Scientists really doesn´t know what they want it seems :-)

It was delicious🙂

I think I´ll drive by Falköping tomorrow and buy some fire logs. They say temperature won´t rise over 13C (55,4F) here on sunday. I don´t think it will be cold indoors but since the rain will pour down tomorrow and on Sunday it will feel damp here. But I do have old lilacs in the wood shed that I can use instead. Fire form lilacs burns fast and gets very hot.

Scientists believes we might get a smaller ice age within five to six years since the solar activity is extremely low. Normally it would be lots of action on the suns surface now but it doesn´t seem to happen anything. Well just yesterday they warned us for a green house world where everything would be covered in water🙂🙂 I do wish they could decide what really is going to happen🙂🙂 But I´ll take this latest news as an excuse for not caring about how much carbon dioxide I let out in to the atmosphere🙂🙂🙂

Next Friday is midsummer and that is one of our most popular holidays. I´ve written about how we celebrate it before but I can do it again if anyone wish to. The christian church tried to ban if for centuries but never succeeded so instead they said we celebrated John the baptists birth. The church might have done that but not we swedes🙂🙂🙂

Today I´ll try a for me new cheese, a black mould cheese. Since I do love blue cheese I hope this is just as good. But I remember the first time I ate blue cheese, I thought it tasted like stearin🙂🙂🙂 It´s strange how taste can change over the years🙂                   Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Scientists really doesn´t know what they want it seems :-)

  1. OMG! I’m first! I never thought of burning lilac but our cedar does the same thing! VERY HOT fires! I have wild strawberries at the back of my house and love to nibble. They are nowhere near the taste of commercial ones but I always feel closer to nature when I’m picking the wild ones. Love the thistle and spicer pix, today. Well, back to my project… Have a great day and let me know what the black cheese tastes like… I can only imagine….

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I have to say that the wild ones is way much more delicious that the big ones we can buy (and those are truly delicious as well🙂🙂 ). It´s the long days with all its light that makes them really sweet!

      The black cheese were fantastic! I only had a small pice and I can say I have a new favorite!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer, I laughed at your strawberry caption: “it was delicious”…I am happy you enjoyed; hopefully there are more of those! I think if we don’t believe what science tells us one day, just wait, because they will tell us something else, or different, on another day. I must say you took a beautiful picture of a very creepy looking spider. Maybe save that for Halloween! Somehow black mould cheese sounds…um…delicious!

    • Hi Robin!
      We have lots and lots of wild strawberries in the forest🙂 I´m hoping to pick two pound and make jam of them, but it´s a bit to early yet.

      But I do like any catastrophe theory so now I have trouble deciding which one I should like the most🙂 hot hot hot or cold cold cold🙂🙂🙂 I think I like hot better🙂

      I love the legs on that spider🙂

      The cheese is delicious! A new favorite of mine🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! wow…..what a great spider photo!!! it’ legs look like they are made of wire! i remember the first time i tasted blue cheese. i thought i was poisoned. now i love it. picky eaters never move past being picky because they don’t give things a second chance. sometimes we have to try things over and over until we like them. i heard that about the mini ice age too. i wish it would start today! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I love the legs of that spider🙂 I have plenty of spiders here in my cottage since they eat flies🙂 This is probably a grand, grand, grand ……………….. grand daughter of the first spider I saw when I moved here🙂

      This cheese is now a new favorite of mine🙂 It´s danish and is called “Black Castello”, I think You will like it if You can find it where You live!

      So if You take the ice age I can take Your hot weather instead🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I thought it was rather ugly the first time I saw a spider like that, but I´ve become used to them now🙂 I have a huge one just above my head by the bed🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I just got a reply from the second garden center I contacted about the sawfly problem. They, too, recommend pesticide and pruning. Here is their reply:
    IDENTIFICATION

    This Sawfly species belongs to a group known as sawflies and despite their common name they are are not flies. They belong to the same order as wasps, ants and bees and lack the conventional ‘wasp waist’ and unlike many other wasps, they do not sting. They are called sawflies because the female is provided with a saw-like ovipositor, which she manipulates to saw small slits in the leaves into which she deposits her eggs.

    After hatching, the larvae remain together in the same group during the day and then spread out over the tree to feed at night. This is one type of a cluster of caterpillars that look like something left over from last night’s nightmare. After they have filled their hungry appetites they reassemble for the next day. This cycle continues until they mature. A small tree with several larval groups can be seriously damaged. They leave the tree when fully fed and pupate in the soil. If the clusters of larvae are disturbed, they wave their bodies up and down and exude a thick yellowish fluid. It is this action that gives them their common name of ‘spitfires’. This strong smelling liquid consists predominantly of eucalyptus oil which is used as a discouragement against predators.
    The larvae are brownish red to begin with but darken to black with age.
    When steelblue sawfly larvae are develop they move onto the ground, tunnelling into the soil where they pupate in a silken cocoon. They remain in the ground during summer and the fully matured sawflies emerge in Autumn to reproduce and lay their eggs.
    Plants that are attacked are Eucalyptus.

