I should have taken the time.

Finally it´s here, the beginning of my way to short vacation. I know I we have more vacation here in Sweden than most other places on this little planet of ours but it still feels way to short. We have a saying here that “much wants more” and I guess that´s right🙂🙂

Ladies bedstraw. I like this wild flower and especially know before it opens up and is sort of lime green yellowish. When it does it becomes bright yellow and smells fantastic! We have lots of it here.

I have dropped my mosquito hat somewhere when we were out walking and even if I can guess where it is I just can´t go there without a mosquito hat🙂🙂 So I drove by the little town Skara to the discount store that is placed by the edge of town. It´s the only place I know they sell these hats. I couldn´t find them at first and walked around in the isles and I´m glad I did. I found mosquito nets for doors and windows as well. So I bought two for the windows (so I can have three windows open hot days) and one for a door🙂

While walking around in the store someone started to talk to me. I turned around and saw one of the less beautiful transexuals I´ve ever seen (even I that know nothing about makeup could have some tips, using a bra would have been another tip I could have given🙂🙂  ). She started to talk about where one could find old fashioned soda crates so she could place all the LP´s, singles and EP`s she just had bought (several thousands). I realized that this conversation had nothing to do with crates what so ever, she was just very lonely. It can´t be easy to live in a small town where everyone knows everything about You.

I also drove to Gudhem to buy my groceries as I always do on fridays. So I brought my camera and took some photographs. This is Bjurums church in the distance.

They still have their midsummers pole standing in Gudhem as tradition requires. I think they had dressed it in birch leafs and the rings was most probably dressed in wild flowers.

I always feel sorry for those feeling they have been born in the wrong gender. Even those that go through with a total surgery seems unhappy in life. If people finds out they always risk of getting beaten by men that “knows how things should be” and if they should find someone to love they still risk to be left alone if they tell.

Gudhems church (that would be Gods home church in english) and You can also see some of the abbey ruins.

Bjurums old school in front of the church.

So we talked a little bit about all the records she recently had bought and I was thinking that she had to have a warehouse to get them all in to one place🙂🙂🙂 But I needed to find those mosquito hats before the last ones was sold (they thought they only had two left You see) and I hurried away on my search (and now I feel that I could have stayed longer really, who knows how many that wants to talk to her again). I never felt the urge to hit her because I really don´t know how things should be. I just hope she found someone else to talk with for a minute or two.

Down by the crane lake.

This is how it looks by the creek I often take photographs from, but closer to the lake.

On my way home I stopped by a gardencentre and bought two fuchsias for half the price. They need a lot of pruning but they will look nice after a while, but the most important plant I bought was a Nepethes. It eats flies🙂🙂 and on the end of each leaf it creates a jug (filled with something like stomach fluid). This attracts flies and the edge of every jug is so slippery that flies falls in to it. I sold some of those plants to farmers when I had my gardencentre and they work very well🙂

We have lots of geese here now but these were the only ones I could get some photographs of.

Angelica. I´m almost out of photographs from today but I have thankfully saved a couple others🙂

Our walk was a bit of a pain actually. No wind, rather warm and around a quadrillion with mosquitoes and horse flies. They say we most possibly will get thunder here later today and by the way these insects behaved I would say that we most possibly will. Tomorrow however the sun will come back again and life will be so much easier🙂

My Frost grapevine. No grapes this year either but it did flower when it got cold again, so I´m hoping for next year🙂

It´s time for something to eat with that pot of tea that I´ve just made. I would like to stay up all night now but I already feel so tired that I most probably will go to bed earlier than usual🙂🙂🙂                                                                                                                                       Have a great day!

This is the fly eating plant I bought today. It´s tricky and I might not make it survive through winter I´m afraid. I hope I do because it is nasty expensive🙂

24 thoughts on “I should have taken the time.

  1. You have a good heart, Christer, and I’m sure the lady felt wonderful after the few minutes you spoke. That fly-eating plant looks like something straight out of Avatar! I hope it makes it through the winter, too! Enjoy your rest. Tonight is an early night for me before going to the Market in the morning! They expect thunderstorms very early in the a.m. so I am bringing what I made today for the folks to taste.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I think all people are just as important weather they are transexuals or something else. But I wish I hadn´t stressed away like that but I just wanted to get home and start my vacation.

