There´s a fire in my stove.

I´m glad I do save some photographs a couple of days because I didn´t take many this morning because I didn´t want to risk getting water inside my camera. These rain clouds came in yesterday evening and they still hang around.

I have started a fire in the stove this morning, not because it´s especially cold indoors but then I´ll be able to keep the high humidity away from my little cottage. It´s only 12 C (53,6 F) outside and the rain is pouring down. It will stay like this all day according to the weather forecasts I´ve looked at.

I planted the little grapevine beneath the espalier and already this morning it has a firm grip around it. I placed some left over rubber carpet (from my pond) over the pest mixed soil so no weed seeds gets a chance to germinate there for a while.

View from my kitchen table.

On our way to the forest.

I did replant my tomato plants, mow the lawn and plant that grapevine yesterday so I really don´t feel I have to do anything at all today🙂 I still have that Narnia movie to look at (I just couldn´t find where I had put it last weekend but it turned out I had placed it just beside the dvd player🙂🙂🙂 I can read books, take a nap or what ever I feel to do today.

A miss in the nature. This raspberry plant has almost no chlorophyll so it almost looks white. I think it might have just enough to survive though.

I usually don´t like grasses but they can be truly wonderful- Unfortunately most of them spread like crazy so I try to avoid them in my garden (except around my pond).

Look at this little spruce, almost all branches dips down at the end. Even the top one and I wonder if this characteristics will follow it all through life?

I keep finding my drawing pencils all over the cottage so perhaps I should sit down and draw something, I´ve realized it was a long time since I did that the last time. Summer days usually means I´m outside doing something but rainy days like this would be great for drawing.

Giant poppy by my neighbors greenhouse. I haven´t started building my own greenhouse yet but I feel I´m coming closer to it🙂🙂

Silene something.

Every now and again I go around swatting flies and give them to two big fish I have in my aquarium🙂 Well I have more fish but these are big enough to eat them. I got them from the girl I helped with her french homework when she moved to go to a high school rather far away. They will become to big eventually but they are kind and doesn´t touch any smaller fish. If You click on the scientific name a Google page will pop up and show You how they look( Balantiocheilus melanopterus).

But before I´ll do anything I´ll have a cup of coffee, put some wood in the stove and then a short nap🙂                                                                                                                                 Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “There´s a fire in my stove.

  1. Håller med om att gräs kan vara väldigt invasiva, men jag gillar s.k. prydnasgräs väldigt mycket ändå. Har dock tydligen satt tre sorter som sprider sig överallt, men….det är ju “bara” att rensa bort dom!
    Vad snygga fiskarna var, hur stora är dom nu och hur stora kan dom bli? Fast hur stora exakt är kanske beroende på hur stor dammen är!?
    Idag ska jag göra som du gör, ta det lugnt. Vi fick nämligen 16,5 mm i natt – ÄNTLIGEN!
    Men nu skiner solen igen och jag misstänker att allt jobb med att rensa och klippa gräs överallt snart känns ganska meningslöst. ALLT växer ju så vansinnigt fort när det kommit lite vatten, även ogräset och gräsmattan!

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Tyvärr brukar det ju vara så att det inte bara är till att rensa bort gräs🙂 Bara om det är fröplantor. Jag kämpade med ett “prydnadsgräs” i flera år eftersom rötterna spred sig något hysteriskt, dessutom poppade det upp flera meter bort utan att de visat tecken på att existera där i mellan.

      Detta är akvariefiskar, men de kan bli 35cm långa och blir väldigt gamla dessutom. Just nu är de runt 12 cm långa. Lite påverkar storleken på akvariet, men jag kommer att få hitta ett större med tiden om de lever vidare.

      Nu verkar det inte växa fortare här i alla fall, fast det växer hysteriskt fort ändå🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! great photos again today! i really enjoy seeing your garden. the grape vine is off to a good start. there is rain all around us but we aren’t getting it and we sure do need it with this heat. some of my new evergreens drooped on the edges until they got bigger and then they straightened up. enjoy your movie! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!

