Ticks and propagation. Well not propagation of ticks of course :-) :-)

Meadow Salsify (Tragopogon pratensis)has edible roots and can be used as asparagus. The important things is to pour lemon juice over the peeled roots so they don´t turn grey. They grow all around us here.

It´s going to be a bit cooler today and the wind is fairly strong but they seem to have missed that when they did the forecast 🙂 🙂 Talking about winds, I always write that we seldom have tornadoes (we call them a tromb) here and if we do they are very weak. Well I was a bit wrong. Yesterday several rather strong flew over the northern parts of Sweden and they haven´t seen that many trees on the ground before. 15 000 homes lost the electricity as well. No one died but one person got badly injured when he got hit by a tree. Still these were not even close to the ones on the american continent but very unusual for us.

Guelder-rose.

We went down to the creek yesterday afternoon because I was testing something that we use against mosquitoes on our skin. It showed it not only worked on mosquitoes the forest flies refused to land on my ears and nose as well 🙂 🙂 Normally I avoid the creek during summer because of all ticks that just waits to find someone to feed on.

I don´t think I´ve ever seen the creek with so little water before. I actually stands on the bottom and doesn´t get wet on my shoes! Now it´s only 5 cm (two inches) deep.

Here You can see how shallow the creek is now. Normally the water level is a meter higher (a yard higher). But it´s hard to guess that it is especially dry here, just look how green the fields are! Where is all the water?

I knew I would regret it if we went there and so I did. I´m so glad that I check myself for ticks every day because I found on on my scrotum! Not a nice place to find one!! But I got it early and I don´t think it got the chance to give me any infections even though it was stuck rather good. My dogs also got some and I hope I have removed them all now. But appart from that it was so nice to get in to the shade under the trees by the creek.

Now we´re coming to the evening walk yesterday.

We met these three lovely ladies. At first they were a bit afraid of us but then I started to talk to them. After that they followed us instead 🙂 I think they are in some sort of quarantine because they don´t walk around with the other cattle we have around here. They are probably just bought from somewhere. Their calves walked a bit further away.

This little pond that You barely can see used to be bigger and all kids living in the village used to bathe there 🙂 I think that the house You can see in the back ground is an old smoking house where they smoked their meat and sausages, but I can be wrong 🙂

We also walked on another road leading out of the village later yesterday evening, I thought it would be nice for You all to see something else from the village area. My friends says it´s wrong to call this a village because the houses and cottages is to far away from each other. They usually is in clumps of three and far between. Long ago it was very different but the old castle owners let the homes fall apart if they couldn´t find a new tenant.

All lying photographs gets bigger and hopefully better when You click on them.

It´s time to finish my pot with tea and perhaps I´ll make a sandwich or two. I´m out of paprika so I´ll have to go to the grocery store later today. Well I do need more things than paprika otherwise I would have stayed at home 🙂 🙂 🙂                                                             Have a great day now!

Now we´re coming to the propagation part 🙂 You know those twigs You have to remove from tomato plants rather often (unless it´s one of those tomato plants that are supposed to become bush like), they are excellent to use as cuttings to get more plants. It´s easier if they are a bit bigger than these though.

Pull them gently of the big plant downwards, it doesn´t matter if the leaf beneath it comes along. Remove most of the leafs of the cutting before planting them.

The soil should be slightly more than moist but not wet! If You feel unsure just keep the soil moist. Usually there´s no need to cover these with plastic, especially if You live in a place with high humidity. Put the pots light but not in sunlight!! I have put my pots in the kitchen beneath fluorescent tubes. I´ll keep them there until tomorrow afternoon.

Streptocarpus however is a totally different thing. You can do like You do with an African violet , push down the cut of part in to soil, if You only want one new plant. But if You want several new ones You still only need one leaf.

Cut of the middle stem of the leaf and throw it away. It´s where every nerve that grew out from it that the new plants will grow.

I think it´s easier to cut smaller pieces and plant them than one whole half of a leaf, they can become rather big those streptocarpus leafs. Always remember what part was growing from that stem because it´s that part that must go down in to the soil.

