And off to the vet we went, again.

The morning was surprisingly warm and it hasn´t gotten much warmer since then to be honest.

The weather has taken a turn since yesterday and this morning as well. It is cooler and it rains quite a lot at the moment. We went down to the creek this morning and I regret it almost immediately.  I didn´t want them to walk in the high wet grass where ticks loves to stay and the first thing Hector did was to walk in there. So I told him to come back just to see Orvar walking in there instead.

The oat is getting yellow now.

Purple loosestrife. I would like to have this one in my pond but it is said to be extremely weedy.

So I told Orvar to come back and he simply refused. No matter what I said he just refused and suddenly he just laid down in the grass. I must admit that it is hard dragging a 99 pound dog from a place he refuses to leave 🙂 🙂 I think I might have broken a finger when I tried to lift him up 🙂 🙂 🙂 it hurts like h… at the moment but I can move it 🙂 While I was occupied with Orvar Hector naturally had to walk in there again, so they both had to wear leashes for the rest of the walk along the creek.

The forbidden forest.

I think this might be a reaction towards the fact that I have had to care about Nova a bit more since her ear got bad. Even though none of the boys would like her medicine or me looking in their ears they still probably think she gets way to much attention at the moment.

And that is something I have to keep on doing for a while. Nova started to shake her head yesterday evening again and it was her left ear that troubled her again. So off to the vet we went again and the vet told me that her ear is made to get infected. It looks like a moon landscape in there. Lots of mountains and craters. So she will continue with the antibiotics for ten more days and this time I have to drop the cortisone straight in to her ear.

Nova may not be a big dog but she sure knows how to put up a fight 🙂 🙂 🙂 I´m supposed to drop three drops two times a day straight in to her ears and I tried some minutes ago 🙂 🙂 🙂 I think I eventually managed to get those drops in to her ear because she doesn´t shake her head any longer 🙂 By the way, Orvar, Hector and I are the best of friends again 🙂 As soon as we had left the creek they were released from the leashes and after that they behaved perfectly and has done so all day 🙂

It is time for me to have something to eat now. I haven´t had anything since breakfast seven hours ago. The tea is already by my side and I think I´ll make a sandwich or two 🙂   Have a great day!

 

24 thoughts on “And off to the vet we went, again.

  1. so sorry to hear of the infected ear, i wonder if you could wait until sleeping then drop the drops in,, the sunlight in theone photo is so lovely.Hope the finger heals soon.The relationship you have with your four legged friends is a wonderful thing

    • Hi Laurie!
      I think I would have to sedate her then 🙂 🙂 🙂 Somehow I will win that battle 🙂 🙂
      I hope my finger gets better soon too, I really need it at work on monday 🙂 🙂
      Yes it is a wonderful thing, at least when we cooperate 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Kids!! They can be difficult, but we all love them a bunch anyway. Sounds like a frustrating walk!! Poor Nova, and poor you having to wrestle drops in the ear. It is worse trying to do it to a cat though. Yikes that gets scary. Here, purple loosestrife is outlawed as it is an extremely invasive species. I would stay away from it in your garden. I love the photo of the forbidden forest; that dark entry looks truly ominous! Enjoy your Friday and the whole weekend. Then it is back to the old grind.

    • Hi Robin!
      Yes so true, I wouldn´t want to be without them 🙂
      I´m not sure I was especially successful the first time I tried to get those drops in to her ear 🙂 🙂 and that´s true, cats are much worse!

      They say that the garden varieties of the purple loosestrife are much calmer in a pond so I might try one of those. But at the same time I´m not sure its worth the risk 🙂 🙂

      To me the forbidden forest is unpleasant and I´ll never go there again. Its something with that place that just feels nasty.

      Yes only today and the weekend left, then back to work. It´s not as if I don´t like my job, its just that I´d rather be rich enough to stay at home instead 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. I had blood tests and a CT Scan at the lab this morning and came back so tired I too took a nap. I had to be there by 7AM. But it’s part of my yearly exam. Those dogs act like toddlers. Maybe their brains stop growing after the toddler stage and they stay that way for the rest of their lives. Nova seems to be getting her fair share of the Summer alergies over there. Maybe she’ll do better in winter. It’s just as hard to administer ear drops to cats. Trust me on that. Have a great weekend. Is this your last on vacation? Do you start back to work Monday?

