At least it´s not snowing.

It´s been a grey, cold and somewhat rainy day today. One of those days it doesn´t matter if one is at work really 🙂 🙂 Frost in the mornings too. So the first thing I did when I came home was to start a fire in the stove. Even if the temperature doesn´t change much while we are out walking it sort of feels warmer anyway 🙂

We walked out to the bog and I have to say that Nova isn´t a dream to have in a leash 🙂 🙂 she´s everywhere at the same time and I guess she would be a great sled dog if she had gotten the chance 🙂 But she´s getting a bit better every week, that I have to admit. Her temper has calmed down some too, but she still tries to bite Hector in the legs when she wants to play with him, something that makes him rather annoyed and then he doesn´t want to play at all 🙂 🙂 But she does stop when I tell her too.

She did something I didn´t see towards Orvar last weekend and he bit her hard and after that she is sooo nice to him 🙂 She has even cleaned his ears 🙂 🙂 🙂 I guess that Hector would need to do something like that too, but he won´t since he actually likes her rather much.

I bought more ground cloth on my way home so I´ll start the wood chipping machine again on Saturday is the weather gets as nice as they say it will. It would be great if I could finish the area around the pond already now, because the I can start planting around it already this autumn. I think the weeds and grass will be that weak that they won´t get a chance to grow up through the holes I have to make in the cloth to get the plants down.

It´s time to make something to eat and since there´s nothing special on tv I´ll continue to write down the things I remember about gardening in the beautiful note book I got from Wiccan Writes some time ago. I´ve started with propagation of plants and that takes more space than I´d imagined 🙂 Next part will be about different fertilizers and most of them won´t cost anything to make and are better than those one can buy 🙂                                     Have a great day now!

18 thoughts on “At least it´s not snowing.

  1. Hi Christer,
    At least Nova stops when you tell her to. That’s an improvement. Having a dog on the leash in the woods is a pain especially if the dog can’t pick a side and stay on it. I’ve tripped over my dog’s leash or had him wrap it around my ankles too often. It is a 50 foot leash so he has a lot of material to work with. 🙂
    It’s cold and damp here today though the sun is trying to come out from behind the clouds. Not succeeding at it.
    Have a good day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Yes she has improved a lot since she came here, or after the surgery anyway.

      There´s so much top see and smell in a forest 🙂 But she´d mostly ahead of me so no troubles with a leash around my feet anyway 🙂

      All the gaps in the clouds were far away from me today, but I did get a glimpse of the sun for a couple of seconds 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • My dog runs forward, sideways and back over the ground he has already sniffed just in case he missed something. That’s how I get tangled up in leash. He’s also very short so I don’t always see him sneaking up on my feet. 🙂

      • Nova is usually on one side all the time and if hse changes side she does so in front of me 🙂 But thing can change 🙂 🙂

        Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      🙂 🙂 🙂
      But she does stop now when I tell her to. Yesterday she bit him in the leg and just before I had a chance of saying anything she looked at me and wagged her tail 🙂 🙂 So I think she´s working on it anyway 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. What a handsome photo of our dear friend, Bertil. He looks like he is posing for a calendar!! Nova must be feeling more comfortable with her home situation by now. Though she and Orvar might never work things out. As long as they can tolerate each other anyway! Happy to hear you are recording in your journal; it is quite a job to keep track of all the plants. Wishing good weather for you. Nice here today, but more rain on the way. And our snow total for the season is 178 inches. yes, 178!

    • Hi Robin!
      He and Nova was looking at something so it was quite easy to take that photograph 🙂

      I think things works really well now, after all she´s just been here three months now. So I think she feels comfortable. She does her best to make Orvar to like her but he´s a stubborn old bear 🙂 🙂

      There are lots more I knew than I could imagine 🙂 🙂 So I leave a couple of pages empty when I think I´ve written down all I know, just in case 🙂 🙂

      Warmer weather here already and this evening is quite nice. We had a lot of snow but not even close to 178 inches!!!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Christer, today’s photos were much prettier than the snow of yesterday. I had to smile when I read that you didn’t think weeds would come through the weed block cloth. That’s what we thought, but somehow some managed to do just that so don’t be surprised if it also happens to you. We don’t use it as much as we did, and hopefully can keep ahead of the weeds – yeah, right. Great portrait shots of the “family” today.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I do hope I have enough of wood chips over the ground cloth to keep the weeds down for a while. The chips makes it to dry for any seeds to germinate the first years (and the weeds below won´t have any sunlight to help them). But some weeds are persistent and will most likely try to get up through the cloth I´m afraid.
      We´ll know by the end of summer 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Loved the pix, today, Christer! The gang is beautiful and so healthy looking. Hope you get the warmer weather, soon, so you can get started on your projects!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      The warmer weather is already here again. The evening is rather nice and it will be even warmer tomorrow. But that doesn´t mean that we won´t have any frost tonight though 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer! i love the pics of bertil. what a cat! are you getting much coverage about the navy seals taking out bin laden? the repelled from the helicopters with a dog! the dog was in a carrier attached to one of the seals. he was a bomb sniffing dog. unreal! teddy plays with her teeth too which is one of the main reasons other dogs don’t like her! warm and raining here! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Everyone loves Bertil 🙂 and that´s only because You don´t know what an angry little cat he is 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I guess our news papers and tv news is just behind Yours when it comes to cover that 🙂 🙂 🙂 But I had missed that they had brought a dog with them. I can understand why though, the place could be filled with bombs to be honest.

      It is a problem that biting behavior. But Nova seems to understand that she isn´t allowed to do it even if she tries every now and again 🙂 🙂

      Warmer here again and soon we´ll be up in those temperatures we had earlier and even more they say 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Christer, maybe you’ll have better luck with that garden cloth than we did. We tried it one season–put it down over the dirt, dug holes for the plants we wanted, and then mulched. Well, what he hadn’t figured on is that weeds, hardy creatures that they are, root in the mulch! It was as if we hadn’t done anything at all. But like I said, maybe you’ll have better luck. I hope so.

    • Hi Ralph!
      Nice to see You here again!
      That´s why I use these wood chips I´m making now. It will be too dry these first years so the seeds will not have enough water to germinate (or so is the thought anyway 🙂 🙂 ) Hopefully it will also prevent eventual weeds from beneath the cloth to get up to the surface too. The ones one can buy has decomposed to much and are really nurseries for weeds 🙂 🙂 🙂
      But we´ll know better by the end of this summer 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

