Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.

The day started out cold and nasty and stayed that way most of the day. It didn´t help that I was very tired after the overtime yesterday or that Nova very happily woke me up at 3:20 am because she thought it was a fun thing to do🙂🙂🙂 But she was so happy that I just couldn´t get angry at her🙂🙂

We have windows on the roof at work and we usually have them open when we work from early spring till late autumn because it´s so warm in our department because of the big owen´s and washing machine. Just after lunch time I think it was, my boss said: Look it snows outside! I looked towards the windows and a gentle snowfall came down through them🙂🙂🙂

Did You know that there are over hundred different species of Dandelions? They are usually very local and only exists in small areas but they all look very much the same to most of us. I think it´s one of the most beautiful flower there is.

Bird cherry. Some smell wonderful and some smell like cat pee🙂

It´s so warm in the factory that they melted before they reached the floor, but it was sort of beautiful as long as it lasted🙂  I think it snowed for a couple of minutes and then it was over. This is how it is to live far north on this little planet of ours🙂

Narcissus poeticus, Poets narcissus´I´ve heard it´s called in english. We call it Pentecostal lily. The yellow daffodils are called Easter lily here.

This cold weather we´re having now will last two more days and then we´ll get back to warm wins and sunshine again they say and I don´t mind if they actually are right this time🙂🙂🙂

A red leafed clematis. It turns dark green later in summer and has the most beautiful purple flowers. I´ve sown it myself so only I and two more people have it🙂 It was easy to take cuttings from it.

I started a fire in the stove before we went away on our walk, so it had already started to become warm and nice in the cottage when we came home again. We surprised a badger today and it wasn´t happy to meet us🙂 But they aren´t especially aggressive if they have a way out of the situation and this one ran away as fast as it could🙂 After that Nova just couldn´t continuing the walk without looking back every meter (yard) we walked🙂             Have a great day!

22 thoughts on “Let it snow, let it snow, let it snow.

  1. oops – I clicked send too soon! I was going to say…
    I love the dandelions too! I let them grow around my yard, and the bees like them and the finches like to eat the seeds. I just think they are so cheerful. I’m not sure if my neighbors like them as much as I do though…🙂

    • Hi littlegreengardengal!

      Since I live beside a field filled with dandelions I don´t even bother thinking about getting rid of those in my garden🙂🙂🙂 My neighbor does his best tp remove them though🙂🙂 But I think they are like little suns in the grass🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. You must of had Nova on a leash. She would have gone for that Badger if not. We have a run of big snapping turtles, some say are heading north towards the Mudd Lake which is one mile from my house. They look threatening. Enjoy your last snowflakes.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes she´s always leashed now days, but the boys runs around like they want to. She would have gone after it and since she´s not really trained to get badgers she would gotten badly injured by it. But that´s one way to learn that one shouldn´t hunt other animals🙂🙂

      Isn´t it snapping turtles that has a reputation of biting real hard? I wouldn´t want to meet any of those🙂🙂

      More snow came later and we can still get some I´m afraid. But I do hope this was the last one🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Just letting you know that snapping turtles are described as large turtles with long tails and short tempers.🙂

      • Hi Caryn!🙂🙂🙂
        So I guess it´s best to keep out of their way then🙂🙂

        Have a great day now!
        Christer.

  3. Hi dear,

    I’ve been out of touch with blogging for a few weeks and had to catch up with you.

    This story of the gentle snow was great, but I LOVED reading about the badger. I adore them. Lucky you!

    Sending warm California sunshine your way,

    Sharon Lovejoy Writes from Sunflower House and a Little Green Island

    • Hi Sharon!
      It actually looked real nice when the snow feel down gently through the window🙂
      I love badgers too and they have a much worse reputation than they deserve! We have a new badger burrow not far from our cottages so I´m looking forward to meet them many times this summer🙂

      I think Your warm sunshine is coming already this weekend, thanks🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer
    I agree with you on the dandelions. I think they are lovely in my lawn. Sadly, the lawn crew came today so the dandelions are cut down along with most of the violets and the star-of-bethlehem. The dandelions will return in a few days. They never give up; they just get shorter.🙂 Later in the season I will have hawkweed as well. It looks a little like dandelion.
    Love the story about Nova and the badger. I don’t have any around me. I have woodchucks which are not quite the same thing. Little Rocky would go after them anyway. He loves people and most other dogs but he really dislikes cats, coyotes and the larger wild life. Figures. I wish he disliked mice. It would be much safer for such a little guy and much more useful for me.🙂
    The interior snowfall was interesting. I had that happen in my jeep once. The wind was blowing so hard that it pushed the snow through the very small space between the hardtop and the front window frame. There were tiny, sparkling crystals dancing in front of me as I drove along. It was magical.
    Have a great evening.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Wouldn´t want to be without them to be honest🙂 Here it´s my dogs that cuts them down and digs them up🙂 They love dandelions and especially the root and now they have learned Nova that they taste great🙂 I have big holes all over my garden now🙂🙂🙂

      I have the yellow hawkweed here but not the red one. I´ve tried to plant it here but it never survives. I don´t know what I´m doing wrong and that annoys me.

      We have no animals like the woodchuck or squirrels on the ground here so Nova hunts mice, rats, voles and moles instead🙂 and hares when she gets the chance🙂🙂

      It was kind of magical when the snow fell, especially since it melted before it even came close to the floor so it didn´t leave any marks there. I usually hates snow but this one was quite nice🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer! i guess i should give up and just have a dandelion garden! mine are more than a foot wide. maybe i should fry dandelion greens and make dandelion wine. they are what is most prolific in my garden and i have never seen a stink bug on one! i could turn into a dandelion farm!!! sometimes you should appreciate what is right under your nose!

    • Hi Joyce!
      Don´t forget the root! It´s said to be a good coffee substitute🙂 I´ve also heard that they make excellent dandelion oil for food! I wonder how many seeds one needs to make a gallon of dandelion oil🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • Hi Mystica!

      I´m glad You like them and hopefully I´ll be able to show many more this summer🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. One of my earliest memories is of sitting in my front yard as a very young kid.
    The grass was thick and a lush green and I was picking dandelions and making bouquets and also tying them together and making a crown and necklaces and bracelets! I thought they were just the lovliest things, And I also adored the wild violets….I still do.🙂
    I love the hearing about the snow falling through the rooftop window! How magical!
    We are supposed to drop below freezing tonight and then really warm up after that!
    Sadly, it will probably be just cold enough to make the blossoms never bloom on my crab-apple tree!😦

    • Hi Cindi!
      I remember picking dandelions and giving them to my grandmother, making the other things I learned when I opened my gardencentre🙂 and wild violets are the most charming flowers there are🙂

      It was kind of magical when the snow fell down but never hit the floor :-)I usually hate it when it snows but this was kind of nice looking at🙂

      It will be cold one more day here and then very warm wether will come. Thankfully no apple trees are close to flower yet, but many other things froze last night I´m afraid.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer, I would gladly give away some of the dandelions that keep reappearing on the lawn, which is really lots of green weeds, it seems. I agree with your comment that the flowers are beautiful and the dandelion puffs are my favorite because it’s fun to blow on them. The title of your post had me thinking I was going to see more snow photos, but glad there were flowers instead.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      But think of all good things You can make from dandelions! The leafs can be used as lettuce, the flowers to make wine or put some in tea, the roots is said to be a good coffee substitute and the seeds makes a perfect oil for frying food I´ve heard🙂🙂 But I don´t know how many seeds one need to make enough oil for one dinner though🙂🙂🙂

      More snow came later unfortunately. Some stayed on the ground during the night and I´ll post photographs later today.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

