Mr. Badger.

It´s an even more wonderful morning today than it was yesterday. It never got especially cold last night so when we started walking around six am it was already 8C (46,4F). Nova had decided that it was a really good idea to go up already at five so there wasn´t a chance for me to stay in bed even for a couple of minutes more 🙂 🙂 🙂

Shadbush.

I decided to start walking by the fields today too and met a neighbor on his way to work when we passed the last house before the fields. He works only weekends and can stay at home with his little son the rest of the week while his wife is working.

Cherry flowers.

The Portal.

The cattle all around us lowed loudly and one crane was calling out for a long time also. Cherry trees are flowering too now. Nova is getting better and better when it comes to walk leashed. Now I only have to tell her to calm down one or twice unless she sees something very interesting of course 🙂 🙂 When we had reached the road home I decided that we should continue out in to the forest since it was such a beautiful morning.

The Oak trees are finally showing their leafs.

Just before we went there I saw something that looked a bit strange, like last years dried grass but then it moved just slightly. We had met our badger again. He (I think it´s a he anyway) was digging in the ground on the field beside us and I guess there was lots of worms and larvae’s that he could have as a small snack before getting to his burrow for some sleep.

I couldn´t figure out what it was I saw at first.

Slowly turning around.

Continuing to look for food.

But didn´t care if we were there or not 🙂

At first I didn´t want to make any sound but he just refused to turn around so I could see his head, so I coughed loudly and slowly he turned towards us. He didn´t care much about us to be honest, never lifted his head from the ground he was digging in not even for a second 🙂 🙂 During the time we stood there watching him Nova behaved perfectly, but she was totally impossible when we walked away. She just had to follow every single track that the badger had left earlier this night 🙂 🙂 🙂

Teodor the cat greeted us when we came home in his usual way, rolling around in the dirt 🙂

I chipped a lot of wood with my wood chipper yesterday and today my whole body aches 🙂 🙂 But I´ve filled a big part around the pond so now I have less than half the area around the pond to fill and I still have lots of sticks and branches to make chips from. I´m not quite sure about how I´ll make the edges of the pond area yet. I have an idea that I should place peat blocks around it, but that would cost a small fortune (well not really but it is expensive). But I still have some time to make up my mind.

All this area is now filled with wood chips (around 5-10 cm (2-4 inches) thick. including the little hight in which it now grows the tree peony that Doris the d oe destroyed when she robbed the bird feeders for seeds last winter 🙂 I forgot to take a photograph when I was finished but it will come some day 🙂

I didn´t know I had this violet in my garden 🙂 I planted it years ago but it never showed up, not until now 🙂

It´s time for some breakfast. Today I think I´ll make a pot of coffee instead. My cats has decided to make some places in my wood land to their personal toilettes and they hate old coffee. So I usually spread that on places I don´t want them to dig 🙂                                       Have a great day now!

Bird cherry flowers.

24 thoughts on “Mr. Badger.

  1. Hi
    The most amazing to me that I’m urban, and see the animals in their habitat where previously only known in the ZOO to see. Incirvel!
    Longing for the “lazy” in Teodor hehehehe

    • Hi Andréa!
      I think You have animals like this close to You too, but one has to get up very early too see them 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. What a lucky chance meeting today with the badger,, they’re usually quite elusive are’nt they.Even more fortunate to get photos.Your photos are always lovely and I learned that cats don’t like coffee grounds,, perfect!

    • Hi Laurie!
      it wasn´t pure luck to be honest 🙂 Badgers usually do the same routine every day, walk the same way, make toilette on the same places and so on and I knew that he has a burrow close to our cottages. I did hope to see it this summer but especially since we almost walked straif´ght on it a couple of days ago 🙂 🙂 So if I could go there tomorrow morning at the same time I most probably would see him again in that field. Badgers actually tolerates much and gets used to humans and dogs easily as long as we keep a distance to it.

      Some cats hate coffee grounds but not all I´ve heard.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! your cats have the best personalities! nova sure was better behaved than teddy would have been with that badger. i am surprised the badger was so calm. i can’t wait to s your pond when it is finished. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      They never get boring anyway 🙂 🙂

      She just stood there and watched him dig, didn´t even try to get to it. But after that she was totally impossible to walk around with 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I think I might get the area around the pond chipped next weekend. Planting won´t happen until the autumn comes so all weeds beneath the cloth and chips are weakened.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!
      Thank You 🙂

      I love the forest even if many trees now have been cut down. I like it even when the flies and mosquitoes drives me crazy 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Lovely photos today. How lucky to see the badger and manage to get photos, too, even if he didn’t want to turn around and smile for you. 🙂

    I visited my mother today, for Mother’s Day. When I came home the dog and I went out in the back yard and I cut down some bushes and ratty trees. I don’t have a chipper so I had to drag them out to the swamp. While I was doing that, I discovered what I hope are my old cream and white peonies that I thought had died. They are very late coming up and still small. I doubt they will have blossoms but at least they will have more light now that the trees and bushes have been trimmed way back.
    I’m going to have a snack and a nap now. I deserve it.
    Have a great day!

