s not the fact at all. Some plants that behave like weed in some gardens might be difficult in others. But there are of course rarities as well.

When all has taken a look we draw a number and that number decides who will get a chance to pick one plant first. We were 24 people in this swapping yesterday and I got number 13, my lucky number🙂  This process does take some time to be honest and when most of us has gotten the plants we most desire we call an open market. That means every one hurries to the rest of the plants to get all the other things we might want to have🙂🙂🙂

This water continues to flow beneath the grass.

In to this pond. Unfortunately I forgot to photograph the water flowing down from a mountain on the back of the house, that´s really great.

It is very rare that there is a single plant left after open market🙂🙂🙂 Like hungry piranhas we throw ourselves over what´s left and I think I got absolutely everything I wanted to have🙂 I´ll show You them later on because now I´ve placed them in quarantine for a while. Even though some has done their best to remove any spanish forest snails and their eggs (it is a feared slug amongst us with garden as a hobby because they multiply enormously and have no predators here in Sweden. They also eat everything and I know of people that removes almost a thousand from their garden every evening and still they just becomes more).

This cat just didn´t care about how many people walk around it🙂🙂

They had lots and lots of dragonflies there as well!

I don´t have that slug and really doesn´t want it either. So now they will have to stay in quarantine for at least a week before they get a chance to get out in to my garden. It is time for some breakfast and a cup of tea! Tomorrow I´ll show You some photographs of the surroundings.                                                                                                                        Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Daylily day.

  1. WOW! What a great way to spend the day! I’m not loud but I would probably be if it came to a special plant.😀 I have daylilies blooming right now and truthfully only like them because my sister gave them to me a long time ago. I also have coneflowers, now those I really like. I will be cutting off the dead blooms today. (My sister said to cut down the stem just above the emerging new bloom). Truly it looks like you had a nice way of wrapping up your vacation. Boy, that seems like it went fast. I bet even faster to you!
    That white cat looks one of my two white cats. (Ghost or Horton). I am drawn to black cats but also white ones. Some day I would like a tuxedo cat!😀
    Enjoy the last day!😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Yes it is🙂 and it is a great way to get new flowers for nothing really (well that´s almost how You get Your flowers at the gardencentre, for free I mean 🙂🙂🙂 ). Especially when the economy is like it is, just share with each other and have a good time🙂 It can be different vegetable plants as well, a great way to get a cheap vegetable garden🙂

      I think it is that way with daylilies, either one collects them or one gets some and have them only because they were a gift🙂🙂 But even I have to admit that some are them just look fantastic!

      Coneflowers are something I like much more🙂 I had rather a lot back in the days but they have died one after another and now I have none, except for the one I brought home with me yesterday and some small seedlings I sowed this spring. It is a great way to prolong the flowering season to cut of old flowers. As long as the flower doesn´t have a chance to make seeds it will continue to flower. But as soon as seeds are produced it has done what it exist for and stops flowering.

      They had yet another white cat like that but it was much bigger and it had a sort of grumpy look in its face🙂🙂 Both have ice blue eyes! Normally I prefer cats that looks like Bertil but it would be fun to have a Siamese one day, those I just love🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I see you have gotten the hand of dragonflies.🙂
    What a garden! It has everything. I envy people who like to do all that. It would be nice to have those kinds of beds around my property but I would have to hire staff. I let Nature take her course in my yard. I just make sure the grass parts stay mostly grassy.
    The green and purple coneflower is really interesting looking. Very different.
    It’s raining here. That’s fine. We need some. My foot is a little better so maybe I can take Rocky for a longer walk today.
    Hope your last vacation day is restful and enjoyable.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Well this dragonfly was very easy to photograph. It sat on the garden owners are for over ten minutes🙂🙂🙂 I don´t think I´ve ever seen that many dragonflies at the same time before! They were everywhere!

      I´m like You🙂 and I could never have a garden like that to be honest. It takes so much work to keep it that perfect and I´m not such a person to be honest. I must get that kind of coneflower to my garden too, I really like it.

      Some rain, some sun and cloudy in between here. It´s like walking in a steam bath when the sun shines but when it is cloudy and raining I´m out in the garden working. I´ve finally planted some of the seedling for this year. But it took a lot of digging weeds before I could start planting them🙂🙂
      I do hope Your foot gets better quickly!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Men åååååååå va vackert hos Karin, jag hade ju anat det innan men nu vet jag. Tack för att du fotade så man fick se lite. Den där lönnen i ljust o mörkt grönt föll jag för handlöst. Det är väldigt parkliknande man får för sig att det är stor tomt som bara den. Jadu det där med plantbyten är underligt, jag minns när jag var hos dig på en stor forumträff och inte hade med mig nått, jag var ju bara på genomresa. Inte skulle jag ha nått heller, men jag minns att bussen min var full med plantor likväl.
    Kram LjusnLotta

    • Tjänare Lotta!
      Ja det är en fantastisk trädgård! Men själv skulle jag ha ångest hela tiden för att jag skulle lyckas få den att förfalla🙂🙂🙂 Jag tror att till och med en person som inte bryr sig om trädgård skulle bli imponerad av hur den ser ut och av allt arbete som ligger bakom för att få den så fin! När dessutom omgivningarna är så vackra som där blir det helt fantastiskt.