    • Hi Z&M!
      It is tiresome to be at a hospital no matter what one is doing. I would have taken a nap when I came home too.

      They say that dogs are like three years old children and that was just like Orvar behaved today 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I almost wish Nova had allergies instead of this. Her ear is full of places inside that can hide all kinds of infections so this is something I have to expect all year long for the rest of her life it seems.
      Thankfully I´ve never had to give ear drops to any cat 🙂 🙂 🙂 It´s hard enough to give it to a dog that doesn´t want it 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Yes this was my last day of vacation for this time. So back to work on Monday and no holiday until christmas I´m afraid. But I´ll take my last vacation week during christmas instead 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I know how you feel. I sometimes wonder WHAT Mele is thinking when she usually minds me very well..but but suddenly there are times when she acts like she is totally deaf. Like dashing across the street to meet a total stranger she has never in her life met and acts like he is a long lost friend! Allows the man to even pick her up??? And meanwhile I am shouting to the top of my lungs to “COME! COME! MELE! COME HERE!” to absolutely no avail. She is determined and I have suddenly become chopped liver to her. Leash time! Which she is usually on out front. There goes my trust!! 🙂
    My first instinct is to smack her upside the head when I finally manage to get my hands on her. I don’t, of course, but I would like to! I admit it!
    You are soooo patient, Christer! Of course there are street here with passing cars. I have lots to be frighten for. Ticks probably won’t kill Ovar and Hector. Still, it is so frusterating when they just so blatantly disobey!! Sheesh!!
    Lovely photo. I especially loved the “forbidden forest” photo. With a mind that dwells often in Fairy Tales, it is no wonder it sparked my imagination. I remember you telling me about the bog and your feelings about not entering. 🙂
    Enjoy your day!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      Yes what is that 🙂 🙂 Orvar is normally the best behaved dog there is but lately he has become deaf 🙂 Perhaps he is by the way, his mother and grandmother did become deaf rather early. I´ll have to check that out! Unfortunately he also panics after a while and then he does it´s absolutely impossible to reach him. I totally understand how You feel 🙂 🙂 🙂 and I´m afraid I wasn´t especially patient this morning 🙂 🙂 🙂 The problem is that ticks spreading meningitis has been found not far from here this summer, so they might actually kill them. I can´t remember anything like that happen when I was a kid. Onme got a tick, removed it and that was that. Now days we can die from having them on us!!

      I´ll never go in to the forbidden forest again, it feels creepy just passing that place. But the rest of the bog is my favorite place 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Stackars lilla Nova som har sådana besvär med öronen:( Hoppas verkligen att det går att få bukt med eländet. Att hindra stora “bestar” från något de inte vill är oftast förenat med “livsfara” ;)) Hoppas att ditt finger mår bättre i morgon. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare monne!
      Hon har det inte lätt med örat sitt den lilla damen. Problem kommer hon att få har jag förstått, bara hon slipper värk i det får jag nog vara glad.
      När Orvar väl bestämmt sig har jag inte mycket att sätta emot 🙂 🙂 🙂 Tur att han är in i själen snäll och godmodig 🙂

      Fingret känns väl inte allt för bra idag, men det gör bara lite ont 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Have you ever seen the movie “The Village” by M. Night Shyamalan? The woods in that movie remind me of your “Forbidden Forest”. The movie got bad reviews but I liked it anyway, even though I kinda figured out what was going to happen. Still, I liked it. I LOVED his movies “The Sixth Sense” and “Signs” but the rest haven’t been very good. 😦
    Blue had a BAD ear infection and I was unable to treat it. He actually showed me his teeth. (He’s never done THAT before so it must have really hurt) anyway, I finally got that “waxy ear medicine” that I still can’t remember the name of! It’s a one time treatment and it worked wonderfully. I will try to remember to ask at work what it is called. 🙂
    Enjoy your weekend! I know what you mean about wishing you were rich enough to stay home and just tend to your pets and garden!
    😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I´ve heard about that film but never seen it. But I really don´t like walking in to that part of the forest to be honest.