      I removed the rubber carpet for a while so the rain can come down around the vine. Peat is hard to soak but when it already is wet it´s like a sponge🙂🙂
      I hope You´ll get some rain too if You need it, we´ve gotten more than we need for quite some time now🙂

      I thought that it wasn´t an unusual thing that the twigs are hanging like that, but one can always hope🙂 It would be nice to be the one that found a new variety🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Lovely garden photos.
    Sometimes rainy days are a plus. You get to do something that you haven’t done in a while, like drawing.
    I always called those silene “balloon flowers” but Google tells me that is not correct. Oh well. I’m still looking for the name of the white flower in yesterday’s post. It’s something I think I know but can’t remember the name.
    Today is sunny, so far, but it’s early morning. Anything could happen.
    Have a good day with your drawing pencils.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!
      I would like if the rain could stop for just a couple of hours though. Nova is bored and runs around the cottage with a plastic bottle making lots of noise🙂🙂🙂

      It´s a silene species but many of them look so much alike that I don´t know which one it is, but I´ve always liked them. They are quite common by the sea and also on the driest places here.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. the fish are beautiful, my daughter has ocar fish which are now 8 inches long,, they also feed them flys as well as worms and grasshoppers.They do how ever eat the other fish.They put a small rock bass in with them which is still growing a year later but were told not to add smaller fish, very agressive.We really could use some rain,, forest fires raging here.Have a restfful sunday.Your photos are beautiful and restful,,

    • Hi Laurie!
      Well I´ve always avoided that fish because I know how big it gets and it isn´t the most colorful one can find🙂 But it leaves all other fish alone even if they are new born so I like it because of that (and they do eat
      a lot of flies🙂🙂 ).

      I wish I dared having such a big aquarium that Oscars needs, but my cottage is 100 years old this year and I don´t know how strong the floor is🙂🙂🙂 We call them either ‘Red Oscar’ or Peacock ciclid over
      here.

      I remember when I was Young that they sold Rock bass in our pet stores and I always wanted to have a couple. But now they are gone, I guess most people wants tropical fishes instead.

      So You still have those forest fires! I do hope You´ll get some rain soon!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Vilken fantastisk bild första bilden är! Du har verkligen fångat ett annalkande regnväder. Det blir en speciell dager när det är oväder på gång. Skönt att kunna göra ingenting emellan åt;) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Molnen var riktigt vackra, synd bara att de skulle vräka ut så hysteriskt mycket regn🙂🙂

      Visst är det gott att bara slappa, men nu börjar Nova bli uttråkad och springer omkring med en petflaske och för oväsen🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!
      Yes they are but it would be nice if it could stop for an hour or two se we could take a longer walk. As it is now we all prefer to stay indoors🙂🙂🙂

      Nova is all over the cottage running around like crazy chewing those bottles. Every now and again she want me to have a struggle about it as well🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. It’s so nice that Nova is becoming so comfortable with you that she wants to play! That’s a great sign of feeling ‘at home.’ Hmmmmm, a fire in the fireplace to get rid of humidity. Now, why didn’t I think of that? Great idea. Will keep that in mind in our wet Fall. Thanks. Enjoy your movie.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Yes now I can say that she truly feels at home🙂 Even Hector plays with her some and Orvar doesn´t growl at her when she´s terrorizing him🙂🙂

      Getting rid of the humidity just makes things feel warmer🙂 So now I can have the kitchen door open for a while because the hot stove soon dries up the air agin🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. My computer crashed and I will be using my wife’s cpu for home office work. Always happens when you need it the most. But we are off to a pool party shortly so maybe that will take it off my mind.

  8. Hej Olof!
    Din blogg har valts ut för att ingå i medieregistret CisionPoint och i vår topptiolista över svenska bloggar om trädgårdsskötsel. Vill du veta mer om Cisions produkter och tjänster så kan du besöka vår hemsida på http://se.cision.com/sv/OmCision/.

    Jag behöver mejla dig med mer information, men jag hittar ingen e-postadress på din blogg. Hör gärna av dig till mig på emelie.swerre@cision.com. Hör även av dig för att meddela om du INTE vill finnas med i listan och medieregistret.
    Vänliga hälsningar,
    Emelie, Cision UK

    • Tack för erbjudandet Emelie, men eftersom denna blogg handlar väldigt lite om trädgårdsskötsel avstår jag från att vara med.
      Christer.

  9. How come when I use my STOVE in high humidity it just makes the house hotter? Hmm, maybe it’s not the same thing. I hate the Narnia movie! It broke my heart what they did to the Lion (I know, I know but…) anyway, I’d rather not think about it.
    I wish I lived where my cats could go outside and roam the garden.
    I’m at work right now and I’m having the most awful day…I needed to “escape” for a few minutes!😦
    Later! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      It must be fairly chilly outside otherwise it will just become a sauna of it all🙂🙂🙂

      This is the third movie, but I loved the first one. After all the lion came back and he did know what he was doing.

      We´re lucky in that way, the closest big road are miles away🙂

      I hope Your day gets better!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

