Dark red spots all over my stove.

It´s not the best of weathers today. The clouds are so low that I barely can see the mountain.

This is one of those days when one either take the car to go somewhere like a museum or shopping or one stays at home just relaxing and enjoying life. It is rather cold, somewhat windy and every now and again the rain falls down. I love these kind of days even if I really need to continue with the painting. But I guess they are a pain for those people that needs to have fun, fun, fun all the time during their vacation🙂🙂

Lacy phacelia. I think I´ll buy seeds from this next spring, it is rather beautiful.

The Rowan´s berries are soon ripe, perfect for jelly.

I´ve already done what I had intended to do today since I knew it was going to be like this. I went to the grocery store in Gudhem and bought what I needed already when they opened up at nine am. It showed that I had won on the lottery as well. I wouldn´t say I became rich🙂🙂 but I did win 22 swedish kronor, that´s around three US dollars🙂🙂🙂

It is rather annoying actually, I can´t see any difference in how white the windows are at the bottom floor in comparing to the one at the upper floor that isn´t painted yet!

I think this young bull is so beautiful!

This calf isn´t a day old yet🙂 I´m lucky to live next door so I can see it grow up🙂

I did intend to take a walk down to the creek yesterday afternoon but changed my mind. After we had come home I put my dogs in the dog yard and fetched a little bucket. I realized it was time to pick some wild raspberries because people from the cities had started to come here to pick them as well. Unfortunately it seems that people from the cities stops to use their brains as soon as they get out here.

Hampus the Drever in the last sunshine yesterday.

Nettle butterflies.

Honeysuckle in the forest. Smells fantastic and mostly gets pollinated by moths.

We call this butterfly "Peacock eye".

Like us all they want to pick the biggest berries but to do so they hade walked over a lot of other raspberry bushes and destroyed them and the berries!! They could just have sneaked in between but no they walk around like a stampeding herd of cattle!

The six-spot Burnet (Allmän bastardsvärmare på svenska).

Nova.

Orvar.

It is a special feeling walking around out in the forest close to the bog all by one self. It is all quiet and one sees things that is hard to explain. But mostly I heard a lot of things. I heard a moose cow calling for her little one, wild hogs digging in the ground after roots and other delicious things to eat and I did hear that strange sound I´ve heard before. I don´t know if You remember but I have written about it before. It is a kind of bubbling noise but it comes from places not close to water. Sort of bubbling and growling at the same time, very strange.

This is the only photograph I took in the city Bollnäs. It is a fast-food chain we have here in Sweden. Not long ago they were hotdog stands with hotdogs, mashed potatoes, french fries and hamburgers. Now days they start look like this. I got pleasantly surprised when they had Kebab, a turkish sort of fast food. Naturally like all kinds of food kebab varies from where it comes in the country. The one we are most used to is (should be lamb but most swedes doesn´t like that) grilled beef sliced thin. That and lots of different vegetables (with lots of hot pepper) is put down in to a big pita bread and then they pour down a sauce based on yoghurt. I love it!!!

I didn´t drive myself so I was able to take some photographs while we were driving home again. All lying photographs will get bigger and hopefully better if You click on them.

While walking around and picking berries I started to wonder how the animals even could survive all these mosquitos, forest flies and horseflies! I realized that horseflies can bite through a thick sweater and mosquitos through a thick mosquito hat and hair at the same time🙂🙂 I think I even got bitten by a few midges (our black flies) but they really doesn´t like me and since there were both moose and hogs nearby they soon left me.

This is a house haunted to be. It has a sad and tragic history but I don´t know the whole story. From what I know three sisters lived in this house. One after one got old and ill and had to move to a nursing home except for the last one. She stayed and lived in misery for many years.

I gave up after being bitten way to many times and came home with little more than one kilogram (a bit more that two pounds) of berries (I had mixed in some of the wild gooseberries, wild strawberries and wild black currants I had found as well) . I know I got rid of all beetles, ants, small green insects and leafs before I made jam of the berries but I´m not that shore I managed to get rid of all those larvae´s that lives inside the raspberries🙂🙂🙂 Well I´ll just have to think of them as extra protein I guess🙂🙂🙂

When the last sister died it showed that she had lain in her own feces and urine and smeared it on the walls as well. There were no one to inherit her but suddenly a couple of people said they deserved the place because they had helped on the property now and again?? If they had helped why didn´t they help that poor woman to a better place to spend her last years???

I guess it is easy to remove that sort of facts if You know You might get Your hands on a property worth millions (even in US dollars).

They had an auction on the property to sell all furniture's and all other things and for a reason I just can´t understand they hadn´t cleaned up the place?! So there all the people came and saw how miserable the poor woman had lived her last years.

