Fluffernutters and home made strawberry jam :-)

Peanut butter and Marshmallow fluff🙂

These two jars came to me from Kat that writes the blog “Keep the Coffee coming” She wrote about something I´ve never heard before, Fluffernutters and she thought that one must have that at least once in our life🙂🙂 I haven´t even heard of marshmallow fluff either before to be honest🙂 So tonight I´ll taste my first ever Fluffernutter and I´ll tell you all tomorrow what I thought about it🙂

Nova started to act really stressed and worried minutes ago. At first I just couldn´t understand what was bothering her, but then I heard my neighbor vacuuming his home.  The poor little girl have had really bad experience with vacuums but I didn´t understand how bad her fear is! I have to put her out in the dog yard when I do it in my own home, but this time I had to close the kitchen door so she couldn´t hear tha machine working.

The old plum tree gives loads of plums this year. The tree is slowly dying and I have had to remove lots of old dead branches this spring. But a new tree is growing up just beside it.

This tree gives plums this year too. It´s either a shoot from the roots of the old tree or a kernel that has germinated. The problem is that they can´t both grow there one of them will finally give up and die and it isn´t necessary the old dying one. So if these plums tastes good I most probably will take down the old one (even if the plums are delicious).

I bought a kilo (around two pound) of strawberries on my way home today (well 3 pound really but I ate a pound in the car on my way home🙂🙂 ) So now I´m making strawberry jam🙂 Swedish strawberries are usually quite small so most of them were thrown in to the pot as they were, but the few bigger ones was cut in two or three parts. I like it when I find whole berries in the jam🙂 I haven´t had a chance to taste it yet but I know it will be perfect to the pancakes coming winter🙂 Now I´ve tasted it and it is just as yummy as I thought it would be🙂🙂

Rosa multiflora. A weed to be honest, nothing seems to be able to kill it🙂🙂🙂 But I like it so it will stay.

Potentilla erecta.

I´ve forgotten the name on this deep red potentilla. Here it grows together with an Iris.

I brought home my new mobile phone today too. It´s a Sony Ericsson Xperia neo. I broke the display on my old one and really wanted just the same but new one again. Naturally they had stopped doing them but this one is said to be very much like the other and I do hope so. Normally I hate my mobile phones🙂🙂🙂 They never work as I want them to and I never understand them but the last one and I became friends🙂 It´s the only mobile phone I´ve ever liked

Do You remember that I planted some primulas by the pond? The first one is flowering now.

Not the best camouflage I´ve ever seen🙂🙂

Todays phones can almost do more things than our computers and I doubt I ever will know how much this one can do🙂 I´m happy as long as I actually can make a phone call in them and if I can send messages and photographs with it, the rest I can do in my computer🙂 It´s time to make something to eat and since it´s weekend I bought some roast beef to have on my sandwiches with all the other things on🙂 and naturally I´ll make myself a couple of Fluffernutters🙂                                                                                                                                 Have a great day now!

20 thoughts on “Fluffernutters and home made strawberry jam :-)

  1. hi christer! we americans sure are corrupting you! fluffernutters, i know what they are but i’ve never eaten one myself. i think i sent you peanut butter last year too. another good way to eat peanut butter is to spread it between a sliced banana. some people add bananas to their fluffernutters too. peanut butter, bananas and fluff? if you just add bacon you could be elvis presley! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!🙂 I must say that fluffernutters are delicious🙂 But I doubt it´s good for my health🙂🙂🙂 But luckily for me I don´t think we have marshmallow fluff over here so I won´t eat it to often🙂🙂 I think I´ll avoid bacon though Elvis didn´t look to good those last years🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. “Fluffernutters” låter väldigt osunt men framför allt sött:) Inte riktigt min “cup of tea” men smaken är ju som tur är olika:)) Stackars lilla Nova, vad hon måtte ha haft det hemskt;( Tur att hon har fått det bra nu. Den där Potentillan med mörkt röda blommor kan kanske vara P. thunbergii. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare monne!
      Man skall ju inte ha så mucket av vare sig fluffet eller jordnötssmöret åt gången, så på så sätt är det inte så farligt. Dessutom är det väldigt klibbigt så man kan inte ha för mycket på åt gången som tur är. Men det är rackarns gott🙂🙂🙂

      Nova hade det inte lätt sitt första år stackaren. Tänk att bli så orolig när man hör något vardagligt hos grannen!

      Det stämmer nog med namnet på potentillan, tack skall du ha!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. I have never had a Fluffernutter,, I don’t think they are common in Canada,, the poor dog,, I hate to see an animal frightened in such a way.Have a good weekend, your photos are so lovely, the black flies and mosquitoes are horrid right now and horse flies big enough to lift one off the ground.i hope your bug sitiuation is not as bad.Enjoy your treat,

    • Hi Laurie!
      Well I can say that a fluffernutter might not be healthy in the long run, but I loved it🙂🙂🙂 I don´t think I´ve ever seen marshmallow fluff over here so a fluffernutter is unknown here.