      I do like this plant🙂 I always think of the film “The day of the Triffids” when I see it🙂🙂🙂 But it wants almost tropical heat all year long so I doubt I will manage to keep it alive during winter. Perhaps I should have it in a see through plastic bag over the radiator? Then it will have high humidity and enough heat to survive the little daylight we have here.

      Good luck with the market and I do hope You won´t get any thunderstorms!

      Christer.

  2. Sad but I agree with your conclusion. They are lonely people and put upon by the assholes in our societies doesn’t help them feel accepted. The fly catcher is amazing. I’ve heard of a Venus Fly Trap but nothing compared to your photo. I hope you enjoy your vacation. We took our youngest Grandson to watch the final Shuttle launch of Atlantis and I’ll post the one photo I have of him watching from the Indian River. The blast off noise bothered him but the plume of cloud he found exciting, kept pointing. Also on Caturday Carlacita showed us a new kitten she gave birth to this week. Doesn’t even have its’ eyes open yet.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes they are and especially in a little town like that. Unfortunately we have a lot of nazis in the area so it´s not safe for a person that is special.

      I always think of the film “The day of the Triffids” when I see a plant like this🙂 but it could come from Pandora in Avatar as well🙂🙂 The Venus Fly trap is something that is well known here but most people kill them fast I´m afraid🙂 But I´ll get one next spring if I find any, they are only sold over here in spring You see. I can have it by the pond.

      It must have been so exiting for Your grandson! I would have loved to see that too🙂

      So she brought such a young kitty!! That shows just how much she trusts You! Looking forward to see it tomorrow!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! i wonder if that fly eating plant would eat stink bugs too? i need anything i can get! i too feel so bad for people trapped in the wrong body. some people think everything must be black or white when our world is made up of many different shades and colors. why would they think that people are any different. our world needs much more tolerance as we evolve! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      If the stink bug finds its scent attractive it will fall down in to that jug but there´s always a risk it starts to eat on this plant as well. I think several Venus Flytraps more possibly would be of some help against stink bugs.

      Yes it is sad! How anyone even can think that it´s a choice I just can´t understand! Who in their right mind would choose a life with that much problems? I only wish that they at least would get happy if they went through a total sex change, but it seems that isn´t the case.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer!
    It’s good to have several hats in stock. It could make some using a fabric called tulle … but I know that sewing is not your best skill🙂
    Poor transsexual … I can imagine that being transsexual is not easy, and should have a lot of bigotry and segregation. However, finding someone to love in this crazy world is very difficult for everyone. In this we are equal.
    I’m saving some of their photos on a website I discovered Pinterest. He keeps the photo references. To this day I regret not having found the beetle! Look there http://pinterest.com/edianab/
    Stay well take care and kisses for the boys
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      Yes it can be good to have a couple spare ones if visitors would like to walk out in to the forest too.

      It must be very difficult to be transexual and there lives a lot of nazis in this area as well so it´s dangerous to show anything like that I´m afraid.

      I´ve seen this Pinterest but I didn´t understand what it was🙂 I do wonder where that beetle went, maybe it got tired and flew away🙂🙂
      I´ll take a look at Your link!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    You are a gracious man. If people only knew the fascinating conversations they could have if they would just not be too self-involved to talk to others. I’ve had wonderful conversations with complete strangers in the cat food aisle or some other stupid place.
    I found a thicket of black raspberries on my walk this morning. It’s right along a path that lots of people use all day long. Near the place where I saw the heron that nobody noticed. There were a few ripe ones (not any more :-D) and many unripe ones. I will be passing by there fairly regularly for the next few days. Maybe I will even have a little basket with me. I was thinking about how you said you have blue raspberries and decided that the black ones could be called blue. Maybe they are the same. I photographed them before I put them in my mouth so I’ll put one up on Facebook and you can check it out.
    That Nepenthes is one funky looking plant. I think I’d rather have screens in the windows. Screens keep the bugs out and they won’t die if I forget to water them.🙂
    Yaaay Vacation! Laissez les bons temps rouler! Or something like that.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I´m not sure if I´m gracious but I do believe in that every one is worth just as much no matter how they are created. and You are so right, interesting conversations happens in the most odd places🙂🙂

      I´ll take a look at those berries at FB later, I know that You have a lot more different raspberries/blackberries than we have up here. Many of Your species can´t survive here and if they do they never give any berries.

