Espalier.

The black cow that You can see is a nasty piece of work sometimes. She really likes to scare the smaller ones when she can.

It would have been a rather nice morning if it wasn´t for the wind. It´s already 17,4C (63,3F) and the sun shows itself in the gaps between the clouds. But the wind is unpleasantly cold even though it comes from south.

This moth has really misunderstood the meaning with camouflage 🙂 🙂 Find a birch!!

I´ve paid my bills this morning and that was as pleasant as always 🙂 🙂 🙂 I do miss the old days when we went to a bank or post office to pay our bills. I know it takes less time these days by paying by the internet but it just isn´t the same. I can´t ask my computer if there´s anything I´m wondering about, perhaps I will be able too in the future. I also liked to have a chat with the cashier while being there. Not that far yet either with a computer 🙂 But there is Skype of course. I can always dial up someone and talk to that person while paying my bills 🙂 🙂 🙂

Stone circle hill. I´ve talked with neighbors about the stone circle and they doubt that it is an old grave but they aren´t sure. It could be rests of an old house or something they think, we have lots of that too here.

I haven´t tried Skype yet even though I already have it in my computer. I don´t know how much data that it takes and my internet prescription only permits a certain amount of data (gigabytes I think it is) per month, if I pass that the speed will slow down dramatically until we pass till the next month. Fits me well since I rarely passes that amount and it´s a bit cheaper.

Do You remember the old pigsty? that stood here? They have torn it down now because the property is going to be sold. If I would buying it I would have payed more to let it still stand 🙂

Whitebeams in bloom.

Now I know where to plant the grapevine I bought this week. Just behind my blueberry and arctic raspberry plants. That will give me a sort of patio between the espalier and the cottage. I already have two poles that I will dig down today but I need something to make the rest of the espalier from. I have an unpacked laundry line that I can use but I´m not sure how long that will last to be honest. I think I might have an old espalier in my garage/woodshed/doghouse somewhere but it´s made of plastic and how long will that last?

Lilacs, everywhere there´s lilacs. This one grows in the dog yard behind the garage. We have them in the forest as well and every single property has at least a couple of lilacs. I´m so tired of them 🙂 🙂

A rich world problem I know 🙂 But I think I´ll start with this because the wind is to strong to continue with making wood chips with my wood chipper to finish the area around the pond. I can´t paint my cottage either since we´ll have rain every now and again this weekend. I´ll make on smaller espalier too so it sort of makes a room and where the wind won´t get to me that easily but for that I´ll have to buy more poles.

Wolf-willow. The flowers isn´t big but they smell rather strong and nice 🙂

But first of all I´ll finish my coffee and then I´ll have a nap. I´m still rather tired even though Nova did let me sleep for a half hour longer this morning 🙂 Well she didn´t let me as much as I actually scared her by sounding really angry when she jumped up on me and with full force hit me in the crotch 🙂 🙂 🙂                                                                                     Have a great day now!

16 thoughts on “Espalier.

  1. hi christer! it seems that nova found the perfect way to wake you up!!! i still get up at 4:30-5:00 but occasionally if i sleep in a bit teddy puts her front paws on my bed and shakes the bed really hard until i get up. my lilacs are blooming too and when i smelled them the other day i realized how you feel about all of the ones you have. their perfume is almost overwhelming. i am glad i don’t have any more than i do! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Yes I did certainly wake up 🙂 🙂 🙂 but I do hope this won´t be a habit of hers in the future anyway 🙂 🙂 🙂
      I get up around that every day too but it would be nice to occasionally have the chance to sleep longer 🙂

      It´s perfect when only a few of the lilacs flower, then I do like the smell but the worst part is when all flowers wither. That stinks to be honest and it gives me head ache. But they are just to difficult to dig up without a big machine, so every year I hope thet have dies by themselves 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. I understand the statement about lilacs well,, we had lilacs all around our farm growing up and they do smell bad after flowers die.We used to clip quite a few off with long handled clippers on the bushes next to the house,,to lighten the smell.I hope you have a good weekend., our lilacs aren’t in bloom yet,, a bit behind you there.

