Teodor the fantastic hunter :-)

There´s around a quad zillion flies and insects outside my cottage at the moment. Some are confused like beetles, others are angry like the horse flies and wasps and some just annoying like always. It´s impossible to stay out for any longer period of time to be honest, but tomorrow most of them will be gone again thankfully.

They are cutting the grass on the fields outside my cottage and all those flies are fleeing in to mine and my neighbors garden right now. But even they understand that this place isn´t a good permanent home since lots of birds are eating them at the moment🙂🙂

I don´t know what has happened in this puddle but it doesn´t look healthy🙂 All lying photographs will get bigger and hopefully better when You click on them.

But I think there´s even more flies out by the bog to be honest🙂 I haven´t been there in a while so I brought my mosquito hat with me when my dogs and I went out there on our walk. i was a bit surprised though since I couldn´t see any mosquitoes at all, only the ever present forest flies. But they were to much even for my dogs today so they turned and walked out as soon as they could. If these last rains hadn´t come I think it would have been perfect out there now, meaning no flies at all🙂🙂🙂

Club moss.

It´s time to put on a pot of tea and make something to eat. I have to prepare something to eat at work tomorrow as well. Most of it is already done (chicken with zucchini, tomatoes, onions, forest mushrooms and another mushroom I just can´t remember the name on at the moment), but I haven´t decided wether I´m going to have potatoes or rice to it.             Have a great day!

I just have to show You these photographs even if they are blurry, my camera decided the espalier was a much better object to focus on🙂 This is Teodor the fantastic hunter with a magpie just a meter (yard) away.

Teodor knows his dinner is right beside him, so does he think of a great strategy to take that bird?

Oh no! He decides that it´s time for a nap🙂🙂🙂 No wonder the magpies knows there´s absolutely no risk of flying in to my kitchen to take the cat food🙂🙂🙂

26 thoughts on “Teodor the fantastic hunter :-)

  1. Maybe he is making a new friend who will spread the word that your house is safe! That way he gets a lot more birds to chose from!

    Cats really think in their own way, don’t they?

    • Hi Jim!
      So he is perhaps much smarter than I give him credit for🙂🙂🙂
      Yes they do think in their own way🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!
      I think he at least could look threatening towards the magpie🙂🙂

      I made rice even if I wanted potatoes, I just had to little of them🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    The puddle scum looks like pollen but pollen that has been distributed in a very artistic manner.

    Maybe that magpie knows that Teo is not in the hunting mood at the moment and that’s why it is not so worried.

    I would go with rice or pasta for your chicken and vegetable dish. It sounds yummy. Did you pick the forest mushrooms yourself?

    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I didn´t look any closer to that yellow thingy, but I suppose You´re right. But how was it shaped like that I can´t even guess🙂

      I think that Teodor might have experienced the fury of magpies before and learned his lesson🙂🙂

      Rice it was but I didn´t pick the mushrooms myself, the only ones growing here right now is deadly poisonous 🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! hahaha…teodor is so funny! i guess he wasn’t very hungry! those flies would drive me crazy! how do you keep them out of your cottage? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Or lazy🙂 but I guess the magpies already had learned him a lesson on what happens when messing with them🙂🙂🙂

      They do drive me crazy🙂 and some gets in to the cottage and then I use my fly swatter and I usually buy sticky fly paper by the windows every summer.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Laurie!
      Magpies can be nasty towards most animals to be honest, I´ve seen them chase away big dogs. So I think that they already had learned him a lesson🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Fy bubblan för att ha så mycket flugor:( Jag hade blivit galen (mer än jag redan är hehe). Teodor verkar vara en otroligt smart herre, varför anstränga sig när man inte behöver:)) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Ja idag var det hemskt, men de är alla borta readn imorgon. Fakltiskt redan nu om jag skall vara ärlig. Värst var alla bromsarna, de ger helt enkelt inte upp förrän de är döda🙂🙂

      Jag tror att skatorna redan har lärt honom en läxa om vad som händer när man jagar dem 🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I can say they aren´t my favorites either🙂🙂 But the swelling doesn´t get that big on me but it itches for quite some time afterwards.