    • Hi Caryn!
      I think he behaved rude not to smile to me 🙂 I had a hunch that I might see him that early in the morning and got lucky 🙂

      Great that the peonies still are alive! It seems that one of my tree peonies might have given up this winter, but I won´t give up the hope that it still might live deep down 🙂

      Mothers day isn´t until the last Sunday this month here.
      Have a nice nap!
      Christer.

  5. Hai, hai Christer!
    Det va’ länge sedan jag var här!
    Det där med torvblock i dammkanten har sina sidor – du förstår kanske att de suger åt sig av H2O;))))?! – vilket gör att du får fylla på för jämnan -typ:)?!
    Eller så har du kanske någon väldigt smart recept – berätta den för mig!/Anja

    • Hejsan Anja!
      Jo det där vet jag eftersom jag har just torvblock vid dammkanten 🙂 🙂 Mycket vatten blir det till att fylla på då och då 🙂 🙂 Men nu tänkte jag mera på området runt det hela, det jag just håller på med att fylla med träflis. Skulle kunna ha sten också eller något kantskydd så att gräsklipparen kan gå över det.
      Så något smart annat har jag inte i huvudet 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Wonderful pictures, today, Christer! Nova is settling in and beginning to understand your routine (fingers crossed for you). I ran into a badger a very long time ago. They can be MEAN, so I gave it a wide berth. Love your coffee grounds solution. Thanks for sharing. Have a great day, now.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Yes she is and it is getting better for every day 🙂

      I have actually never heard about any one ever having troubles with badgers unless they hunt them or corner them (they actually become very nice pets I´ve read and it´s the only wild animal we are allowed to have as pets in this country). But I wouldn´t want to meet an angry one 🙂 🙂 But I think the European one is the calmest of them all.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer
    I think not, because here we have a hand in the fields of agriculture, but surrounded by pine forests and others. Since we have a pine forest area inhabited houses with spectacular (rich hehehehe) and another very close and distant, I never dared (I’m afraid, I knew a robbery followed by death in that area, even before moving here). Near the river are more toperias and birds, those are each more beautiful than the other.

    • Hi Andréa!
      You should be surprised over how many wild animals that lives close to us 🙂 In some cities in eastern Europe they actually have both bears and wolves visiting them during night time 🙂 🙂 🙂 Here in Sweden foxes, badgers and moose are living in the cities but doesn´t show themselves during the days 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Kul att träffa på en “badger” så där, dom brukar ju inte stå stilla precis när dom ser en – om det inte är en soptunna dom vällt och dom hittat nått gott att mumsa på förstås! Här på Gotland finns inga – ännu – och jag hoppas verkligen att inte nån idiot tar över några från fastlandet!! 😦
    Det där med torvblock i dammkanten har tydligen sina sidor, varför inte lite nergrävda större stenar istället!? Det lär väl finnas sten i naturen runt om så det räcker? Att det också blir väldigt billigt – alltså gratis, fast mycket hårt kroppsarbete – gör ju inget. Fast det kanske inte passar in i stilen!? 🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Vi hade en liten grävling hona som alltid gick i rävfällan varje natt för där fick hon lätt mat 🙂 🙂 🙂 Varje morgon som jag gick förbi fällan satt hon där nöjd och glad och brukade hälsa på hundarna genom nätet 🙂 🙂 Fällan hade vi för att fånga skabbrävar med, men jag tror aldrig de faktiskt fått en räv i någon av dem, bara denna grävlingen och alla mina hundar 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Nu menar jag utkanten på hela området jag fyller med träflis. Runt själva dammen har jag redan och det finns mycket bättrre saker att ha där 🙂 🙂 Torven suger upp vattnet hela tiden så man får ständigt fylla på nytt 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Det finns förvånansvärt lite sten i rätt storlek här. Antingen är de rejält stora och tillhör antagligen någon gammal stenåldersgrav 🙂 eller så är de pyttesmå 🙂 🙂
      Stil det har jag ingen så det spelar ingen roll 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  9. Glömde – Du har helt rätt, hängsyren (Syringa reflexa) sprider sig inte alls på samma sätt som vanlig bondsyren. Den är egentligen ganska olik den vanliga, har helt annorlunda blad och blommorna är rosa och hänger alltså ner ungefär som blåregnets. Dessutom växer dom enormt fort, vilket i mitt fall är ett stort plus. Vill ju se mina växter uppväxta någon gång!

Leave a Reply

