Thunderstorms and fertilizers.

Tuesday morning, who could have thought this beautiful sunrise would turn into a crazy thunderstorm🙂

We had a huge thunderstorm over the village where I work this morning and the lightning hit the fire station. Well to be honest it was the best place really🙂🙂🙂 The one we had on tuesday here was one of the worst I´ve been through here I think.

Iris sibirica, the first one to open up. This one is an old variety that I got long ago.

I think this can be a hybrid between I sibirica and I setosa. If so it´s calles I. sibtosa.

The lightning went through my old telephone four times and it hit the ground in the cow pasture outside my entrance over and over again for two hours. Only one time my dogs got worried and that was when it hit only a few meters (the same in yards) outside my living room window. Teodor however shouted most of the time and didn´t stop until he sat down beside me.

Two of my Hungarian lilacs. They are almost as high as my cottage.

The cinnamon rose is opening up. The name has unfortunately nothing to do with the scent, the branches of the rose is cinnamon colored.

This rose bush is a bit unusual because it has more than one color on the flowers . Some of them even get three, red pink and white.

I don´t think I´ve ever seen that much rain! I had waterfalls outside my window so it was hard to see anything at all🙂 Unfortunately this seems to have been the starting signal for our relatives to the green head fly. I do hope they won´t become many this year. It´s been so dry so I hope most of their larvae´s died.

Iris setosa ssp, sibirica.

I. sibirica. This one I bought last year and have had it in a small pot during winter. It´s a miracle it still lives and that it actually flowers too!

This one becomes pure white if I remember right.

The rain is pouring down again and thunder is on its way they say. So we haven´t taken any walk and will probably not get the chance to do so either. Nova and Hector is sleeping in my bed and Orvar here beside me in the kitchen. Teodor went out and I haven´t seen Bertil since 5 am. Not a bird is singing outside so I guess it won´t take long till it breaks loose again.

Columbines.

Yes this is also a columbine. I love the color but I prefer the normal looking ones.

Dogrose.

Now temperatures will drop drastically and most days ahead seems to be rainy. I don´t mind really because this early heat wave was just to much to be honest. We rarely reaches temperatures like 32C (90F) and never this early in summer. But nature does like it🙂

Japanese rose.

The Cinnamon rose again.

Japanese quince.

It´s time for something to eat and a cup of tea. I´ll have to look at some places the nettles stung me when I was taking photographs of how to do nettle fertilizer🙂🙂🙂 The things I do for You🙂🙂🙂                                                                                                                           Have a great day now!

So how to do nettle water one of the best fertilizers there is?! Take a bucket and fill it with as much nettles as possible. This can naturally be done with any kind of plant to be honest but nettles contains a lot of goodies for other plants.Do be careful when harvesting the nettles so You don´t get stung like I got today🙂🙂 I usually push it down real hard so I get lots of nettles in to the bucket.

Fill the bucket until it covers the nettles or up to the edge of the bucket.

Put a lid on! This is extremely important because this smells like, well I can´t write what it smells like when it´s finished because then I would be banned on Word Press🙂🙂🙂 Lets say it smells nasty🙂🙂 Put the bucket in a shadowy place for at least two weeks. When it´s ready try not to breath while You rinse away the residues from the old nettles (that You put in a compost or perhaps dig down). The nettle water should then be mixed like one part to nine-ten parts of water. If You grow different species in the cabbage family You can make it even stronger. This can also work on different pests. As I wrote earlier You can use any kind of plant to be honest but different plants contains different nutrients and have different characters. If You do this on for instance Horse tails You´ll get an even better pest controller!

30 thoughts on “Thunderstorms and fertilizers.

  1. hi christer! i wonder why you have so many lightening strikes around you? do you not have lightening rods on your cottage? it sounds scary. i have never seen nettles. i hope they didn’t get you too bad. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I have no idea why it was like this this time. Usually we have one or two hitting the ground but no more. Perhaps it was like that because the cattle have walked around a lot in that pasture lately and created a lot of static electricity? It´s the only thing I can think of.

      No I don´t have a lightning rod but I really should have. But I have an old antenna on the roof and that cable leads directly in to my living room🙂🙂🙂 Well I would notice when the lightning flew out of it anyway🙂🙂🙂

      Stinging nettles do hurt a lot! But the pain is gone in two days. But one can use young leafs to make a rather tasty soup! It´s also one of those plants that show what kind of soil one has. It prefers soil with lots of nitrogen and there´s lots of nitrogen beside the dog yard🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Yes there is. There have been dogs in that dog yard for years before I moved here so the nettles thrive there🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Thanks for the nettles recipe! I will be sure to make some. We also make a compost tea from comfrey that is a good fertilizer. Glad you are ok after that bad storm. A storm went around us last night but the temperature dropped from 95 yesterday to 58 today!

