Haggling, lemon tree and shoes.

Teodor resting on my neighbors lawn.

It´s yet again one of those wonderful mornings when the temperature still is summer warm but not hot. It´s around 19C (66F)  and it won´t be much warmer during the day either🙂 Well living in a cold hole during winter usually means it´s a heat hole during summer, but the sky is fairly cloudy so I hope that means it will be cool here as well.

Hector knows about the deer on the field (can You see it?) but we´ve met them so often now that not even Nova is especially interested🙂

It showed that there were two of them.

They slowly walked away to the field next door just to meet us there too. Then they slowly walked back again🙂

Almost all grass on the fields has been cut down and that means most flies of the biting kind has fled towards the sheltering trees in the forest. I can actually walk around in my garden without being bitten more than once or twice🙂 The season for these flies, like the horse flies, isn´t that long to be honest and they did start early this year, so that might mean that I´ll get a week or two without any of them during my vacation🙂

The Portal didn´t really close totally in the top this year. I guess the winter was to tough and lots of branches just froze and died.

I needed new shoes badly so this morning I drove to the big supermarket in Skara. I normally don´t put a lot of money in summer shoes, the season is just to short and I´ll most probably want new ones next summer anyway. But it seems they have stopped selling shoes there so then I had to drive in to the town anyway. On my way there I went in to the gardencentre (not a good name for it but they do sell trees from time to time and it´s to big to be called shop). I was the other day. I had seen some lemon trees there and I´ve always wanted to have one.

Do You remember that I bought three dahlias with almost dark red leafs? This is the second one to flower and I love the color! It´s a keeper. Well I most probably save the others as well to be honest. The third one will open up by the weekend I think.

This one You´ve seen before but it was the first one to flower. I´ll most probably sow seeds from these next year and I´ll save all that has those dark leafs.

Flammentanz, one of the hardiest roses there are. Tricky though because sometimes it refuses to flower.

They didn´t look to happy and some of them had lots of aphids living on them as well. To be honest, they didn´t cost much as it was but I felt it still was a slight risk any of them will die  because of the shape they were in. So I did something I´ve never done before and probably never will again, I haggled🙂🙂🙂 I belong to those that can´t haggle. I feel terrible and suddenly feel the urge to pay even more so I just don´t have to haggle🙂

Buttercup 'Citrina'.

Himalayan balsam, a weed extraordinaire. It´s an annual but the seeds can lay in the ground for years and germinate when it feels like. It grows so strong that even thistles and nettles has problems🙂 I like it🙂

To my big surprise I was successful and got it for almost half the price🙂🙂 So off I went to the shoe shop and found a shoe I liked. It doesn´t look much for the world (swedish expression) like a running shoes but more open so it doesn´t get that warm. I said I wanted them and while she went to get the other shoe I took a look at the price. It was so bl..dy expensive that I sort of stopped to breath for a while🙂🙂🙂 Now since I´m a man that really can´t haggle I also never can say that something is to expensive iof I already have said I wanted it🙂🙂🙂

Admiral butterfly (the swedish name translated to english).

I think this one is a Big spotted pearl butterfly (once again the name is just translated to english.)

The eyes of a horse fly. They are quite beautiful when the light hits the right way. This one is dead and therefore a good horsefly🙂🙂

Thankfully they had a summer sale today so the price was lowered 30%, but I could have bought all lemon trees and some other things too for that price🙂🙂🙂 To be honest, the shoes looks cheap, they don´t even have real laces but some kind of elastics that is stretched and fastened in an attachment. But when that is worn out I can use normal shoe laces instead🙂

Adenophora bulleyana In think. It´s an adenophora anyway.

The name is gone for the moment I´m afraid🙂 But it is a relative to those flowers You´ve seen here with butterflies on them. This one however doesn´t seem to be that attractive to them.

Primula vialii.

I´ve decided to take a vacation from the entire internet from wednesday until at least sunday. It´s time to let the brain rest some too🙂 So I´ll write tomorrow and I´ll start writing next monday again. who knows I might actually get something done during those days🙂🙂 Now it´s time to make a pot of tea and then I´ll replant that lemon tree of mine🙂                                                                                                                                                           Have a great day now!

16 thoughts on “Haggling, lemon tree and shoes.