      Thankfully this infection in Novas ear doesn´t seem to hurt, just itch which can be bad enough to be honest. So I just have to aim good and work fast or I´ll miss her ear 🙂 🙂 🙂

      It would be nice to just have a couple of millions so I wouldn´t have to work 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. hi christer…..i will make a deal. i will give nova her drops if you give teddy hers! teddy runs when she even sees the bottle. when i try to give her eye drops, she squeezes her eyes shut so tight i can hardly pry them open. now i show her a treat she loves and she knows if she lets me give her the drops, she gets the treat. it still is not easy though. just 3 more days for the cone! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I have to admit that I have it so much easier with our drops than You have with Yours 🙂 🙂 🙂 Nova can´t shut her ear like Teddy can her eyes 🙂 But it´s great that it works with treats 🙂

      Only three more days! I´m glad everything has worked so fine even though I can imagine You have had to keep Your eyes open so that she cant scratch her eyes. Soon You can relax again 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Christer,
    Dogs can be so stubborn. When Gracie saw I was going out yesterday, she ran out her dog door and stayed there just looking at me. I had to have my nephew come in the house so Gracie came in to visit then very nicely got into the crate.

  9. Christer, beautiful photos from he walk (as always). We don’t have any pets now, but do rememebr times when we each had cats or dogs and had to give them meds. Hope Nova gets her full dosage done and is feeling better soon. Maybe Hector and Orvar were feeling a bit jealous that she was getting more attention. Sorry the vacation is nearly ended. It’s been great sharing your vacation, but no thanks to sharing work as we are both retired and find ourselves much too busy to work! Enjoy the weekend.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Thank You 🙂

      I think that You are right about Orvar and Hector feeling a bit jealous, so now I´ve started to give them a lot of more attention.
      I think I might have given her way to much medicine in her ear today 🙂 🙂 🙂 but now I at least know it has gone down in to the ear 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I´m at least happy I don´t hate my work so it isn´t that hard to start on monday. But it sure would be nice to be able to stay home for the rest of the summer and early autumn 🙂 🙂
      I´ve understood that it is after retirement the busy life starts 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. Hi Christer, did I miss something? Why do you call that particular part of the forest, forbidden? What happened in there? It does look a little dark and scary from the photo but I also bet it is quite beautiful and quiet while walking through it.
    Little, scary Gnomes in there? 🙂

    • Hi Chris!
      I´ve been to that part of the forest two times and I can feel that I´m not welcome! I feel that I´m not allowed to walk there by something and it´s always a relief to get out from that place. It is very quiet in there, not even animals seems to like it there. I can never see any animal tracks going in there when the snow has fallen and very few birds sings in there. So I call it the forbidden forest.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  11. You mean Chris, not Cindi 🙂 Wow, that does sound a wee bit spooky…a real haunted forest…Forbidden is a good name. When you walk through there with the dogs, how do they behave?
    Have a great day too~Chris

    • Hi Chris!
      I´m so sorry! I do that sometimes and I think I look more at the symbols You have (if there isn´t a photo showing You) than I look at the names. I´ll keep a better look on whom I answer in the future!

      It does feel nasty walking there and I know my old dog Erna didn´t like to go there either. She tried to make me not walk in there and when I did she refused to leave my side. It is a nasty place! The ones I have now have never been to that part of the forest and they show no interest to go there either. I´ve always wondered what ever has happened in there or what ever stays in there. Thankfully the rest of the forest is so much more pleasant to walk in 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  12. Ha! Oh that’s ok bout the names….it’s hard to keep track of everybody that comments, I’m sure! I can’t remember my own name half the time! 🙂
    Kind of like that saying “Whatever happens in Las Vegas…stays in Las Vegas”…Same with the Forbidden Forest…or so we hope, right? 🙂
    If the dogs don’t care to go in there then it really must be haunted by some not very good spirits as their senses are so much keener than ours! Yikes!

    • Hi Chris!
      🙂
      Yes I do hope what ever is in there stays there 🙂 I have never heard of any stories about anything ever happen there, but the bog I live beside as well as other bogs nearby have been used to sacrifice both things and humans (probably before the Vikings)so it might be something like that.

      Christer.

Leave a Reply

