The continuing of my little trip.

And off to work I went this morning. I´m not sure if it was because I was going to work or if it actually was the nicest morning we´ve had in weeks 🙂 🙂 Cool, sunny and not a cloud in the sky.

All lying photographs get bigger and hopefully better if You click on them.

The tree stump.

As You can see it almost totally covers the plastic tube coming from the filter. Perhaps I should bring a bigger tree stump next time to cover the actual filter as well.

But the rain came after a couple of hours as they had promised. The thing I was going to paint is way to big for me to turn around by myself and there must be as little damages on it as possible. But I have to say that even if we were four people we didn´t quite make it 🙂 🙂 🙂

They told me that no one ever had painted such an object in that huge size before and as it looked today I doubt anyone else ever will 🙂 🙂 🙂 It´s a kind of heat exchanger and even though it´s huge it´s very delicate and it is easy to damage. Well no more work until monday week 32 and now I have an extra vacation day to spend around Yule 🙂 🙂

The river Ljusnan is nothing compared to the bigger rivers further north but still its bigger than most rivers further south.

I was passing under one of the many bridges they have there when I saw this.

It´s an old foundry. It wasn´t open when I passed early in the morning though 🙂 So I can´t say when they stopped using it.

It´s not only the mosquitos that dislikes the repellent I put on myself every day, the flies seems to resent it as well, so today I used it on my dogs as well. Only on the head and on the ears and it seems to work rather well. Some flies did land on them but took off rather quickly. So now I´ll buy some of the same stuff but in an aerosol instead. Perhaps they won´t have those horse fly bites on their ears any longer after that.

They use the river to make electricity and while I stood at the top of the power plant and looked down I saw this big fish! I think it is a Pike-perch.

I brought a piece of an old tree stump with me home from our walk yesterday and placed it by the pond. Now it covers the plastic tube where the water from the filter comes out. I quite like it and I´m thinking of placing a tree trunk or two over the pond as well so it looks like a little forest mere. I´ll soon be cutting down the rest of the lilacs by the entrance so I´ll have plenty of smaller tree trunks to chose from. Or perhaps it would look better with a bigger pine branch instead? They do age more beautiful to be honest.

Later that day we decided to make two small trips. One to a gardencentre and one to a lovely little village where they have a fantastic restaurant.

But I´ll show You more from those trips tomorrow 🙂

The rain has started to pour down again but since there´s no wind I´ll keep my windows and kitchen door open. I love the sound of rain even if I think it didn´t have to rain here at the moment 🙂  🙂  I´ll write again tomorrow even if I usually have a day off on wednesdays.                                                                                                                                 Have a great day!

16 thoughts on “The continuing of my little trip.

  1. How good it is to be back! I am a terrible blogging friend, Christer! I am having problems getting back into posting and visiting. Forgive me. 🙂
    I loved the pictures, every single one of them. It’s always like a mini vacation visiting you. Not enthralled about the horse flies though. Those things hurt when they bite! Mosquito’s have really moved into our fountain on the front porch so I have to find something that kills them and doesn’t harm the little birds that frequent it.
    Have a wonderful day, Christer!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      No Your not terrible 🙂 It´s just that sometimes we really must prioritize other things in life 🙂 I´ve noticed quite a drop in the numbers of visitors I have here at the moment and I think it all has to do with summer 🙂 We all have so many things we like to do now and I´m amongst the few that have a month of vacation so I can continue like always 🙂 🙂 🙂
      So we can say that we had this mini vacation together then, on the opposite sides of the world 🙂 🙂

      Yes horse flies are really nasty! But we doesn´t have as many as I feared this year, but to many anyway 🙂 You can always drop a couple of drops with dish soap. Just a couple so it doesn´t start to bubble 🙂 🙂 The dish soap destroys the surface tension so that the mosquito larvae´s drowns.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!
      I´ll see if I can find any info about that foundry. I saw some information notices but my dogs wanted to continue the walk 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. That old foundry had such a beautiful look to it. I also loved the photo of the fish. Great idea to put the stump at the pond, covering up the unnatural with natural objects. All your rain has made everything so green and lush; here is hot and dry the grass is crispy brown and we have to water water water the garden. I clicked on you last photo, with the sweet butterfly to use as my desktop background! (I do that with other of your photos as well, so enjoyable your photos). Continue enjoying your holiday, and love to the family!!

    • Hi Robin!
      It is really beautiful and to my eyes very english in the way it looks.

      Unfortunately all rain now makes things go yellow instead. The water doesn´t go down in to the ground any longer even if we mostly have sand instead of soil here. The grass in my lawn almost stands still now and that´s almost as good as when it´s to dry 🙂 I don´t need to mow the lawn 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I´ve been thinking of putting a tree stump there for a long time and had looked at one for a long time. But just when I was about to carry it home someone else took it 🙂 🙂 🙂 I´ve seen some great pine branches out in the forest and I hope I´ll be able to bring one home with me.