  1. So many beautiful and interesting flowers. I do like those dahlias, great shade of red. I had to chuckle about your haggling for the lemon trees, congrats on being successful. I hope those trees will be good to you! About the shoes, try to remember to check the price First before telling them you want them. Hopefully they are comfortable. Enjoy your day!

    • Hi Robin!
      I always miss dahlias when I don´t have any in my garden and yet sometimes I can get so tired of them that I some years refuse to have any🙂🙂

      I just hate haggling because I always think that the one selling what ever it might be works hard all day🙂🙂
      I only bought one lemon tree and I´m sort of happy about that now since the shoes were so expensive🙂🙂🙂 I just couldn´t imagine that they could cost much since they actually looks like cheap copies🙂🙂🙂 Perhaps that´s the fashion now days🙂🙂🙂 But they are comfortable and very steady for my feet which I need since I do have problems with my joints.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Haha, du é för rolig:)) Pruta är ju skitkul, det lärde jag mig när vi var i Spanien ofta förr. Det är dock det värsta Göran vet så jag fick alltid göra det:) Dilemmat med skorna påminde mig om när jag köpte fisk från fiskbilen för några år sedan, det var också så att jag inte kunde med att säga att jag inte ville ha den när hon sagt priset. Vi åt med andakt kan jag ju säga ;)) 380:- för lite fisk på en vardag. Kommer också att ha ett blogguppehåll från onsdag i denna veckan till onsdag nästa vecka, ska till Tyskland med två tjejer på dagliljekonvent:)) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Att pruta är bland det värsta jag vet, får riktig ångest när jag försöker🙂🙂🙂 Men idag fungerade det riktigt bra fast jag mådde dåligt under vtiden🙂🙂

      Visst är det väl typiskt🙂 När man inte kan tro att något är dyrt och sedan kan man inte med att ångra sig🙂🙂 Får nog säga att det var snaskigt dyr fisk🙂🙂

      Det är bara nyttigt att ha lite uppehåll ibland med bloggandet. Ha det så roligt på dagliljekonventet!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    I agree with you about the “good” horsefly.🙂 Over here they get very large. You can see one coming for you across a 20 acre field. I don’t know what that is in metric but it’s far.🙂
    No haggling for me either. I hate shopping for a car because you have to haggle and I don’t have the patience. Either the car is the price on the sticker or it’s not. If it’s not, put the right damn price on the sticker. Haggling feels like whining and I hate whining.
    Lovely flowers and butterflies today. The primula is interesting. Have never seen that one. Good luck with the lemon tree.
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I think the largest fly they ever cought here was a horse fly, it was over 6 cm (around 2,3 inches) and they are fast too! So dead ones are absolutely best🙂🙂

      I actually feel sick when I have to haggle🙂 Did so this time too but it worked fine this time🙂🙂 But I would have the patiens if I just managed to haggle at all🙂🙂 But I agree it should be the price the tag says!

      It is a beautiful primula and quite common here now days, but it is short lived unfortunately. I had three last year but now one have died.

      I do hope the lemon tree survives! It looks a bit healthier now after I have planted it in a bigger pot and watered it with fertilizer. I also sprayed it with soap solution to kill all eventual pests.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! hahaha…it is funny about the haggling. over here it is almost expected. the housing market is pretty stable here now. my home is unique and in a highly desirable area so it will be interesting to see what happens when i put it up for sale. it will be difficult to get back what i put into it. it sells with the stone guest house too. so, i really will be selling two houses. first i have to decide where i want to move to though! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I always feel terrible if trying so I usually don´t🙂🙂🙂 Its beginning to be more common here too I´ve heard. But I really wanted a lemon tree but they were in a sad condition. So I just had to do it today🙂🙂🙂

      I guess areas like Yours always are desirable and seldom gets hit by those crises. I guess You´ll be heading towards north for less summer heat? And I think that as long as You like the house You´ll change it to exactly what You like🙂🙂 But personally I would feel sad to leave a garden like Yours🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. I could never haggle, either, and usually feel I should pay them! to let me buy it! Love the deep dahlia and hope you can plant some seeds from it, next year, too. I think a rest is always good for the old creative brain. And, of course, you can get some things done around the house… very important, indeed! Sorry about the shoes. I agree with the comment you should ask the price, first, before telling them you want the product. Makes it much easier. Do you have deer flies there, too? The deer flies are even bigger than your horse flies, if that’s possible! And, they have a serious bite.😎 Enjoy your tea and time off!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I feel much the same🙂 But things are changing I feel.
      The problem with sowing seeds from any flower that isn´t a species is that we never knows what we´ll get. But I hope at least some will get that wonderful color on the flower.

