Funguses in the ear.

We stopped by the bathing place at Tråvad on our way home, Nova and I. You´ve seen this before but it is a favorite place of mine. We walked up on the old railroad bridge and continued on the pedestrian walk for a while before turning back to the car.

Even though the sun shone while we were out walking this morning it still was rather cold. As usual I had brought my mosquito hat with me but I didn´t have to wear it even once🙂 I have noticed the decreasing amount of flies these last days (except for when I mowed my lawn yesterday afternoon. I think they all might have moved to my garden🙂 ) and I do hope this is the end of the fly season now. Well not completely, the moose and deer flies will soon start their season but they are usually very few, though extremely unpleasant.

They have put out lots of pontoons so they children can play in the river Lidan.

We arrived rather early at the vet and we hadn´t even sat down for more that five minutes when a young and rather new vet helped us. He looked in to Novas ear, took a small sample of what she had in her ear and told me she has a fungus infection in there. We talked and I could feel that he sort of wanted my approval of the cure he wanted to give her (it isn´t easy to be a new vet in a rural area🙂🙂 ) So I told him that he was the one that knew what he was talking about and that we should do as he thought was best.

Back in the days when trains still were going here passengers threw out apples and cherries along the way. So now days a lot of apple and cherry trees grows along the walk. Here grows the most delicious apples I´ve ever eaten but since I don´t know what of the apples that pollinates the others it´s no use to try grafting these, I would have to have around 100 trees in my garden then🙂🙂🙂

They have a little café by the bathing place and it was open despite the rather bad weather.

So now she´s on antibiotics and cortisone. He told me that the cortisone will make her hungry and that she will most likely try to eat as much as possible. Well that´s nothing new, she was starved most all the time when she grew up with those drug addicts so she does that anyway. I can see that she already is feeling much better so lets hope it will conyinue that way after this treatment as well.

I had my gardencentre/nursery not far away and when I had some spare time I used to go down here fishing. I used to sit here when the water level was lower but I rarely got anything🙂

I think I´ll go here if I like do do some rowan jelly🙂 There are lots of different cherries growing here as well. Some have big red sweet cherries, others almost black ones. Some trees are huge and some never seem to grow at all. I picked some cherries from two of my favorite trees. One tree hasn´t grown in hight at all the last seven years I´ve seen it and has the most delicious berries one can find. The problem with sowing kernels (I naturally saved them🙂 ) is that one never knows if the seedlings will become the same as the one You took the kernels from, but one can always hope🙂 I truly love this place!

The weather forecasts says it will rain some today as well but after that we´ll have a period with warmer and sunnier weather again. So no painting today but I´ll start again tomorrow. I haven´t cut down those lilacs by the entrance yet either so perhaps I´ll do that today. They are great places for flies to hide during the day and then they can get out to annoy me and my dogs as soon as we show our faces in the garden🙂🙂🙂

From now on it´ll be photographs from this mornings walk. Bertil as jolly as ever but he is still nice towards me, it sort of scares me🙂🙂

The young crabapple tree by the ruin has lots of small apples this year. I´ll try one to see if it is tasty later on.

I´m still sort of surprised about what happened in Norway. After all they were occupied by Nazi Germany so they should sort of be immune against right wing extremism. I wouldn´t have been that surprised if it had happened here in Sweden though. We never participated in WW2 and our history before and during that period is rather shameful to be honest. Our politicians kept us out of the war but in ways that most probably prolonged the war for quite some time.

We have never really dealt with our past and with time we sort of have made a much better picture of us than we deserve and that has been a good breeding ground for nazis I´m afraid. I can try to tell You some of this if You would like.

Well It is time for breakfast and after that a short nap I think. Unless I cut those lilacs down I´ll do nothing special today. Perhaps I watch a dvd or two and perhaps I´ll do some crosswords but that´s it. This will be a perfect summer vacation day🙂                                   Have a great day!

Clematis 'The President'.

10 thoughts on “Funguses in the ear.

  1. …vilka underbara bilder på en förtrollad värld. Gillade verkligen den gamla bron och gångstigen och rönnen och…..
    Imorgon bär det av till fastlandet för oss!
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Visst är där vackert! Förr (kanske även nu) kunde man dessutom höra näktergalen där på mornarna. Kan inte påstå att den låter vackert men väldigt annorlunda🙂

      Ha det så gott på fastlandet!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! i would love to hear much more about sweden and the nazis! what a beautiful place you went walking with nova. i am glad her ear is feeling better already. after tomorrow i will be doing nothing but taking care of teddy. they want her to wear a cone but with the heat i think she will have trouble breathing. so i will have to be with her all the time so she does not scratch her eyes. we have our big cool down for one day here. it is already in the mid 70’s with high humidity. it will be 89 today and then right back to the upper 90’s. some cool down! enjoy your vacation day! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I´ll do some research before I start writing about that ´perid then so I know I´m writing the right facts. But this much I can say already, Sweden was the first country in the world to have a racial biological centre.

      It is a beautiful place by that little river. I love to walk there as often as I can. Now I hope we can beat this thing already at this first attempt!
      I think it would be great if Teddy doesn´t have to have that cone! Orvar get panic in it so he can´t have it at all.

      Only 89🙂🙂 Please wear a sweater so You don´t catch a cold🙂🙂🙂 But seriously, I do hope You´ll get it much cooler soon!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. thats a nasty infection your dog has,, our pet rabbit had that once,, it was nasty.Your photos are lovely as usual,, your comments of the fruit being thrown from the train made me think of the apple trees at our farm,, the children threw thier apple cores aside when walking to school and these became our orchard, 80 years later,, have a peaceful holiday

    • Hi Laurie!
      Yes it is but I hope we can beat it already at this first attempt! It could affect the balance as well but right now little Nova seems fine🙂

      Most people believed that apples from a ” self sown” apple tree aren´t edible but that´s not the fact at all. But since not all apples is good for pollination on other apple varieties it´s hard to just get grafts and place in a tree far away. I may not have the necessary variety for pollination here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Nothing beats out a good Nazi story. Write on . . . sorry Nova has the ear infection, so does my grandson of 16 months. Only we fear surgery at such a young age. He will have to have his tonsils out to fix it. I really like that little cafe next to the water and the bridge. Check to see if they have any jobs open. I may just apply. It sounds like you are having a relaxing vacation. Did you get the top windows painted?

    • Hi Z&M!
      Well it´s not so much about nazis directly but about a society that already had many of those ideals the nazis had. Even of the people rather left when it comes to political views.

      Sorry about Your grandson! Even if I understand removing the tonsils is rather an easy thing its never nice to have to have surgery in that early age.

      I was hoping to start with the top windows today but since they had predicted rain I never started with it. But so far no rain🙂🙂🙂 I´ll start tomorrow instead.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!
      His normal state of mind🙂

      That bridge is one of the few in its kind that still exists here in Sweden and they restored it a couple of years ago thankfully🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

