The good old days?

Lying photographs will get bigger and hopefully better if You click on them.

I´m so tired today because I just couldn´t fall asleep yesterday and the heat at work was tough. It is a bit strange that it is that hot at work since it is rather cool and windy outside today. Thanks to the strong wind the walk got perfect🙂 Not a single fly could get out in to the open so I was left alone by them almost the entire walk🙂 I´m hoping to reduce the amount of flies and mosquitoes in my garden now when I´m cutting down the lilacs by the entrance. If the weather permits I´ll continue with it tomorrow. This will give me enough wood chips to cover the pond area and some other places as well🙂

Chamomile.

The owners daughters works with us in the factory and You should have seen their faces when I talked bout how it was where I grew up. The oldest one is perhaps 25 and the younger is 20. To them it sounded as if I lived in the stone age🙂 :-) The apartment building where I lived in the sixties to early eighties all had either a wc in the apartment os shared one with the neighbors on their floor. Most only had cold water but some had a water heater that worked on gas. In the neighboring apartment buildings they had toilettes outside instead🙂

Nova´s footprint.

We had central heating, that is if the landlord was sober enough to remember to order oil in time🙂🙂🙂 Other buildings only had tiled stoves and if they could afford it they bought wood or coal, if not they put in what ever burned. The fire department knew our neighborhood well🙂🙂🙂 We had gas stoves and we had to buy tokens to put in a gas meter. I remember the different colors and how much they cost as well🙂 The big red ones was the most expensive but they lasted well over a week🙂 I grew up in what I later learned was the slum of Gothenburg but really never understood that while I grew up.

I remember the first time I heard the motor on this car. It was a warm sunny day and I thought thunder was closing in🙂🙂🙂

Nepeta sibirica, Siberian catmint.

These were the days when neighbors came and borrowed a cup of sugar or an egg and everyone was poor. Not many had money the days before the pay check so every one borrowed everything from each other, especially food so that they could get something to eat at least to breakfast and dinner.

Clematis integrifolia.

Can´t for my life remember the name on this one. But it likes it here and becomes more and more every year.

Welsh poppy ( we call it english poppy).

Those were the days when everyone in an apartment building kept an eye on the children. Even the worst alcoholics did and if they saw any of us kids in a place they new was bad they made sure we got home alright, weather we wanted it or not🙂🙂 Now days kids must stay away from people like that or they might get robbed or raped. It do sound like I grew up in the stone age🙂

Well it´s time for something to eat. Today I think I´ll have hard thin bread with cheese, ham, perhaps liver pate and blue cheese. I´ll most certainly have both paprika and tomatoes on them🙂                                                                                                                           Have a great day!

22 thoughts on “The good old days?

  1. Hi Christer,
    Your dinner sounds almost perfect. I’d just have to drop the blue cheese for some other kind, maybe goat cheese. I love pate, and you’ve reminded me I haven’t had it in a while. I’d maybe add some fresh basil from my garden!

    • Hi Kat!
      I think this blue cheese is made of goats milk🙂 But I like goat cheese so if I had it at home I would probably mix it on somewhere🙂

      Liver pate is one of the most popular things to have on a sandwich but cheese of any kind with jam on is even more popular🙂 I love cheese and smoked cod roe on my sandwiches🙂 I always fail with basil I´m afraid so I have to buy it🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Christer, I have to tell you my favorite color is blue, and when you post photos of all the blue flowers in your gardens, I am very happy!! My kids can not fathom the fact that I grew up without a color tv, no microwave, one phone (with rotary dial). It is funny how each generation thinks the older generation lived in the Stone Age. I tell my kids someday your kids will laugh about the kinds of things they grew up with. Take care, love to the family!

