Just cold enough for a fire in the stove.

The temperature is just about perfect outside if I want to have a fire in the stove and so I have. Some sun some showers and a steady and rather cold wind from west south west. But natre loves it so who am I to complain.

Apple blossom.

The south side of my apple trees are in full bloom now, not a single flower is open on the north side yet🙂

There is beauty even in the withering.

Ranunculus amplexicaulis, a relative to the Butter cup.

The Cuckoo bird has been heard for almost one week now and it´s very important from what direction one hears it for the first time every year according to folklore. This rimes in swedish but sounds a bit strange in english to be honest🙂 From west is the best, that means this will be a good summer. From south means death, someone close will die this year, from east means comforting, well something else bad probably happens I guess where comforting is needed and from north means a dry summer is ahead of us.

I´ve planted a primula between two peat blocks by the pond. Many primulas likes really acidic soil and I hope this one does🙂 As You can see I need to fill the pond with water but nature seems to be doing it for me instead🙂

I heard it from west so I guess this will be a good summer for me🙂 But today I have a cold again!! Not so bad yet, a sour throat and a stuffed nose so far, but my painter apprentice has fever and coughs a lot. I do hope this is as bad as I´ll get it, I have no wish of coughing away my nights so that I´m to tired to work.

This happened after some real cold rain had fallen and then the sun shone and gave heat to the ground. Can You see the elves dancing?

It´s time to have something to eat and to prepare my dinner for tomorrow. I made most of it yesterday since I had a fire in the stove but I need something like potatoes, pasta or rice to go with it. I´m not sure I have any potatoes and I think the only rice IO have is for porridge🙂 But I think I at least have some macaronis otherwise I´ll have to be without🙂 Have a great day now!

Rain, rain, rain.

20 thoughts on “Just cold enough for a fire in the stove.

  1. Vilken underbar bild på äppelblomman! Jag har inte hört göken på flera år, vi kanske inte har någon i vår närhet. Hoppas att du snabbt kryar på dig för det är jobbigt med sommarförkylningar. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Göken börjar ju bli sällsynt sägs det, även om vi brukar ha några stycken här omkring, Så det kanske inte är så konstigt om ni inte har några i er omgivning.

      Ja det är skit med sommarförkylningar, dessutom tycker jag att jag fått tillräckligt många för flera år framöver nu🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Elves dancing! How cool. Around here I usually see it in winter over water or snowfields and then I call it Snow Smoke.
    Love the first photo of the spruce leaves. They are so bright. They look like little rockets coming down from the branches.
    It’s cold and cloudy and damp here and it’s going to be like that for the rest of the week. I guess I will have lots of slappardag this week. I love that word.😀😀
    Enjoy your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      It was cool🙂
      But we can see it on lakes early cold mornings in the middle of summer, as long as the lake water is much warmer than the air is. I love looking at it when I get a chance. But I´ve never seen it on a field in the middle of the day before.

      I wish I could have a slappardag or two this week, but they don´t like it when I have that at work🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. A vitual showcase of beautiful pictures today Christer. Sorry you have a cold. Make the best of it. Better yet, tell your sick buddy at work to stay home.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I´m a bit tired of colds now🙂 I had lots during winter so I really think I deserve to not having any more now🙂🙂

      Well we both most probably got it last week at work so most people around us will most likely get it anyway now🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Rain Rain Rain. everywhere and all day, and all week. Frustrating when we want to get working in the gardens. Not much point in complaining though. Your rainy photos are very pretty though. Stay well now, Christer. Don’t start with these colds and sore throats again, I mean it!! take care!

