So much to do, so little time.

This is Hampus and he is Orvars best friend🙂 He is probably the kindest dog in the world🙂 He is originally a hunting dog but has a heart failure so he´s not allowed to run any longer. He is a Drever, a swedish breed.

I´m a bit behind today so I´ll make this a short one. After work I went to the big store to buy an electric screw driver, You know one of those that works on batteries. I just wanted to buy a cheap one that one is happy if it works a couple of times just so it has earned its cost🙂 But I came home with a much better one instead🙂 I had planned to buy an expensive Bosch machine (it´s the brand I like the most) but came home with a Black & Decker instead🙂🙂

I´ve finally done it🙂 I started to cut down the lilacs by the entrance🙂 Once there was a beautiful flower bed here but the lilacs killed almost everything in it. I think I´ll have Rowans or Golden chain (laburnum, we call them golden rain)) here instead.

A Dog rose has grown between the hedge and the other lilacs so it has no strength by it self. So I had to tie a rope around it to a pole so it can stand up🙂

After that I went out with my dogs but the walk was short because the flies were nasty today, I think we might get some thunder because flies are always nasty when thunder approaches. I can tell You that they weren´t especially much nicer here at home when I mowed the lawn🙂🙂

Can You see? No green algae on the wall or the door! It was very easy to wash away.

Lilacs for the stove🙂

I finally started to do what I´ve said I should a long time now. I fetched my chainsaw and started to cut down the lilacs by the entrance🙂 I didn´t think that there was especially much of them to be honest but it took several ours just to cut down one side and to clean up the mess. So I´ll have to continue on the other side if we get good weather this coming weekend. But first I have to see that there aren´t any birds nest in there.

Iris pseudacorus.

Geranium of some kind.

It´s time for me to have something to eat, I haven´t eaten anything for over six hours now🙂 I´m afraid I won´t have much time to read all Your blogs today but I´ll try to catch up tomorrow!                                                                                                                                             Have a great day now!

22 thoughts on “So much to do, so little time.

  1. Hampus is such a good looking dog; not familiar with the breed, though he seems similar to the basset hound/beagle breeds. I am sorry for his heart problem. You have been super busy around the cottage; and goodbye to the lilacs. The yellow iris looks very bright against the foliage. Good luck battling those $%&% black flies!

    • Hi Robin!
      He is a beautiful Drever and he´s like a mix between a dax hound (they cross bread them much before ) and a basset hound.

      He loved to run around before but he almost dies last time he tried. But they take long walks in a slowly paste with him🙂

      I do like that iris🙂 But this is not black flies (those we have here doesn´t bother me thankfully, it´s those very annoying forest flies🙂 They didn´t leave me alone for a second!!!!!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    You have been busy! Looks like there will be lots of light around that door now.
    Love the picture of purple geranium.
    Enjoy your meal.

    • Hi Caryn!
      It´s already much lighter there now, but I´ll try to find some other trees to put there instead. The birds needs that.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. that was a big job,, I found myself wondering what the lilac wood will burn like,, that comes from burning wood for 30 years,, lol,, we don’t burn wood now but oh how i miss it,, not carrying the ash out or piling it, or cutting it down,, (actually I didn’t cut much) I do however know how to use the chain saw,, your, lilacs are just like ours were,, so sorry for the lovely little dog,, I guess age catches up with all.The flys are really bad here now also,, black flies are so bad before a rain,,I hate them,, they crawl in my hair and bite,, then you have little bloddy bite spots,, they don’t itch as much as mosquitoes but leave more of a mark.Hope the rest of your day passes well.

    • Hi Laurie!
      It was more to do than I had thought but the other side is worse🙂 It will be interesting to see if anything in that flower bed has survived because almost nothing had survived on the finished side🙂🙂

      Lilacs burn fast and hot! I didn´t put much in the stove the other day and it burned way to fast. Good to have as a starter fire that I can say🙂🙂

      It is sad what happened to Hampus but it seems that most of his brothers and sisters got the same problem. Unfortunately he got this at a rather early age.

      Our black flies doesn´t care about me thankfully but the forest flies loves to annoy me!!!! I hate them because they always tries to get in to my nose and ears!!!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      My old one just died and sometimes I need to have an electric screwdriver. Even though my hands still are strong my arms hurts sometimes when the rheumatic disease starts to get cranky🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Så otroligt snäll och gullig Orvars bästa vän ser ut:)) Förstår att du har att göra med syrenhäcken, hoppas att du hinner att fixa till allt vid nästa helg;)) Iris pseudacorus är himla snygg!! Vi planterade säkert 15 rejäla plantor av Iris sibirica uppe vid vår damm i går, det är den vanliga blå sorten så det är inget märkvärdigt men det kan nog bli snyggt om några år ( om de överlever) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Han är så snäll att det är löjligt🙂 Nog därför ham och Orvar kommer så bra överense.
      Men än har jag inte börjat med häcken🙂 Bara träden som leder mot entrén och det är jobb nog🙂🙂🙂