Making jam means a lot of hard boiling of the berries and at the same time removing that foam it creates. Not a nice thing to do since hot jam splashes in the sauce pan. A big part of my stove got big red sticky spots and so did my hands🙂 Well those burns did distract me some from those itchy bites the mosquitos and horseflies had given my🙂🙂🙂

It´s time for a pot of tea and then I´ll take a nap I think. The rain is coming and going and we might get some thunder they say but I doubt it, it doesn´t feel like that to be honest. I have sown seven apricot kernels and it looks like they all have germinated. I don´t sow them in soil but in moist paper towels in a plastic bag that I´ve put cool. I can show You how if You like to know. Even if this means it won´t be the same kind of apricot as the one You bought it will give great apricots the day it gives fruit🙂                                                     Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “Dark red spots all over my stove.

  1. hi christer! wow…where to start? i feel like i have a mini vacation when you put up posts like this. the bog sounds scary! the yellow house is gorgeous. has anyone bought it yet? that is so strange that no one would clean it before they had the sale. did you go to the sale? you sure worked for that jam! bug bites and burns. the bugs would have driven me away from the berries. i might never leave my house again. at 6:00am it was 80 degrees with 85% humidity. you can hardly breathe outside. it is still going to be like this for at least 5 more days! just awful! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I never feel anything but calm when walking by the bog, even if I sometimes have trouble explaining what it is I actually see and hear🙂

      I don´t think they can sell that house until they decide wether anyone will inherit it or not. It´s like they wanted people to see how bad things can go even if they are rich. But personally I think they should have cleaned up the place to show the poor woman some respect. The auction was some time before I went there so I have only read some about it and heard other people talk about the place´s history.

      As long as the mosquito hat kept the flies from my face I had no bigger problem coping with the insects, but naturally some of them managed to get in to the inside. I just can´t stand those flies in my face!!!

      It is way to hot over at Yours! I wish we had something that could even out the weather some so we got it a bit warmer and less rainier and You the opposite🙂

      Have a great day despite the heat!
      Christer.

  2. I feel like Jaz, a mini-vacation with posts like this. For the city slickers, I would put up a sign that says Hornet and Bee Salve for Raspberry Pickers. Use first before picking! That would make only the very interested picker go forth and you would save some bushes.😎 Tee hee. I’m surprised the house wasn’t cleaned up, either. They could have make much more in sales. Maybe, you should have a deeper stock pot for making your jam so that it doesn’t spit all over your stove — and YOU! After such a glorious tour, today, you deserve your tea and some rest. We are still under dangerous weather (for breathing) watch with several more hot days expected. Yes, I would love the instructions for the apricot pits. Now, my trees pits are hybrid edible almonds. Does that make a difference?

    • Hi Sharlene!
      That was a great idea🙂🙂🙂 I´ve never seen these people here before so that might do the trick🙂 But now they know how bad it can be here so I doubt they´ll ever come back again🙂🙂🙂

      I just can´t understand why they didn´t clean it up? Well people in the town do have things to talk about after that visit, for a very long time🙂 But I doubt they could have made more in the auction, things like this sort of triggers people to get at least one thing from that place.

      I had my biggest pot🙂 So I might have to get a bigger one for when I will make jam from my plums🙂🙂

      It´s hard to understand how hot it is over at Yours! I don´t think we´ve ever reached those temperatures up here🙂🙂🙂

      The way I sow those kernels works for all members in the prunus family (as long as they have reasonable big kernels🙂 ) So it works for almonds, peaches, nectarines and plums as well. I´ll take some photographs later today. It´s a great way to keep an eye on those kernels.

      Have a great day despite the heat!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    You have so many beautiful butterflies around you. The Peacock Eye is beautiful and so is the Six Spot Burnet.
    If you don’t want to be bothered by mosquitoes and other biting flies, you should stand next to a large mammal like a horse. Or a moose.🙂 My horse always attracted more biting insects than I did.
    Sad story about the sisters. It’s a lovely property and no surprise that people are coming out of the woodwork to stake a claim on it. Does the government take a huge chunk of that, if there is no will? Or does the government take a huge chunk anyway?🙂
    You must tell how to make Rowan berry jelly. I didn’t even know you could eat them.
    It’s going to be even hotter here today. Over 100F. Some cool rainy weather would be nice. Rocky and I will be spending the day inside with the A/C. Again.
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Some of those butterflies are really beautiful but most isn´t🙂

      Unfortunately I couldn´t bring a big mammal with me🙂 The competition for the berries would be to great for me, I have enough problems with my dogs sometimes🙂🙂 :-)But You are so right, there´s never that few flies in my garden as when they have cattle just outside my garden. But it seems they won´t have that any more, they have removed the barbed wire and the electric fence now.

