No one touches his food any more.

This is something I haven´t seen in a long time. Normally they wrap the grass in plastic so it becomes silage, but now they will use it as hey instead.

Yet another hot and beautiful day here  but tomorrow it´ll all change. Two cold fronts, one from the east and one from the west will collide over Sweden and the result of that is rain and thunder. So if I don´t post anything these coming days You know why🙂

It has been a tense mood here in the cottage since we came home from our walk. Nova is upset since I yelled at her when she got bitten by Orvar. Orvar is upset because Nove bit him and Hector is upset but I don´t think he knows why more that the fact that I was yelling a lot🙂🙂🙂

It started when they all were eating their food. Nova finished her meal early and probably thought that Orvar had more than enough, so she tried to eat his food as well. Orvar didn´t like that and growled, something Nova didn´t care about at all🙂 So he bit her rather hard and she didn´t like that at all. Since she is a girl with a rather hefty temper she bit back and then was the time I interfered.

The road continues but no one has walked there in weeks so now the grass is too high.

It´s strange really because Orvar is the king of them all as long as they are outside, but as soon as we get in he´s the wimp. But today he finally decided that no one should eat his food but himself and for that he got a bleeding lip. Well these things happens and I hope Nova learned something today.

Toadflax.

I´ve been working most of the week in a neighboring factory. We bought their painting equipment and will paint some of those things in our factory. But some things are just to big and expensive to move over to us, so instead I go over to them. The job itself is boring but since I can see no clock the time just flies away. Because of that I forget to take any breaks while I´m there so I take a longer one when I get back to my normal work place.

Nova and one of her so loved plastic bottles🙂 This one was great because it floated just like a frisbee when I threw it away. But then Hector decided he wanted it too🙂🙂

A few things of what I´ve been sowing this winter. In the back row I have Prunus pumils ssp. something🙂 It´s a cherry that only becomes maximum 1 meter high (the same in yards) The berries is said to taste good. Beside it I have a Black walnut, this one I won´t kill like I did last summer🙂 In the row in front of them I have Magnolia obovata. I hope someone wants them because here they´ll die. In the row in front of the magnolias I have lots of small Golden columbine´s. The big pots has Goji berry plants in them and in the row closest to us I have Siberian pea-shrub. I have lots more but they are just to small to show yet.

I´ll be doing this one day every week for as long as it is needed. But there´s one rather big problem, the paint I´m using is toxic and it´s not a problem for me since I have protecting gear and clothes. But the box is to small to turn these things around so I have to bring it out to another room where people are working. So every time I have to do that I have to throw them out as well. No problems during summer but what about when winter comes🙂🙂

It´s time to relax and to have something to eat. I just couldn´t fall asleep yesterday since it was so terrible hot so I am  bit tired today. I got a package yesterday that I intended to show here today but I forgot to take a photograph so I´ll do it tomorrow🙂                             Have a great day!

I´ll let the thistle flower before I put salt on it. Butterflies just loves them🙂

16 thoughts on “No one touches his food any more.

  1. hi christer! i wish we would get some storms! it is hot and dry here. i have toadflax all over my gardens. it self sows and spreads everywhere but i like it. teddy would take everyone out if they were around her food. people that have several chows still have to separate them at dinner time. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      They just said that we´ll have low pressures for several weeks forward, I´m not to thrilled about hearing that. But then again, they normally have problems predicting one day at a time🙂🙂🙂

      I have some toadflax here and was hoping it would spread some, but after ten years I´ve given up hope about that🙂🙂

      Finally Orvar reacted when someone tried to eat his food🙂 Normally I have to stand and look on them so he can eat in peace. I just found out that he bit Nova in her ear. I do hope Nova learned her lesson now!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer, well, kids will be kids, but with such sharp teeth not good to try to take someone’s food. Poor Hector caught in the middle. I love that toadflax, are they related to snapdragons do you know? Your nursery of little seedlings are thriving. Your green thumb is very green!!! Beautiful blue delphiniums!! Get some sleep!