      Jag kommer att ha iris sibirica vid dammen senare också. Kanske den blå är vanlig men vackrare än dem får man leta efter🙂 Inget dödar dem🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. I’m having mixed emotions, Christer. I’m glad you’ve taken care of your lilac problem; but, I adore lilacs. I guess it depends on where they’ve been planted. They make wonderful live privacy hedges, but it takes years for them to get tall enough. I agree with Robin, Hampus appears to be in the basset hounds family, though he’s very fine-lined. It’s hard when the pets we love develop health problems; isn’t it. Well, enjoy your tea. I’m a little behind in blog reading, too. Too much yard work and getting ready for the market. Come visit when you can.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Well I have around 45 yards of lilacs as a hedge and two huge clumps of the garbage in the garden as well. There´s no risk I´ll get rid of them all I´m afraid🙂🙂 Besides it grows in and beside the dog yard too!!! I cut down my hedge two years ago (I had to use a chain saw) and it´s already over two yards high!!!

      Hampus is actually in the dachs hound family. Drever was originally an austrian breed and they still have it over there in different varieties. They call them dachsbracke.

      It´s alway worry some when they getill but he seems happy with his now days calmer life🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. hi christer! what a wonderful looking dog! i want to do the same with all of my lilacs! how will you get rid of the roots. roots are such a problem for me. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      He is and so kind🙂
      I think I just leave the roots where they are (they are all deep down in to the ground and can´t be seen) otherwise I´ll be needing a digging machine to get them up. Any shoots that might come up (and they will!) is going to be cut down with the lawn mower. But if they become to many there is something called eco plug that can be hammered in to the old tree stumps and that will kill it all. But I´ll try to keep control of them for a long time until I go so far.

      The root problem You have is more difficult since they are on the surface. Those is best just to cut of with an ax I´m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Eftersom du inte gillar att syrenerna har spritt sig och tagit över – vad du än gör, sätt inte gullregn då! Dom ger en otroligt massa rotskott och sprider sig dessutom i hela trädgården!!
    Stackars Hampus, vara jakthund och inte få jaga – som han förmodligen älskade. Inte kul!
    Har just gått in från trädgården för att jag håller på att bli uppäten av myggor, flugor och svartmyror. Alla dessa biter nämligen mig och idag är det fuktigt och grått, så det kryllar av dom ute. Men…jag måste ut igen och rensa klar stenhörnan som jag bara hunnit med till hälften. Men nu ska jag smörja in HELA mig med Mygga, inte bara där jag inte har kläder!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Modern min har inte de problemen med gullregn men det är jättebra att du varnar mig. Jag har en frösådd planta i trädgården och den håller sig också lugn. Men eftersom risken finns får det bli något annat. Kanske ett par Ginnalalönnar istället🙂

      I början var det nog svårt för hampus men även han har insett att han inte klarar att springa. Så numera verkar han helt nöjd med sina långa och långsamma promenader🙂 Den sträckan vi kan ta på tio minuter kan ta ett par timmar för honom, så mycket att lukta på och kika på🙂🙂🙂

      Flugorna driver mig till vansinne här, de andra klarar jag av eller så bryr de sig inte om mig🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  8. Sorry about the fly problem, but it looks like you got a lot done!

    Beautiful dog! I’m saddened by the fact he has heart trouble, but he seems to be happy enough for now!

    Things are looking pretty good around your place, my friend!

    • Hi Jim!
      That´s the only thing I don´t like living neighbor to a bog. We have lots of flies🙂

      I think he is content with his life little Hampus. They take long and slow walks with him every day so he do get the chance to see the wild life and follow their tracks, but in a paste his heart can manage.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. poor little Hampus…I’m glad to hear that they take him for daily walks.🙂
    and you, about cutting down the lilacs “But first I have to see that there aren´t any birds nest in there.”
    you have such a kind heart. That’s why I like coming to your blog and reading….
    Well, that and the beautiful photos of course!
    and your dogs…🙂
    and the kitties.😀

    • Hi Cindi!
      Well I think he´s quite happy with his life especially since there are so much wildlife to look at all the time.
      Well I can´t cut down someone’s home🙂 But I can´t find any nest so down they´ll go🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. The dog rose is so lovely in its simplicity. When I lived in Maine there were hedges of them along the shore, in three colors. However, as much as I love the flower photos, I really want Hampus! What a sweetie and I hope we will see more of him, but I am sorry he has a heart condition. He looks a little like a Bassett Hound.

    • Hi Nancy!
      I do like these simpler wild roses. But I do have a couple of others as well, varieties that seldom gets sick and can survive without me having to help them at all 🙂🙂🙂

      I do like Hampus but he usually disappears when I show the camera🙂 I´ll try to get another photograph of him though. From what I know there´s no basset hound in that breed at all but lots of dachshound.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

