The last day on a long weekend and also our national day.

Today is our national day but most people doesn´t know why we celebrate it today, nor will they really celebrate it. The first reason is that Gustav Vasa was chosen to become the king of Sweden sixth of June 1523 and that the form of government was changed 1809 and 1974 also this date.

Gustav Vasa was a cruel king that never hesitated to slaughter those that didn´t think as he did even though they had helped him to power once but he is the one that sort of made Sweden to what it is today. The two other events was important historically for us swedes but no one really cares today.

All lying photographs gets bigger and hopefully better when You click on them.

Those still at home in the big cities will most likely go to some event if the weather isn´t to good, because then they´ll go to the beach somewhere🙂 The others are most likely at their summer houses and enjoys the last day of a long weekend. Do You know that over half of the house holds in Sweden have a summer house? No other country in the world comes close to that I´ve read.

A survey shows that the dream most swedes wants to come true is to have a cottage (preferable red) cottage in the countryside. Still, another survey now shows that more and more people are afraid of being in the nature🙂🙂 I guess that the last one was made only in the two biggest cities or perhaps that they have asked mostly immigrants that isn´t used to drive out to the countryside to just have a picnic or to stroll around for a day.

Columbines, who can resist them🙂 I let them self sown and don´t remove them if they happen to grow in the "wrong" places. I have some seedlings that just waits to become big enough to be planted somewhere in the garden.

I live on the border between warm and sunny weather and cooler and rainy weather today. I can either get clouds and rain or sunshine. At the moment clouds are reigning the sky. But they guess that it´ll be awfully hot in the evening instead. I had planned to finally dig my vegetable garden today but my back still argues with me. It isn´t that bad to be honest and never have been but it´s better to wait until I don´t feel it at all.

I have a soft spot for irises too, especially I. sibirica, I. setosa and I. ensata. But I have others too. I sowed this I. sibirica three years ago and now it will flower for the first time🙂

Yellow flag iris. This grows wild here in sweden and I do hope it is the yellow one I soon will see flowering in my pond. I have a pure white one to that is very rare and I should be hoping that this is that one. But I do like the yellow better🙂

I´m pretty sure this is Iris ensata buds.

Tomorrow I think I´ll write about fertilizers and how You can do some of the absolute best Yourself without it costing You anything at all (unless You don´t have a big bucket and a watering can). Times are still tough for many people and all tips that can save money is worth spreading I think. I´m also trying to propagate blackberry plants that I read about long ago in a very old book. I can´t remember exactly all details so I´ll show You the result when I get one.

I pruned my frost grapevine yesterday (as one should if one wants bigger grapes) and even if cuttings from herbaceous vines almost never get roots I might as well try when I had some (lignified is like weeds though).

You can see here how I´ve cut the vine just beneath a leaf and that thingy that grasps for something to hold on to🙂 and I´ve done the same in the top. Sometimes I let the new top be over two pairs of leafs if You understand what I mean.

Gently pull off the bottom leaf and thingy downwards. The new roots comes from the place where they have been. I also pull off most of the other leafs that might follow the cutting. I leave one leaf in the top and if it is a big one I cut it in half. If it´s small I leave it as it is.

I´ve put some down in an old candy box by the edge of it. Then oxygen easier comes down and the risk of the cuttings rotten is smaller. The soil should be moist, never wet. I´ve pulled a see through plastic bag over it and placed it in light shadow outdoors. If this works this time I´ll have to place them cool during winter because if we get a winter like we´ve had these two last ones it´ll be way to cold for their little root system. But if You live further south it might be enough just to dig a deep hole, put dry leafs in the bottom, place the cuttings on the leafs and cover them with more leafs. Then put back all soil over it. The leafs will decay and keep the cuttings warm enough during winter. Just remember where You dug them down🙂🙂🙂

It´s time for me to finish my pot of tea and then I think I´ll take a small nap, after all it´s the last day of a long weekend🙂                                                                                                     Have a great day!

26 thoughts on “The last day on a long weekend and also our national day.