    • Hi Robin!
      It was about time he finally reacted! Outdoors he´s the king but as soon as we go in he´s quite the opposite🙂 Hector just didn´t know what was happening🙂 So he ran upstairs instead🙂

      Yes one could say that toadflax is a cosine to the snap dragon. Snapdragons isn´t especially hardy so I´ve always thought that these would be great to have in the garden.

      The fun thing is that those little seedlings only grows when the temperature drops down rather much🙂 So perhaps this cold period that is coming will be good for them🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Det där med att vakta sin mat är väl rätt vanligt, kan denna värme påverka humöret på hundarna också tro? Tur att det löste sig och hoppas att Nova vet vad som gäller hädanefter;)) Här har temperaturen sjunkit rejält och det har regnat lite vi får se vad det blir för väder i morgon:)) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Orvar har aldrig brytt sig om när någon annan tagit mat ur hans skål innan, men denna gången tror jag hon försökte knuffa bort honom🙂🙂 Kan nog tänka mig att värmen påverkar deras humör med.

      Mycket svalare här idag och jag njuter🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. The doogies keep you busy. But you gotta take the pain of them banging on each other with the joy of watching them in a happy home. Love that cow photo! All of them just country gorgeous.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Well I see it as if Orvar teaches her to behave and as long as there isn´t any bigger injuries its ok🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Gracie too loves those bottles. She follows anyone around who has one and her crying gets louder and louder. The person usually jugs down what’s left just to quiet Gracie down.

    • Hi Kat!
      They haven´t come that far here yet🙂🙂 They do wait until I give the bottle to them🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. It isn’t easy being the Dad to a brood when they start the fighting. But Nova has to learn. Meanwhile, the big question is when to interfere. We have a Bassett who is sure everyone loves him…however, the big Lab and the border collie have a different take on the Bassett. The Collie tries to give him pierced ears when my back is turned. Poor Doug…..he objects loudly with that Bassett bark but to no avail.

    • Hi Sandy!
      The best lesson Nova can get is the one from the other dogs. So as long as the injuries aren´t to big its ok with me🙂🙂

      Orvar had begun to sort of like her lately but this sort of made him annoyed on her again. But I´m surprised everything works this well since Nova hasn´t lived here a half year yet.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer,
    I love the toadflax. I call it butter and egg plant but it’s the same family.

    I remember haying as a kid. Hot, itchy work. The boys would throw the hay up on the wagon and we girls would tread it down so we could get more in. The hay bits would get in our clothes and scratch us. The boys would get “playful” and throw snakes up on the wagon, when they found them. Fun.

    The picture just before the toadflax is beautiful. I love the shadow of the plants on the rock.

    It’s probably a good thing that Orvar had his say with Nova in the house. Perhaps she will leave him alone to eat his own food. Poor Hector. The friend in the middle who doesn’t want to take sides.

    Have a good evening.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I hope the ones I have in my garden will spread more than they have so far.

      This is an automatic hay collector. No one threw the hay in to the wagon it sort of collected it with rakes. I can´t say how it works, I just saw how the wagon got filled without anyone throwing anything in to it🙂

      No one can teach her to behave better than Orvar and Hector. So I wish Hector would show something too. But he just accepts things like they are and goes upstairs to sleep instead🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. There’s no question Nova is one of the ‘guys’ now and daring to take her own spot. It’s like little children working out what they can and cannot do around each other. I had the same with my horses. Casper would come running ahead of the others and stop by each stall for a bite of their food before going to his own. It was quite a dance we would go through every day! I knew winter was coming to your neck of the woods. You’ve already had three hours of summer; right? Enjoy your dinner and evening.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I think it has worked real well so far, even though a couple of bites has been given🙂 and the ones best teaching her the ways here is after all the old boys. Yes horses do have their ideas too🙂🙂🙂

      ´The winter isn´t far away now, I think we still have a couple of minutes left of summer though🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

