Cooler weather and fish.

I really must do something here. it may look charming but it isn´t🙂 Rainy days it´s enough just to slightly touch any branch and water will pour down over me🙂🙂

It´s raining outside and it has all day. Sometimes just a nice drizzle and sometimes it has poured down. I took an hour off from work today and went in to Vara to do some errands and got lucky with just a drizzle all the time and I got lucky again when I came home and we walked in to the forest, the dogs Bertil and I.  But just as I got inside again (both times) the rain started to pour down again🙂

I drove to Falköping on my way home and bought some fish for my pond. Normally they have Goldfish and Koi carp but this year they had lots of other fish to choose from. Most of them however would become way to big for my little pond, even though the owner claimed it would take years and I probably would have made a bigger pond by then🙂🙂. So I bought five Goldfish and two called Gobi (Gobio gobio, If You click on the scientific name photographs from google will appear in a new window) The info text said it would live on algae but that wasn´t totally true it showed.

Three days ago the creeks were absolutely dry, they were almost dusty🙂 Not like that any more🙂 This is how I like it to look around my pond in the future, lots of ferns!

It´s a fish that lives here in the most southern parts of Sweden and doesn´t get any longer than 12 cm (around 5 inches) but it mainly eats small worms and insect larvae´s. But if it eats any algae I´m happy🙂 The most important thing is that the mosquito larvae´s gets eaten🙂

It is graduation day from high school in Falköping today and it was impossible to miss that while driving in town🙂 Over here it´s tradition that all students stand on the back of a lorry or on a carriage behind a tractor. Loud music is played and the students scream like crazy🙂🙂 I don´t think any of them were sober🙂🙂 This is not the best of traditions because every year accidents happen and they get either injured badly and in worst case someone dies. Still they carry on with this every year.

Incarvillea zhongdianensis. This flower is a relative to the Catalpas.

I took some cuttings from my two nine-barks the other day and took some photographs on how I did. Bushes like ninebark, spirea and guelder-rose is rather easy to take cuttings from. Take them this time of year and the new twigs that comes is the ones You should take. I normally take them with a heel but I doubt that is necessary. Remove all leafs but one or two in the top. Put much of the stem in almost wet soil and place the pot in shadow. This is a great way to get more plants if You like to use them as a hedge. Lots of plants for no cost at all.

These are some cuttings from my red leafed and yellow leafed (well it looks more green leafed at the moment) ninebark´s. This can also be done with lilacs. Lilacs are weeds so when a neighbor of mine stuck down an inch thick branches in the ground I wasn´t surprised when they got roots and started to grow!

Ready to be planted.

Always put the cuttings by the edge of the pot. If You do that the risk of rotting is minimal if You water to much. But these mustn´t ever dry out before they get roots! It´ll be interesting to see the result of all the propagation I´m doing in this blog🙂 I´ll show You the result as soon as I know how things goes. The small tomatoes are on their way to become plants with roots of their own now🙂

It is time for a pot of tea and a couple of sandwiches. Today I think I´ll have hard bread with blue cheese, ham, perhaps some ordinary cheese as well and I think I´ll have some paprika on that as well or perhaps tomatoes🙂                                                                             Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Cooler weather and fish.

  1. Christer,
    Its landscape is now amazing! Everything is green … I love it
    His door would make an excellent embroidery and the snail … also … and the dog on the road … there are so many pictures that I like to embroider. Now I’m saving links. Until now I did not resign at the buzzer missed.
    I’m curious about what is a blue cheese! I love cheese🙂
    Too bad I can not take their classes on seedling creation, you know here on the beach the salty air has killed almost everything: (
    But I like to see:)
    kisses for all
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      I must admit that the entrance looks charming but I have to do something about it now. I get so wet when passing there after a rainfall🙂🙂🙂

      I love cheese too and blue cheese is the cheese with mould. This one is a swedish kind and very, very tasty🙂

      Yes salt air can kill most things I´m afraid. I know many that lives by the sea that has the same problem as You do.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    The doorway looks charming but it also looks like a place for things to hide. Burglers, passing coyotes, things like that.🙂 And I, too, hate getting rainwater down the back of my neck. But it is pretty.
    Love the snail photo.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Few find the way to my cottage even if they have a map so I doubt a burglar will hide in the lilacs and we don´t have coyotes🙂🙂🙂 But it is a great place for mosquitoes to hide I´m afraid🙂 But I do admit that it looks pretty🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Grattis till fiskköpet:) Vi har inte bestämt oss ännu om vi ska ha fisk eller inte i vår damm, men först ska den ju bli klar:) Det är en jäkla “tradition” det där med studenter på lastbilsflak och liknande. De lär sig tydligen aldrig. Ha en trevlig helg/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Egentligen vill jag inte ha fisk i dammen för då måste jag egentligen ha en bättre reningsanläggning. Men jag känner att vi har nog med mygg och bromsar som det är🙂🙂🙂 Nästa damm blir större och då skall jag skaffa en rejälare pump och ett bra mycket bättra filter. Men det var roligt att de hade ett flertal olika dammfiskar i år, bland annat guldsutare!

      Nä fulla ungdomar på flak är inget bra, hur trevligt de än verkar ha det!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. My tomatoe patch is wilted and I plan to put in another garden with the fertilizer tip you posted yesterday. Graduation is the same everywhere, I think. They all get drunk and wildly out of control.

    • Hi Z&M!
      It is a great fertilizer but it smells like hell and it takes at least two weeks to get ready.

