Sunny weather and the start of the history lesson I´ve promised.

I´m just waiting for the two windows at the upper floor to dry up after I washed and scraped them early this morning. The one heading towards north east is probably already dry but since the sun shines at it at the moment it´s to hot to paint in yet. The one heading towards south west is still rather wet but it must dry up soon because it´s not good if the sun shines towards it while the paint is drying. Life is complicated isn´t it 🙂

The rain never came yesterday as most weather forecasts had predicted, well that is a bit of a lie actually. I think that four drops of rain hit my face late in the evening 🙂 🙂 🙂 But since the weather was fairly nice I continued with the area around the pond instead. I brought out the wood chipper, it isn´t a wood chipper really it is a compost grinder but it makes perfect wood chips.

The right side of the pond is now finished (but I still have lots to cover on the back of it). This cover isn´t meant to protect the surface from weeds for any longer period of time. Just long enough to make the coming plants the time to grow and cover up the area as much as possible.

This is how it looks right now. I still have the back to finish but I have no more ground cloth 🙂 I hope I can finish the edges both towards the garden and pond later this year.

So I placed the ground cloth as good as I could and started to cover it with wood chips. It still isn´t finished but You can see in the photographs how it will look when it is. I can´t plant anything here until earliest next year. Because if I open up the ground cloth those plants still living beneath it will get a chance to grow up. But I hope that most of the roots down there in the ground will have died by next summer.

A wild relative the Yellow loosestrife.

Hector.

I promised to write some about our history during WW2 so I´ll start today. I can´t promise I´ll write about this every day because I want this to be as right as possible so I´ll have to do a lot of research and now it seems the weather will stabilize that much that I can continue with the painting of my cottage. See this as a history lesson light 🙂 But I will start with something happening before the war, it actually started after the first world war.

Three of the six apricots I´ve sown.

My first blueberries 🙂

By that time all over the idea that the white man was superior towards the rest was wide spread all over Europe (as well as in the U.S.A.) there were some private funded institutes that only had that field to study (already by 1909 the swedish society for racial hygiene was founded by the way) . But we went a bit further here in Sweden I´m afraid. In 1922 the State institute for racial biology was founded after a motion in the swedish parliament, the first one in the world.  Almost everyone in the parliament, from the right to the left, thought it was a super great idea.

Balkan mallow.

They worried about why people with less good qualities? gave birth to more children than the “proper” people did. People they didn´t like was gypsies, traveller communities and our own native people the Sami. They were worried that these people sooner or later would take over and therefore sort of give the proper people less good qualities. They did “scientific” things like measuring the size of the less wanted people heads??!! They sterilized less wanted people by force, the insanity of those days are scaring!!

They change names on plants faster than I can change socks now days 🙂 But this used to belong to the Ligularia family.

The head of this institute is said to have been fired 1936 when it showed the institute had come a bit to close to what Nazis believed. Here is a 1939 quote from the Associate Professor Bertil Lundmark that worked at the institute:  “It would just be so, that the Nordic tribes who formed the Indo-Europeans, was sharply aware of their mental and physical superiority, and not tolerate any adulteration. (…) One feature of gipsy blood even in strong dilution often seems purely destructive on the individual’s moral (less its intellectual) content. (..) Pro primo, unfortunately, racial hygienehardly get much further than that it keeps the worst grades of degeneration or less back. ”

Creeping bellflower, one of the absolute worst weeds You can get in Your garden. It becomes so dense that not even grass survives close to it. I fight an ever lasting war against it. beautiful though 🙂

Another weed that not even thistles and nettles manages to fight, the Himalayan Balsam. It is annual though so it is rather easy to fight it if one wants to.

By reading that quote You´ll understand how people was thinking in this country when the war started. The Nazi party never became especially big here, there weren´t much use for it really when even the left wing parties already had much the same thoughts. But This must be said, the idea of concentration camps never occurred here! Nor was the hate towards Jews that big back then. This is something they really doesn´t talk much about in history lessons. It isn´t nice to show the insanity that ruled in this little country is it!

The fuchsia´s I bought a couple of weeks ago are flowering now.

I pass this very old cottage every day when I drive out from this village. Even though it has seen better days its still very beautiful don´t You think?

Well it is time to see if the windows are dry enough to start painting.                                         Have a great day!

15 thoughts on “Sunny weather and the start of the history lesson I´ve promised.

  1. your photos are beautiful as usual,, and thank you for the history lesson,, I never read thisin books.I think every country has some skeletons in the closet (so to speak), I know we Canadians have a few thigs we are ashamed of for sure.May I ask what is the red cloth on the pole in the one photo,,

    • Hi Laurie!
      Thank You 🙂
      I doubt many people knows this even here in Sweden to be honest. We did change a lot in the end of the war and after but this is one of our skeletons in the closet.

      🙂 That is just an old sweater that they tried to make a scarecrow of 🙂 🙂 They have also covered many of their cherry trees with nets so they can have some cherries for themselves 🙂 But the nets are problematic since lots of birds get caught in them. I doubt those scarecrows are especially effective 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer, Grneville is soooo jealous that you have blueberries growing and his didn’t take. The fushia is so beautiful – love the rish colors. We’re enjoying the time with our new granddaughter and grandson on our road trip to RI. The internet connection where we are staying is not too good (only downfall). The photos from recent posts are lovely and so peaceful looking. Glad Nova is feeling better too.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I think I have around 25 blueberries this year 🙂 🙂 🙂

      So Grenville´s blueberry plants didn´t survive? I thought mine would die when we suddenly had lots of minus degrees and snow for a couple of days, but the bushes survived and re flowered a couple of weeks later.

