Crosswords and Fried Green Tomatoes and sowing apricot seeds.

The day started out cold and rainy and has continued like that until now. The cloud cover is finally breaking up and I have even seen the sun shine through a couple of times. But I doubt it will dry up enough for me to mow the lawn today. Showers will come and go during the day and the temperature won´t rise above 16C (61F) But all weather forecasts says we won´t have any rain tomorrow though.

I went to the grocery store in Gudhem this morning and it showed that I once again had won on the lottery🙂 21 swedish kronor (around 3 US dollars)🙂 I´m on my way to make a fortune🙂🙂🙂 While I was there I bought a crossword magazine, the name on it is Easy and Just Enough🙂🙂 I like crossword puzzles but I´m not good at  it🙂  I hope I can manage the easiest ones anyway.

This is how I sow aprikots (and peaches, nectarines, almonds and cherries). I open up the kernel very carefully. This is rather difficult but if You have one of those nutcrackers where one screws downwards so the nut just cracks it´s rather easy. Otherwise just break the edges of the kernel until its easy to separate the shell around the seed. It is very important not to injure the seed within. Place the seed on an almost wet paper towel that is wrapped around the seeds totally.

Like this.

But I can look at a dvd too if I feel like it. When I was at my friends house I found a book I always wanted to read, Fried green tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Café. The movie is one of my absolute favorites and finally I got the chance to read the book as well (and I love the book even more than the film)🙂 I think they have made a good job of translating the book to a movie but I just can´t understand why they changed the end in the movie.

Put the little package in a plastic bag. It´s very important that the seeds within doesn´t dry but still isn´t that wet that they start to mould. Place the plastic bag in the fridge. Somewhere around 5C-8 C is the right temperature (41F-46F).

Some of them germinates quickly like these, they started already 1,5 weeks after I placed them in the fridge. Some can take a month or two before anything happens. If any should start to root throw it away. When they start too look like this its time to place them in a pot with soil, place the pot reasonable warm from now. I always place the pot in a plastic bag so I know it doesn´t dry to much. Normally it takes less than a week for the new little plant to show above the surface. I now have six pots waiting in my kitchen window🙂

It´s hard to avoid what happened in Norway so I´ll write some about it now. The man has admitted what he has done and says it was terrible to kill all those people but he knew in his head he had to do it. If it was that terrible why did he shout of joy every time he killed anyone?? He also looks upon himself as one of a new order of Knights Templars fighting against muslims. He isn´t a nazi though because he supports the state of Israel.

He posted a big document on the internet that shows his reasons to do this and he sends his thanks to “brothers and sisters” in Scandinavia that has helped him reach his goal. So now finally the light is pointing directly toward all these evil persons over here. Europol (some kind of european police agency) is now going to help the security polices in scandinavia to see if this just is the tip of an iceberg. We might have bigger problems than we ever could think we had with these kind of people!

These are the last photographs from my little trip. There were almost no other traffic so I dared taking these while I was driving.

Ockelbo train station.

I passed through some villages but otherwise the road looked much like this.

It´s time to start looking at these crossword puzzles and perhaps make a sandwich or two. It´s hard to solve these crosswords on an empty stomach🙂                                                     Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “Crosswords and Fried Green Tomatoes and sowing apricot seeds.

  1. hi christer! i used to do crosswords but haven’t done any in a long time. i have been reading about the shooting. it is horrific. he was on that island for an hour and a half just hunting those poor kids. even the ones that survived will have psychological problems to deal with. how can anyone ever think that slaughtering other humans is a good thing? it seems that there are more like him throughout scandinavia. what are the laws there? i am sure you don’t have the death penalty so what is the worst that can happen to him? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I usually do crosswords during vacation every summer🙂 Sometimes also during the Yule vacation. The weather we´re having right now is perfect crosswords weather🙂

      I can´t even imaging how these kids must have felt during that time and how will they ever get a chance to put this behind them? What disturbs me most is stupid journalists. Yesterday a young man said he saw how 30 of his friends got shot while they thought they were taken to safety by a policeman (the murderer) and then the journalist asks him how he feels???? But even though he was in deep chock he answered:How do You think I feel, I´ve just seen 30 of my friends get killed in front of me!

