Where the wind blows mosquitoes don´t fly!

Seems to be lots of strawberries in the forest this year🙂

And that goes for the forest fly too. I can official declare both mosquito and forest fly season to be open now🙂 We walked out to the bog (where the wind didn´t blow) and on the way there flies flew around our heads like black clouds and when we reached the bog we switched to mosquitoes instead🙂🙂🙂 Mosquitoes doesn´t bother me especially much, it itches for a while but that´s it. But I just can´t stand the forest flies! They don´t bite or anything like that but they do try to get in to my nostrils and ears all the time!!!! It´s time to bring out the old faithful mosquito hat again.

We don´t have a holiday over here today so I had to go to work as usual, but not where I usually works. I went over to a bigger factory where they don´t have painters any longer (because my factory have bought their equipment🙂 but we haven´t moved it over to us yet.

I can say that I had no idea what I was going to paint or how to mix the paint with thinner. The result on the first thing was a disaster🙂🙂🙂 I had way to little thinner mixed in with the paint and they didn´t find anyone that knew how much I had to have before I had finished it🙂🙂🙂 I don´t think I´ve ever used that much paint for such a small object🙂🙂🙂 But the two other things I painted became rather good. I´ll have to go there tomorrow to paint two or three things more (depending on that I might have to paint a new one of the first thing I painted). Even if it was hard work it is fun to work at other places🙂

A Polemonium of some kind.

The Rose peony.

The first Columbine to open up.

I got a bit surprised when I walked around in my garden this afternoon. I felt something on my hand and saw that a hornet (Vespa crabro) sat on it! It was really beautiful and so rare up here that I didn´t think we had them around. But my how big it was! But I like wasps since they eat a lot of flies🙂🙂

Doris the doe ate most of the buds on one of my azaleas and that showed to be a good thing. Lots of new shoots shows now🙂

The first Delphinium to open up, Delphinium oxypetalum.

Time to make dinner for tomorrow and something to eat now this evening.  Only two more working days until the long weekend🙂                                                                                           Have a great day now!

18 thoughts on “Where the wind blows mosquitoes don´t fly!

  1. I wonder what those flies would be here in canada,, we have mosquitoes and horrible Black flies,, yuk,, black flies crawl in your hair and up your sleeves and they BITE,, then it bleeds,, they are small, oh I hate them,, for a couple of weeks in early summer they are a killer,, they drive the deer and moose from the bush and thats when you see them on the highways,, poor animals,, just trying to escape the horrid black flies.Your photos are so beautiful and calming,, good luck with the painting tomorrow,

    • Hi Laurie!
      Our relatives to Your black flies (midges) doesn´t like me🙂🙂 They never bother me at all🙂🙂 But ours doesn´t come for yet some time.

      I do hope things will work better tomorrow🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. What long weekend? We are heading over to my son’s house in Sanford for a pool party. This morning we honored those that served by attending a ceremony at the Veterans Center on Merritt Island. It was a really good event, good speaker. I hate those insects too.

    • Hi Z&M!
      On Thursday we have ascension day and that´s a holiday over here, I´ve taken a day off from work on Friday and on Monday it´s our national day🙂 Five days home from work🙂

      We have nothing like that over here, we haven´t been to war for two hundred years.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Gott få tid & möjlighet ta sig en tur i din vilda naturvärld igen!;-) Vackra växter i din trädgård också! Låt nu inte myggor o andra små flygfän äta upp dig (eller vovvarna) helt denna helg!!;-) Ha det gott!

    • Hejsan Nina!
      Mycket har dött här denna vintern, men det betyder ju bara att det finns plats för nytt🙂🙂

      Tror att vi kommer att hålla oss ute på öppna fält så mycket som möjligt nu när flugorna är igång. Kommer bara vinden åt blåser de bort🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Today is Memorial Day (Decoration Day) in the US – a time to remember the fallen heroes, and it is a national holiday. Ascension Thursday is this upcoming week but it is not a national holiday, sadly. In some of the US dioceses, it is no longer celebrated on the actual Thursday, but on the following Sunday. I wonder if your annoying little forest flies are the same as we would call gnats – they seem to go after mucous membranes. I once heard that tacking a dryer sheet to your person will keep them away, as will Avon Skin so Soft, if you have that over there.

    • Hi Nancy!
      We have no holiday like that but then we haven´t been to war for over two hundred years.

      We have some holidays that has been moved like that in the autumn, when we really would need a holiday to be honest. We have no holidays after midsummer until Christmas (or Jul as we call it).

      These flies doesn´t stop for anything🙂🙂 I guess it´s salt they want. I just can´t stand them to be honest!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Yes! If you have Avon Skin So Soft that will work!
    It’s a bath oil….I remember you said you didn’t have a tub so you could just drizzle it over yourself after a shower! AND it smells very nice😀
    All those strawberries! Do you gather them up and put them on shortcake and top it with Cool Whip? Yum, Or maybe just sprinkle them with sugar!
    I’m hungry now!
    I spent the day gardening and now I feel like you did the other day! I was at the Garden Center and had just returned my cart and as walking to the van when I hit my bad knee HARD on a hitch-thing that was sticking out of the back of a truck. Now my knee is SO sore! Sigh….it’s always something!
    Have a good short week! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      It´s always nice to smell nice🙂

      I usually just eat them as I pass them by to be honest🙂 But I have made some jam of them and it tastes delicious! But it takes forever to gather enough since they are so small🙂🙂🙂

      That hurts so bad!! I do hope the ache leaves soon! I have to say that I feel much better (well not in the morning, then I just don´t want to move at all🙂🙂🙂 )

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. hi christer! those flies and mosquitos would drive me crazy! i hate bugs! i am allergic to mosquito bites and when i get bitten i swell and it itches for a week at least. i am really allergic to bee stings too. why does it seem that flies are worse the farther north you go. black flies are awful in maine. nice that you will have 5 days off! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Those flies do drive me crazy, but I have my mosquito hat with me now and then I don´t care about them. You would hate it here with all our insects that bites🙂🙂
      I guess it´s because the season is shorter so they really have to become many in that short time they have. I can´t say I´ve ever noticed especially many insects like that when I´ve been to a country further south.

      Just one more working day and then weekend🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • Hi Nancy!
      Avon is very well known over here so I´m pretty sure I can find it here if I go to the closest town. But thanks anyway🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer, it’s the mosquitoes that find me – all the time. So whenever I am outside working in the gardens I must wear long paints. Yesterday morning, I had gymn shorts on while watering plants and got several bites and had to brush even more of these nasty bugs away. I didn’t want to spray myself with any chemicals before going to exercise, so it was my fault. But I will remember NOT unless I am wearing long pants from now on. Thankfully, mosquitoes don’t annoy Grenville as much.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      They do find me too but it doesn´t itch that bad afterwords thankfully. But I just can´t stand those flies! I just can´t understand why they must try to get in to my ears and nostrils!!! I seldom forgets to bring my mosquito hat when I walk in to the forest during summer🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Your forest photo’s always look magical…I almost expect to see “little people” scuttling about here and there… so pretty…

    • Hi Mona!
      Thank You🙂

      Those little people are just to hard to get on a photograph, but they are everywhere out by the bog🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!

      Christer.

Leave a Reply

