I got a bit surprised.

It is one of those just perfect summer mornings that one longs for all year. Sunshine, 10C (50F), almost no wind and very few flies in the air. Lots of mosquitos around the ankles though but those I don´t mind that much. Some smaller birds are still singing in the trees and both cranes and geese can be heard from a close by field. But we saw just one deer on the whole walk even though we were out pretty early today.

Can You see the deer?

It was very nervous so I doubt that it is one of the regulars.

I was on my way to the store yesterday when I took a look at my plum tree. I couldn´t say what it was at first bit it did look a bit strange. It is so full of plums now that even the thickest branches are hanging low. I walked around the tree and one of the biggest branches was hanging very low, in fact it was lying on the ground! It hadn´t broken anywhere it just sort of had given up.

One of the not so bad flies🙂

So instead of going to the store I brought my chain saw and started working. I don´t know how many hours I worked but I was exhausted when I had finished the job. The branch was almost as thick as both my thighs put together and still it couldn´t stay up with all those plums on it. Well perhaps stem is a better word to use than branch because I now have two of that stems branches by my pond instead.

I have an Aralia in my garden but I have absolutely non idea which kind it is. It doesn´t spread and it is over six feet high (180 cm). That I know because I´m six feet high🙂 The berries are loved by the birds.

The wild plum tree gives yellow plums and I think I´ve eaten those before when I lived in Gothenburg. They were delicious but very small.

I was thinking of getting a bigger pine branch out in the forest but now I´ll use these two instead. Look at the photographs and tell me if You think I should change how they are lying, as it is now they are lying in a test position🙂🙂 I was thinking about whether I should save the old plum tree or if I should cut it down and let the wild plum that grows from its roots stay instead. Well I guess the old plum tree took that decision for me. Now only half of the old tree is left.

Here You can see both branches from the plum tree by the pond. This is just a test and I´m willing to change their positions. I´m thinking of letting a clematis climb over at least one of them, perhaps both. Do You think I should change how they are lying? Perhaps I should turn them up side down if You understand how I mean?

Teodor loves his new scratching pole🙂 I would have liked to save some of the smaller branches and twigs on it but it just became to heavy to move then🙂🙂

When I had finished cutting tree and removing twigs and branches I thought I just as well could move the lawn too. I have to admit, in hindsight, that it was a quite stupid idea🙂🙂 It was almost 29C (84F) and I had been drinking way to little water to be honest but who cares about those things really🙂🙂🙂 So today I´m paying the price for my stupidity. My body aches all over and my joints are screaming at me that I am rather stupid sometimes🙂🙂🙂

I haven´t been able to properly mow the lawn here for over seven years🙂🙂

It is not a healthy plum tree as You can see here. It is hollow and just a matter of time until the rest falls as well.

This mosquito was stuck with its feet in a web. I can´t say I felt sorry for the poor girl especially since it was full with blood.

So today will be a day of quiescence and repose. Well I must go to the grocery store but otherwise nothing special will happen today🙂 It is already getting much warmer and my dogs are sleeping in the shadows outside. They too will have a day of serenity🙂                   Have a great day!

So many things to look at, everywhere🙂

16 thoughts on “I got a bit surprised.

  1. Thats a funny photo of one of the dogs almost getting hit with the end of a broom. “What was that for”, he asked? Well the plum cut shows that it was dying so maybe it’s best left as is. Were you eating those plums, the fruit from the tree? I would miss it if it was a fruit bearing tree that you liked. My Mango tree died suddenly. I think the frost got to it last winter but it was so tarnished in brown muck that I had to remove it. Our helper up the street removed it with his truck. It’s sad to see them go when they fed you so well. In this case several neighbors enjoyed the fruit. Drink lots and lots of water!

    • Hi Z&M!
      No she wasn´t even close to be hit 🙂 It´s just leaning towards the stairs🙂🙂 She´s actually looking at the swallows flying in to the nest they have under the tiles🙂🙂

      Yes the tree has been dying for years but it takes so much longer for a tree to give up. I love those plums and I think KI can get the exact same sort again if I want to, it´s not to unusual. But since there is a wild plum growing up from its roots I might just save that one instead, I´ll just have to taste their taste first🙂
      ´
      Yes, Mango trees and frost doesn´t go well together so I guess that´s what got to it. It is sad but that´s life I´m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Christer,
    It happens that way. You start what you think is a small job or one which won’t take too much time then one thing leads to another, the job grows and time just flies.

