The last week of my way to short vacation.

Yesterday mornings sunrise.

I know that most of You living in many other countries never even get close to have five weeks of payed vacation every year, but still I feel it is way to short 🙂 I think ten weeks would be enough 🙂 🙂 🙂 But I doubt those employing us would like that especially much 🙂 🙂 🙂

We´re having a beautiful summer morning here, I´ve heard cranes and geese flying around so now they are gathering here to get the strength to move south again. They will stay here for quite some time eating as much as they can and some may even stay here during winter if it doesn´t get to cold, like it has these two last winters.

I´ve painted three quarters of my cottage the last two days and now I only have the side left where I need to change some boards before painting it. I´ll drive to Falköping tomorrow to buy that because I got up very early to paint the southern side of the cottage before the sun makes it to hot. I think I might have to paint that side one more time because the sun does its best to destroy the paint 🙂

The neighbor farm has new kittens this summer. Three if I counted right.

Nova is sitting on the kitchen stairs looking bored. She has just declared me the most boring human in the world because I have refused to play with her while painting the cottage and writing here in my blog 🙂 She also thinks the boys are just s boring since they refuse to play with her if she bites them in the legs or if they win any game they play 🙂 Every now and again she sighs so loud one could think death would be funnier than living with us 🙂 🙂 🙂

Thunderclouds were building up yesterday but they just passed and thundered somewhere else instead.

It doesn´t show as clearly as I hoped but here You can see some difference in the tone of the red color. The lighter side is where I painted this morning.

The extension made it so much easier to paint all the way to the top. As You can see I alöso managed to paint red on the white wind panels so I´ll have to repaint in some places 🙂 🙂 🙂

My potatoes. It would have looked much better if my dogs didn´t insist on running on them all the time 🙂 🙂 I´m hoping for a dry end of the summer and beginning of autumn now, so they doesn´t get hit by potato mildew.

It is time for breakfast because I haven´t had anything to eat this morning. I´ve topped my tomato plants so they don´t grow any higher but instead concentrates on getting those tomatoes they have to ripe. The season is heading towards its end and it would be nice to at least have a couple of ripe tomatoes. Well if they stay green I can always make fried green tomatoes, there´s a recipe for that in the book with the same name that I´ve borrowed 🙂                                                                                                                                         Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “The last week of my way to short vacation.

  1. Well, you KNOW I love this post!
    Full of kittens and horses! 😀 😀 😀
    Your cottage looks GREAT! I’m jealous! 🙂
    Enjoy your last week, I am having a very hard time going to work this morning.
    I just don’t want to go but I must. 😦
    Oh well, I’ll just focus on my next day off.
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I thought You might like it 🙂 🙂

      I do like my little cottage but I like Your house too! I like the american style on houses.

      I will enjoy this last week and I know I will feel angst on sunday evening 🙂 🙂 I really don´t want summer to be over for this year.

      Have a great day at work!
      Christer.

  2. Oh to live in a land where the cottages were red and the grass was so green! Christer, you are so fortunate! The kitties are so cute! Mele invites me to play with her and I should do it more. Poor baby girl doesn’t have anyone to play with or romp with and if Nova thinks YOU and the boys are boring…she should visit us in California. Would a tiny chicken wire fence help the potatoes or would they just romp over the top of that. I salvaged poles from the roof trim when it was installed..painted red…too darned bad you don’t have them. or..put three long sticks together and tie them and sit them over the plants..would that work? :):) Just trying to be helpful here. 🙂

    Never heard of a vacation that long unless it was the owners. 🙂 Wow!! Wonderful!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      I do feel fortunate but all this green means a lot of rain as well 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I didn´t know that they had kittens there so I got a bit surprised 🙂 Normally they stop the cats from having kittens but since cats do control rats and mice I guess they wanted more cats this year.

      I tried a fence one year and it is amazing how 99 pound dogs can destroy things while they are playing 🙂 🙂 🙂 Last winter they destroyed a tree that was four inches thick just by running in to it 🙂 🙂 🙂 So they actually makes less damage if I don´t have a fence around 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Nova just sits there and looks at me. every now and again I can hear a loud and deep sigh coming from her 🙂 🙂 🙂 She is soooo bored 🙂
      I do have many weeks of vacation and still I want more 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Just discovered your post and wanted to say hello. I am thinking of topping my tomato plants this year. I haven’t started to harvest yet but know that any blooms now will never turn into ripened tomatoes before a frost in October.

