So quiet.

A flower from a self sowed plum that grows up straight in to my old plum tree. I guess it will be close to a damson in shape and taste.

Today is Walpurgis night and this is a big day here in Sweden. I would like to say that this day is when we celebrates the return of spring. Bonfires will be lit all over the country and choirs will sing songs by them. Tv will show the celebrations too, most probably from one of our most known parks there.

Cranes.

But we don´t have any May poles here like in many other countries. We have our May pole, or Midsummer pole as we call it, at midsummers eve instead. The May pole (or Midsummer pole) is a fertility symbol and I´ll write more about that when midsummer arrives (many of You already knows about it but there are new readers that might not know anything of it so You´ll have to read it again 🙂  ).

We went down to the creek this morning and the Marsh marigold has just started to flower.

The violets had started too.

Today is also our kings birthday but I´ll not celebrate him or Walpurgis night 🙂 By the way! I´ve sent a mail to the American Embassy asking if it´s legal to send flower seeds by letter to the U.S.A. There are very strict rules when it comes to plants and so it should be! We have for instance a disease here in Europe called “The Dutch Elm Disease”. It isn´t dutch at all to be honest, but north american and it kills our elm trees.

It is however not a problem in north america though, because elm trees there are very resistant to it, but ours aren´t so they die. They are trying to find trees that are immune to it but so far I´ve heard of no success. But I have never heard of diseases following seeds though, but it is always best to ask before doing anything stupid 🙂

I´ve put together the wood chip chopper this morning. Well most of it was already put together naturally but I had to get the sort of legs (or frame perhaps is a better word) with the wheels on it. Isn´t it rather annoying when they put the holes in the frame so that it is almost right? It´s possible to put in all but one screw in it, but the last one just doesn´t fit!!!!

The "new" plum tree is flowering and luckily the Black thorn is too so I might get some fruit this year on it. If it´s tasty I´ll keep it but I might try and move it of course.

Clematis 'Propertius' starts to flower early and then it continues all summer through.

After fighting with the frame, doing some cursing and threatening I finally got it together 🙂 But I haven´t started it yet. It´s still absolutely quiet outside, from human activities I mean. Birds are singing as loud as they can and starlings are fighting with magpies about magpies being in their neighborhood 🙂 The starlings won this time 🙂 🙂 I´ve heard a tractor plowing a field but that´s all and it doesn´t feel right being the one breaking the silence today. I´ll start it as soon as someone starts mowing their lawn or something else that makes a lot of noise 🙂

But I´ll have to put out the ground cloth before making any wood chips to be honest. Should I cut the carpet in the shape I´m planning to have the area around the pond or should I try to fold it in the right way? I think I´ll cut it if I see that it´s a big piece I´ll cut of and that I can place elsewhere. Otherwise I think it´s better to fold it. It will be a bit tricky no matter how I do because I already have some plants growing by the pond 🙂 I´ll show You the result when it is finished or almost finished.

Largeflower Bellwort, one of my absolute favorites in my garden. It won´t be long until it flowers now. We call it Sorrow clock.

Nova has turned out to be a good guarding dog, she warns as soon as someone comes close unless she sees them by the gate because then she´s just happy as a puppy 🙂 🙂 🙂 It´s time to get out to enjoy the beautiful weather that they say will go away soon.                         Have a great day now!

20 thoughts on “So quiet.

  1. hi christer…i love the photos of the stream. it looks mystical there. i wonder if the wood chipper will frighten nova? haha…..walpurgis night…..we are half way to halloween! my countdown is on! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      It feels magic too and it flows just beside the forbidden forest as well.
      To be honest, I don´t think anyone actually knows why we celebrate Walpurgis night 🙂 🙂 It´s just a good reason to party I guess 🙂