      The funny thing with the shoes is that the price tag was hanging in front of me, but it was partly hidden🙂🙂 Well this I hope means that they´ll last more than one summer🙂🙂

      Deer flies and moose flies exist here but they don´t come until early september. Those are truly nasty!!!! Even if they doesn´t bite me (but they seems to love my neighbor) they make me panic! They are just impossible to kill and they can hide in the hair all day, just to crawl out during the night. I´m freezing within just by thinking of them! I refuse to walk in to the forest while they are around! But the species we have here are rather small thankfully!

      I´ll come back tomorrow but after that I´ll take a break🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Min gubbe är otrolig på att pruta, han prutar på allt – och får till dom mest otroliga priser ibland. Alltså även i vanliga affärer. Det kan gälla vår nya bil – den prutade han ner åtskilliga tusentals kronor. Fast där kan det ju bero lite på bilkunskapen. Likaså vår nya åkgräsklippare som blev 2000:- billigare än den billigaste på nätet!:-)
    Själv är jag väldigt moderat, fast jag har börjat pruta på loppisgrejor – och tycker numera att det är riktigt kul. Halva nöjet faktiskt!🙂🙂 Nu när du kommit över gränsen så kommer du säkert att göra det igen!!🙂🙂🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Jag önskar jag kunde pruta ordentligt eller kanske pruta alls🙂🙂 Får väl see om jag kan göra det igen någon gång🙂🙂 Kanske att det skulle vara lättare på loppis trots allt? Händer det igen får jag väl berätta det här🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. I love that portal. It’s how I know for sure your winter has arrived and summer is here. Looks odd that the top no longer comes together but no mind, it still looks full and is shaking hands with the other trees. Well have a great vacation from blogging. I’ll miss checking in on your daily whereabouts. I have to say I needed new jeans this summer and Lee Jeans had a two for one sale so for $30 US I got two pair and the store was flooded with people buying. First time I bought a black pair of jeans but my thinking is I can use them for work too. Shoes are out of sight everywhere and mostly made cheaply in China. I hate to buy shoes. Happy trails! See you tomorow and back here on Monday.

    • Hi Z&M!
      The Portal is one of my favorite spots here and it always feels sort of important when going through there🙂

      Buying theses shoes felt like paying for two getting one pair🙂🙂🙂 But they do feel great around my feet and I do hope they will last for a very long time now🙂🙂 I guess all shoes are made in china these days, there are so few real shoemakers left now so if the chinese decided to stop making shoes we all would have to walk barefooted🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. LOL! I don’t like to haggle in a “rude” way. I would never say something snotty or imply that something was of inferior quality but…..as you KNOW from my blog😀 I would hem and haw and shuffle my feet and say,,,,um, this is missing “fill in the blank” would you take less?
    Or I would say “this plant is really struggling, would you knock some off the price?”….unless I’m buying a car. Then I come in with all my research done, papers in hand and make an outrageous offer which they always counter with some outlandish price….I hate the whole process but I know they are out for themselves and I know that I have NO money…so I really try to get a good deal.
    They kinda had me over the barrel when I bought my van because my VW was upside down as far as my loan on it (and the transmission was going!) so it wasn’t easy and finally at the end of the deal I asked if they could at least fill it up with gas! LOL!
    Anyway, Enjoy your vacation! Funny but I was thinking of taking some time off the Internet too. I have so much to do and NO time to do it in!
    Have FUN! I will miss your AMAZING photos. They are truly stunning. I love the flowers and of course Teodor!🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I really don´t like to haggle in any way🙂🙂🙂 Especially not when it comes to cars, perhaps that´s why I´ve been buying cars from friends these last ten years🙂🙂🙂

      I think it is a good thing to take a break once in a while. It takes me at least one hour to write and add photographs to my blog and then it takes quite some time to go through what photograph will come in to the blog or not. And there´s always something going wrong and then it takes even more time🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

