White spots.

Nova have several new white spots in her fur. I too have gotten white spots and big areas around my cottage as well. I´ve been busy this morning since this is the only day for at least five days that it isn´t supposed to rain, which by the way was wrong🙂🙂

Daylily 'Stella d´oro'.

Well so far its just been a drizzle but it is rain just the same. I´ve been neglecting my little cottage way to long so today I scraped, washed, puttied and painted most of my windows and the kitchen door. I didn´t take those on the upper floor, I just hate standing on ladders and I really wanted to finish the bottom floor first.

I didn´t take the little window at the toilet because I forgot it and I didn´t take the windows by the entrance because I must replace two broken small glass parts before I paint those. I realized that I need to get a new window in the kitchen. The one I have will make it one, perhaps two more years but that´s it. I can try to repair it though but then I need to learn how to, so I might do that next summer. I also need a new kitchen door.

Now I continue my little trip. We´re at a gardencentre and The coming photographs will show the surroundings.

This one has no insulation in it so the cold slips in to my kitchen every winter if I don´t put something thick in the inside every winter. It´s in a not so good shape as well, so a new door is a need soon. We have at least one door at work, we make windows and doors as well and sometimes customers change their mind so we have a couple standing just waiting to be bought🙂 It has the right color as well so I think I´ll take a little talk with the factory owner to see if I can get a good price on it🙂

Later that day we decided to go to a restaurant in a small old fishing village. I had the most delicious pike-perch🙂

Most houses are very small and is placed very close together. So if one farts in one house they´ll know it four houses further down the street🙂

I think I need to repaint these windows and the door one more time, So I´ll do that as soon as we get a rain free day again. It started to drizzle as soon as I had finished painting and I have been hearing thunder almost all day. But I must forbid any kind of rain these coming six hours. After that the paint is dry enough and I don´t care any more🙂🙂🙂

A car like this is always woth showing don´t You think🙂

While I was painting I realized two things. The first thing was that the flies didn´t care about me?! I only got bitten once by a horse fly and the forest flies didn´t try to land in my ears or nose. I know they do disappear in a couple of weeks but I´m kind of hoping they already has started to die🙂

We sat on the outside and I love the views from this restaurant. The water is brackish so they can get both salt and freshwater fish here.

Germans just love Sweden.

The other thing I noticed was that there´s a wasp nest under the tiles not far from one of the windows I was painting. I needed to stand on the ladder to reach the upper parts of that window and I must have annoyed those wasp quite much while putting up the ladder. I don´t know how many they were but they filled the air around me but none did anything to me. But I can say it didn´t feel especially nice standing there🙂🙂🙂

See You tomorrow🙂

It is finally time for something to eat and then we´ll take a little walk in to the forest I think. I do hope the flies are starting to die but I´ll take no risk, I´ll bring my mosquito hat with me🙂                                                                                                                                             Have a great day!

24 thoughts on “White spots.

  1. Jaha – och vilken liten fiskeby är det där då och vad heter restaurangen!? Eller vill du hålla det hemligt så man inte kan turista i den!! 🙂
    Jag undrade länge vad du menade med “vita fläckar” fast efter att du berättat om målningen så förstod jag! *fniss*

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Minns inte namnet på byn, men restauranten heter Albertina🙂 Ligger uppe vid Söderhamn så det är ju inte nästgårds för någon av oss🙂🙂

      Ja Nova är lika skicklig som gamla Viran var med att sätta och lägga sig i färgen🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. That Volkswagen was my first car my Senior year in High School. I loved that little bug. We used to pack ice and beer in the front trunk and as we drove to Nagshead would pull over for a “cold one”. It was a six hour drive back then. So is red the color for your house? Same as everyone elses? And are those boat houses built out over the water in the one photo or do people live in them on pilings? I really couldn’t tell because most boat houses don’t have windows. Why do you write the Germans love Sweden? I would too!

    • Hi Z&M!
      It is a beautiful little car! I wish I had one🙂

      Yes the cottage will remain red with white around the windows and on the corners of the house. We swedes love our red little homes🙂

      I can´t say wether people live in these ones but I guess they do, at least during summer.

