Now the factories close down for vacation.

I like this brown one, but I just can´t find any names on most of the ones I´ve seen 🙂

It is noticeable that the vacation period has started. Normally factories close down for at least three weeks now so in the morning I meet only a few cars and in the afternoon I meet perhaps some more cars than I did in the morning, some of them with caravans. This is not a tourist area, to long from any of the bigger lakes or the ocean and to close to forest flies, horse flies and mosquitos 🙂 🙂 🙂

But this one I know 🙂 Nettle butterfly.

But I´m not counting those with summerhouses when I say that. Since this is an area where people move away their old homes becomes summerhouses instead. It´s fairly easy to see who they are because they walk along the forest and fields picking wild strawberries so they can have them with either milk or sour milk as dessert after dinner 🙂

The nettle water is ready to clean up. It smells really nasty to be honest 🙂 🙂 Not so strong but it sort of eats its way in to the brain 🙂 🙂

This is what´s left of the nettles, just put it in a compost, the smell stays there. By the way do You know that they used to do cloth of nettles?

If there is some yuk left just strain the fluid. Dilute this liquid with water. One part of this and nine with water, unless You use it to cabbage plants, then do it 2/8.

They are also the ones that doesn´t care about potholes in the road because they think we who live here already knows where all of them are and always have a spare car to use if something goes wrong with the first car 🙂 They love that it is far to the grocery store and thinks it´s great that if they forget something they can drive the long way to the bigger towns to get it instead 🙂 🙂

They also love how we all always have a little chat with the cashiers in the grocery store even though one can see that they really would love if we could speed up thing a bit 🙂 🙂 🙂

This one I know too 🙂 Cabbage butterfly.

I have both the white and

the pink Musk mallow growing in my garden.

I am making dinner for tomorrow now. It will be butter fried broccoli and onions with a couple of slices of fried ham. The smell from it makes me hungry so now its time to make something to eat right now 🙂                                                                                                           Have a great day!

18 thoughts on “Now the factories close down for vacation.

  1. Bilden med dom vilda rosbuskarna på var så vansinnigt typiskt sommarsverige (trots skorstenarna i bakgrunden) att man blev riktigt lyrisk!
    Satt mig precis vid datorn för att fundera på var exakt man skulle kunna köra runt några dagar på om några veckor. Vi brukar ta en liten kort semester på fastlandet (men inte Stockholm) i slutet på juli – när alla andra åker hit – men förra året blev det ingen semester på grund av Penny som började tycka det var jobbigt.
    Gubben min vill helst till Blekinge, norra Skåne och Småland – själv bryr jag mig inte om landskapen utan jag vill helst till några fina visningsträdgårdar. *fniss* Måste ta fram Trädgårdsamatörernas lista och fundera lite. Sen vill jag bo på bra hotell också, gärna lite utanför städerna – fast det är ju kanske inte så viktigt längre. Men Vara ligger bra till fortfarande, gillar hotellet Grepen väldigt mycket och så kan man ju ta en tripp till Magnolia och titta i trädgården och äta lunch. Det brukar också vara någon marknad i närheten i slutet på juli också!!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Fast det är inte någon skorsten du ser i bakgrunden bakom mina vresrosor, det är en radiomast 🙂

      Ja du, det är aldrig lätt att bestämma vart man skall åka 🙂 Det finns ju några fina trädgårdar här i Skaraborg, Hannus förstås men det finns även en i Tråvad som är riktigt fin, Uno heter ägaren men jag kan för mitt liv inte minnas hans efternamn 🙂 Brukar prata mycket trädgård när vi träffas (plus att jag brukar ta några sticklingar på hans fuchsior 🙂 Han har en F. minimiflora jag alltid misslyckas med nämligen 🙂 🙂

      Nossebro marken är ju alltid tredje onsdageni månaden.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Sounds like an interesting dinner. Wifey and me are trying pulled pork in a dish which you bake for 30 minutes and put on a hamburger bun. It was a big display selling them two for one at the store today. Great photos and I haven’t taken the top off my sludge yet. Figured you said six weeks and that would be end of July. August is the hottest month here, also hurricane weather. But great for planting a second garden. Enjoy that dinner!

    • Hi Z&M!
      I like it a lot 🙂 But I have to admit that I´ve never heard about the thing You write about.

