Long weekend and some propagation.

Tomorrow is midsummers eve (well we have already passed the longest day of the year but today the sun went up at 3:56 am and it will go down at 10:15 pm. It´s up for over 18 hours and it is light long before it goes up and long after it goes down.) but those who rules prefers holidays on weekends so it doesn´t interfere with working days.

I only took two photographs on our walk today. Now You´ve seen them both🙂🙂

But I did take two on one walk yesterday though🙂 Just when I took this one thunder approached and we had to hurry home. But it went away before we reached my cottage🙂

And now You´ve seen them too🙂

Midsummer is probably the most important holiday here so even if it isn´t a holiday tomorrow very few works anyway🙂 But I´ll tell You more about our celebrations tomorrow. I´m always a bit depressed on midsummer because now it turns towards winter again. I know it´s stupid because we´ll still have lots of summer left but it doesn´t matter. I´ll be back to normal on Saturday again🙂

It seems I was wrong, this is the last photograph from our walk yesterday🙂

We were a bit lucky at work today (well my department anyway) because we had done all we could rather early so we could go home two hours early🙂  It´s funny how going home two hours early makes me feel like I have most of the day left to do things I like🙂 Well I won´t do anything to be honest🙂 I´ll have something to eat and then I´ll watch tv or read a book for the rest of the day. I will kill some flies to because they are really annoying today so we´ll most probably have some thunder later on.

I have no idea what kind of wild rose this is but it I like it a lot. Thorny as h..l though🙂

I told You a while ago that I had read in an old book a way to propagate black berries without having to dig up the roots. Digging up roots are an easy but often painful way to get a plant, so I liked this method instead. It´s almost painless🙂 Blackberries isn´t that hardy and in this cold hole I´m living at they do struggle a lot. But this blackberry (Forest blackberry, Rubus nessensis) lives here so it should work in my garden as well.

Cut off a piece of a blackberry stem (or perhaps branch is a better word?) The leafs must stay on it.

Cut off around 1 cm (little more than a third of an inch) on the stem and then cut of half of it (along the length of the stem).

Put the cutting down in to almost wet soil. The side that is cut in half must lay towards the soil. Put a see through plastic bag over the pots and place them light but without sunshine.

You´ve been successful when a new stem grows up from the cutting. Don´t remove the plastic bag yet, just open it up in the top so the little plant can get used to the drier air. This can be planted in the garden this autumn.

In this method I only use a small part of the stem and a leaf, that´s it. Since I had, by misstake, already deleted the photographs I had taken doing this the first time I had to do it again🙂 so now I might have three plants instead🙂🙂 Anyway, I cut the stem in half on the length keeping the part with the leaf naturally. I put the flat part of the stem towards the soil and place a see through plastic bag over. The soil was almost wet in this case.

Magnolias on their way to become small trees.

Milk thistles. We call them Maria thistles.

And Turkey rhubarbs (Rheum palmatum). Not for eating though, just ornamental.

I didn´t know if this should be a new stem or an old one so I used a new one that still had not so sharp thorns🙂  :-) I placed the pot by a window towards north and forgot about it until a couple of days ago. A new stem is growing fro the base of the leaf and that means new roots grows from the cut stem🙂 I hope this description will be understandable when You look at the photographs🙂🙂🙂

Ninebark.

Larkspurs, Big betony´s, Aquilegias and Masterwort.

Now it is time to get lazy🙂 Today my sandwiches will have grilled roast beef on as well as cheese, blue cheese, liver pate, tomatoes, ham and paprika🙂 It will be difficult to make it all stay on the bread🙂  :-)                                                                                                                 Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Long weekend and some propagation.

  1. Good afternoon Christer
    He knows more or less a month ago some replanted seedlings and flower seeds (that bought a paper bag) have a shot to see how you are. The plants are fine, but the flowers have not yet already in my garden imporvisada, I planted parsley, but already too small for a month, but not sprouted out there, does not evolve … a pen, so you’ll loose more cirar new blog here that your ISP. I’ve been wanting to post some pictures. As the new machine, Marco is more excited than me, he took a fantastic picture, then I’ll show you.
    Uncle gave him a tip for photographing people and birds, (we focus on the person or the bird in question and then still holding still the focus, move the picture a little to the side …. do not know if it makes a nice effect in flowers, not yet tested!
    kisses

    • Hi Andréa!
      Well Googles translation did a mess of Your writing today🙂🙂 But I´ll try to answer as good as I can.

      Parsley usually grows like weed, strange that it doesn´t grow in Your garden. Has it been colder or warmer than usual? That can change how the plants grows more than one could believe. Or perhaps You haven´t fertilized enough?

      That is a great way to take interesting photographs on birds and people. makes it more interesting most of the times. But I haven´t tried it especially much myself, I think I´ll try that tomorrow.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Christer, I do know what you mean about the depression that comes with the Solstice, as it does mean our light will be fading a bit day by day, and then before we know that Old Winter time is upon us again. Ugh. But as you say there is still a lot of summer left to enjoy, and that’s what we will do!!! Your propagation is very intriguing to me. I wonder how long the blackberry will take to grow before you have fruit? Your sandwich today sounds enormous, watch out the dogs don’t get it as everything goes sliding off the bread onto the floor!! take care!