      No she didn´t care about the sound from it. I have to say that it is rather quiet so I can stand beside it without any earplugs!
      I follow Your Halloween countdown on Your blog 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Well, I learned something new today. Dutch Elm Disease came to Europe from Asia in 1910 and then came to North America from Europe in 1928. We were always told that the disease did not effect European elms but was devastating to North American elms. What really happened was the original disease was not too bad on European elms but was very bad for North American elms. Then in North America the disease changed to a more virulent form and was imported back to Europe where it was very destructive. North America has some cloned varieties but so far only one variety has been growing long enough to prove it is truly resistant. The other varieties have only been around for 30 years or less and they won’t be considered resistant until they have been growing at least 60 years.
    You have trilliums! I am jealous.
    My lawn violets are in bloom. I have violet ones and white ones. I also have a two-toned white with violet streaks. It may be that the all the white ones would have that streaking if they were all in the shade. The other white ones are out in the full sun. I’ll post a picture on Facebook.
    The jacks-in-the pulpit are also coming up and they have spread themselves around the damper parts of my property. I like them. They make a nice change from skunk cabbage. 🙂
    Hope you had a great day outside.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Now I´ve learned something new too! I did not know it came to us first, then to You and then back to us! I´ve also been taught that You had resistant elms, so now I know better.

      No jacks-in-the pulpit here yet but I have some close relatives flowering in my garden. Otherwise I only have one white violet but it shows no buds yet. The one I show today grows just beside the creek. My trilliums seems to like it here, I´ve found one more self sowed one. It will flower in around for years if I´m lucky 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Clouds are coming but the day is still nice 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. 🙂 I’m doing kinda the same thing at the moment….waiting for the neighborhood to wake up before I go outside and stay yard work. I’m afraid that if I wait too long it will start raining! But tomorrow it’s supposed to be sunny all day but colder! AND I have to go into work in the AM. Hmmm…what to do? I guess visit my fav blogs! LOL!
    Seriously, I’m trying to figure out just exactly where I want to put up my new fence.
    Good luck with your wood chipper! and all your “gardening” adventures! 🙂
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      No one started to make any noise so I had to start anyway 🙂 🙂 🙂 Well someone used firecrackers and gun shots to scare away jackdaws I guess so they had started to make noise to be true 🙂

      It´s always a problem when the rain is closing in 🙂 🙂 But I often use that as an excuse not to do anything at all 🙂 🙂 🙂 It will be cooler here tomorrow but no rain until monday or tuesday they say.

      Have a great day in the garden!

      Christer.

  4. Good morning Christer, I am catching up on reading today before going to the “Y” to exercise as I have missed the past 2 days. We worked outdoors, cutting the lawn and spreading woodchips over Grenville’s wildflower meadow which he seeded this week. I also potted some petunias we bought on sale so we bought quite a few. The wood chipper Grenville has runs on gasoline which makes it a bit easier to move around the yard, but it is quite heavy and very noisy too. We will be using in in the next couple of weeks after trimming and cutting around our yard; there is already a pile of branches ready to be be done. The cloth you mentioned is also called weed block here, but weeds still seem to come through it.
    I enjoyed your flower photos, especially the wild violets with the water droplets and we have many of what you call pearl hyacinths (grape hyacinths here). There are also many of the wild/lawn violets and yellow and pink wood sorrel. The tulipa tarda is very pretty and reminded me of crocus. And, of course, the beauty of the forest is amazing. Dutch Elm disease can also be very devasting to trees in North America

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I have the weed block on place right now and lots of wood chips on it too, so if any weed can go through that I´ll just have to admire it and let it live 🙂 🙂 🙂 But I have too little weed blocker so I can only do almost half of the area I wanted to fix around the pond.

      I have to say that this electric one is rather quiet but it isn´t as strong as the one Grenville has. I´ve also realized that they can´t have been thinking right when they made it 🙂 I´ll show photographs tomorrow.

      The Tulipa Tarda is almost the only tulip I like 🙂 and as You say it does remind of a crocus. But it does become a bit higher.