      I think he is a lousy hunter but magpies can be truly nasty🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • I was thinking of string algae but I have never seen them look like that before. Well the thing, whatever it might be will soon be gone when the puddle dries out🙂

      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer, just read your post and will be going to fix our dinner. We are also having zucchini, along with yellow squash and scallions from the garden, no tomatoes yet. I will be cooking some wheat pasta and adding tomato sauce for a pasta primavera meal. We also have cucumbers from the garden now, but no mushrooms. The insect problem here now is mosquitoes as it has rained and gotten very humid so they are reproducing. I am always dumping out any standing water to try and reduce their numebrs. I get bitten so easily by these pests, but the flies sound just as bad..

    • HI Beatrice!
      Zucchini and squash is something I really like in my dinners.
      I can see my first tomato now so in a couple of weeks I might get a chance to eat it🙂🙂

      It was the rain that started everything here as well. If it only had been dry a week more! Then most of the fly larvae´s would have died, now the rain helped them instead I´m sorry to say. I do like You, all standing water is dumped out and I put fish in my pond so that most mosquito and fly larvae´s doesn´t reach adult life🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. That magpie is lucky that Teodor isn’t like my Harry. I used to have a doggie door that Harry my cat would go in and out of. I finally bungee corded it closed but kept hearing this slamming noise. I went into the laundry room to see Harry pulling it open with his paw and then the bungee cord slamming it shut. Just as I walked in Harry had figured it out and was out the door. I ran after him but he was gone across the yard and over the privacy fence. Later in the day I hear the metal clang of the doggie door and then this horrible sound, It was Harry with a half dead bird that was fluttering around the room. I ran to get something to throw over it but unfortunately Harry had finished his “kill” by the time I returned.😦
    Needless to say….I got a new backdoor without a doggie door.
    Teodor reminds me of my Dewey, who would probably try to “clean” it and then take a nap with it!
    Ya gotta love those cats!😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Well magpies are truly nasty birds if they think someone is threatening them. I´ve seen them chase away much bigger animals than cats🙂🙂🙂 But he really had a golden opportunity the lazy cat🙂

      I have friends whose cat dragged in a half dead hare, slightly bigger than the cat, through their cat door🙂🙂🙂 From what I know the hare was set free and survived even if it didn´t move for a long time after they had let it out into the garden again🙂🙂🙂 Thankfully my cats never drags in anything, they eat it on the spot🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Maybe you should get Teodor a book on hunting! Lucky bird, is all I can say. I would have gone for the rice. I like potatoes but usually pick rice — or, pasta! I’m with Jaz, it looks like string pollen to me, too. Might have to put some lime down. Enjoy your evening.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I think that the magpies already had learned him what happens if he tries to take one🙂 Magpies are never alone and never hesitate to attack even big animals🙂

      I did go for the rice and it was a good choice. And to be honest, I have forgotten to buy potatoes🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. yes, I agree with Sharlene…:) Rice!
    And Teodor…well..I agree with him. Let someone else catch the birdie…it’s just nice to lay in the sun and enjoy the day!
    How are you, Christer? I’ve been a bad blogger friend lately and I apologize. Just not up to par but I’m going to try harder.
    Take care..
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      Rice it was and it was the right decision🙂

      I think the magpies already had shown him what they can do to cats🙂 They can be truly nasty when they wish to🙂🙂

      You have other things on Your mind and it is after all summer🙂🙂 But I´m just fine and soon ´ll have my vacation🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Christer,
    What cheeky birds they are. Gracie and Fern would never tolerate their food being eaten. Maddie is a great mouser so I figure she’d do well, but birds keep to their feeders. None are as brash as your magpies.

    • Hi Kat!
      They aren´t afraid of anything those magpies🙂🙂 So I do actually understand Teodor a bit. Magpies are funny and interesting most of the time but if they get annoyed I´ll keep out of their way too🙂🙂

      Teodor is the bird catcher otherwise and Bertil takes the rest, I really don´t know why they come home to eat at all now during summer🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