    • Hi Kat!
      Yes that´s how it works🙂
      I didn´t do much yesterday though and this day will be much the same I think🙂 But I have to admit I did have fun using my chainsaw again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. A few moments of peacefulness for us too. What a nice place to visit…and no mosquito’s for us!🙂
    I just wanted to say that the wood around the little garden area looks nice..but..I was thinking of taller and thinner poles sort of fashioned like the American Indian Tee Pee. A bit of a shallow trench scraped out around the area, the ends of the poles stuck in and then secured when filled in..and tied at the top..forming the Tee Pee. Very popular here to grow green bean and other vines on. Anyway…🙂 just an idea. The only thing about the way it is now…the dogs can still run over the top of it.. you know? With all the brances available to you, it would look so rustic and pretty..and easily replaced. A bit of wire could hold them together.
    I know. It’s not my business..but..🙂
    So nice to be back, Christer..
    Have a nice day..or is it tomorrow where you are?
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      It is nice with those moments of total peacefulness🙂 That´s a popular way to grow vines on here too, but then the tipi must be made of iron or my dogs eventually will tear it down🙂🙂🙂 The two brothers managed to break a four inch thick tree just by running in to it last winter🙂🙂🙂 I´m grateful for all suggestions🙂

      It was tomorrow when You wrote Your comment🙂 I´m nine hours ahead of You🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer…at least you are still getting some warm weather! i wonder what winter will bring for all of us this year? i have never seen a summer like this so i don’t know what to think. i like the way the branches look around the pond. theodor seems to like them too. i think you should take the rest of the days to relax since your vacation is almost over. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I´m glad we still have a bit of summer left here🙂 But it won´t be that long until autumn comes I´m afraid, the frost usually comes first week in September. If I look on all rowans here and how many berries they have old folklore says we´re going to have yet a nasty winter. I can´t remember when we had this many rowan berries before. But I do hope the old folklore is wrong, I really want a mild winter now🙂🙂

      I changed one of the branches a bit, I´ll try to remember to take a photograph of it later today.
      I do need to buy the panels for the wall though and start cutting and painting them, but I can do most of that work in the garage and put them up later. But I´ll do nothing today🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. AHA! Now I understand! Silly me here with a little ten pound or dog with no one to chase! Those sticks sound a little….NO…a lot silly now.🙂 Yep..scratch all of the above!
    Take care and good luck, Christer!
    Mona

    • 🙂
      It´s not a stupid idea though, even if my 99 pond dogs has a tendency to sort of destroy a lot while playing🙂🙂🙂

      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    Ah well, you get days like this one. Something leads you astray and before you know it you are doing a lot of work that you didn’t intend to do when you got up in the morning.🙂
    I bought some plums at the farmer’s market last Saturday that might be similar to your wild yellow plums. These were yellow and about the size of a cherry tomato. They taste very good. I might try to propagate some.
    The basil still lives. We had a gully-washer of a thunderstorm an hour ago. I thought they might get washed out but they are hanging in there.
    The picture of Nova watching the birds is so expressive. I think it might be my favorite.
    I saw a fox this morning. She’s living in the rockery beside the church and she has a couple of cubs. This was the first time I’ve seen her. She was leaping in and out of the neighbor’s hedge. I suppose she was after a mouse or something. Eventually she trotted off to the swamp behind my house. One thing for sure, if there are foxes around, the coyotes must have moved on.
    Hope your day went well and your sore muscles have calmed down.

    • Hi Caryn!
      But I did have a lot of fun with my chainsaw🙂🙂🙂

      Those plums sounds just like these (well I hope they´ll taste good anyway🙂 ) The wild plum comes from probably one of the more common rootstocks (that they use for grafting on) that are used in at least this part of the world so I wouldn´t be surprised if it is the same plums. If You sow one of those You´ll most likely get exact the same plum later on.

      I just don´t understand how anyone can make basil survive🙂🙂🙂

      I haven´t seen a fox for a very long time now but I did hear one some nights ago. But we´ve had a male lynx in the area so I think he has scared most animals away. I haven´t even seen the big badger for a very long time now. I do hope the lynx moves on (even though I do like them a lot) so the other animals comes back again. Coyotes however is nothing we have to think of here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I think they look good the way they are and if you turn them over, wouldn’t they curve up too much?
    I like the idea of clematis growing on them.
    My clematis is out of control. It didn’t do this last year but now it’s all over the side of my porch and up over the railing and threatening to cover the windows. but I like it.😀
    Silly Zooey and Me! Christer would never hit his dogs!
    But I’m sure you were just kidding.😀
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I have moved the branch in the background some and I´ll try to remember to take a new photograph later today. I think You are right, it wold most probably curve up to much if I turned them around.

      Most clematises I can grow here aren´t able to grow that much (which I would love them to do). Last winter killed one of the hardiest I had and that one covered the old plum tree. Now both of them soon will be gone. So I´m thinking of perhaps a clematis with dark blue flowers, like the one I´ve shown here earlier called The President. Or perhaps a dark red one. But it must be the ones that only the root survives during winter.

      Yes I´m pretty sure he was joking🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. such lovely photos,, I’m trying to choose my favorite,, the one with Theodor sharpening his claws or the beautiful dog,, (name escapes me ) sitting on the stoop,, just brilliant.Oh the mosquitoe stuck in a web, good place for the nasty thing,, sorry not a fan,,

    • Hi Laurie!
      I do like Nova sitting on the kitchen stairs. She always looks at something that dog🙂🙂

      And yes a web is a great place to have mosquitos🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

