Nova is improving.

It´s a mix of photographs from today and yesterday. All lying photographs will get bigger and hopefully better if You click on them.

Today I think I can say that Nova finally feels this is her home. Normally when I come home she runs out of the dog house and visit all places there might have been an animal during the day. She annoys the boys and waits by the gate so she can run around in the garden. She never comes to me if I don´t call her and when I do she just stops for a second.

Sometimes I have some hidden text to the photographs. If You don´t know it just put the dart on the photograph and the text will show.

It took a bit longer time for me to get out of the wood shed today (that is the way in to the dog house) and suddenly she came in looking for me and even greeted me🙂 After that she ran out again doing all that stuff she always does🙂🙂 There´s one thing we do have to work on (well many things actually🙂🙂🙂 ) a bit harder. She must understand that it isn´t ok to steal food, especially not when I´m still holding it in my hands🙂🙂🙂

This little cow looked at us for a long time when we were on our way to the creek today🙂

I´m certain that this behavior comes from when she grew up with the drug addicts. They didn´t give her any food so she simply had to steel food just to survive (she was also tossed around between different drug addict homes so she never bonded with anyone if I have the right information). The couple that had her before me got a little trembling skeleton to be honest and they did just the right things to make her gain weight in the right pace. But I think it will be easier to deal with this now when she knows this is home.

I have absolutely no idea what bird this eggshell comes from. It´s fairly big though.

But will I ever be able to let her walk around without a leash? We´ll practice a lot on that when autumn comes and I know there are no small younglings out there amongst the wild life. But she´s interested in everything that moves to be honest🙂 especially cows🙂 She is half bullterrier and half border collie we think, so cows may be a natural interest of hers.

I feel I´m running a bit late now. I´m cooking dinner for tomorrow and the day after that for work. I decided it was time to start doing that instead of buying at work. We order from a restaurant nearby and since they got a new chef the food doesn´t taste anything. Today I had to guess if it was chicken or pork chops they had put in the pie I bought🙂🙂🙂 My guess is that it was the pork, but when I read the menu it said chicken🙂🙂🙂                     Have a great day now!

19 thoughts on “Nova is improving.

  1. hi christer! i love the photo of the cats. it is perfect. that nova still has a bit of th devil in her. she sure is high energy! here is a clip from saturday night live. they mention sweden,:

    we are expecting storms. horrible tornadoes have caused terrible damage. i sure hope we don’t get them.

    joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      She sure does the little supernova🙂🙂 The first thing my neighbors actually heard me call her was: Have You seen the little devil!🙂🙂🙂

      I wasn´t allowed to see that clip, it shows only for people in the USA. Happens a lot when I try to look at other countries internet tv.

      I hold my thumbs and cross my fingers so You don´t get hit by tornados!!!

      Take care!
      Christer.

  2. I think doris the deers sister is losing her winter coat,, she looks shaggy,, I didn’t know nova’s story,, such a sad thing with the way animals are sometimes treated.Any fool can have a dog,, there should be tests to pass or someway of controling who has animals.It makes me feel so bad knowing the horrors that happen to dogs and cats .The reflection of blue in the one water photo really caught my eye,, it would make a lovely painting,,, thankyou for sharing the wonderful walk you had ,,

    • Hi Laurie!
      Yes they do look shaggy now🙂 and soon she´ll have a little baby🙂

      Novas life has been rather awful and I won´t let You know the worst parts. But I did find a scar on her stomach, someone had cut her with a knife it seems. They are talking about tests here every now and again and I think it would be a good idea. To many people shouldn´t have a dog or any pet to be honest.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Its me again,, we used to have cranes nest near our house and it looks somewhat like a crane egg,, could it be?Ours were sand hill cranes,, oh I love their call,,

    • Hi again🙂
      It´s to small to be a crane egg, but it´s bigger than a doves. We have the common crane here and we have at least two nesting couples close by. It wouldn´t be spring if I couldn´t hear those cranes🙂

      Christer.