    • Hi Laurie!
      It is a nasty kind of smell when the flowers die away. But I let them flower every second or third year and cut them down in between 🙂 except for the ones that are trees.

      My garden is slowly catching up to the others outside this village now. I live in a cold spot so we´re always a couple of weeks behind the rest of this area.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Dogs have excellent aim. 🙂

    I missed yesterday’s post. If I had had a day like that in work, I would have to drink a lot too, and it wouldn’t have been water!

    What are the white flowers in the third photo! They look like bloodroot.

    Have a great day. I’m off to look up whitebeam and wolf willow.

    • Hi Caryn!
      🙂 🙂 Yes they sure do 🙂

      It was anything but nice but I think I could have taken either dehydration or the person I want out but not both at the same time 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I wish it was bloodroot! I have that in my garden but they seldom flower now days. This is the one we call Forest star (Trientalis europaea), one of my favorites in the forest. I´ve tried to get it in to my garden but so far no luck I´m afraid.

      Have a great day too!
      Christer.

  4. Förstår att det var ett mindre kul sätt att vakna:)) Göran brukar bli rätt sur han också när det händer och då är det en liten katt så jag kan ju tänka mig att en stor hund är ännu mindre kul haha. Blir nog fint med vindruvan men det gäller kanske att ha rejäla linor från början. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Jo hon väger ju tjugo kilo den lilla damen 🙂 Men man vaknar ju, inte tal om annat 🙂 🙂

      Jag hittade en rejäl spaljé i bambu som jag satt upp lite lätt för att se hur det blev. Ser väldigt skevt ut trots att det är vågrätt 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. My cat Zoey bites at my cheek very lightly as she purrs. I love waking up that way and then she bangs her head against mine when she sees my eyes open. Pretty photos today Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      That would be a nice way to wake up 🙂 But I have to admit that if any of my cats would do like that it would scare me 🙂 🙂 🙂 The only thing I would think of then is where they would try to bite or scratch me 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Beautiful pictures, Christer.
    Yikes..not a good way to be awakened.. LOL
    Mele just walks up from the foot of the bed and plops down at my back…with a enough force..to disturb me. It’s then my role to scratch her little head..and acknowlege her..and if I don’t…she returns to the foot of the bed for a few more zzz’s.
    Dogs are such neat creatures!!
    Wish I could have another one.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      I´ve had better 🙂 🙂 🙂 I´ve realized that Nova doesn´t stop, she just continues and continues and continues 🙂 🙂 🙂 and I´m not sure I can agree that dogs are neat either 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day my friend!
      Christer.

  7. Boy not ME! I LOVE paying bills on the computer! and I ADORE the fact that I can do it LAST minute. Besides, I get annoyed waiting in line and have no desire to chat with the tellers. 😦 (I used to work in a bank so….)
    anyway, I have Skype on my computer too and NEVER use it. I accidently turned it on early one morning and just about spilled my coffee! (my hair becomes very unruly during sleep:) ) I’d have to primp abit before and I really rather not! 🙂 🙂 🙂
    I didn’t realize that Lilacs stink after the blooms fade….I only have one blooming and it’s down by my neighbor’s fence (next to their dog area) so I kinda figured it’s just their dogs! 😀
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      To be honest I just hate paying by the internet. If I get a virus in my computer all my important things can be reached. I do a virus scan before I go in to the internet bank with my three different anti virus programs but I still don´t feel safe. If I´m in no hurry I like waiting in line 🙂 I love to observe people and often I´ll have a chat with whomever stands in the line with me 🙂 🙂

      I think I would like Skype but I have to find out if it uses to many MB before I try it. It would be fun to talk to anyone of You on the other side of the ocean 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