    • Hi Barb!
      It´s one of the best fertilizers one can get and so easy and cheap to do. But I have to admit that I´ve never heard about compost tea before. But I found a great article on the net that I´ll read after this.

      It was a nasty storm and I´m surprised that no house or barn got hit. But here the temperature kept high all night.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hello
    So good to see so many different flowers, I feel happy.
    I returned from the dentist, and as always I’m emotionally exhausted!
    The older, the more fearful I am🙂
    Christer, please install a a lightning conductor! I am distressed to learn that the rays fall so close to you!
    Word Press has facilitated our lives, and has already fulfilled name!
    kisses for all, take care
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      It´s like nature explodes now after the thunderstorms🙂

      But I have always liked going to the dentist🙂 I had a great one when I grew up so I never use any painkillers when I´m there🙂

      This was not a normal thunderstorm but if it continues like this I´ll buy a lightning conductor. I don´t think any of the houses and cottages has one.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Beautiful sky! But it sounds like the storm parked right over your house. I hate when that happens. It’s not the lightening so much as it is the noise. It’s so loud that it hurts the ears. There was one storm where I actually went and sat on the cellar steps so I could be that much farther from the sky.🙂 I don’t normally do that.
    The Japanese quince is lovely. They are among my favorite spring flowers. The flowers on my shrub have long gone by and now it’s just making little quinces for the deer to eat.
    It’s very hot here and we are due for some thunderstorms later on this evening. Supposedly they will cool us down for the next week or so. That would be great since I haven’t hauled the air conditioner out of the cellar yet.
    Have a quiet night.

    • Hi Caryn!
      NOrmally I really don´t care about thunderstorms but this was a nasty one🙂 As You say it did park over my home and I think it was the first time it happened here. But it is the lightning I don´t like that much🙂

      I thought that I wouldn´t get any flowers on the japanese quince since Doris the doe ate most of the bush🙂🙂🙂 t´s the second time it flowers so I´m hoping for fruits for the first time.

      We´ll have much cooler weather this coming week and I don´t mind🙂 as long as it the warmer weather comes back again🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • A thought about the cows walking over the pasture: Considering the amount of methane gas that cows produce, I hope they are not making static electricity when they walk around. It would be an explosive combination.🙂

  5. Oj oj oj det verkar som om du har haft det värre än oss i dag! Vi har haft det otroligt regnigt och olustigt men vi har klarat oss från åska. VILKA underbara irisar du visar.)) blir alldeles kollrig:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Ja det var ett redigt åskoväder🙂🙂 Tur att det inte är så kraftigt allt för ofta.

      Jag är ganska så svag för irisar, men trädgårdsirisar vill sig inte här tyvärr. Men det finns ju en hel del att välja av då det gäller de andra också🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. That’s a very interesting fertilizer recipe. I hope it helps my garden here in Florida. We are in the mist of a drought with some promise of rain this weekend. My grass has turned brown because they limit us to once a week watering. Nice photos today too. Sorry for all the lightening. Just stay inside.

    • Hi Z&M!
      This ” soup” is good both for the plants and the soil. If You don´t have stinging nettles look for what weeds grows where cattle grace, those will most likely have similar nutrition’s like the nettle.
      The grass started to turn brown here but that won´t happen with all that rain we gotten these last few days🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. wow,, you had some storm,, with that many close hits one would think you had angered the storm gods,,such lovely photos,, we made compost tea for our garden,, I gathered rabbit poop from the rabbit hutch,, put in some water in a barrel and then had rabbit tea,, well thats what we called,, rabbit poop isn’t as smelly as cow, it was really good for the garden,,, worked a charm,

    • Hi Laurie!
      I don´t think I´ve annoyed Tor, the old viking thunder god🙂🙂🙂 But he was sure angry at someone🙂🙂