    • Hi Robin!
      We do need the rain though, most smaller creeks are dried out at the moment. I can´t remember when that happened if it ever has while I´ve been living here.
      But I am tired of all these colds I´ve gotten🙂 But I´m not alone and I think it was the winter that was a bit to tough for us, I think we only got seven days with sunlight this winter and that´s way to little!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. I hope that cuckoo sings from the proper direction,, no death please,,, I know quite well the days when a fire is still needed,, we cut and burned wood for all the 27 years we lived in our home on the lake.It was our primary source of heat.I miss that heat so very much,,we have a fireplace in our apartment but its electric and is a very sad excuse for a fire.Your photos are lovely and I agree there is beauty in the fading flowers,

    • Hi Laurie!
      I usually hear if from the west or north because I have the forest and bog in that direction🙂 Once I´ve heard it from south and once from the east🙂 No one died though🙂🙂

      I buy fire logs now days because of my rheumatism. I could still chop would but it takes to much of my strength to be honest. It is a very special kind of heat and I love it🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. hi christer…i want elves to dance in my gardens! we had very heavy fog here today. it seems we are both having cooler rainy weather. with all this rain, my gardens are looking very lush! you have the same kind of new growth as i do. you have some of the happiest looking pets i have ever seen. they live in pet heaven! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      They are beautiful but elves isn´t always nice to be honest, they are the ones spreading diseases and are responsible for most illness children gets. But they are beautiful🙂

      The nature and my garden loves this weather! and I get an excuse to have a fire in my stove🙂 But warmer weather is on its way they say.

      Well Nova wasn´t especially happy this morning when I yelled at her because she bit Hector way to hard and didn´t stop the first time I told her. She tried the cats too but that was a bit to painful for her🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Love the pix, today! So clear and crisp. Guess your summer is over, now?😎😎
    I’m busier than a one-armed paperhanger, right now. Would love to just walk around some quiet place, such as you have. But, I will keep doing what I must. Get better and, of course, come visit when you can…

    • Hi Sharlene!
      They say warmer weather is on its way so I guess we´ll get some indian summer here then🙂🙂🙂

      I refuse to get busy now days🙂 As soon as I feel things gets busy I stop and cancel all things I was supposed to do🙂

      Take it easy now!
      Christer.

  8. I’m loving the pond! I would like to have one but I know that the terriers would be swimming in it! Last week on my vacation the record was broken for the hottest day in Spring! 93 degrees! Yep! and that’s why I took it in the Spring time when it’s nice and cool, so that I wouldn’t die of heat exhaustion while cutting down all that brush…..and today, my first day back to work, it was in the 50’s.
    Oh well, I survived.
    Hope you found some macaroni!🙂
    Brrrr!🙂😀 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      My dogs hate to get wet so I have absolutely no problems with that🙂🙂
      We seldom reaches 93 even in summer here🙂🙂 I can imagine how it must have been working in the garden in those temperatures!!! My vacation starts week 28 and I do wish time could hurry up now🙂🙂

      I did find macaronis but forgot my dinner at home🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Den första bilden på skotten och den på “älvorna” var underbara!
    Det är väldans kyligt nu, man börjar ju undra när vi ska få tillbaka värmen som bara visat sig en vecka i år. Hade tänkt gå ut och plantera hängsyren idag och ta hand om mina fem “sommarblommor” sdom står kvar på altanen, men vi får väl se framåt eftermiddagen om det känns OK.
    TIPS! Du skrev att du bara hade vanligt ris till gröt hemma. Av min japanska sushi-lärarinna fick jag lära mig att det var det absolut bästa riset, så numera använder jag bara sånt!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Visst kan man se älvorna dansa🙂

      Vi har haft värmen mycket längre än ni, för här var det nästan tre veckor det höll igång, så jag bråkar inte för lite kallare nu🙂

      Jag har faktiskt haft grötris till maten men gillar¨det inte speciellt. Men klibbigt ris vill jag ha ändå🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  10. hello Christer!
    we are having like weather …rain and cold here as well
    thank you for sharing the cuckoo story
    i love to learn folklore from all over the world
    your photos are beautiful
    the pets all look so well🙂
    hope you feel better soon.
    xoxoxoxoxoxoox

    • Hi Splendid!
      I do like the old folk lore stories🙂 Elves for instance are responsible for most illness we get, especially the ones children get. But they do look beautiful when they dance🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