      Enjoy Your trip 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Thanks for the history lesson. We had similar things going on over here for a couple of hundred years. We were the people who made slavery contingent upon race. Africans were considered inferior and only fit for the “civilizing” institution of slavery. There were laws against interracial marriages up until the 1960’s or later. Native Americans weren’t using the land to it’s fullest potential so they weren’t civilized enough to keep it. They weren’t peoples mentioned in the Bible so perhaps they weren’t people at all unless they were the lost tribes of Judah. Even if they were, that would make them Jewish which isn’t quite as good as Christian. After all, God brought Europeans over here to establish a shining city on a hill and there’s no room in the city for unbelievers. We had the head measurers and the “scientists” who judged a person’s morals by the shape of the head and facial characteristics. In some states mentally disabled people were forcibly sterilized, particularly if they weren’t white.
    Enough of that rant. I wish bellflower would be more of a weed in my yard. I have a couple and there are a few more in other corners of the neighborhood. I’d like more but they don’t seem to be happy here.
    I love that old cottage. It really needs some paint and a roof, though.
    The weather is sunny here. It might get a bit warmer but still not really hot like it has been. Not for a few more days, anyway. I think I will transplant some basil seedlings and hope that they grow. It’s never a sure thing with me. 🙂
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Yes You have much of the sorry history as we but at least Sweden never allowed slavery. One has to be happy about the few positive things one can find. More will come later on. But most people doesn´t know this about this country, we´ve seems to have hidden it rather well.

      We´ve had a really nice day and now all windows are painted, now I only have everything else to paint 🙂 🙂
      I think most bellflowers are considered weeds over here 🙂 🙂 But this one is extraordinaire! The roots are actually edible and taste rather much like radishes they say. But the root system gets so dense that nothing else can grow there. All other bellflowers that wishes to grow here are welcome though 🙂 Strange that they don´t spread much over at Yours. To hot summers perhaps?

      Basil hates me! It dies as fast as it can when I get some no matter what I do 🙂 It´s typical since it is one of my favorite herbs!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! i am going to love to hear this swedish history! it is fascinating! those sweaters on the poles are too funny. i bet they don’t frighten too many birds. i think the birds are laughing too. i am sitting here on pins and needles waiting to hear about teddy! joyce

    • Hi Joyce,
      I’m jumping in here because I can’t comment on your blog for some weird reason. I hope Teddy comes through with flying colors and has a speedy recovery with rapid re-growth of the fur on her cute face.
      We now return to your regularly schedule programming. 🙂

    • Hi Joyce!
      I think this dark part of our history is interesting too, not to many knows about it I think. Sweden is mostly known for quite the opposite ideas now days.

      I doubt those sweaters scares any bird at all 🙂 There used to hang big plastic bags from the sleeves so they turned around when the wind blowed, but I doubt that had any bigger effect 🙂 🙂

      So You haven´t heard anything yet! Well now when it is done she will feel so much better in her eyes!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Going to enjoy this history lesson. Appreciate, in advance, all your research and presentation. The pix are lovely and, nope, those sweaters wouldn’t fool me, either. Now, maybe, some pet snakes… 😎

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Thankfully we did some good stuff too 🙂 and it would be hard to believe that anyone ever had those thoughts here in Sweden back in the days when looking how it is now.

      I think they just put up those sweaters because they always has 🙂 🙂 Pet snakes would probably do the trick much better 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I’m just shaking my head, the world has always been such an evil place and still obviously is.
    We just have to hope that good will overcome evil most times. And to be alert and aware.
    Sigh….
    Love the Hector photo. Well, actually they were all great. They always are.
    Cool cottage! I’d want to paint it white, put a metal roof on it and maybe a splash of colorful accents here and there. Like painted shutters and trim and the door and the benchs set out in the front and….

    • Hi Cindi!
      Yes it seems that humans never has been anything but evil, or perhaps I should write our leaders. I do however think things at least here in the rich part of the world has become better for most people. But I don´t think we can hope for more than that good equals evil in strength as best.

      I do like that little cottage 🙂 But I doubt they´ll do anything with it, most probably it will just fall down one day. It seems that the usual thing to do over here. Shutters however is rare over here and I don´t think that those one do see is real 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I thought you took off on Wednesdays. That is an interesting piece of history I never knew. But people fighting all sorts of disease were not very intelligent and blamed most viruses on bad blood. I remember my Nanny in Germany saying to her neice not to go out with a certain man because his family has “bad blood”. She was also in the Nazi youth.

    • Hi Z&M!
      That is a part of our history we aren´t especially proud of. Yes the talk of bad blood. I think that was said all over the world but we swedes just took it one step further by creating that institute. At the same time we need to remember that if one was german during the war one more or less had to have those ideas or death would come rather quickly, or slowly if one was placed in one of those concentration camps.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

