Early morning.

I woke up at 4:10 this morning, even Nova looked surprised🙂🙂 An insanely singing bird sat in the lilacs outside my bedroom window and it was so loud and just kept on singing🙂🙂🙂 Perhaps I wouldn´t have mind if it at least was beautiful🙂 This one only used two notes🙂🙂

But since the sun already had started to rise (today it went up at 4:02 am and will go down at 10:03 pm) we went out for a walk. It was a fantastic summer morning (well it still is for most people🙂🙂  ) just enough cool to make flies and mosquitoes calm and easy to deal with. Cranes were shouting, hares were jumping and we saw a couple of deers gracing too.

Today I´ll do my weekend grocery shopping like I always do on fridays. I think it´s important to support those small grocery stores we have in our neighborhood so that they survive. I may not need that shop now, but perhaps it´s vital for me when I get so old that I´ll have problems going any longer distances to get my food.

This fly suddenly came and sat down on my t-shirt. It´s almost 2,5 cm (an inch) long! I think this one drinks nectar.

But first I´ll go to the little town Vara to see if I can find any pot plants, there´s a market there I´ve heard and after that I´ll visit some friends living nearby. But first I need a cup of coffee and a little break. I´ve been working on a little project this morning and I´ll show You the result if I manage to finish it🙂🙂🙂                                                                               Have a great day now!

16 thoughts on “Early morning.

  1. Visst är det underbart nu på mornarna! Har precis kommit in efter att ha klippt gräset sen 8.00 – det gäller ju att vara ute innan det blir för varmt!!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Klippte tack och lov gräset häromdagen🙂

      Visst är mornarna fantastiska! Lite småkyliga och dagg överallt🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Glömde att kommentera flugan! Kan det vara en sån där otäck sak som sprutar in sina larver i ögonen!? Dom stannar alltså en bit ifrån en och så hovrar dom i luften och så sprutar dom. Det var en varning på TV för ett antal veckor sen. Tur att man har glasögon!

    • Nej den är det inte! Den flugan ser ut som en liten humla nämligen. Vi har haft den här i några år och visst har den hovrat framför mig men inget har hänt. Hade jag vetat varför den gjorde så hade jag aldrig gått ut utan en sprayflaska Radar med mig🙂🙂🙂

      Christer.

  3. hi christer! you are so right about supporting the local small stores. i try to use local people as often as i can. i would die if 2 1/2 inch fly landed on me. i am bug phobic! i get up really early every day. i can’t stand waking up if it is already light outside. today is my grocery day too! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      We´re lucky that the store still is here. The last owners went bankrupt and we all heard that no one wanted to buy it. Then from nowhere a family originated from Turkey bought it and now it gives profit for the first time in decades🙂🙂🙂 They have owned a chain of smaller grocery stores before and sold it. I guess they got bored having nothing special to do so they must have seen this as a challenge🙂🙂🙂

      Both You and I do get up early in the mornings, even if I think You are even earlier than me usually🙂🙂
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Good morning Christer! So much going on in the early morning hours there. I hope Nova doesnt get the idea that you will get up everyday at 4:00 am. Good point about shopping locally! I can almost smell the fields, trees, grasses and all the other green-growing things in your vivid photos. I envy your natural environment! Continue enjoying your long weekend! Hugs to the family!!

    • Hi Robin!
      I really hope she understand this was an exception🙂🙂🙂 But I am considering beginning with hunting song birds now🙂🙂🙂

      It´s a great little grocery store and the owners are fantastic! I´m so glad they decided to buy it and now for the first time in ages it actually gives a profit🙂 Wee need those few little stores that still is around.

      It was such a nice morning and just cool enough to keep the insects calm🙂 Now it´s getting very hot here (well hot when it comes to our climate🙂🙂🙂 ) It´s almost so I hope for an early morning as well🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. If there was a small locally store near me, I would go to it. I wish there was but instead I go to a store not far from my home but at least it’s a discount type store🙂 it’s called Aldi’s. I’m happy to know that when I am old, I will be able to walk to it!
    I HATE flies. I always think about seeing them on dog poop so when they try to fly in my house I squish them.
    It’s very quiet now without the TV. Just the sounds of birds and Ralphie barking at anyone that walks down the road😀
    I’m getting ready to go to work now. I had planned on taking my very old cat “Cotton” in to be put to sleep today because she was so sick…
    But she passed away last night😦😦😦
    At least she was here, in the comfort of her home I guess…still, I’m sad today.
    It’s the worst part of having pets:(
    Have a good long weekend – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I´m so sorry about Your cat! Yes it is the worst part of having pets but it makes it feel better if one knows they had a good life and could end it at home.

      I guess that it´s the same over at Yours that small locally stores almost is gone now days. I feel so lucky that ours still is here. They delivered food to my cottage when I had had my hip surgery! This turkish family that owns it now has finally made this little grocery store giving some profit, it´s ages since that happened before🙂

      To be honest, tv is just a waste of time🙂 and it uses lots of electricity too. But I have to admit that it is nice sometimes just to sit there and watch something I really don´t care about and perhaps fall asleep too🙂🙂

      Have a great day at work!
      Christer.

  6. Idag har det verkligen varit varmt:) Vi gick ut efter frukosten och redan klockan 8.30 var det för hett för att vara i solen:) Jag tänker som du också när det gäller de lokala affärerna, försöker att gynna alla som finns här på Tjörn:)) Underbara bilder du visar speciellt den första:) Ha en trevlig helg/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Det tog lite längre här för att bli så varmt, men sedan tog det fart🙂

      Ja det är viktigt att de små affärerna blir kvar, en dag kanske det blir allt för dyrt att åka till de större. Man vet aldrig hur dyra bensinpriserna blir.

      Jag gillar den bilden också, det är grannens trädgård och deras enda rabatt man kan se lite av.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. I grew up on “mom and pop” stores and love to shop them even though most don’t have a meat section anymore. But if I am south of Rockledge I always stop at the meat market there, owner by Mr Petty who’s been in business now 20 years. Great steaks. Love that bird singing you awake. Wish we had one.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I remember those old ones where they still picked down what one wanted from shelves behind the counter🙂🙂 But they were rara even when I was a kid. But meat markets only exists in the bigger cities over here.

      If the bird at least had had a nice song🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Christer, I got a reply about killing off sawfiles from the botanical gardens – Longwood Gardens, Kennett Square, PA (formerly a DuPont estate). Here goes:

    Most any insecticide will kill sawflies even in Sweden. Just pick up a bottle at your garden shop, read the lable – look for sawflies – follow directions. Organic treatments include insecticidal soap and horticultural oil. Applied early when the larva is still present can be quite effective. It must come in contact with the larva or insect to work.

    Hope this helps.

    • Hi Nancy!
      I really don´t like to use pesticides and those we can buy here are very weak (if one isn´t a commercial grower, they do have stronger things).

      The problem with pesticides is that is one single insect survives it may develop a resistance or immunity towards it and the next time pesticides is needed it requires something even more powerful to kill it. I prefere a soap solution because that suffocates the insects and it´s impossible to become immune towards suffocation🙂🙂🙂 But these plants are way to big for that, so it´s actually easier and most effective to just cut them down for perhaps several years instead.

      Thanks for the info!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