      Next time I have a good compost I´ll try that compost tea. I have however heard of rabbit tea🙂 I have friends that have had rabbits and they did like that🙂 I guess all poop is good, perhaps I should gather some moose and deer poop and try that?🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Det är konstigt med väder, här har vi inte haft en droppe regn på månader och det är vansinnigt varmt. Så ni kunde ju ha delat med er lite i alla fall! Fast åska vill jag inte ha, det är inget trevligt fenomen!!
    Nu är det dock väldans fuktigt här vilket inte är så kul. Den “tropiska” värmen är ju helt klart jobbigare än den torra – speciellt för Penny.
    Om en liten stund ska jag ut och försöka hinna rensa gräs- och bamburabatten innan det blir FÖR varmt. Den har invaderats av rotskott från den stora kerriabusken bredvid. Sen ska jag tvätta ur den lilla dammen som jag tömt och så ska jag vattna rabatten – och samtidigt fylla dammen. Kul jobb när det är skönt morgonväder!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Det var ju nästan detsamma här, alla bäckar hade nästan torkat ut helt, men det kan jag säga att så är inte fallet nu🙂🙂 De är nästan överfulla efter åskan och det regnet som kom igår🙂

      Jag jobbar i fuktig värme hela dagarna så jag vet vad du menar. Det är vidrigt framförallt nu på sommaren!

      Jag hoppas på en skön morgon i morgon.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  9. Wow, beautiful photos of the flowers…it’s hard to believe such loveliness can grow and bloom after such a cold, dark, freezing winter that you have! Too bad you couldn’t get some pictures of that storm…have you seen the S. African choir on u tube performing rain and thunder? It is amazing!
    I have steamed nettles and eaten them with a little butter and lemon…much like spinach but packed with more vitamins and minerals. Thanks for the recipe for the plants, as well!
    Stay dry and cozy inside!

    • Hi Chris!
      I never stop to get amazed every spring when flowers starts to open up!
      I have seen that choir and they are fantastic! It´s hard to believe that it´s all human voices!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. Thunderstorms are about as popular with me as earthquakes. For pitty sakes, Christer, put up a lightening rod. We don’t want “fried Christer!” :):)
    Mona
    Your floral photos..are amazing!!!

    • Hi Mona!
      I´ve never been in one such nasty thunderstorm before and if they will become like this in the future a lightning rod will be bought!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  11. Hmmm…….I will go down into my lower backyard tomorrow morning and see if I can find some of those Nettle things……
    By the way, I think todays photos are breath-taking! The flowers I mean, not the container of fertilizer!😀
    Be careful of that lightning!🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      If You don´t have nettles just choose a weed there´s lots of in Your garden. I guess since You like I have lots of dogs those weeds will be full of nitrogen and other things that will make a great fertilizer!
      I´m glad You like the photographs🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  12. I’m so glad you said any weeds! I have these things with HUGE leaves growing in the back area where the dogs are. I have to hack them down! The leaves are bigger than some of my dogs! And Blue likes to poop on them!
    So I bet those would be perfect! 🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      The thing is that we want all those nutrition’s in the plant to get out into the water and if the plant is full of them which I guess any plant is that grows where dogs do their business they´ll do. But every mixture has different properties so these might be great to use against pests or they might be useless🙂 But they will however always be good fertilizers🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  13. I never heard of nettle water but can just imagine the stench. Does it fertilize well? When I raised rabbits, someone told me to make “manure tea” which was supposedly great for roses. Well, I tried once, gagged a lot and gave up. So did the roses, sadly. The colors of the irises and that dark columbine are superb. I wish there were a way to see your entire garden in one photo, but it seems impossible. It must be a joy to look out your door each morning during the season of blooms. I know we discussed your desire not to use pesticides but I just remembered a trip I made to the home of Derek Fell, a horticultural photographer (try to find his books -amazing photos). Anyway, he dusted asphids with a very fine flour we have (made for making gravy) called Wondra. Of course, it had to be repeated after each rain. To deter deer, he took half a bar of Ivory soap, drilled a hole through the center, and attached twine through the hole, and then tied to a stake which he placed near the things that the deer loved. I guess the soap smelled “human” to them, and they stayed away. All his methods were natural. He owned a gorgeous gentleman’s farm nearby, on which he duplicated some of the better known photos of the Impressionists – like Monet’s Japanese Bridge. Some day I will load the photos I took, onto my blog. It was a glorious place to visit and sadly, he has it up for sale and is moving to Florida. Not me. I head towards colder climes.

    • Hi Nancy!
      It is a strange and nasty stench but it is the best kind of fertilizer one can use! Manure tea is also very good but like all natural fertilizers they do tend to smell🙂🙂🙂

      My garden is actually quite boring and I don´t say that because I´m modest🙂 Most of it is for my dogs to run around in and dig as they please in🙂 I think that at least 80% is for my dogs. But I do like to open up the kitchen door in the morning because then I see my pond area🙂

      Unfortunately most of our deers are half tame, so the scent of humans or dogs doesn´t scare them away🙂 But I don´t mind some damages here as long as they come here during winter and eat all the apples I buy for them🙂 But I do so understand him, Florida does have a nice climate🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