  4. I thought maybe the Easter Bunny had left you an egg, Christer! Looks like that sweet little cow wants to come with you for walks….why don’t you adopt her? What’s one more animal in the family???!!! The creek photo with the sky reflected is stunning!! It will probably take a very long time for Nova to stop thinking she has to steal her food. Our Gwennie is a rescue, and she did not get fed well…even after 6 years with us she gobbles her food, and keeps looking around to see if anyone is going to chase her away from the dish. It took almost a year to get her to come to the dish to eat, she was so frightened. Horrible. But our dogs are happy and well cared for now, just like yours, Christer!!

    • Hi Robin!
      Easter bunnies are very rare over here, most kids doesn´t really know what that is🙂

      She is a bit big though🙂 I could have her in my garage of course. But since she walks outside my cottage every day I feel it´s best she stays where she belongs🙂🙂

      I guess You´re right with hear wish to steal food. But I would like to keep the food I still have in my hands though🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Crister
    Though I love dogs, are my favorites, I LOVE the Teodor, and this photo is spectacular.
    Now I have never seen in nature, was a blue egg! heheheheeh
    Kisses

    • Hi Andréa!
      I like cats but dogs are the ones I prefer if I have to chose.

      This is the first time I´ve seen a blue egg too. Really beautiful and I got a bit surprised when I realized that it is from a very common bird, the Song Thrush🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. I love that shot of the deer and cat and what the hell is in that egg? A chicken? You gotta let us know. Nova will do fine. Everyday you will see improvement. My daughter adopted an abused dog and it took a year but now the dog is laid back and doing very well with their toddler, my Grandson.

    • Hi Z&M!
      That egg comes from a very common bird here it seems and I have never seen a blue egg before🙂 It´s from the Song Thrush. I have them in my garden all summer long but have never seen their eggs before.

      I am surprised over how fast Nova is improving! But she lived by a great couple before me and they have done miracles with her!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer,
    My first thought when I saw the eggshell was that it was an American Robin’s egg but then I remembered that you’re in Sweden and don’t have American Robins.🙂 I was close though. The Song Thrush is in the same family.
    I love the photo of Teodor. The light and the tones are just beautiful. Nevermind that it’s Teodor and he’s lovely, too, it’s simply a lovely photo.
    Nova is a lucky dog to have found you. Stealing your dinner out of your hand is just another way of saying “Thank-you for having me here”.😀
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I saw some blue eggs from Your Robin some days ago and that was my first thought too until I started to think🙂🙂 We have some of our robins here though but This egg was a bit to big for being theirs. But now I know it comes from the Song Thrush. Common here during summers but I´ve never seen a nest of theirs nor any eggs before.

      I only wish she could say that in another way🙂🙂 She almost took my fingers too🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. I’m delighted that Nova is feeling like part of the pack. It took almost four years for my Winnie to believe the food in the dish was all hers. She’d grab a mouthful of dry food and go off in a corner to eat it, then come back and get another mouthful. I would love to hang those people up by their thumbs in a prickly pear bush! Grrrr. But, to come and greet you means she’s starting to feel the love… Good for you.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I´m a bit surprised over how fast she´s improving. The food stealing I can manage in different ways🙂🙂
      She´s also less eager to bite Hector in his legs too🙂

      If it would help I would gladly hang people in their thumbs, but they would most probably never understand and only feel sorry for themselves I´m afraid.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Whoa! The photos are fantastic, I feel like I’m walking along!
    I adore the little cow,( makes me feel guilty about the burrito I had for lunch today.)
    It’s so sad that Nova had such a horrible beginning but so wonderful that she will have a happy middle and end.
    Almost all of my dogs have been abandoned or abused before coming into my life and I hope that what goes around comes around for their previous owners…..if not in this life, then the next!🙂
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      She is an adorable cow🙂 But since she is becoming a milking cow I won´t feel guilty about eating meat from cattle🙂

      It is sad that so many dogs are abandoned. For some reason it´s popular to adopt dogs from shelters in other countries over here. I don´t know why to be honest because we have plenty in our shelters as it is. Thanks to that we now days gets diseases we normally wouldn´t because the vets in those countries just signs that they have done everything, like vaccinations and so on, without doing anything. I can only hope that what comes around goes around really happens🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