    • Hi Karen and welcome to my blog 🙂

      It´s just as good to top them if one knows there wont be a chance for more tomatoes. Here the first frost usually comes first week in September so even those tomatoes I have may have problems to ripe. Next year I will have a green house 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Whose shed is that?
    Cute kittens. They look like wildcats.
    You can make green tomato jam or chutney if you have more green tomatoes than you want to fry.
    Poor Nova. So bored. When Rocky is bored he drapes himself off the end of the sofa in such a way that his head is hanging down. His eyes are open, staring off into space. His whole body just shrieks “I am bored to death!”
    Did you have 3 weeks of vacation? It’s almost over already? Wow, that did go fast. Enjoy this week and schedule yourself a day to do nothing. No painting, no lilac chopping, no anything that smells like work.
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      It is my neighbors garage that he is building, so it isn´t finished yet.

      Many of the farms lets wild cats move in so they catch all rats and mice. No farmer in this village wants to use any kind of poison. So I guess the mother at least is half tame and the kittens didn´t seem to be bothered either by me or my dogs. I guess they sooner or later will find themselves in a fight with my two cats 🙂 🙂 But I have to say that we have very few cat fights here, there are o many cats around that they would have to fight all the time if they didn´t have some kind of peace between them 🙂 🙂

      Dogs do know how to show just how bored they are 🙂 🙂 🙂

      This will be my fourth week and I´ll save one for christmas time. It´s always nice to have a week or two off during christmas and new year.

      I´ll most probably have a totally free day tomorrow because of something that happened today. My body already screams for more vacation and this period isn´t over yet 🙂 🙂 🙂 I´ll tell You more about it tomorrow 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. “death would be funnier” what a great line. Yup. Nova then is bored to death poor baby. Are those kittens next door feral cats? They look rather domesticated. Be glad you have 5 weeks off. 10 weeks or more and you may have forgotten where you worked in the first place. I’m lucky to see two weeks in a row but mostly if that happens it’s the 21st of December until 9th of January, never in the Summer. I’m fairly sure we lost one of our feral kittens, Yoda, as he hasn’t shown up for now the 6th day in a row. Lacey shows up in the evenings and Carlacita is around the porch all the time. Once they go out six months it’s time to roam. I should have trapped him when I felt it coming. Then had him neutered and kept inside. Neutering wild cats is costly here in Florida and time consuming to trap them. I need to hit the big jackpot and then would do it full time. The house painting job looks great.

    • Hi Z&M!
      All cats are taken well care of at that farm but I guess the mother has come from some other place. I remember seeing her for the first time last winter. She would most probably never come close to me but I don´t think she would hesitate going to the farmers. All cats in this neighborhood goes up to that farm every day to get some absolutely fresh milk 🙂 🙂

      I wouldn´t mind forgetting where I work as long as they would call me when it was time to go back to work 🙂 🙂

      Compared to dogs neutering cats are rather cheap here. But having to do it on several cats does cost a lot in the long run of course. I do hope Yoda comes back!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Så fruktansvärt synd om stackars Nova att behöva bo ihop med sådana tråkmånsar:)) Men snart är du ju klar med målningen. Det ser väldigt gulligt ut ditt hus måste jag säga:)) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Ja det var så synd om henne så det var inte klokt 🙂 🙂

      Jo jag får allt erkänna att det är en liten och gullig stuga 🙂
      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. Well, you are making very good use of your vacation, that’s for sure. Poor Nova. Bored. What a wonderful sign! That means she is now totally at home and feels safe. Thanks to you. Well done, you. The cottage is looking lovely and soon all will be done and settled for this winter, whilst you sit cozily inside enjoying your tea and movies…

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I would have been finished long ago if the weather had so permitted, but this is swedish summer and we never know what kind of weather we´re getting. I have to admit that this has been one of the better weather wise 🙂
      Yes it is kind of nice that she gets bored and it´s even better that she doesn´t go away to chase other animals while being bored 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Christer,
    Great pictures! I love what you see all around you every day. My pictures would be of cars of different makes and models though I do have some lovely flowers just blooming so I’ll take some of those. Wednesday is play night and Thursday is a Red Six game so the week is a bit busy. It’s hot though which doesn’t give me much incentive.

    Your cottage is beautiful!

    • Hi Kat!
      Thank You 🙂

      Unfortunately we only have two cars worth looking at here in the village, otherwise I most probably would have shown more cars 🙂 🙂

      Finally we are getting nice weather again, a bit to warm if we didn´t have that nice breeze though. I wish I could go to a Red Sox game though 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