      They are now afraid that this is just the top of an iceberg because he thanks his scandinavian brothers and sisters for their help so he could do this! Is well known that our security police is filled with racists so I doubt that they have any bigger control of what´s happening here in Sweden. Now they have to have control of these people too.

      I learned yesterday that no one can get any longer punishment than 25 years in Norway, but here in Sweden we have lifetime and by that we mean lifetime. No chance of getting out even if one regrets what has been done!

      Have a great day in the heat!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    This story just gets worse and worse. One would think that journalism school would be teaching their students not to ask that question in these types of circumstances since it has become a stock joke about stupid journalists.
    I’m not even going to comment on a maximum of 25 years for first degree murder.

    On to crosswords! I love them. I do them in pen and make many errors but I don’t care. It doesn’t help me with Scrabble, though.

    Lovely photos today. My favorite is the one of the rain spout (?). It has so many textures. The pinky-brown mushroom is also beautiful. And the bee. I try to take insect photos but my little point and shoot is not very good for that. It’s not fast enough and I practically have to stick the lens in the insect’s face to get good focus. Most bugs will not sit still for that and fly off in a huff.🙂

    It’s cloudy, a bit warm and very humid this morning. Rocky and I will take our usual walk and go out for breakfast because it’s too warm to cook anything and I haven’t done any shopping so there’s nothing to cook anyway.
    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Well I guess they still have to learn some thing at journalist school🙂 I think it is for terrorism that they can get 25 years, murder is less if I heard correct.

      Nothing helps when it comes to scrabble🙂🙂🙂 and it is very important to have a dictionary close by🙂🙂 I think scrabble is responsible for many of ur new words🙂🙂🙂

      I do like that photograph as well, especially since one can see one drop of rain coming out.
      I´ve realized that its easier to get a good photograph on insects if not standing to close. They move so fast that it always becomes a blurry picture. And as You say, they tend not to like it and fly away🙂🙂

      We do have moments here when it doesn´t rain🙂 But the air is humid and cold, better than hot and humid anyway🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Texting is responsible for many new words. And LOL cats.🙂
        I have to stand close to the insects. My point and shoot camera can’t really do what I want it to do so I have to work around it to get the shots I want. I got a couple of decent shots of a dragon fly and a bee this morning. I’ll put them up on facebook.

      • 🙂🙂
        Especially wasps are not the insects one wants to get to close to🙂🙂🙂

        I have only managed to get one descent photograph of a dragonfly in my whole life🙂 I´ll take a look at them on FB!
        Christer.

  3. Hej Christer!
    Härligt att du gillar boken, det är ju lite lustigt att vi har samma favorit film, eller inte. Idag har vi gjutit klart för stolparna till rosenväggen, jippie, alltså Löta nästa. Det lär ju dofta där nu så man blir fullständigt drogad och borta från allt sans och förnuft. Men då kan man passa på att shoppa och fylla bussen, hihi. Så kan man skylla på det, ner i rosträsket, tralalalaa.

    Idag har plantorna från dig fått sin plats, bakom nya gräsplätten ska jag ha en syrenhäck, kanske blir en bersåliknande historia. Jag kom i alla fall 1,5 m med plantorna, några hade jag själv åxå.
    Norge…………..jag sitter mest lika chockad som vid Estonia olyckan. Hur kunde det hända? Varför reagerade ingen i tid? Man får sig en tankeställare om hur bra man har det i sitt lilla liv. Nu ska vi packa bussen och ta en snabbis till sonen som fyller mer än jag någonsin gjort, alltså 28 och sen Löta!
    Ha det bra och måla på!
    Kram LjusneLotta & Co

    • Hejsan Lotta!
      Det är ju en fantastisk film så det är nog inte konstigt att vi bägge har den som favoritfilm🙂🙂🙂 Boken är ju ännu bättre🙂

      Jag har aldrig varit på Löta men jag kan tänka mig att det är precis rätt tid att åka dit nu🙂 Alla ursäkter duger för att få fastna i ett träsk, vare sig det är rosträsk eller annat🙂🙂🙂 (det här måste bli en rolig text när de andra översätter det med Google🙂🙂🙂 ).

