Finally Friday!

Finally Friday! Even though I have to admit that it has passed rather fast it still has been tiresome. But it´s a nice evening with sunshine between the clouds that are scattered over the sky.

We walked out to the bog once again and when we passed the fields on our way there we saw a doe eating grass. I think it was Doris the doe because she didn´t even bother to take a look at us 🙂  I realized that the mosquito season has started when we reached the bog 🙂 🙂 They were all around my head and tried to get some blood from me and it feels like some of them were successful 🙂 Mosquitoes doesn´t bother me that much to be honest, it is when the forest flies comes I go crazy 🙂

They don´t bite or anything like that, they just circle around my head in hundreds and most of them wants to take a look in my nostrils and ears. So when they start I always wear a mosquito hat, as long as they can´t reach my face I stay calm 🙂 🙂 🙂 I posted a video last year and showed how many they were around my head. I´ll see if I can repost it here later on.

The last of the cherry flowers.

My favorite in the forest, Trientalis europaea. We call it Forest star in swedish.

SciFi night at channel six has started again, but for some reason the show a series called Spartacus too, it´s about gladiators. I just can´t see what gladiators has to do with SciFi?? But there´s a movie on another channel so I might see that one instead. But firstly I´ll make a pot of tea, a couple of sandwiches and then just relax in my sofa 🙂                             Have a great day now!

My friend Didi once saw a photograph of a beetle I had taken and got inspired. So she made this embroidery of it. I got it in the mail the other day and now I´ll have it framed and I´ll hang it in the stairway so I can see it every day 🙂 Thank You Didi, I love it!

24 thoughts on “Finally Friday!

  1. Didi created a beautiful embroidery, how nice! We haven’t had mosquitoes yet, it has been too cool. But there is a lot of standing water, so once it warms up, I fear we will be inundated. The photo of the Forest Star is great, what a pretty name for a pretty flower. By the way, Christer, our new season of “Eureka” will begin July 11th. Not very soon, I’m afraid. They are still showing reruns of all the seasons.

    • Hi Robin!
      Yes it is so beautiful! and I admire anyone that can embroider, I´m useless with thread and needle 🙂 🙂

      I got a bit surprised over how many mosquitoes there were, most puddles and deep holes in the bog are dried out. But I do hope that we won´t get especially many horse flies anyway.

      They haven´t started the re runs of Eureka yet, so I guess they will start showing the remaining episodes just before christmas. To long to wait 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. I’m happy its friday as well, long week.Hope your cold stays away,, the photos are lovely as usual.I find it so calming to look at your photos,, thanks for sharing.

    • Hi Laurie!
      It was way to long this week 🙂 I do hope that all colds stays away from me from now on 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. TGIF, definitely. It’s been a long week and there’s still so much to do. I need a clone! Enjoy your tea and sandwiches, and maybe you will find a good movie to watch.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Don´t work to hard now, sooner or later we´ll always have to pay for it I´m afraid.
      I´m actually thinking of going to bed instead 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer! what a wonderful embroidery! she did a fantastic job. the fun thing about being retired is that friday is no different than any other day! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      It is!
      I really would like to try early retirement 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Good luck with the sales of Your witch collection!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hello Christer,
    Its landscape is beautiful. Beautiful and very green! Too bad those nasty mosquitoes.
    I’m glad that you liked your gift 🙂 From the beginning I did plan on sending to you. And then when my friend arrived unexpectedly took the time to send for you. It’s a way to give back the joy that you give me with your blog. If I had time very edge of their photos. They inspire me and make me happy.
    Have a great weekend, kisses for all children
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      I love how it looks now 🙂 But I really don´t bother about the mosquitoes that much. I think flies are worse 🙂 🙂

      I do like it a lot! I just couldn´t find the original photograph. I´m so glad that You wanted to send it to me 🙂

      Have a great day and weekend my friend!
      Christer.

  6. I’m glad it’s Friday too. This has been a hot week in Florida, humid too. Love the embrodery that Didi made. How clever. Enjoy your weekend.