    • Hi Robin!
      I do have a lot of blue flowers in my garden🙂 or yellow. Strange since my favorite color is red🙂

      I remember our first color tv! If wee looked at down hill skiing or ice hockey the colors had problem following the people🙂 So first there was a black and white person followed by his color🙂🙂🙂 I do miss those phones, not even lightning could destroy them🙂 I got my first microwave last year🙂 I only use it to heat my tea or coffee when it gets cold🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! we re dinosaurs! i remember when we got our first microwave we stood around and watched it cook like we were watching tv. and i remember when we had only black and white tv. we had party lines on our phone and only one phone in the house. i remember my first cell phone was a foot long and weighed a ton. i remember walking to the store with 10 cents to buy a bag of candy. times sure have changed! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I got my first microwave last year🙂 but I remember how people thought they too would get affected by the waves if they stood to close🙂🙂🙂
      Yes only one phone and it stood on a special phone furniture🙂 It´s hard to find any of those old chairs/ shelfs thingys now days🙂

      Oh so much candy one could get for ten cents! (well ten öre over here🙂 ) Not to mention how much one got for 100 öre!!! or a really really big ice cream🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Det är inte bara du som är från stenåldern! När gubben och jag flyttade ihop på 60-talet så fick vi reda på att man kunde få en omodern lägenhet (dom moderna var det 20-25 års väntetid på i Stockholm på den tiden)
    av en väninna.
    Vi tog en sån nära vår nyöppnade butik på söder och hade sån tur att det var en 2:a på 79 kvm med bara kallvatten, men vattentoa och tvålågig gasspis – men ingen värme och inget badrum. Man kunde ha fotogenvärmare, men det gillade vi inte – det luktade. Så vi satt själva in en gasvattenberedare och en gasvärmare (hade kompis inom VVS-branschen) och sen åkte vi ofta hem till föräldrarna och tvättade både oss och tvätten. Funkade jättebra, speciellt med tanke på att hyran låg under 100:-/månad. Var faktiskt billigt även då!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Jag tror att våran räknades till halvmodern🙂🙂

      Vi hade till slut en dush i tvättstugan som vi kunde boka när tid fanns🙂 annars var det till att åka till mormor och morfar.
      Vi hade fotogenvärmare på landet och javisst de stank illa! Dessutom fanns ju alltid risken att de började osa så att folk dog i sömnen. Ibland är det trots allt tur att saker ändras med tiden🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Here we go with the paprika again. I grew up mostly on Army bases and all the housing was the same but we never lacked for heat and cool air in the summer. We had wall units that were in three rooms and cooled the whole house. When my Dad was assigned to the Pentagon my folks bought a house in Mt Vernon which then had central air and heat. I’ve never lived in a house without that kind of central heating. And the house here also has a fireplace which in ten years has been used twice. Enjoy that tasty sandwich.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes must have paprika🙂 I think the most sold sandwich over here is the one with cheese and paprika on🙂

      You do have a bit to good climate to use the fireplace to be honest🙂🙂

      I can tell You that it´s nothing to miss not to have lived in a home without central heating🙂🙂 Worked good only in summer times🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Vi bodde visserligen i “eget”hus:) Vi hyrde ett gammalt torp i Munkegärde strax utanför Kungälv. Vi (ungar) tyckte att det var härligt men när jag tänker på det var det ju jättejobbigt för mamma. Inget varmvatten, ingen toa bara torrtoa, skulle man tvätta sig fick vi värma vatten och tvätta sig med tvättlapp:)) Under min säng växte svamp:)) (fuktsvamp) När jag var tio flyttade vi till Myggenäs på Tjörn till en villa i två våningar med BADRUM med varmvatten dusch, heltäckningsmattor och…………….trodde man kommit till himlen:)) Visst växte vi upp på stenåldern:)) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Då var det ju egentligen inget konstigt att leva så vare sig man bodde i hus eller lägenhet, fast jag slapp i alla fall svamp under sängen🙂🙂🙂

      Badrum var ju en otrolig lyx🙂 för att inte tala om heltäckningsmatta🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer,
    Well, I grew up in the stone age. The central heating in my childhood home was a coal fired furnace. I still remember the coal truck dumping the stuff through the cellar window and into the coal bin. I remember my father shoveling coal, too. My parents must have bought an oil burner as soon as they could afford it just so no one would have to do that job.🙂
    We always had a television because my father liked to have the latest electronics. Our phone was a party line and there was an operator who asked you what number you wanted. I was probably 6 or 7 before we got rotary dial. I still remember our old phone number.
    I still like to watch my microwave cook a beaten egg. It’s like watching The Blob.🙂
    Enjoy the day!