  1. Den där blå sådda irisen ser enormt spännande ut! Jag är ju själv en stor fantast av irisar och har massor. Dom vanliga sibiricorna har börjat blomma och även min otroliga `Midnight Majesty´ (svartlila, hög och doftande), men sen har jag också några andra amerikanska hybrider som jag väntar med spänning på. Dom är dock lite senare – om en vecka tror jag. Fast i den här värmen kan det gå fort.
    Nu börjar det tyvärr verka som om det är sista sommaren för Penny. Igår fick hon två fruktansvärda anfall där vi fick hålla i henne och för ögonen på henne för att hon skulle lugna sig och vi trodde nog att det var slutet. Men…hon hämtade sig och efter att ha druckit massor av vatten (anfallen kan ha påverkats av vätskebrist) och sen ätit lite så sov hon gott.
    Tyvärr är det ju helg så något vet-besök kan inte bli aktuellt förrän tidigast i morgon. Hon har ju mått bra sen förra besöket, men man vet ju vad som väntar och värmen är helt klart inte kul för henne. Hon vill helst ligga hos husse i soffan/sängen hela dagarna och sova när han läser, men han har ju saker som måste fixas. Så hur kul det än är att läsa bra deckare, kan han inte göra det hela tiden!

    • Tjänare Susie!
      De amerikanska trivs inte hos mig trots att jag egentligen har perfekt jord för dem. Kanske är det min kalla zon som ställer till det. Här är ju zon 4-5 (mestadels fem om jag skall vara ärlig).

      Inte lätt att inse att slutet närmar sig för en gammal vän. Jag förstod det på gamla Erna vårvintern innan det var dags. Sommaren blir inte detsamma när man vet vad som är på gång. Jag hoppas verkligen att hon får en skön sista sommar om det blir fallet, utan några mer anfall.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. lovely photos,, I think maybe my country must come in close second for summer houses,, we call them camp,, well around this area ,, almost everyone has a camp or knows someone who does.We go every weekend and in winter also, most aren’t fancy la dee da, places,, more rustic,, I like this style,, more in harmony with nature,, what its all about anyway,, have a good last holiday,,to bad its a nasty man that brought it about.If he was cruel to his people he may have already got his Karma, it s to be hoped,,

    • Hi Laurie!
      Unfortunately they didn´t show the whole list of what countries have most summer houses per inhabitants. I´ll see if I can find it.

      I too prefer the more rustic cottages, now days some of those summerhouses are more modern than most homes🙂

      I think they could have chosen some other day perhaps in the autumn since we don´t have any holidays then, not until christmas (or jul as we call it). Any reason would do as long as it´s something happy🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Christer, columbines and irises!!! Fantastic! Especially the shades of blue. Your tutorials on propagation are very helpful and interesting. I hesitate to try propagation as I am worried of failure…but what a silly reason. The most I have done is root cuttings in water (like ivy and some houseplants). Thank you for your advice about my dwarf alberta spruce; we are cutting out that extra growth this week. Happy last day of your long holiday! Hugs to the family. Robin.

    • Hi Laurie!
      I love them both🙂 I do prefer blue ones but it´s nice to have some of other colors too.

      I remember when I had my nursery and had classes in how to take cuttings, most people thought I massacred the mother plants🙂🙂🙂 Not until they saw the result they stopped to fear taking cuttings🙂🙂🙂

      Well I do want little Alberta to continue to spruce around🙂🙂🙂 (no one else will understand what I mean by writing that🙂🙂🙂 )

      We’re having a strong wind and over 86F at the moment. It´s like living in a huge hair dryer🙂🙂🙂 Even Nova stays calm now🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Great cloud shots today.
    I was having fun reading Google Translates version of your answers to the posts above. Your comment about the irises came out something like the U.S. is not happy with you even though you have the perfect soil for it. Sounded like you were going to bury us.😀
    I like yellow flag iris, too. It grows wild along the edges of the lake that is in the middle of town center. There’s very little “wild” around that lake so it is nice to see them.
    It’s still very cool here but sunny. My favorite weather. The dog is sunning himself on the the front walk and the door is open to get the nice air. Enjoy your holiday and take care of that back.

    • Hi Caryn!🙂🙂🙂 I just can´t understand what the US has against my soil🙂🙂🙂 I love Google translations sometimes🙂🙂 But I hope You got what I meant. Those irises (we call them US irises) should like it here but they just don´t!

      It´s over 86F hare now and we´re having a very strong wind. It´s like living in a giant hair dryer🙂 Even Nova is exhausted by it.

      I´ve been stretching that back of mine all day and it seems as if the pain finally will give up. I do need to be able to bend my back when I work🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer! you are as hot as we are. and we are about to get hotter. i hate this weather. i had friends in norway and a lot of people there had cottages. they weren’t exactly cottages, they were more like potting sheds on patches of land. they would work all weekend in their garden and sleep in the shed at night. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      We actually reached 90 today and that is unusual in itself but it´s very unusual this early in the summer! I actually had to water the garden today and I don´t think I´ve ever have had to do that already in early june!