      August can be either hot or cold here and in early september autumn starts, too soon!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    It’s hot here. Second day of high heat and humidity. My dog is just flopped down in front of the fan.
    I don’t live in a vacation town so it is not too bad around here. My horse was boarded in a vacation town, though, and it was a pain trying to get around there in the summers. Forget riding my horse out on the roads to get to the bridal paths. Tourists in cars didn’t know how to act around horses in the street. Some would honk their horns! Stupid people.
    What is the nettle water for? I hope that’s not how you make nettle soup! Bleh! 🙂
    Google Translate says “vrasrosor” means grumpy roses. Really? Somehow I think it is another one of those oxygen tree translations. 😀
    Have a great day. One less day to vacation. See, it is passing more quickly than you thought.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Hot here too but the winds are a bit cooler.

      Some people are so stupid around horses when they drive that they wouldn´t be allowed to drive at all!

      The nettle water is one of the best fertilizers that can be found, it´s just a bit painful to pick the nettles sometimes 🙂 🙂

      That is a rather good translation of that rose 🙂 🙂 To be vresig is to be something between grumpy and constantly angry 🙂 🙂 It has lots of thorns that rose 🙂

      Now the days aer painfully long, even when I´m at home 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! well, a big blow for everyone in our country who has followed the casey anthony trial. she killed her 2 year old daughter. she was found not guilty on all important counts. this whole country seems to be in shock. it is still hot and humid here with no end in sight. this has been the longest summer ever! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      We haven´t gotten that much info about that case over here, normally these kinds of cases get good coverage here otherwise.

      I remember that Your summer started very early last year too, when winter kept its hold on us way in to the month of May. I hope it turns towards cooler weather for You soon!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer, I’m way behind reading your posts but as always….beautiful nature photos…especially of the butterflies….love them! We have a big, beautiful Western Swallowtail here that I just love to see in my garden!
    Do you think you could find out who Nova’s previous owners were and send me their address?? I would love to make sure they never have another pet! I hate people like that…they don’t deserve to walk among us, let alone have a pet!
    Ok, enough ranting about low lifes like that! Have a great holiday summer!

    • Hi Chris!
      Our biggest and most beautiful butterflies hasn´t shown yet and I´m starting to doubt that they will. They should be here by now.

      Thankfully they never tell who owned a dog before, unless its like when I got Nova because the ones having her before me were great. But when they got Nova she was a trembling little skeleton. I wish there were a way to stop people like her first owners to ever get a pet again!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. I think I like the WHITE butterfly best! 😀
    My town isn’t a tourist town but it is a college town. I like the summers when all the rich snotty kids go back home to Chicago! 🙂
    The city across the river (which is where I work) is kinda of a tourist place. It has the Bix Beiderbecke Festival and the marathon race, among other things. Personally I would never go there to visit. LOL!

    • Hi Cindi!
      Unfortunately the cabbage butterflies larvae´s eats nasturtiums and all flowers remotely related to cabbages so I wish we had fewer of them 🙂 But those living on nettles and thistles are more welcome here 🙂 🙂

      College student has a tendency to be a bit snotty weather they are rich or poor 🙂 University students always seems to be depressed 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I love all the plants in the Mallow family. There is one here that is pinkish with red-tipped petals.I knew the name, and now it went out of my brain. Just three more days left in your work week! Soldier on, Christer! Vacation is almost here.

    • Hi Robin!
      I do like them too! Especially the annual hibiscuses is something I try to get every year but I failed this spring. So today I bought two common hibiscuses instead (Hibiscus rosa-sinensis). They wre on sale (50% off) but had no flowers so I have no idea how they will look when they finally open up 🙂 🙂

      Two eternity long days left unless we´re really lucky and manage to finish all painting by tomorrow, because then I´ll take friday off 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Please destroy all cabbage butterflies, at once. Grrrrrrrr, I don’t like them. But, I love the photos of them. It’s a love/hate relationship, I think. Enjoy your time off. I’ll be looking forward to all your projects being finished. It’s hard not to eat when you’re fixing something for the next day; no? I do it all the time, and have to make more! Come visit when you can.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      But they are beautiful after all 🙂 🙂 I think it is the most common butterfly over here.

      Normally I have no problems staying away from the food I´m making because I eat something before I start doing it 🙂 🙂

      Well lets hope I´ll finish something anyway 🙂 After all, vacation is for relaxing isn´t it 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. yeah, they probably don’t tell anyone who they are because they’d probably all be killed by animal lovers! I hope some go to prison and get their justice served there for being cruel to animals. They don’t deserve the light of day!!

    Hope your bigger butterflies show up soon!! 🙂

    • Hi Chris!
      That would be a risk of happening 🙂 We have strong laws against cruelty to animals but unfortunately they never seem to use them often enough!

      I do hope they turn up soon too 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