      I guess You´re right but to continue doing something that actually kills people is just plain stupid! It would be better if they just rented a limo instead.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. It rained here again like crazy last night. And it cooled off so much that I was able to turn off the air-conditioners!😀
    I love all the photos! The flowers are just beautiful! I like the idea of a pond with fish. When I was little my Mom had my Dad build her one….and the neighbor cat ate all the fish!😦
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      It will stay cool here for at least a week or so they say but the raining will end after tomorrow. But they are wrong so often now days that I think my own guess is as good as theirs is🙂🙂

      I´m not worried about cats eating the fish, my two isn´t smart enough🙂 and the other cats around here keeps away because of my dogs and my cats as well. But I´ll keep an eye open if a heron comes close! They can empty a pond from fish in seconds🙂🙂 I really don´t want fish in my pond but I think we have enough with mosquitoes and our relatives to Your green head fly as it is🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Rain! How wish we had some of it here. It is nearing mid June and usually it is HOT by this time..but it is only 69 degree’s here today. In California it gets so hot that by mid summer everything is brown. California is called the “Golden State” but to be honest it is a golden brown…burned to a crisp. 🙂 I guess Golden sounds better than brown..
    I love your little gate, Christer. All youhave to do is prune back some of the greenery and you won’t get wet. Just sayin’..but when it’s hot it must be so cool looking with all that wonderful shade.

    I just had a large Parmasan cheese begal with butter and strawberry jam. Hot coffee topped it off…and that was lunch! I spent the morning at the garage and Estate sales…and had a great time. Bought things I don’t need…you know how it is! 🙂
    Enjoy your tea! Glad you like the spray painted things…I spray paint everything and would probably spray paint Howard if he stood still long enough.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      For some reason I just can´t understand had Word Press placed Your comments in the junk comments part??? It´s not as if it was the first time You posted here!! Well good luck to us that I checked the junk posts quickly today🙂

      It was so dry here that almost all creeks had dried out, but now they are overflowing instead🙂🙂 But I don´t mind a couple of days with cool weather and rain. I just wish the weekends could be nice. To be honest, those lilacs in my entrance are so old that they have started to die. I have taken cuttings from the white one and I have plenty of the other colors, so I think it is best to say goodbye to these trees now. But I´ll have rowans (mountain ash) there instead I think. I do like the shade there when we´re having heat waves, unfortunately so does the mosquitoes🙂🙂🙂

      Don´t we always buy things we don´t need🙂🙂🙂 But we do feel happy while doing it so I guess we actually do need to buy those things anyway🙂🙂

      I´ve never eaten a bagel in my life! I guess they sell them in the big cities but I´ve never seen one around here. But it sure sounded nice🙂

      You are skilled with spray paint! I´ve never seen anything looking bad in those things I´ve seen! I guess You could have become a great car painter if You had gotten the chance to become one!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      Hmm, I´ll better warn Howard so he never stands still then🙂🙂🙂

  7. Christer, good gracious where to begin with your photos today. Okay, so you get a little wet walking through the gate. It is a glorious and charming entrance…that would make a beautiful card or framed picture. The snail is amazing, as well as the tiny bunch of white flowers you captured above the snail. The picture with the dogs, and the very large dead tree, or big fallen branch….that looks like the skeleton of a dragon!! You can even make out the wing structure. The creek surrounded by beautiful ferns looks like a magical setting. There must be fairies there. You are certainly teaching us impressive propagation techniques. It is cooler here today, thankfully, and we have high school graduations soon. There are always at least one or two drunk driving accidents. Such a waste. Good luck with your fish, I am the eat every last one of those mosquito larvae!!! Hugs to the family, and special, careful pat to Bertil.

    • Hi Robin!
      Well I´m six feet high and the entrance is around 4 feet high as best🙂🙂 I´m getting soaked passing through there🙂🙂🙂 but I have to admit it looks charming.

      Those tiny flowers above the snail is something we call dog biscuits in swedish. I have absolutely no idea why we call them that because dogs doesn´t like them at all🙂🙂🙂 But they do smell wonderful.

      I do like that creek because there grows lots of ferns and I want some of that feeling around my pond as well. But first I want the ground cloth and wood chips to kill as much weed as possible before I cut holes in it to plant things.

      We really can´t write laws against everything to protect people but surly the drivers of these lorries and tractors should know better! I think it´s a way to young age to die or get seriously injured.

      Yes may the fish eat all those nasty little larvae´s in the pond!!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. hi christer! your place looks wonderful but just like mine, there are problems everywhere! we were supposed to have cooler weather but it never came. i am living in hell! i think ferns around your pond would be enchanting and also would give the kitties a place to hide to catch the birds! i can’t wait for fall!!! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      So true! There´s always something to do around here.

      I hope the cooler weather comes soon to You! Getting it like that once in a while works great but I wouldn´t want it that hoot for any longer period! But then again, I´ve had summers when it has rained almost every day and that´s not to funny either🙂🙂🙂

      I hope I can start planting ferns there this autumn or perhaps next spring because I want the ground carpet and the wood chips to kill most of the weeds beneath it before I cut holes in it to plant things.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. The only good thing is that we’re going to continue to swelter and you’ll be showing us Fall picures in a few weeks! The pix are gorgeous, today, and I love the entrance. You could use an umbrella! We have the same graduation problems, here, too. Apparently, they get a lot of book learning but can’t seem to locate cause-and-effect thinking…. enjoy your tea. Your sandwich sounds interesting, but hold the blue cheese, for me. Can’t stand that stuff. Ptui!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I do hope for some summer during my vacation though and that´s in July🙂🙂🙂

      That umbrella wouldn´t get through in one piece i´m afraid🙂🙂🙂

      I think at least the drivers of these lorries and tractors should think before driving with kids like that. But traditions are hare to change I´m afraid.

      Those sandwiches came out way much better than I had hoped for🙂🙂 I love blue cheese but I remember the first time I ate it, it tasted like I was eating a stearin candle🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