      I´ve just learned, from Caryn, that the dutch elm disease is bad in north america too! I´ve always heard that Your trees didn´t get sick by it.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. what lovely photos, I can’t believe how much our climate and terrain are a like.The same wild flowers as well,, we are just a bit behind you.Not much but a bit.We have lost many trees to Dutch Elm disease here in our small city.All huge big Elms that run down the main street of our city, this street has a stretch of about 2 miles of big elms which quite sadly are diseased with this horrible disease.As usual your photos are amazing and makes one wish to be there.

    • Hi Laurie!
      We´ve been lucky with the weather this spring 🙂 I can´t remember when April was this warm the last time!

      The dutch elm tree is killing all our elm trees but I hope they can find some trees that are resistant towards it! But we´re having troubles with our Ask trees (Fraxinus) too now. So if this continues two of my favorite trees might die out here.

      I´m glad You like my photographs 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Christer, your photography skills are amazing and the camera captures such beautiful images of all the blooms springing to life! Wow, the Portal is closing up fast! Close-ups of Nova are sweet! Thanks for looking into the possibility of sending seeds; what a special event that will be, if it is possible!! Good luck with your wood chipping! Enjoy the weekend!!

    • Hi Robin!
      Thank You 🙂

      I do hope that there will be no problems sending seeds over to You! But from what I´ve heard diseases rarely spreads via seeds so I hold my thumbs for good luck 🙂

      It was quite fun wood chipping 🙂 I still have a lot of chipping to do but I´ve stopped for today.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Helt underbara ljuvliga vårbilder;) Vi hyrde en flistugg för några år sedan och du milde vilket oväsen den förde, men den var effektiv:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Det har varit så fantastiskt skönt här idag!

      Det var riktigt kul att göra flis 🙂 Men denna är ju elektrisk så den är faktiskt riktigt tyst och mindre effektiv förstås. Men den gör sitt jobb sakta men säkert. Allt mer av ytan rynt dammen täcks nu av en massa flis 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      The creek is a favorite place of mine but we´ll keep away from it most of summer because it´s a place full of ticks. Especially dry summers when all animals has to go there to get some water.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • Hi Geraldine and welcome to my little blog 🙂

      I´m glad You like what I do here 🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back!
      Christer.

  8. Härliga bilder du visar – ser nästan ut som mitt i sommaren. Men ni har väl också haft lite kyligt på nätterna efter vad jag har kunnat se på dina tidigare inlägg!?
    Här är det också fint väder, men lite kyligt ännu så man måste vänta tills efter nio-tio innan man går ut.
    Igår roade jag mig med att försöka packa upp (och dela upp, det är det som tar mest tid) dom 5 lådor med växter vi i Entusiasterna fått hem. Efter 2 timmar så fick jag hjälp av Rolle, men det hjälpte inte. Efter ytterligare 1 timme så var det dags att gå in och sätta igång med middagen och då hade jag bara kommit halvvägs. Det var enormt många växter vi tagit hem!
    Nu ska jag ut och packa upp resten för gänget kommer på eftermiddagen för att hämta. Men det värsta är att jag måste hinna med att plantera mina växter innan tisdag kväll för på onsdag morgon åker jag till Stockholm ett par dagar. Tänk, det är konstigt att ALLT ska hända precis samtidigt! Men…hädanefter ska man väl få ordentligt med tid över till trädgården, vi har nämligen sålt vårt företag i veckan så nu är man pensionär på riktigt! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Här i köldhålet jag bor har det varit frost nästan varje natt nu när det varit varmt på dagarna. Men inatt slog det till rejält på fel ställen 🙂

      Visst är det lustigt att det där upp packandet och delandet som tar sådan tid alltid glöms bort när man beställer 🙂 🙂 🙂 Kanske är det ett av de största skälen till att jag numera bara nästan sår allt det jag vill ha 🙂 🙂

      Något jag har förstått som händer när man går i pension är att man absolut ingen tid har över alls 🙂 🙂 🙂 Grattos till det nya pensionärslivet förresten!

      Ha det gott och ha det kul i Stockholm!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

