Reruns and butterflies.

I could feel the thunder coming closer yesterday evening. The air was hot and the humidity so high it felt like I was living in a sauna🙂 Suddenly I heard a loud bang and then it was all over🙂🙂 I think it might have been the shortest thunderstorm ever but the air changed to still hot but with cool winds.

Even though it still is summer and autumn is long away I can still feel a change. Birds doesn´t sing as much any longer. They are fully occupied with raising their young ones and there will be no more time to start a new family. Soon the first birds will migrate southwards again, I don´t like it but that´s the way it is.

We have more butterflies here than I think I´ve seen before, at least since I was a little child. They say that we have less butterflies now days but here in my village it´s the opposite🙂 They are so hard to photograph because they almost never sit down and when they do they close their wings🙂🙂 But I did manage to get some good photographs yesterday🙂

They are showing reruns on most channels now and one of my favorite ones is “The Emigrants” and “The Immigrants”. I don´t know if You´ve seen those movies (they also made a tv series from those movies and that is what they show here now). They are swedish and is about Karl-Oskar and Christina from Duvemåla in Sweden. It´s so bad in Sweden around the middle of the nineteenth century that they have to emigrate to the US.

In many ways it´s a very sad story but it shows how bad things were back then. Some years ago the two men from the pop group ABBA made a musical of that story and I think it is the most popular musical ever played in Sweden. It would most probably still show for full houses if they wanted. I know they have translated it to english and has played and sung the music both in England and the USA. I did find two of the songs on Youtube and they are the two I like the most. I hope I can get the videos to show here in the blog, otherwise I just post links to them.

They are in the US and they all long home again, but Christina knows there´s no return back.

Here Christina lost her child and she is angry at God for doing this to her and also worried that he might not exist.

Well it´s time to drink my coffee and to perhaps do something🙂 It´s cloudy now and we might get some thunder today as well, but it doesn´t feel like that at the moment.                 Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Reruns and butterflies.

  1. hi christer! i wouldn’t be able to leave the house if i had all of those butterflies. for my whole life, butterflies attack me. i am scared to death of them. i must have a certain smell they like. my family laughs at me because if there is one butterfly out and i go in the garden, it will fly straight at me and sit on me. i hate them! still no rain here! we have not had rain in weeks and there is none in sight. everything is wilting and drying out. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      This little village would be hell on earth for You during summer. Lots of butterflies, mosquitos, horseflies, midges and not to forget the moose fly in late autumn. Personally I have big troubles when big beetles lands on me🙂🙂🙂 I don´t know why but they scare the crap out of me🙂🙂🙂

      I guess I should be glad for all rain that falls here, but it would be nice if it could spread out more evenly over the world🙂 I hope You´ll get some really soon!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Jaz, butterflies landing on you means that you are being kissed by the Angels! Now, for the beetles, I run like crazy. Especially what we call June bugs! Bletch!!! Thank you, Christer, for the beautiful videos. I adore ABBA and was listening to them last evening on my way home. Their music is so fulfilling, what beautiful souls. Enjoy your tea and have a great day. We’re supposed to get rain and thunderstorms, today and tomorrow. NOT good news for the fireworks of the Fourth!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I just can´t stand those really big ones walking on me🙂🙂 But I can accept them if they are on the ground or on a plant. Thankfully we don´t have our biggest one up here, the males can be around four inches and can pinch rather hard with their jaws🙂🙂

      Abba was never really popular here during the seventies (well I never understood that and loved them🙂🙂 ) Back then music should be very much influenced by communism so here comes Abba and are glamorous🙂🙂🙂 Things changed though and now they are pop music icons🙂
      I think they are thinking on putting up Christina from Duvemåla on Broadway. If so they most probably will send it out in the US to see peoples reactions first, like they did with the last one.