    • Hi Robin!
      Yes I will enjoy the rest of the summer even if it will end way to soon🙂 I am after all lucky to live in a country that by law gives me the right to five weeks of payed vacation🙂 (and the vacation pay is better than the normal paycheck as well🙂🙂 ) I´ll soon have four of those weeks🙂

      I will get at least a couple of berries already next year, if the summer is long enough. Some years the first frost comes very early here in this cold hole and then the berries gets destroyed.

      The sandwiches wasn´t especially big, the trick is to not take to much of everything🙂 If I take to much of everything it´ll just be a big mess🙂🙂🙂 I always keep an eye on Nova🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! your sandwiches sound so good! i am always so glad once summer begins so i can countdown to the darker cooler weather. we have been so hot for so long that it seems like we have endless summer. i can’t wait to hear more about your summer celebration customs. i always love those stories! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      They are delicious but the trick is to not take to much of everything, if I do it´ll be a mess🙂🙂🙂

      It´s funny really but I do like the autumn as well even if it gets dark early. It´s something with the smells and cold mornings and no flies that makes an early autumn morning almost as good as a spring morning🙂

      I´ll try ti remember something You haven´t read about our midsummer celebrations🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Så skönt att kunna gå hem tidigare:)) Min svärfar sa alltid varje midsommarafton – jaha, nu går det mot mörkare tider igen!! Jag blev alltid lika sur på honom :)) dotter och barnbarn kommer en sväng i morgon om det inte ösregnar förstås, vi ska gå ner till majstången så att Nicholas får se barn dansa på sin första midsommar:) Göran och Emmas man jobbar;( Kul med sticklingarna:) Ha en trevlig midsommar/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Ja du det kändes helt fantastiskt🙂 Vi hade absolut inte räknat med att vara klara i tid eller ens klara alls med det vi hade att måla denna veckan. Så när allt plötsligt var slut tyckte ägaren att det var helt ok att vi gick hem🙂

      Jag har faktiskt aldrig gillat att dansa kring midsommarstången (eller julgranen), men det är något som jag faktiskt tycker man skall göra åtminstone ett par gånger i livet🙂

      Visst är det roligt med björnbärssticklingarna! Läste det i en riktigt gammal bok för några år sedan. Var lite skeptisk till det men måste ju testa🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      We usually say that the first frost comes around 6th – 12th of september here. After that we usually gets a period with warm days again, so normally I´ll get the chance to bring it all in before it´s to late.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Thanks for the propagation lesson. I have some raspberries I’m going to try. It has a very long trailing branch that should give me several new plants. Enjoy that delicious sandwich and your rest. I knew winter was coming to your neck of the woods!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I have no idea how this will work on raspberries but since they are close related I think it might work. I especially believe that it will work with the crosses between rasp- and blackberries that exists. You have raspberries that we don´t have here and they might work perfect. Otherwise You can always just scrape the bark of the raspberry and dig down that part in to the ground, usually that part has roots of its own next year. But it must be new branches in any of the cases.

      I did enjoy those sandwiches🙂
      Yes winter comes early this year🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Tänkte bara önska TREVLIG MIDSOMMAR, men med tanke på att du anser att vi går mot vintern nu så kanske set är lite malplacerat!? Själv tycker jag att det är först nu som sommaren börjar och bästa tiden är helt klart från mitten på augusti och september. Mernd et är alltså sen jag flyttade till Gotland där sommaren är enormt LÅNG!
    Ha en skön helg!
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!🙂
      Själv skall jag äntligen få vara hemma och tjura som jag alltid velat göra🙂 Men jag hoppas din midsommar blir bra!

      Det tar slut så fort här i mitt köldhål så jag föredrar våren och senare hösten när det frysre till på natten och alla dofter kommer fram på morgonen🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. Happy Midsummer to you, Christer!
    Lovely shots today. I really like the second one with the cows in the meadow. They look so peaceful.
    The picture of the deer reminds me to ask if Doris the Doe is still around.
    Excellent picture tutorial on blackberry propagation. I won’t be doing any soon as I have tons of black raspberries all over my property so I don’t need any more berries right now.

    I hope your sandwich tasted as good as your description of it sounded.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I think mt favorite photo is the first one. For once the cows didn´t panic when we just turned up from nowhere, even if there were lots of calfs around.

      I haven´t seen her in a while, but I think that she is out on the bog now if she´s still around and has a young one.

      I think this propagation method is great if there is a special kind of blackberry one wants (thornless for instance). This must be the least harmful for the plant then and if it is a thorny one very harmless for the one doing it🙂🙂🙂

      I have to admit that those sandwiches are great🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Barb!
      I think this method is great if there is a variety that is unusual. Doing like this and there´s no risk at all that one will destroy the plant itself.

      Have a great continuing of Your vacation!
      Christer.

  8. The first photo is SO GREAT! It would make a beautiful painting.
    I would think about doing some propagation but first I need to get all my plants in the ground! LOL!😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I do like that photograph too! I tried four times to take it until I finally got the cow and calfs clear, the other times I got the wire clear instead. She was patient that cow🙂🙂🙂

      Well You do have a lot of plants to plant now🙂🙂 I´ve been looking around but there´s no place even remotely close to being that cheap as the place You bought Yours🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