      Germans do love Sweden. They buy our cottages down in southern Sweden and stays here during summer and many of them come here during Christmas too. I guess its our All mans right law that they love and the the more relaxed atmosphere we have here. One of their most popular soap operas takes place in sweden🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Fina bilder från din resa! Jag undrade också vart det var men så läste jag ditt svar på Susies kommentar;) Kommer att kännas skönt när sådana där nödvändiga saker som fönstermålning är klart. Så bra att du kan få en ny dörr till kanske ett bra pris, det gäller att ha kontakter:)) Lade märke till en sak som jag bara inte kan låta bli att påpeka, dagliljan är inte Stella de´Oro. Troligen är det Corky hoppas att du inte tar illa upp för påpekandet:)) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Det är otroligt vackert där uppe! Men de har ju hur mycket snö som helst på vintrarna så där skulle jag bli galen tror jag🙂🙂🙂

      Det lustiga är att jag gillar att måla om huset, men har förbaskat svårt att komma igång🙂🙂 Regnet skall visst komma rätt sent i morgon så nu har jag maskerat de sista fönstrena på bottenvåningen (även de vid entrén, det är ju bara till att måla om när jag satt in de nya rutorna). Så så fort det blir torrt efter morgondaggeb sätter jag igång med de också🙂

      Så det är ingen stella d´oro! Köpte den som det men inte katten spelar det någon roll🙂 Har Corky någon doft? för det har denna om dock svagt. Naturligtvis tar jag inte illa upp🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! i love seeing all of these photos! it is so beautiful. i love the detail work on those front porches. perch is one of my favorite fishes too. i had almost that same VW. the floor rusted through and when i drove through puddles my feet would get wet. i learned to drive a standard on that car. germans love everywhere! when we used to go to costa rico it was filled with german tourists. germans like to travel a lot. our official heat wave has started. it will last at least a week. the humidity was 90% this morning. it is just awful! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      It is very beautiful up there but I would hate the winters. It´s not unusual that they get over a yard of snow or even more🙂🙂🙂 WE call that detail work on the porches for “Carpenters joy”🙂

      Yes one can find germans all over the world🙂 But they buy our cottages and houses here in southern Sweden and spends most of summer here and many during christmas as well. They even buy moose shit as souvenirs and steel our moose warning signs🙂🙂🙂

      It must be terrible to get an even warmer heat wave when it already is hot! I hope it doesn´t stay to long!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    I want that blue ginger bread front porch and the bicycle with sun flowers. It’s lovely!🙂
    The seagull in the last shot looks like he’s saying “What do you want, Human?”.
    When you wrote that Germans really loved Sweden I thought, well, that was where the Kaiser Wilhelm was vacationing when World War I broke out but I was wrong. He was sailing around in the Norwegian fjords.
    Interesting Google Translate note: I figured dagliljen meant day lilies but Google Translate wouldn’t translate it so I split the words to dag liljen. I know this is not good Swedish. The meaning of the whole sentence changed. When the words were combined Monica’s sentence translated to “the dagliljen were Stella D’Oro”. When the words were split, the sentence changed to “day lilies were NOT Stella D’Oro” and I think that’s what she really meant. I love Google Translate.😀
    Hope the white spots come out.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!
      That cottage is really beautiful!
      Sweden has always been very influenced by germany so we are in many ways quite alike. Except for the thing that we are more relaxed. But it was probably Görings love for Sweden that in the end kept us out from WW2.

      Life would be so boring without Google translate🙂🙂🙂 The second is the right one🙂 My daylily is most probably not stella d´oro as I bought it as. But the name really doesn´t matter🙂

      I guess those white spots will sit some time🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. we have a lot of german people buying cottages here as well.If I didn’t know these were photos of ZSweden i would say it was Ontario Canada,, my home,, the same rocky lake shores and the forest has the same trees,, we get over one yard of snow every winter,, so we enjoy summer greatly.Our summer has been extra hot this year,, I have enjoyed your photos very much,, I really like the red houses,,

    • Hi Laurie!
      It´s a long way for them to get to those cottages if they buy them in Canada🙂🙂

      I wonder if there were lots of swedes moving to Canada as well when they emigrated? Usually the styles of houses and barns are very typical for the region people comes from. Our houses looks very different from those one can find in Norway or Denmark for instance.