      Little Nova´s first year was anything but happy and even if she have had a good life this second year of hers some things sits deep inside her.

      Our black flies, midges, doesn´t care about me so I don´t know how bad they are now, but we have more mosquitos than usual and few but very big horseflies. They say the season for horseflies isn´t started properly yet though.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Cindi!
      Those fluffernutters tasted so great🙂

      I´m afraid it wouldn´t help doing anything to her first owners. Drug addicts never see how bad they have behaved. But I think it would be great if they could stop them from ever having a new pet!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. The fluff will put the weight on but I never heard of adding bacon. Must try! It hurts me to read the Nova’s fear when someone vacuums. Some bad experience is stuck in her brain and it must have been really tormenting. Sorry to read that.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I won´t try them with bacon🙂 but I must say that I really liked fluffernutters🙂

      Novas first owners used to hit her with the vacuum hose amongst other things, so the fear is deep within her and for the rest of her life too I´m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Fluffernutters! Yum! Of course one could always gild the lily by adding a thin scraping of Nutella to the peanut butter and Fluff. Fluff and homemade strawberry jam would also be good on pound cake or vanilla ice cream. Might be too sweet for you, though.
    I have those multiflora roses all over my property. I hate them the same way you hate lilacs. They smell lovely and are decorative looking for about a week in spring. All the rest of the time they shred your clothes and skin and the thorns are so small they are hard to get out. They grow in the lawn and anywhere else they can find. Yes, I truly hate them.
    That little crab spider (?) looks quite stylish on the purple flower. Maybe he just moved over from a different flower and hadn’t changed color yet. If he pushes himself down into the blossom he would blend in better.
    I, too, would like to take a vacuum hose to Nova’s first owners. It’s good that she has you.
    Have a great evening.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Yes Yum🙂🙂🙂 I do love Nutella but wouldn´t that be just a tiny thing to much? Well I won´t know until I´ve tried it🙂🙂 But adding jam would most certainly be to much🙂🙂

      I can fully understand how You feel about R. multiflora. Thankfully the ones I have only have a few thorns down by the ground and the climate is a bit to tough so they don´t spread,

      It is a beautiful little spider and I think You´re right, it just hasn´t had the chance to change color yet. But I actually saw several just as wrong colored as this one, perhaps blue is impossible to change to?

      Unfortunately doing to Novas first owners what they did to her won´t help much. They are drug addicts and would most probably never understand what wrong things they´ve done.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • I did say it was gilding the lily which means, yes, it’s too much but still yummy. And you must try a spoonful of Fluff on hot chocolate or cocoa.

      • Hi Caryn!
        Fluff and hot cocoa must be heavenly🙂 I´ll try that as soon as I bought milk and cocoa🙂

        Christer.

  6. Oh, Kat was so right. I’m delighted that she’s seen to it you don’t go through your entire life without tasting one (one! hahaha!😎 ) Poor Nova! I’m with everyone else who wants to beat the bejeebies out of her previous owner’s. I love the flowers pictures, today, and think that spider needs to go back to spy school for incognito classes! Have a great evening and enjoy some more fluffernutters.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Yes this is something one must try before dying🙂🙂🙂

      Her first owners are drug addicts so I don´t think that would help I´m afraid. But I wish there was an effective way to make sure that they never again could get another pet that they could torture. As it is now its up to animal rescue centers to keep an eye on them so they don´t get another pet.

      That spider sat in the centre of the flower at first so it was really signaling to all flies that it was there🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Try spreading peanut butter on bread or cracker then a thin layer of plain yellow mustard. I think you will be pleasantly surprised. PB and mustard sandwiches are my favorite.

    • Hi Oldfool!
      Well mustard is one of the few things I really doesn´t like. I only want to have it on the christmas ham, for some reason I can accept it then🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. I have never had a fluffernutter, either. But I am not crazy about marshmallow. Hope you enjoy your tasting though. My Sheltie, Gwennie was abused her first year; we rescued her and she is now 8 years old, and still is traumatized by vacuums, the ringing phone, firecrackers, thunder. She had so many problems, including being afraid to eat, drink water…..horrible. A lot of that is gone now, of course, but still not the vacuum, etc. Lovely photos; Bertil looks very irritated about something. Have a wonderful weekend.

    • Hi Robin!
      To be honest, I´m not especially happy about marshmallows either. We have similar candy here that is a bit more chewy and most of us likes them better. But I have to admit that this was delicious🙂 I think it is the peanut butter that sort of balances the marshmallow fluff. I´m glad I got to try it before I die🙂🙂🙂

      Those fears are lying deep within our dogs I´m afraid so I´m pretty sure Nova will be terrified for some things for the rest of her life. But it seems she finally realized that I won´t hit her with the fly swatter. She doesn´t look happy when I use it but at least she doesn´t run away to hide any longer.

      Bertil is always irritated about something, but he´s acting kind towards me and that is really strange!!!!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