    • Hi Caryn!
      I´ve never experienced coal except when I barbeque🙂 But I can imagine how hard and dirty that job was🙂 I think my grandfather bought a combined wood and oil furnace but I doubt they used wood ever.

      I grew up with rotary dial telephone but even if we sometimes could hear the neighbors talking I don´t think it was a part line. I think my family was one of the first to get television so I had also one close but back in those days we only had one channel🙂 But I do remember when the second channel came and everything should be so much better🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. I remember when there were only 2 channels on TV and then 1 day there was a THIRD! It was such a big deal!
    I remember the old rotary phones and I remember penny candy….we did have all the “modern” things at the time and didn’t have to rough it but both my parents told stories about using an Out-house for a bathroom. I wish I had been born 30 years later and had all the current cool stuff when I was young! Also I like todays “fashion” much more now than in the 70’s and 80’s UGH!😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      We only had one channel the first years of my life and I remember when the second came. So much more interesting programs they promised to show🙂🙂🙂

      Penny candy was perfect🙂 Today we don´r even have that penny any longer (or öre as we call it). I actually think that candy was cheaper when I grew up.

      I can´t say I miss the fashion from the 70´s and 80´s🙂🙂🙂 but the music was much better🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. The school I attended until about the 5th grade had a stinking outhouse. It was not pleasant but we didn’t know any better. We had the modern convenience of paper on a roll. The rooms were heated with large coal fired stoves which were at least started before school but kept going through the day by the older boys. The coal bin was located under the cafeteria imagine that. The cafeteria was run by local women and the food was cooked everyday. No fast food there and ketchup was not yet ruled to be a vegetable. None of us knew what pizza was but we did know what a Dixie cup was. I seem to remember that Twinkys were around as well. The older boys that made good grades got to turn the ice cream crank and lick the paddles. I rarely got the job as I was not exactly a good student. We did not have a TV until I was 13 years old and there was only one station showing “I love Lucy”. I was a radio listener so I scorned the TV. I guess “I love Lucy” is still on somewhere everyday.
    We were poor white trash but didn’t know it. I was grown before I knew I was a “hillbilly” and there were jokes about us. I had a loving family, there was always plenty to eat and scraps for the dog and cat. When you have a full belly and a warm bed it is hard to believe you are poor.
    A full belly is wealth beyond compare. Ask any dog.

    • Hi Oldfool!
      I think it still was much like how You had it over here in the countryside when it came to schools. But the one I went to had all modernities🙂 We even had showers in the gym🙂

      We did actually know what a pizza was because there were lots of italians in gothenburg and I remember the first pizzeria that opened in Gothenburg. I thought that was food from heaven. Not so any longer, I eat it perhaps once a year🙂 But they did make all food at school but I don´t think they got ketchup until after I left🙂🙂 I loved the food they made at school even if many complained.

      I realized that I also was white trash but we didn´t care🙂

      I loved I love Lucy! and Carol Burnet🙂 Otherwise it was mostly british shows they showed here. The radio was important back then, today most of it is garbage.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. I’m with Caryn and the old coal furnace and the water tray under the icebox that had to be emptied every morning, or else! We only had four numbers for our phone and the operator would make your call for you — or not, if it was too early and you were late for school and she knew you were just calling your friend to find out what she was wearing! — and we loved it. But, the best thing about the good old days is that they are behind us. Not all was bad. Certainly, the work we did helped give us character — and, there was no sense of entitlement. You didn’t work; you didn’t eat. But, I do love the freedom of modern conveniences. Maybe I can come back as a fly on the wall and watch the next generations?

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I can´t say I miss the god old days to be honest🙂 Even though I don´t have much of the luxuries many other has because I think it just takes time I don´t want to go back🙂 We had the same rule, don´t work don´t eat. If You want jam go out and pick berries. As You say it gave us character! Most kids today just expects thing to land in front of them🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  11. I don;t care for the microwave and after our first beastie died,, we never replaced it,, lovely photos,, my very favorite phototoday is Nova’s foot print,, I love this,,

    • Hi Laurie!
      I got one from my neighbors when they bought a new and smaller one, I use it to reheat my tea or coffee🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