      I can´t stand snow so I´m quite happy that we seldom get more than half a yard of snow in the winter🙂🙂🙂

      Our summer has been strange. Heat wave in April and may and also in early june, but now we´re back to normal with cool and rainy weather again🙂🙂🙂
      Wev swedes love our red houses🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Mig veterligen har Corky ingen doft men det kan ju vara en hybrid av några andra inblandade;) Googla på Corky så kan du ju läsa och se hur det stämmer med din planta:)/Monne

    • Skall googla! Skall vi vara ärliga så är det mer tur and norm om man får rätt växt🙂 Den är i alla fall gul och det var det jag ville ha🙂
      Christer.

  8. This is a lazy day for me. I’m at the beach and catching up on old postings, etc., Love the deer photlos and all the others you’ve posted, today. You have such a great eye. Enjoy the last few days of your summer. We are so hot, here, I’m thinking of making a shade umbrella for my garden

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I´ll have plenty of lazy days here because it will rain almost every day for the coming ten days🙂🙂 So I do hope it won´t start until late afternoon today so I can finish painting the windows on the bottom floor.

      Those deers are getting easier to photograph by the day now🙂 They are so used to us that they barely look at us any longer🙂🙂🙂

      Cool and rainy here so perhaps I should make an umbrella garden too, to protect everything from the rain🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. It was fun going along with you on this trip, Christer. This series was quite a change from seeing your lovely forst photos. As much as I enjoyed seeing the village and houses and that old VW, I must admit that my favorite was the snail coming out of its shell, just amazing!

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Even though I do love going up there I still love coming home to the flies and mosquitos🙂🙂

      I do like that snail photograph too. I like photographing snails because they are just soo slowly and nothing much happens while I adjust the camera🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. För att vi alla ska få en bättre väderprognos för sommaren. Måla klart nån gång!!
    Jag vet att det alltid blir regn bara nån tänker måla, hihi. Här fortsätter vi gräva mellan hus och stall, bara lite kvar, sen ska vi gjuta för stolpar. Funderar på att göra en storshopping på Löta nästa vecka.
    Ha det gött och glöm inte att ha pensel i ena näven.
    Kram LjusneLotta & Co

    • Hejsan Lotta!
      Jag kämpar på så gott jag kan🙂🙂🙂 Nu är i alla fall alla fönstrena på bottenvåningen klara, även om jag nog vill lägga ett lager till på några av dem. Sedan är det bara själva stugan kvar🙂🙂 Men den är ju såpass liten att det går hyfsat fort att klara av den.
      Tänk nu på att göra staketet såpass högt att mina hundar inte kan hoppa över🙂🙂🙂

      Själv funderar jag på att fara till Öbergs och hitta några buskar och träd, fast jag vet inte om de fortfarande har stängt över sommaren🙂🙂

      Ha det gott själv🙂
      Christer.

  11. HA! I JUST got it! about the “white spots”! LOL!
    And the farting and hearing ii next door.🙂 sometimes I wonder what the neighbors hear! Last month when it was nicer outside and i had the windows open and I was still on that TV ban, I could hear quite alot through my windows! LOL! well, it wasn’t really that funny but….
    What a BEAUTIFUL town! Loved seeing everything and all that water! so pretty.
    I hardly see red houses here right now. Years ago everyone seemed to have blue houses and then tan or khaki and now grey or taupe (and of course always white) I think there were more red in the 60’s or 70’s….so that probably means that it’s about time for them to be red again!
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi🙂🙂🙂
      I never hear anything from my neighbors except for lawn mowing and hey drying fans🙂🙂 This is truly an uneventful place in the outskirts of the world🙂

      I do like that little village but I would never want to live there, just to close to everyone in the whole village🙂🙂🙂 But it would be nice to live that close to the ocean though.

      We´ve had red houses and lots of them since centuries and it seems we never tires of it🙂

      Take care!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