    CONTROL
    To control these pests is not a great problem. If possible, prune off a small branch with the group of larvae attached, or if they are on larger branches, spray the group and the surrounding leaves with LIQUID CARBARYL (CARBARYL SHOULD NOT BE USED NEAR OR ON FOOD PRODUCING PLANTS) or MALATHION or SHARP SHOOTER PYRETHRUM to kill these pests. Make sure you always read and follow the instructions on the label of the container.

    • Hi Nancy!
      Since I have animals and do like most insects in my garden pesticides is something I avoid. So pruning is my option and cutting dow the entire clematis is sort of a hard pruning🙂🙂🙂 But it has to be done several years in a row until the attacks stops. So I guess I won´t see them flowering for quite some time🙂🙂

      Thank for telling me what they answered!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. We need more spiders here! Especially at work! Poor Blue had the tops of his ears bleeding today because of those damn flies! I hate them SO much. Tomorrow I will be putting this stuff that they use for horses on Blue’s ears. Hopefully they will stay off of him.
    Live all the photos, especially the spider.
    I’ve decided not to listen anymore to anyone…at least for today.
    Somebody always has to tell you what to do and then change it afterwards. Like when I was growing up, you were supposed to eat white bread, eggs, whole milk and red meat! And now it’s supposed to be all bad.
    It’s like them telling women not to sleep in their make-up and to use special creams to look younger and stay out of the sun and not to drink alcohol….I never followed any of those rules and I’m still not wrinkly! It’s all in our genes. I was lucky with a youthful looking Dad. Everything is marketing. So that we will run out and buy stuff. Just like the whole “green” movement (yes, I recycle) but so much is just a big marketing farce!
    Oh dear, I must be cranky today! Sorry! (now THEY have me worried about the Polar bears!😦 )
    Anyway, you take care! I’m off to have a “beverage”!😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Since we don´t have any dangerous spiders here I let them live where they want to🙂 The more flies they take the better🙂🙂

      But I can tell You that at least eggs and full milk now days is seen as good for You🙂🙂 The same goes for butter and cream🙂 But I guess white bread (that I do love in periods) and red meat are still bad🙂🙂🙂

      The easiest way to not getting wrinkles is to become fat so I´ll go that way🙂🙂🙂 with the help of butter and cream🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Hi Cindi!
        Much the same reason here🙂🙂
        Thankfully I don´t have any recipe to chocolate chip cookies🙂🙂 Unfortunately I have to so many other cookies🙂🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    Cool spider. It looks like a robot spider. I get spiders in my house. I usually let them stay as long as they don’t insist on being right next to me. There’s one in the bathroom that matches the wall color. It’s a game trying to find it when I am in there. It’s never where I think it will be.🙂
    Don’t worry, we are not going to have another little ice age. The current amount of global warming will offset it just fine. Also scientists are not sure that the Little Ice Age was actually caused by the Maunder Minimum that occurred around that time. Could have been a complete coincidence.😉
    Anyway, enjoy your fast-burning lilac wood, stay warm and dry and don’t worry.

    • Hi Caryn!
      The only spiders I don´t like are the ones that comes up from the drain in my bathroom. They are big and hairy and they don´t stop even if I throw things towards them🙂🙂🙂 Now days I always have a heavy book in there so I can drop it on them🙂🙂🙂

      But I do love all these theories🙂🙂 But I have to say I do prefer warmer climate🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Spindlar är bra insekter för dom tar annat som man inte gillar!
    Min gubbe hade en stor husspindel i sitt musikrum när vi bodde i Stockholm. Den bodde i ett fönster och han matade den med leverpastej. Den såg nästan ut som en liten mus när den sprang över golvet!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      ja ju fler spindlar desto bättre🙂 Fast jag har en sort i avloppet i badrummet som jag inte kan med. Den är stor, svart och hårig. Den stoppar inte ens om man kastar saker mot den. Numera har jag alltid en stor tung bok där inne som jag kan släppa på odjuret om det kommer för nära🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Nancy!
      I do like that photograph too🙂 This is a small one, the one above my bed is at least twice the size of this one🙂

      Yes it´s a thistle, unfortunately a bit blurry.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