      If someone dies and has no one to inherit their property or things the inheritance will go to something we call Allmänna arvsfonden (that would be something like The General Inheritance Fund). This fund then gives out money to children, youths and people with disabilities. Only relations as close as cosines can inherit over here if there isn´t any will You see. We don´t have inheritance taxes over here since some years back. They were so high sometimes that they took the whole inheritance🙂

      Here´s a recipe for rowanberry jelly but all the measurements are in liters and grams I hope You can change that to the measurements You use Yourself.
      5 dl of water
      750 grams of sugar
      1000 grams of rowan berries

      Boil the water in a pot (naturally, what else would one boil the water in🙂🙂🙂 ) and put in the berries (Some of us like when they have been touched by frost at least one night)

      While boiling the berries crush them so the juice comes out.

      Strain the berries through a cloth (for about 30 minutes) and don´t touch them while the juice is going through the cloth, why I don´t know I only do as I´m told🙂

      Add the sugar and boil it again on a slightly lower temperature for around 10 minutes. To little and You have jam and to long and You´ve gotten hard candy🙂🙂

      Naturally You can add anti fungus stuff to this. I prefer to buy a sugar with that in it already. This is great to the sunday steak or bird or anything really🙂
      You can also make lemonade from the berries but I´ve never tasted that.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Thanks!
        Rowanberry candy sounds like an interesting kind of “mistake”.🙂
        I don’t bother converting, I just use metric when the recipe uses it. My mac has a conversion app, if I really need to convert.
        Now I need to check out the neighborhood for rowan trees.🙂

      • 🙂 It´s a big problem getting the candy out of the jar unfortunately🙂🙂
        I had app in my last phone but not in my new one. Must see if I can get it again!

        Fortunately for me Rowans are quite common here🙂

        Christer.

  4. Well these are nice photos, except Orvar looks mad in his. Sad the old lady could not get proper care in her final months. But she and her sisters lived well. There’s no denying that. And Yes, the bottom windows look the same as the ones on the second floor to me. But what about the roof? That looks pretty warn and has a rusty color to it. Are those metal roofs? We have the same Turkish fast food here in Florida called “Sinbad’s” and the beef on pita bread smothered with the yogurt based sauce is truly delicious. But that’s all they serve. No fries or other sides. Make it a good weekend Christer. We don’t take long vacations. We like two or three days in the mountains or up north but not weeks to do nothing with.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Orvar is thankfully never mad🙂 I think he had something in his mouth that he didn´t want me to see🙂🙂

      If I understand things right they had had it very bad for many years. It just god more bad for every month that passed.

      No it´s black tiles with moss on them🙂 Thankfully no heat goes through them during hot days🙂

      Nothing else gores with our kebabs either and it would be to much if it did. A kebab is just enough to be honest.

      It will be a lot of TV watching this weekend. Bombs have exploded in Oslo, Norway’s capital, and a shooting has taken place on an island where the governing party´s youth section had its summer camp. It seems to be a combined action. People has died in Oslo and lots of injured people as well. There seems to be injured people on the island as well.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. …vilka hemska bilder man fick se från Oslo – en stad som för mig alltid verkat så oskyldig! Fruktansvärt!!
    Den där Allmän bastardsvärmare var tjusig, fast den kanske bits!?

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Ja hemska bilder men det som stör mig mest är alla ungdomar som blivit skjutna på sommarlägret.

      Tror inte att någon sorts fjäril kan bitas faktiskt, denna är totalt harmlös i alla fall🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Did you say “larvae”? little wormy things? now I will never eat a raspberry without thinking about that.
    Such a sad story. When I first saw the house, I thought it so beautiful and I was envious but not after reading about the sadness and tragedy. I would not want that house. I might sound crazy but I think it would hold the “Bad” energy inside and no one would be happy. Have you ever heard about “Grey Gardens”? Basically it’s a place where a mother and daughter lived in squalor (and they were relations to Jackie Kennedy, who did try to help them). Drew Barrymore made and starred in the movie and there are Youtube videos of the actual women. Anyway, that sad story kinda reminds me of that.
    Loved all the photos! Your “family” ones are always great to see. And I’m loving those cows!
    Thanks for the “virtual” trip!😀😀😀
    Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Yes I mean those wormy things🙂 I never care about them when eating the berries on my walks, but it would be nice not to find any boiled on my pancakes🙂🙂🙂

      I can honestly say that after learning the history of that place I would never live there even if I could afford buying the place🙂🙂🙂

      I have actually heard of Grey Gardens and know some of the history. I think it was a documentary about Jackie Kennedy that showed it. Sad story that too!

      I love cows and I am so happy to live next door to some of them🙂

      Take care!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