      Yes norwegians and their hytter🙂 they do love their little sheds🙂 and they are always out on tur (that means walks) in the mountains unless it´s winter because then they use skis🙂 Not strange that they are best in the world on cross country skiing!

      But since the norwegian money is so much more worth than the swedish they now days buys houses and cottages here in Sweden🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Yes! Send us those tips. Your garden in bloom looks stunning. Sorry you still have back pain. Call in sick tomorrow and that will give you even a longer weekend.

    • Hi Z&M!
      More tips on thursday, to much thunder here now!

      This is one of those weeks when I really can´t be sick, to much to do at work.
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Loved this posting and the tips on propagation. Thank YOU! Oh, and the photos look good small AND great large.

    All joys and take care-use ice packs 20 minutes on and 20 minutes off for your back-it works!

    Sharon Lovejoy Writes from Sunflower House and a Little Green Island

    • Hi Sharon!
      More about things I know when it comes to gardening will come those days I think of it🙂

      The back is better but I´ll keep that in mind till next time I do something stupid🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer…could you write about the nettles as fertilizer? We have plenty of those & comfrey. I also love irises in all different colors. It is 93 degrees & very humid here today. I think I’m done for the day in the garden🙂

    • Hi Barb!
      We reached 90 and that in it self is unusual but it´s even more unusual that it happens in early june!

      I´ll write about fertilizers on thursday. Thunder and lightning all over the place today and tomorrow is my day off from posting in my blog🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Christer, the pasture shots were my favorite today, especially the sun rays coming through the clouds, so beautiful. Hot weather is here on the VA eastern shore too (sadly) and a definite lack of rainfall as well (even sadder). I though your comment about many Swedes having second houses was amusing and was going to ask “where’s yours?” and then you said surveys show most would prefer a colltage (red, of course) so you already have a first and second home!

    • Hi Beatrice!

      We are just by the edge of a heat front and a cold front and it will stay that way for some time. So we´ll probably get lots of rain now and when the sun shines through it´s like living in a steam bath🙂🙂🙂

      As You say, I already live like that🙂🙂 I could of course get an apartment in town🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. LOVE all the photos.
    I have a summer cottage!😀
    well, yes it is also my Fall,Winter, Spring cottage but still…I have one!😀😀😀😀
    I stopped at the hardware/garden center to get the Fungal-spray stuff that you recommended for my apple tree and the nursery guy was marking down slightly wilted or damaged plants. I ended up getting 6pks of begonias for 25 cents! Yep, just a quarter! So I bought 24 of them, which means 144 plants for $6.00!!! I’m so happy!
    I’m going to plant them in the side yard by my hostas and roses. I will do that early before it heats up too much. Yesterday it was in the 90’s with a heat index of 107! This is crazy and maddening weather for June! and in the Midwest! I hate to see what our weather is in July!😦
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Much like me then🙂 But we could of course get an apartment in town🙂🙂

      I think they rather throw away flowers here than sell them that cheap! Begonias are so easy to clean up and then they become so beautiful!

      This hot weather is very strange here too! We barley reach 90 as it is and it´s really strange that it happens this early in june! My guess is that the rain and cool weather comes when I have my vacation in july/august🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  11. Too bad I cannot send you a bunch of blackberries. Here in Oregon they grow as weeds and they take over your property in no time. And even if you could get rid of the ones that are there (you can’t), the birds will “plant” more seeds every year. I don’t like to use toxic things, but this year I am resorting to putting an herbicide on them as I cut the stalks down to try to get rid of them more. I have a whole section of my yard that is totally overgrown that I need to work on. I do love the taste of blackberries, but I never try to let these ones grow enough to make berries, so they are just a pain. As you drive around here the roadsides and fields are just filled with blackberries so there are lots of places to pick them for free in the summers, but I wish I could just not have any in my yard though because they are so much work to get rid of and spread so fast. I guess everywhere must have its type of plant that takes over like that after it’s introduced from somewhere else, whereas elsewhere it would just be a little well-behaved plant that you could enjoy. I hope though that if you want blackberries and they will behave there then you are able to get them!🙂

    • Hi littlegreengardengal!
      We do have blackberries in the wild here too (most species and varieties are not hardy enough though) but they grow in shadow now days and it´s not always the berries gets a chance to ripen. Frost comes early many years here. Normally one just cut a piece of root from it but if this works it´ll be much easier and less painful🙂🙂🙂 Raspberries are a terrible weed to be honest, but they do taste delicious🙂🙂 In my last home I tried to kill them all and thought that I was successful. But when I visited the place a couple of years later there were even more bushes🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