I´ve "planted" the leafs in an old candy box that I can get for free from any store, they are only happy to get rid of them 🙂 Plant the leafs deep enough so that they can´t dry out even if the surface of the soil dries and cover with see through plastic. The soil should be moist. Place the pot in a light spot but never, never in sunlight. This can be a test of Your patience 🙂 Sometimes new plants show quickly sometimes not 🙂 You can use this method on some begonias too, like the Rex begonia. However and this is VERY IMPORTANT! New varieties of almost all plants are now days always protected by patent rights and they even protect coming seed varieties! So You can´t make more plants of new varieties to sell at a yard sell or to make money out of them! You can make for Yourself and to give to friends but that´s it! But if You find old varieties You can do as You please. I´ll show how to sow these when seeds are ready.

Teodor loves to stay by the pond. He thinks birds can´t see him 🙂 🙂

20 thoughts on “Ticks and propagation. Well not propagation of ticks of course :-) :-)

  1. Vilken härlig bild på Teodor, ser ut som om han ligger i skuggan och njuter och väntar på fisk!
    Konstigt att ni inte haft så många fästingar ännu, här kryllar det av dom så man kan säga att det är skönt på sätt och vis att Penny inte längre får gå några långa skogsprommisar. Nu försöker vi hålla oss på kort gräs – s.k. hällmark – och på stränder. Men…hon får naturligtvis fästingar på sig i alla fall!
    Läste om besöket i Vara. Jag längtar dit till det härliga hotellet Grepen där man förutom att man fick ha hund med sig fick sovrum, kök & v-rum samt en egen uteplats/altan där vi satt och grillade på kvällarna. I mitten på byggnaderna ligger också en liten inneträdgård som man kunde utnyttja om det var blåsigt. Vi har alltid bott där några nätter under vår fastlandsvecka och sen gjort dagsutflykter därifrån.
    Tyvärr kan vi inte längre åka någonstans på sommaren eftersom Penny inte mår bra i värmen TROTS AC i bilen.

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Han har det allt bra där intill dammen, men några fåglar kommer inte så länge han är där 🙂 🙂

      Jag tror det beror på att det är så fruktansvärt torrt här som vi inte har så många fästingar, plus de två dagarna när temperaturen dök ned till minus sex på bara någon timme på kvällen. Många av dem frös nog ihjäl då. Men nere vid bäcken finns det gott om dem tyvärr.

      Jag har faktiskt bara hört gott om Grepen!. Kan tänka mig att det sitter i ett par dagar hos Penny när värmen slår till, för att må bra skulle hon säkert behöva ligga länge i kylan från Ac:n. Jag förstår henne så väl 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! ugh….ticks! i found one on teddy and she is treated with tick medication so she should not be getting ticks. i love the way teodor is “hidden” by the pond. sneaky kitty! teddy caught a feral cat yesterday. one less feral cat in the neighborhood! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Nasty things those ticks!! Unfortunately those tick medicines aren´t fool proof. Hector gets sick by those medicines so he can´t have any, so I don´t have it on the others either. So I have to go through their fur every day but so far they´ve only had a few.

      Teddy is a wolf in a lion suite 🙂 I´m not sure about Nova but Orvar and Hector would most probably lick a cat to death if they ever caught one 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. When I had my horses, I used to “wash” them with a mixture of 1 gallon of water and one capful of Lysol. It would keep both the ticks and gnats away! Just wipe them all over with a saturated (not drippy) cloth down to the skin. I did this once a week during heavy tick and gnat season. When my girls went camping, they would have tick-finding contests, every night, to make sure no one had any! Love the propagation lessons, today! Enjoy your tea and have a great day.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I found Lysol on the net and it seems to be lethal to most things but mammals 🙂 But it didn´t say anything about insects or ticks? I´ll try to find it over here (I know we call it the same) and try it on my dogs!

      I´ll write more about propagation if anyone would like me to.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. I would never go to that creek knowing I could get ticks. Yuk! I hate them worse than horse flies. Thanks for the cutting tips. I’ll try it.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Well I couldn´t go anywhere here if I reasoned like that. But it´s worse down by the creek since all animals goes there to drink water. But I could get ticks on me where ever I go here, not to to forget how many that can come from all animals I have in my home.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. My ex was a hunter and encountered all sorts of “critters” in the woods. He would duct tape the bottom of his slacks or shorts, taping over socks if he was wearing long pants, so nothing could crawl up his leg. It seemed to work – although it was not fun to be around if it was the leg of shorts that he taped, because the tape would be stuck to his skin. I detest ticks. I have had Lyme disease and do not want another encounter with it. Be careful. Avon Skin So Soft!