      I feel honored that You have my photographs as desktop backgrounds 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! gorgeous photos as usual! i am glad to hear that the insect repellent works on the pups! those horse flies are nasty. and what a good tip about the dish detergent i saw on your answer to mona! i am going to use that one. i have decided to take teddy to a local vet hospital to see about them doing the surgery locally. i get nervous about the teaching hospitals. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      It´s nothing bad in that repellant either so I don´t have to worry abut them getting poisoned 🙂 🙂

      The washing detergent works great but just be careful so You don´t take to much 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I wouldn´t go to a teaching hospital either. I would if it only was me they would carve in but never my pets 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. The town and country photos remind me of trips through Pennsylvania. I wonder if the Swedish influence survived there at the turn of the Century. We did have people from all over Europe immigrate to the U.S. including my family on my Father’s side. But for sure, the one photo with what looks like a horse stable on one level is a perfect example of what you would find in PA. Interesting post today. I see the cats love the grass.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Perhaps You´re right. Most swedes did move to the sates around the big lakes when they emigrated to the US. More photographs of houses and barns is coming 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    I love that last photo with the butterfly. Is it on angelica? Looks too sturdy to be Queen Anne’s Lace. My other favorite is the house with the water wheel.
    The stump is wonderful. It looks like a crane pointing its beak at the sky. Good choice for a cottage by the Crane Lake. 🙂
    I guess I’m fortunate to live where there are good veterinary hospitals attached to the schools. They have the latest equipment, modern facilities and are up to date on procedures and protocols. If my own vet couldn’t do the job, I would not hesitate to take my animals to the teaching hospital. I might hesitate to take me to a teaching hospital, especially at the beginning of summer. That’s when the new doctors fresh out of medical school come on staff. I think I would wait until September. The nursing staff usually has them well trained by then. 🙂
    Your post sounds like you didn’t quite get the big delicate object completely painted. Did you break any bits of it while you were trying to turn it around? Just joking. 🙂
    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Yes it is an angelica. They are much larger this summer so they actually reminds a lot of a plant we tries to wipe out totally here, the Giant Hogweed. The giant hogweed can give people third degree burns so it´s something we really want to get rid off!

      I know those new vets must learn by working on our pets and I´m pretty sure they are good, but my vets are so experienced and manages most everything so New ones just don´t know that much. But I wouldn´t hesitate new doctors working on me though 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Well I did get it completely painted but it´s just so big that we did do some damage on it even though I think it´ll pass. There were problems no one ever had thought of and yesterday they all tried to figure out how to deal with them, not to successfully I might add 🙂 🙂 🙂 Especially since the paint is poisonous and it´s impossible to manage the thing myself 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I really enjoy reading and seeing your little trips.
    It’s a nice escape as I sit in front of the air-conditioner.
    😀 – Cindi

  7. Härliga bilder – men helt otroligt att ni har regn IGEN! Här fick vi till min glädje 4 mm i förrgår, så jag vattnar, vattnar, vattnar…..
    Vilka otroligt roliga och osvenska hus, ser precis ut som några sydfranska eller kanske spanska byggnader.
    Din idé med en större tallgren låter bra, för precis som du säger så ser dom nog mer rustika ut än syren!
    Igår var jag iväg till en handelsträdgård och köpte 5 luktpioner till Pennys grav. Nu ska jag sitta inne och bestämma exakt hur jag ska plantera dom. Alla är nämligen av olika namnsorter med olika höjd, blomningsfärg och blomningstid. Det enda jag är orolig för är att jag blir tvungen att sätta dom FÖR tätt. Fast hellre det, man kan ju flytta dom även om dom egentligen inte gillar det!

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Jodu, det regnade på rätt bra igår och imorgon kommer det än mer. Så trots att det skall vara uppehåll hela dagen idag (vilket inte riktigt stämmer med verkligheten) så behövs det verkligen inte vattnas 🙂 🙂

      Husen längre norrut ser lite annorlunda ut än våra här nere i söder, fast skall jag vara ärlig kom jag ju inte ens halvvägs upp i landet 🙂 🙂 Kanske är det för att man är van vid hur det ser ut här i de sydligaste delarna av landet, men jag tycker deras hus är mycket vackrare än våra.

      Jo det får nog bli en tallgren. Har sett ett par som verkar lovande.

      Det är lite av en myt att pioner inte gillar flytt. Tar man bara med en rejäl jordklump märker de inte ens av det 🙂 Vattna bra vid flytten dessutom och de kommer att vara helnöjda 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