      Syrenerna kan man ju lätt få tätare sedan med att sticka ned kvistar rakt ned imellan de andra eller förlänga det hela rätt rejält om man vill.

      Normannen har ju i och för sig skrivit en hel del på nätet så nog borde de kunnat haft mer koll på honom, har en känsla av att det finns en del av hans sort här också tyvärr.

      Visst är det lustigt näe de plötsligt blir äldre än föräldrarna🙂🙂 Gratta grabben från mig med.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Här har det varit taskigt väder med våldsamma störtskurar och lite åska inte så kul. Vilken tur du har med lotto, synd att det inte är några nollor bakom bara;)) Filmen ‘Stekta gröna tomater gillade jag också jättemycket, himla bra skådespelare. Vad gäller knäppgöken i Norge är man både ledsen, frustrerad men framför allt förbannad. Hu f:n kan någon överhuvud taget bli sådan? Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Åska hade vi igår, men ingen idag. Svinkallt har det varit däremot så nu har jag stängt alla fönster för första gången på länge.

      Har haft sdåan tur med lotto ett flertal gpnger nu, men som mest har jag vunnit en hundralapp🙂 Det går långsamt men säkert mot en förmögenhet nu🙂🙂🙂

      Ja hur kan en eller flera människor bli så in i själen onda?

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. I just won $12.50 on a two dollar bet in the Fantasy Five picks. So I’m one up on you but no one won the Powerball now at $111 million or Lotto at $28 million so there goes another six dollars for a chance to win a big pot next week. It will be paid for by my winnings this morning. Anybody who shoots children deserves to die regardless of man made laws. It’s foolish to think otherwise.

    I love that train station! Enjoy your sandwiches.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Well I have to win two more times to reach Your winnings then🙂🙂🙂

      If death penalty actually stopped others from killing I might actually agree with You, but as it is it doesn´t do that at all. Death is something to hard to understand, but lifetime in prison is something we understand and therefore is something that actually stops killings better. Even though that doesn´t stop that many either it seems.

      It is a beautiful station and we have lots of them even if few now days is used for that reason.
      The sandwiches were quite ok🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Thanks for the instructions on the seeding. Very close to my ‘birthing sheets’ for vegetables; no? I don’t know what to say about that fellow. Too much pain and he’ll never understand what he’s done because he doesn’t really care. It looks as though you’re starting into Fall, again!😎 Dear, dear. I love crosswords and also use a pen, but, for the last few years, have been doing Sudoku — and, with a pen, so it drives most people crazy! Enjoy your tea and puzzles. Have a great day! Hug Nova and the guys for me.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Yes it is but with these will be placed cool instead🙂

      It´s easy to call this murderer a monster, but he isn´t. It´s easy to dehumanize him and then forget that there are plenty out there just like him. He might be insane but intelligent as well, not a good combination.

      It is a bit early even for us to start autumn now🙂🙂 I thought at first we would get frost last night but rain came instead🙂

      Sudoku and I aren´t friends🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. It’s so frightening that it could just be the tip of the iceberg.
    I don’t even want to think of it. It makes me shudder.

    It’s been a long time since I saw the movie “Fried Green Tomatoes” but I do remember that I loved it. (I need to watch it again!) and now you’ve got me wanting to read the book!😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Back in the days it was easy to know who these people were, now days they have become more professional and doesn´t show what they really think that openly. The internet also helps people like this to keep in contact and they learn from each other. The problem is that we do have to think about these things! It´s very important so they never can do things or even worse things!

      It is a great movie🙂 and the book is as normal even better🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