    • HI Z&M!
      Some weeks just are like that! Unfortunately the weekend doesn´t seem to take a long time, that just flies by way to fast 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Didi is really good!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. Hello Christerrrrr
    I enjoyed seeing the embroidery Didi there! She is an amazing artisan. It is a beautiful wedding, your photos and embroidery Didi.
    Kisses

    • Hi Andréa!
      She is really good with embroidery!
      Now I´ll only have to find a frame that fits to her work!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Vacker skalbagge, ser nästan ut som en liljebagge – och dom är jag inte förtjust i alls – men det kan också vara det som kallas “körksmack” på gotländska. Helt ofarliga, brukar sitta på varma träväggar i massor och sola sig! 🙂
    Gillar egentligen inga kryp alls, men myggor, flugor och myror är värst. Dom biter nämligen mig alla tre. Även dom vanliga svarta myrorna! 😦
    Däremot så är inte fästingarna på mig NORMALT, men inget är normalt i år tydligen – hade en mitt på magen för två dagar sen och den fick jag inte bort huvudet på. Får se om jag måste göra ett vårdcentralbesök nästa vecka! 😦 😦 😦
    TREVLIG HELG önskar jag dock dig! 🙂

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Visst är den fin! Fast hon har ändrat färgen på den en del, I naturen har jag för mig att skalet var mer bronsfärgat. Minns att jag hittade vad det var för art och den visda e sig inte vara helt vanlig. Jag beundrar alla människor som kan använda nål och tråd på detta sättet!

      Myggoir stör mig inte speciellt mycket även om betten kliar. knott bryr sig inte om mig och fästingar får jag väl då och då på mig. Men jag hatar flugor som bits eller vill in i öronen och näsan!! Jag hoppas att du fästinghuvudet värker ut av sig själv!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  9. Christer, we have walked through swarms of gnats the past day, especially in some areas at Great Smoky Mountains Naitonal Park. These annoying insects did not bite, but would surround us as we walked and were very annoying. Soon we will have mosquitoes at home, but for now they are not around. The embroidary was lovely and what fun to get a surprise in the mail from a friend. Enjoy your weekend.

    • Hi Beatrice!

      Gnats ( or midges) doesn´t like me for some reason 🙂 But they seem to love every one else in the village 🙂 I can take mosquito bites, it itches some but then it´s over. But I just hate those flies that wants to get in to the nostrils and ears!!!! Panic is a nice word for how I behave 🙂 🙂

      The embroidery is really beautiful! and I got really surprised when I got it. Now I´ll only have to find the right frame for it.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  10. Wow, I love these photos! just beautiful 🙂
    That was so sweet of Didi! and so pretty! I adore handmade items from the heart.
    We are supposed to get alot of mosquitoes this year because of the flooding from the Mississippi. I HATE mosquitoes! and of course I have to make sure all my dogs get their Heartworm medication!
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Thank You 🙂

      I got very surprised and happy when she gave me that embroidery! I might never see the beetle in real life again but I´ll always have this one to look at 🙂

      Mosquitoes doesn´t bother me that much even if it itches after they´ve bitten me. But I just hate those forest flies and later on the horse flies and our relatives to the Green head flies! But heartworm is nothing I have to worry about here thankfully!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  11. AH yes, mosquitos, sign of the summer, or as they are known on the Eastern Shore the Air National Guard. We don’t have the black flies, Defenders of the Wilderness, but near the water in the marsh we have Green Head Flies.
    Last week my good deed was to put the Town mosquito sprayer onto the town truck.
    Grenville

    • Hi Grenville!
      I can live with the mosquitoes but just hate our relatives to Your Green head flies and since I live by a bog we have plenty of those here 🙂 But this dry spring might have reduced the number of them, hopefully anyway 🙂 Midges doesn´t like me especially much so I don´t have to suffer from their bites anyway 🙂

      It´s not allowed tl fight mosquitoes in a big scale here. I know of one place they are allowed to do so but then they caught over 20 000 within one minute in that village 🙂 🙂 🙂 It´s so bad there sometimes that they allow their pets to do their business indoors, it would be considered cruelty towards animals to let them outside.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  12. Christer,
    Yesterday I went into his old blog and was looking the picture of the beetle for a long time … and I not found! I know that in September 2010, the embroidery was done, so the picture was before that date. I have not saved your picture, did the design by looking at the computer screen …
    is a mystery that neither you nor I found the photo…
    I think the beetle flew and fled the blog 🙂
    kisses
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      That must be what has happened 🙂 It got bored sitting still in my blog all the time and just flew 🙂 🙂 But it is a bit strange that we can´t find it!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