    • Hi Nancy!
      Yes duct tape is great! But I have to buy new one. But to be honest I would most probably not have thought of that anyway 🙂 🙂 I decided the creek was a funnier place to walk and test this thing against flies than to walk by the bog as I had planned first. Otherwise I would have put some on down by my feet too, it says it´s a tick repellant too. Or I could at least have been smart enough to put my socks above my trousers!

      Now I´ll just have to check for any bigger red marks on my body to see if I will get lyme disease.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hi there….found you through October Farm….I wish I could stay here forever…..everything is so very beautiful

    Jo

    • Hi Josette and welcome to my blog 🙂

      Many have found my blog through Octoberfarm 🙂 🙂

      I love this place despite flies, ticks, mosquitoes, eventual tape worms and all other not so lovely animals 🙂 🙂 🙂 Most of Sweden actually looks something like this 🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back 🙂
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer,
    No, it doesn’t look like there should be such little water in the creek. Everything is very green. Must be leaking from the bogs. 🙂
    I have noticed, driving around to my usual places, that there seems to be a lot of beaver activity. I have seen several dams in places right next to the road and many of the little ponds and brooks along the highway seem to be covering much more acreage than they used to. This is probably a good thing for the beavers as they are endangered but it’s not so good for the highway department or the property owners.
    Good news! I think the dust bunny in my camera moved out of the way. It probably heard me talking about the surgical procedure I was contemplating and took matters into its own hands. 🙂 It’ll probably move back again at some point but I hope not for a long time.
    Have a good evening.

    • Hi Caryn!

      If it just had been this creek that were drying out my guess would be beavers too 🙂 We have them in the neighborhood so it wouldn´t be a surprise if they eventually came here too. But all creeks are dried out and they all come from the bog. I do hope this means that hors flies and our relatives to the green-head flies will be a lot fewer this summer 🙂 🙂

      Good news about the dust bunny! I opened up my little camera yesterday and I´m surprised that it isn´t worse 🙂 🙂 🙂 It´s so filled with dust that it should be impossible to see anything through that lens 🙂 🙂 🙂 But I still haven´t reached where I can get the dust out from the lens itself.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. CHrister, luckily it is not so much the ticks that bother me, but the mosquitoes. This week I was working outside and now have several itching red bumps. I wear long paints, socks and shoes when working in our yard, as a precaution against ticks and lately have been sure to also wear a hat as there are numerous pine treees around. I found the propgation information interesting, and it’s a good way to get additional plants for not much expense. The forest cntinues to look lovely an inviting, even with the insects.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Thankfully mosquito bites doesn´t bother me for any longer period of time. It itches some in the evening but it´s gone the next morning.

      Especially now when times still are very tough for many people it is good to know how to propagate things like tomato plants for no cost at all. Those plants will be a bit behind but is soon as big as the older ones, surprisingly fast! One can do something similar with potatoes too. I´ll try to remember to show that here too (well I´m not talking about sweet potato, that isn´t really a potato after all).

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Hi Christer, I know it’s not funny but I had to laugh when I read where you found that tick….just the thought! 🙂 🙂
    Great summer photos! Stay tick-free!!

    • Hi Chris!
      Well it is funny 🙂 Of all places it could find it choose that place 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I´ll do my best to stay tick free but I´ve already removed one from my stomach.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. OK, now I’m itching for no reason!
    Well, actually…last week I woke up to find I had some bug bites!!!!
    I checked my dogs over carefully (lucky for me that they are light in color!) and I found THREE fleas on Ralphie and he sleeps with me! I’m thinking he might have gotten those from work in the big play area? Anyway, he and Jimmy got bathes right away.

    Loved the tour! Thanks so much!
    and thanks for the tips on propagation!
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Not fun to find fleas in Your dogs! I guess You´ll have to bathe the others too now. Thankfully fleas are very rare here, perhaps it´s the climate? I guess that Your work place is where they come from, all kinds of animals passes trough a vet station I´m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