      I do like that plant and anything that can help against flies and mosquitoes is welcome here🙂 But screens isn´t enough I´m afraid. So many flies just hitch hikes with my dogs when thet come in from a round in the garden. But it will be nice when I have put up those nets so I can have several windows open during the day🙂

      Yes Laissez les bonstemps rouler🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I have to say I hope that plant does kill flies and mosquitoes, because really, it is an ugly thing. Very alien looking. Wishing you a joyful vacation!!! Love to the family

    • Hi Robin!
      I´m not sure if I think it´s ugly but it is certainly not beautiful🙂🙂🙂 I know that it is very effective after those farmers came and told me so🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I lived with one of those Nepethes plants for one year-actually beautiful in an off way-then one of us gave up!!!!

    • Hi Angie!
      I think it looks interesting and very unusual🙂
      I won´t be the one giving up anyway🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Yes you should have taken the time and so should I have many times over. I find it difficult to live in a world with so much intolerance and ignorance. A world where you can be tortured and killed for being tolerant. I predict that man will not last but Mother Earth will.

    • Hi Oldfool!
      Yes I should have and I guess I would have if it had been today we had met. But I just wanted to find those hats before they were sold out. It showed they had rather many left so there were no real hurry to be honest. But the town is small so we´ll most probably run in to each other again.

      I´m pretty sure You´re right, mother earth will continue but we humans will kill our selves and lots of other living things as well.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Now that is one crazy looking plant, so I hope it works for you….maybe it is one of the “less beautiful transexuals” in the plant world! Wishing it were an orchid or something!🙂 All kidding aside…yes, way too many ignorant, narrow minded, jerks out there making it miserable for anyone a little different than they are! Those wingnuts scare me!
    Enjoy your summer holiday! PS. don’t they have screens for windows over there other than bug netting to put up?
    It’s amazing that your freezing, cold winters don’t kill off those nasty buggers!!

    • Hi Chris!
      It does look like something out from space🙂🙂 But I know it is effective since I sold some to farmers when I had my gardencentre. But there are some plants that deserve that title much more than this one🙂

      We have especially many idiots in this county I´m afraid. Why can´t they just leave those they don´t like alone?

      If we want screens we have to make them ourselves. It´s only we who lives in areas like this that needs it so bad. Bogs and swamps is paradise for these flies I´m afraid and I live just beside that🙂🙂🙂 These flies actually needs cold winters to survive, like our plants and trees does. They would get stressed to death if we had it warm all the time. But then other more heat tolerant flies would come instead🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. You mean they don’t make screens to fit most windows in Sweden? After all they make Volvo…one of the best cars out there and NO screens??🙂 BTW…we have a Volvo wagon and love it. It’s old and still going strong!
    I also think of Sweden as being very tolerant of all types of people…no? Are they also prejudice against people of color, etc. like they are here in the States? Although it is much better now…there are many more bi-racial marriages, communities, etc. than there used to be! Thank-goodness or somebody for that!🙂

    • Hi Chris!
      Í don´t think I´ve ever seen or even heard of ready made screens here. Normally it´s only a problem for us living close to swamps or bogs.

      I agree about Volvo🙂 I worked at Volvo for over twenty years before I started doing other things.It´s the most common car brand in Sweden, most of us have one or have at least had one🙂

      It´s getting more polarized when it comes to tolerance I´m afraid. The extreme right is growing even here even if it isn´t as bad as in the rest of Europe. After we joined the European Union intolerance started to grow here too, but as I wrote it is still not as bad here as it is in the rest of Europe.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  11. Sorry it took me so long to reply to this…I’m very suprised to learn that there is that much prejudice and intolerance in Europe…I always thought that they were ahead of us in that sense as there are so many different races, cultures, nationalities, etc. living in close proximity to each other. Is it more of a color or race prejudice or ideologies?
    I think it’s just plain ignorance to be intolerant of anyone that is different from you! Don’t you?

    • Hi Chris!
      Well I wasn´t at home anyway so I didn´t notice🙂🙂

      I think it´s even worse over here. Sweden is still rather good after all compared to France, Denmark and Finland not to forget the whole eastern Europe. We´ve learned nothing!!! I think it is a mix of it all, Every country seems to think they are better than the others and religion now too. The unstable economic situation in big parts of Europe doesn´t help either.

      Yes it is ignorance! Most of the people that has these ideas are poorly educated, low income (if any) and with no chance what so ever to get a job even if there were any. Most possibly they don´t even want a regular job, they want to be the head of a factory or something like that🙂🙂 How they can see themselves as better people is something I just can´t understand.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

