Thunder is closing in.

The edge of a gigantic thundercloud that passed north of us. I could see it all the way home from work and every now and again the sun colored it red so it looked evil. One time a part of it looked like a fox head with shining red eyes 🙂 🙂

I can hear thunder from a distance and it has been a rather hot day here.  So far the thunderclouds has passed north of the village but I can see how they are closing in from south now.

The Portal.

I went to the other factory this morning too and today things worked better 🙂 Next time I´ll go there I´ll know what to do and how 🙂 But I did have to paint a new one of the first thing I painted 🙂 It was so heavy filled with paint as it was that I had problems moving it, and it isn´t heavy at all otherwise to be honest 🙂 🙂

Silver weed.

Now I only have one more work day before my long weekend 🙂 It will feel so nice tomorrow when I finally can drive home 🙂 They say we will have really nice weather all the time too, but if they are wrong I won´t complain, then I can be lazy instead 🙂

Thunder is coming closer so I better stop here. It´s time to make something to eat anyway and then I´ll have to make dinner for tomorrow. If I remember I´ll tell You about something we call Vårdträd (a direct translation will be Care tree). It´s something we still have in many homes and is a sort of rest from our pagan past and by now most of You know that we really never left our pagan past to be honest 🙂 🙂                                               Have a great day!

20 thoughts on “Thunder is closing in.

  1. beautiful photos,, I love a good storm,, i know I shouldn’t (lightening strikes cause so mauch forest fires here) so much bush all around here ,, you can drive for miles and miles and see nothing but bush and lakes.I’m so happy your countries pagan past is not forgotten,, I will look forward to hearing this.

    • Hi Laurie!
      I do like them too, especially to sit in the kitchen looking at the lightning with a cup of tea is great 🙂
      It´s very much the same here especially more north, nothing but forest and lakes 🙂

      They never really managed to christen us properly 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! i wish we had storms coming. we are so hot here i want to scream! it is in the mid 90’s. way too hot for this time of year. i look forward to hearing your story. i love pagan traditions! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I can understand You so well! We rarely even reaches 90 here 🙂 🙂 🙂 So a good thunderstorm would be perfect for You! It seems to travel around our little village. I can hear the thunder but it keeps its distance.

      Looking properly at our traditions shows that we really never left our pagan past 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I can´t find anything about those trees outside the Nordic countries so I don´t know if that is a good name for it 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    I took a photo of that podabrus beetle in my yard two days ago. Wow! but he made good time flying over there. 😀 Your photo is much better.
    Yesterday was hot and humid but today is absolutely beautiful. Warm sun, cool breezes. Perfect!
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      They are fast those little insects 🙂 🙂 🙂 I like those beetles as long as they don´t land on me 🙂 🙂

      Thunder never arrived to the village and today is just wonderful 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Ah, well they only eat aphids and other pests so you are in no danger. 🙂

      • It´s one of the good guys!! Then I won´t mind letting them rest on my shoulders 🙂 🙂

        Christer.

  4. Inte för att jag gillar åska men…..lite regn skulle sitta bra! Idag har jag vattnat baksidan, tog hela dagen eftersom vattenspridaren (vatten från vår brunn) får stå på minat en timme på varje plätt. Men nu börjar det bli väldans torrt, snart hjälper det inte att vattna! 😦 😦
    Ja, jag ägnade mig inte bara åt att flytta spridaren utan jag har rensat och kantskurit ett antal rabatter också. Ett tråkigt med väldigt bra jobb; Det ser så prydligt ut när man är klar. Men…jag har massor av rabatter kvar att fixa! 😦
    Upptäckte alldeles nyss, när gubben min frågade om han skulle åka in till Hemse för att köpa lite sprattelvatten, att det är helg i morgon! Hade inte en aaaaning!! Så är det att vara pensinär!!! :- ) 🙂 🙂
    TREVLIG LÅNGHELG!
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Det ljuva livet som pensionär 🙂 att inte hålla koll på helgerna 🙂 🙂

      Jag tycker vi fått tillräckligt med regn här även om de flesta bönder antagligen inte håller med 🙂 🙂 Det är tack vare det senaste regnet som vi har så eländigt mycket mygg och skogsflugor nu. Hade varit bättre om torkan fortsatt ett par veckor till så att deras larver hade dött 🙂 🙂

      Ha en riktigt skön helg du med 🙂

      Christer.

  5. Ber om ursäkt för all felstavning, men just nu är fingrarna betydligt snabbare än huvudet! Känner mig slut både i knoppen och i kroppen efter all rensning, så jag skyller på det!! 🙂

    • LIte felstavning får man stå ut med 🙂 🙂 Det är alldeles för lätt att trycka ned två tangenter samtidigt och det är alltid fel bokstav som skrivs 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Sounds interesting, Christer! I can’t wait to see what your Pagen traditions are. I always find them interesting. We have our own here but I think many are borrowed from other countries and were brought here.

    • Hi Mona!
      I do like old believes and folklore from around the world. I guess it´s a mix from all over the world on the american continent. That can make it ecen more interesting 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. p.s. The weather here is…still warm and we are into June…this is NOT comforting as it could mean that December could find us hot and I do not like that one bit. December should be at least chilly. I love clouds and weather. No storms such as they have had here in the mid west..but a nice cooling thunderstorm, some wind and rain are always nice.
    Always.
    And…thank you for your nice comment. We are now waiting for the flagstones to be laid…and thinking of a pond with a little waterfall. That would be sort of nice I think. We shall see. Son in law does build lovely ones of stone. He is a great mason and does beautiful work.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      It´s a bit chilly here this morning and I have to say I like it 🙂 🙂

      Those terrible storms they have had in the mid west isn´t natural I think. I know they do have bad tornados but these last ones have been to much.

      I hope You´ll get a little pond 🙂 It is nice to hear the water falling down in a water fall 🙂 especially in a place as warm as where You live.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Christer, could you please send some rain from those thunderstorms our way? It has been very hot and humid here all week with NO rain forecast for the foreseeable future 😦 The veggie garden is all planted and the wildflower gardens are starting to bloom. I have been taking photos and trying to identify the flowers as it seems we have different ones coming up in the same area as last year, but these were not there before – volunteer plantings are always welcome. I liked the view of the road leading to the red building – your home?

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Those thunderstorms never reached the village! But if I see any rain clouds I´ll send them Your way immediately 🙂 🙂

      I haven´t started to dig my vegetable garden yet but I´ll start this weekend. No that is a neighboring cottage and their barn You see. That cottage is even smaller than mine 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

