Only one more day :-)

Only one more day and then vacation🙂 These last tow days has felt like eternity so I´m sort of fearing tomorrow🙂🙂 The day has been mostly cloudy but we´ve seen that the sun has peaked through the clouds from time to time. Naturally the rain started as soon as we were about to take our walk when I came home🙂

A cold front is passing by and I can see that it´s mostly thunderclouds out there, but it doesn´t feel like thunder will start here. But the flies are behaving like mad and we were covered in mosquitos when we walked through the forest. I feel sorry for all animals out there that can´t escape all these nasty blood sucking insects and ticks we have out there right now.

Yummy!

I bought a lot of peaches on my way home today so soon I´ll be making some peach jam I thought. I was planning on buying some raspberries as well to mix in but naturally I forgot🙂 If I continue like this I´ll have lots of jam for my pancakes this coming autumn and winter🙂 I think I´ll get around 30 blueberries and perhaps as many gooseberries this year🙂 But I can see that I´ll get plenty of raspberries (and out in the forest I don´t think I´ve ever seen that many raspberries before) and I´ll have plenty of plums, apples and some sloe berries as well. It´ll be a lot of pancakes this winter🙂🙂

Black russian, I do hope it´ll taste as good as I´ve heard🙂

It´s time to make a pot of tea and some sandwiches too. I´ll probably have problems falling asleep and I´ll most probably wake up already at 4 am as I have done these last days. It´s like the day before summer vacation when I went to school🙂🙂🙂                                         Have a great day!

By the way, the women championship in soccer happens right now and yesterday the swedes won against the US team🙂🙂 It´s a great winning for us since most people think the US team will be the world champions this year🙂

12 thoughts on “Only one more day :-)

  1. Do let us know what the black Russian tomatoes taste like because I’ve heard that they are absolutely delicious. I added some Amelia tomato plants to my garden yesterday because they are so sweet and delicious. I agree, the cabbage butterfly is pretty but please keep it over there. I haven’t been watching the games, but I’m pulling for the US. Still have lots of jams and jellies to make, myself, so will say goodbye for today and thank you again for sharing such beautiful pictures.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I promise! But my favorite tomato is called Japanese fir tree and that one is absolutely delicious! But it doesn´t give that many tomatoes unfortunally.

      I´ve never heard of Amelia tomatoes But sweet and delicious sound ok to me🙂

      I do like that butterfly but its larvae´s can destroy lots in just a short time.

      It would be fun if Sweden and USA could meet in the finals🙂

      The jam tasted really nice today🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. The truck in the first photo? A neighbors perhaps? What’s it hauling, it looks stuck. Oh I love peach jams, fruits of all kinds. You have much to look forward to this Autumn. We are on a flood watch till 5PM EST and if I hear thunder we shut down all the computers and wait the storm out. I saw on the weather channel it is coming in from the coast so naturally we will get it first. It’s almost pitch black outside my window but no signs of thunder or lightening.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes it´s the closest farm here and also one of my closest neighbors. It wasn´t stuck but on its way home since the rain started while they were gathering hey.

      Yes the autumn and winter will be great when it comes to jam🙂🙂

      No thunder here and I do hope it doesn´t get to bad over Yours! Lots of cities have gotten problem with all water in these last bad thunderstorms, flooding everywhere and rats fleeing up on the streets and in to the houses.

      Have a great day despite eventual thunderstorms!
      Christer.

  3. Surely do wish we could taste some of your jams!!! Beautiful rainy photos today. I’m afraid I don’t follow soccer, but I would have to root for the US team of course, but congrats to Sweden anyway!! Good luck with last day of work before vacation. The animal family is going to be confused with you being home for 4 weeks! Hope they will let you sleep in a bit!

    • Hi Robin!
      So far they´ve tasted delicious🙂 But I´m hoping for lots of raspberries, especially the wild ones to make jam of. Nothing beats that🙂 But I have lost lots of smaller jam pots lately, I just can´t find them so now I have to use big pots instead and I don´t like that. Well it´s easier to pour the hot jam in to them anyway🙂🙂🙂

      This match wasn´t that important because both teams were already qualified for the quarter finals🙂

      It would be nice to be able to sleep until at least 6 am🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Det var väldigt vad mycket sylt du kommer att ha i vinter:)) Du kommer att kunna äta pannkakor och sylt var och varannan dag;)) Jag har lite svårt för både hallon och björnbär eftersom “stenarna” gör att mina “känsliga” tandhalsar gör ont:( Vi LCHF:are äter ju inte söt sylt i alla fall så det spelar ju ingen roll;)) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Det krävs mycket sylt till pannkakor vet du🙂🙂 Tack och lov stör inte kärnorna mig när det gäller hallon och björnbär, annars hade det varit ett elände🙂 Men man kan ju krossa bären innan och göra sylt (eller blir det kanske marmelad?) på saften. Har gjort så ett par gånger när det gäller svarta vinbärs och hallonsylt som jag gett bort.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Sounds like you’re having a good year for raspberries. I hear we are too though I don’t have any growing in my yard. I have black raspberries and they aren’t doing much this year. Even in a good year I don’t get enough to preserve. Just a handful every day for a week or so. That’s enough for breakfast.
    Hope your last day before vacation passes swiftly and uneventfully. Maybe you will get all your work done early and will be able to go home ahead of time.🙂 One can hope, anyway.
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      It looked that way last year too but then the rain came and all berries got rotten on the bushes.

      My raspberries gives berries every third year🙂 I don´t really like them but they might be good as jam or jelly. I´ve never seen black raspberries but we do have blue over here, unfortunately they don´t taste as good as the red (or yellow) ones.

      The day did actually pass swiftly and I wish all days at work did🙂 But I didn´t get home earlier though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Inte undra på att vi ALDRIG får något regn här, det verkar ju som om molnen fäller allt vatten över er på fastlandet!? Fast idag har vi dimma vilket betyder att det är väldigt fuktigt, vilket är bra!!
    Här börjar man så sakteliga komma tillbaka efter en hemskt deppig period och nu har vi bestämt att vi i alla fall ska åka över till fastlandet ett par dagar. Vi har ju inte varit hemifrån på “semester” på flera år. Jo, vi var ju över i höstas när gubben min fyllde år ,en det räknas liksom inte. Jag vill precis som dig ha SEMESTER också och det betyder i vårt fall att bila runt och bo på mysiga hotell, se vackra trädgårdar och besöka marknader och….. Ja, du förstår!
    Eftersom jag bara älskar att planera saker och ting, så sitter jag nu här med kartan och försöker komma på vart vi ska åka. Vi har beslutat att varken bo på några hotell vi bott med Penny eller åka till ställen vi varit tidigare, utan försöka hitta helt nya outforskade områden.
    Jag var ett tag inne på att vi skulle ta bron över till Danmark, men då sa Rolle nej. Han vill inte till några storstäder med mycket folk (han har ju inte varit tillbaka till Stockholm på 5 år ens), utan till små städer eller byar på landsorten. Det vi vill se är natur!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Nä det är inte konstigt🙂 När molnen väl kommer till er harv de vattnats ut fullständigt🙂🙂

      Fast era semestrar var väl egentligen mera som långhelger🙂 Men visst är det meningen att man skall njuta, ha det lugnt och göra det man gillar när man har semester, stressa omkring är inget för mig!

      Fast nog kan ni väl passera köpenhamn och ta in på mysiga hotell utanför på landsbygden. Danmark är ju ändå helt fantastiskt. Själv skall jag åka norråt några dagar under min semester.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