      I hope You´ll get good weather on July fourth!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. HI Christer,
    So now you have to become a lepidopterist and tell us what all those beautiful butterflies are.🙂
    I agree that they don’t like to have their pictures taken with their wings showing. Yours must be so busy gathering nectar that they don’t care. Bees get that way, too. You can even touch them if they are feeding on flowers with a lot of nectar. They won’t notice unless you poke too hard of course.
    The only photo I managed to get yesterday was a bowl full of immature walnuts that had dropped from the tree. The walnuts dropped from the tree, not the bowl.🙂
    Rocky and I have been invited to a cook-out later today. It’s nice that they invited the dog, too. They have cats. Rocky doesn’t like cats. A good time will be had by all.😀

    Have a great day and enjoy whatever Something it is that you choose to do.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I was thinking about finding out there names but I can´t find any pages where we have all the swedish butterflies on the same place, But the blue one is called Blue wing butterfly. I guess that it´s totally different in english🙂🙂

      I´m hoping that I too one day can pick up immature walnuts from the ground here. I think it´ll take at least ten to fifteen years before that happens🙂🙂🙂

      I hope Rocky doesn´t have to fun with those cats🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I found a page with Swedish butterflies but none match. You have a lot of blue butterflies and they all look the same!

      • Hi Caryn!
        I realized we have loads of blue butterflies🙂🙂 I have even found one that I can´t find on the net, so I mailed the photograph to the Natural history museum in Gothenburg, perhaps it´s a really rare one!

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  4. Hög luftfuktighet är bara förnamnet! Torr värme kan jag klara av men när det blir så här fuktigt har jag svårt att göra någonting:)) Vilka underbara fjärilsbilder du tagit;) Här har vi en hel del fjärilar men du ser verkligen ut som om du fått västsveriges ALLA fjärilar mer eller mindre:)) Christina från Duvemåla var jag och dottern och såg på operan i Gbg, vilken fantastisk upplevelse det var. Som tur var hade jag laddat med pappersnäsdukar för du milde vad vi grät;)) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Här har det varit hyfsat svalt ändå, men det kommer och går. Tror jag hörde åska någonstans långt ifrån nyss, svalkan tar jag gärna men vi behöver verkligen inte mera regn nu!

      Vi har mängder med fjärilar här och alla möjliga sorter dessutom. Idag såg jag en jag aldrig sett förut, bild kommer imorgon.

      Jag såg aldrig Christina men jag har hört musiken och den är fantastisk!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Christer,
    Those butterfly pictures are magnificent! I looked at them for the longest time.

    The migration has begun which made it such an odd coincidence that you should mention migration. The paper mentioned migrating birds earlier in the week. It seems birds have already migrated here from up north, will stay a bit then continue their journey southward.

    • Hi Kat!
      I´ve found at least one that I´ve never seen before and one blue that I can´t find at all on the internet. I mailed a photograph to the Natural history museum in Gothenburg and hope they can tell me what kind it is. Perhaps it´s a rarity!

      I´ve heard a lot of geese lately so I guessed they already had started to migrate. They normally stay rather long here to eat enough to continue further south.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. You captured wonderful butterflies on “film”, Christer. I adore the blue one. I like the photo of the hare at the end of the road. As for bugs, most of them are not my friends. I love nature, but not when it lands on me!! have a super sunday!!

    • Hi Robin!
      The blue ones are my favorites and the bright orange one in the last photograph. Can´t see enough of them🙂

      I tolerate most bugs except for the forest flies and those that bites me. Well I really don´t like big beetles either but they are easy to brush of🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. I enjoyed the music too but wished they sang in English as I would like to know the words. Is that the Easter bunny hippity hopping down your trail? Looks like he’s out of breath. What a great picture. Almost a little silouette in the corner off the trail. Very cute. I love butterflies and sorry that Jaz gets bit by them. I didn’t even know they had teeth.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I´m not sure what You´ve been listening too because both these videos is sung in english!!!

      The easter bunny is fairly unknown here so I doubt that, but then again he might be here on vacation🙂🙂🙂

      No butterflies can´t bite🙂 But I guess they try to get eventual moisture from her skin so they use their trunk? to do so.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Nancy!
      I love the blue ones and just can´t see enough of them🙂 But I do love the orange one in the last photo as well, in real life it glows like melted hot lava.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. I LOVE butterflies!
    I planted TWO butterfly bushes and I always buy anthing that says it attracts butterflies, so I am really loving your photos!
    Now I must get back outside and do more gardening!😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      One kind of plants that really attracts butterflies are the thistles. There are lots of thistles for gardens that doesn´t spread att all and to be honest, they are very beautiful. I think that´s why we have so many butterflies here, we have lots of thistles, unfortunately not the garden ones🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