      Den lönnen skulle inte vara dumt att ha🙂🙂

      Ja det är konstigt hur mycket växter som plötsligt följer med trots attg man inget skulle ha🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott vännen!
      Christer.

  4. I love the orange dalilies and wonder if they would grow well in the tropics like we have here in Florida. I don’t see any around. We are big on ground covers and palms and crawling ivy. Most of us plant orange trees, mango trees, lemon and grapefruit trees. They thrive here. Really good photos today Christer and can’t wait for the post tomorrow. I bet the garden owner you visited loves the fact there is a waterfall on the property. That is unique.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I know very little about daylilies so I have no idea if they like it in Florida. But I know daylilies are big in the US so I wouldn´t be surprised if there are at least some varieties that would work in Your garden.

      I would love to be able to have what You can have in Your garden but the green house effect doesn´t seem to want to help me with that🙂🙂🙂

      The waterfall is all man made but they have the right kind og ground with lots of big stones so it looks very natural. I only have pebbles and sand here🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Oh how lovely. The close up of the deep red day lily almost looks 3-D, like it is coming off the page to us. All the photos are exquisite. Sounds like you had a lovely day.

  6. hi christer! what a great idea and a fun way to get new plants. where do you put the plants in quarantine and how exactly does that work? the gardens are awesome! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      It is fun and this way its easy to get plants that one perhaps didn´t know existed.

      I place the pots on a plastic sheet in my garage and spread a thin line of salt like a fence around them. No slug or snail can pass that line without extreme pain and probably death as a result. So I can easily see if there´s any damages on the plants like if snails has eaten on them or even easier is to see their slimy tracks they always leaves when they move around.

      That is a fantastic garden but I don´t have the discipline to keep a garden that way🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Christer, I think a plant swap is an ideal way to share with other gardeners and get new plants. How fantastic. I wish there was something like that around here. You are loudest from practice with the dogs!! Glad you had a good time and looking forward to seeing your new acquisitions. Great coneflower and cat photos!! Sorry the vacation is over now, but it seems you got a lot done as well as had some rest.

    • Hi Robin!
      I was on my first plant swapping day fifteen years ago and was so nervous. I am rather shy even if most people doesn´t understand that🙂 I had never met anyone of these people except on the internet🙂 :-)It is quite popular these days and some can drive for hours to get to a plant swapping day🙂 It just takes one person that asks around if more are interested, usually they are🙂

      The one having the meeting usually offers the coffee but otherwise people brings something to eat and everyone shares with all the others🙂 I´ve hold a couple of swapping days myself and it´s really fun and exhausting🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Love all the flowers. The coneflower is one of my favorites. I wish we had something like the swap around here. It would be fun to get plants like that.Didn’t know that there was so many types of daylilles.
    Barb

    • Hi Barb!
      It is something special with coneflowers🙂
      Why not ask via the internet? You will be surprised how far some people are willing to drive to participate in things like this! And it´s not only flowers that is swapped this way, my first swapping I got twenty fresh eggs🙂🙂🙂 This time someone brought small concrete figurines to have in the garden🙂 I´ll see if I can borrow a photograph of them and show here in my blog.

      There are even loads more of different daylilies🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. The plant swap is a great idea, but you are so right about getting more flowers than you expected. We got quite a few day lillies after a recent plant sale; hopefully the bulbs will do well and rebloom next year cause i had to plant them in a hurry.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Yes I always get more plants than I originally had in mind🙂🙂🙂

      Daylilies can be stubborn and for quite some time when they are moved. So even if they don´t flower next year don´t give up. They will when they have forgiven You for disturbing them🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. Oooh, I so wish we had a plant swap day, here. What a great way to get plants and to meet people who share your interest. I love that one curved garden edge of shaded plants. Need to copy that for my front yard — and, figure out how to not let them burn in the sun, too. Grrr. The pictures, today, were breathtaking, especially the gray tint creek with birch trees. Thanks for sharing. Come visit when you can.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      You are used to organize things so why don´t You ask people You know if they would like to participate in a swapping day? It can be perennials, bushes, trees, vegetables, pot plants and I´ve gotten twenty fresh laid eggs one time and this time someone brought small concrete figurines for the garden that she had made herself. It´s up to those participating to make the rules. The one having the swap offers usually coffee but all the others that comes usually brings something to eat and everyone shares with all the others. This is also a great way to get new friends🙂

      This garden is simply fantastic! but since I don´t have any discipline what so ever I´ll never have a garden like that🙂🙂🙂 So You can imagine how I enjoy looking at this one🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

