Long weekend, blueberries and peat.

It´s Maundy thursday and Easter has truly begun. Tonight the witches are flying to the island Blåkulla to have their sabbath with the devil it´s said. Since the few I know that call themselves witches doesn´t believe in the devil I guess they just fly over to that island to have a huge party🙂

One can never see to much of the moon🙂

Soon.

But here in the south western part of Sweden we have huge bonfires at easter eve (if it´s not to dry of course) and then we have fireworks to scare the witches on their way home again🙂 I guess that´s quite easy because many of them probably have bad hangovers after that party on Blåkulla🙂🙂🙂

There it is.

Leafs.

I bought three plants of American Blueberries on my way home yesterday (nasty expensive to be honest). I doubt any american would call them that though🙂 But they originate from the american continent. Our wild blueberries are only 45 cm as highest ( around 18 inches) and really don´t like to grow in a garden. These ones will be anything from 1 meter (the same in yards) to 1,5 meters high, so much easier to pick berries from🙂🙂

Stage

So today I went to the store and bought peat for stables. So much cheaper and much rougher in its texture than the packages one can buy in a gardencentre. Blueberries likes a more acidic soil like the rhododendron does. So I´ll mix the peat with the soil I already have in the garden and places them sunny together with my arctic raspberries. By the way, if You want to plant something that likes acidic soil don´t buy that expensive rhododendron soil one can find in stores. Just mix the soil You have (unless it is more or less clay) with peat and You have much the same product. I usually mix so I have 50%-50% but up to 70% peat and 30% common soil is good too.

Dew collected in the leafs.

Now starts a long weekend for me🙂 It´s holiday tomorrow and on monday too, but I´ll work a couple of hours on monday anyway. We have lots to do at work and I want to have a day off later on instead (and I have to say that the pay is really, really good on monday🙂 Something I didn´t know until after I said I could work🙂🙂  ).

Helleborus.

My new blueberries. The plastic bag round the pot is to prevent eventual spanish wood snails. They eat anything and has no natural enemies in the country. We don´t have them in my village yet and I really don´t want to be the one that introduces them🙂 You can also see my two peaches.

Over here daffodils are called Easter lily.

It´s time for a pot of tea and then I´ll enjoy the last daylight of this fantastic day that we´ve had. They say it will continue all through easter and it will be warmest when I work on monday🙂🙂🙂                                                                                                                                 Happy Easter!

20 thoughts on “Long weekend, blueberries and peat.

  1. Oh my gosh your photos are brilliant, just beautiful.I live in Northern Ontario canada and our wild blueberries are low growing species as well,,we won’t see a blueberry until late july but have them tucked in the freezer to keep us supplied.I love the quality of your photos I could see the dew glistening on the leaves,, your spring looks much like ours,, maybe a bit ahead.I’m new to blogging have discovered yours today,, my eyes are going crossed from reading your back posts.I think I shall come daily,,, lol

    • Hi Laurie and welcome to my blog🙂
      I guess that You have much the same climate as I have here even if I live even further north than You do. But we have the Gulf Stream that helps us here🙂 So I guess we have the same kind of blueberries too.

      I´m glad You like my photographs🙂
      I´ll pop over to Your blog later tonight!
      Have a great day now and welcome back!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer! i think the blueberries should grow well for you since they grow here in the northern states. i love all of your pics today. watch out for the witches! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I checked how hardy they are and this is much as tough as they can manage here. But it´s because I live in a cold hole as we call it.

      I´ll have my eyes locked at the sky tonight🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Where I live we can grow both high bush blueberries and low bush blueberries. The low bush blueberries seem to like to hang around the trunks of oak trees in my neighborhood. We never get any berries from them because the birds and other things get them first. I wouldn’t eat them anyway since all the neighborhood dogs like to use them as marking posts.🙂 I hope you have good luck with your berries.
    Love the photos. You are ahead of us as far as Spring growth even though you are farther north, I think. It must be the Gulf Stream effect.
    Enjoy your tea and your holiday.

    • Hi Caryn!
      They are on the border of what they can take here in my garden I´m afraid, but these ones is said to be extra hardy. It´s one american variety, one german and one swedish and I know the swedish one is the hardiest of them. Here it´s the deers eating them so I never get any berries from the wild ones🙂🙂🙂 So I think I´ll have to put a fence around these when the time comes🙂

      We´ve been lucky with the weather when the heat finally arrived, but we would have much the same climate that Alaska has without that gulf stream. Guess if I like it🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Hi again,
    Just wanted to add that if you bring some ornithogalum home, be advised that they will happily spread themselves all over the place. I have no idea where mine came from as I didn’t plant them but they are now all over the lawn. It’s okay with me because they are pretty.

  5. Well these photos are terrific today and yes, Christer, you can’t get enough moon pictures but we all keep trying to find that perfect shot. You sound like the Spring garden is just a few days away. That’s wonderful. My Big Boy Tomatos are nice and green so it won’t be long now before we have fresh T’s for breakfast and dinners. Enjoy your tea.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I do love the moon🙂
      I guess we still can get some snow falls but it won´t be anything that stays for more than an hour or so🙂

      I didn´t even know that tomato plants could live more than one year🙂 I´ve failed with my tomato plants this spring so I only have two small ones. First time I´ll ever have to buy new ones🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Blueberries do very well here in upstate NY, we do get mighty cold in the winter. Glad that you are going to have beautiful weather for your Easter time. And, as Joyce said, watch out for witches flying under the influence…..!!

    • Hi Robin!
      It isn´t the cold in itself that is to tough for the blueberry plants, it is because our winter is so long that breaks them. We also get it rather dark here early in the autumn so they have problems adapting for winter. I think that You actually can have it much colder than us, but we have much longer periods of cold weather.

      Yes it seems we´re going to have mostly sunny today and no clouds for the rest of the weekend🙂
      Those drunk witches are just terrible🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer, I am finally catching up on some long-delayed blog reading. Good luck on the blueberries. Grenville has also planted some grass seed around his bushes because he read that this would be helpful. He’s hoping thaey all survive, but right now they look like sad little sticks. The flowers in today’s post were beautiful. Enjoy the holiday weekend and the extra pay will be nice too – helps pay for those really expensive blueberry plants!

    • Hi Beatrice!

      I´ve never heard that sowing grass around anything would be helpful. I wonder in what way that can help? If You know please tell me!
      This is the first time I´m having blueberry plants so I really have no idea how this will work🙂

      It looks like we´re getting a fantastic weekend here🙂 and with that extra pay I can buy many more blueberry plants🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Your moon and sunrise shots are great. Instead of peat i used pelletized sulfur to lower the pH from 6.5 to 5.5. This seems to be the way to do it down here. Your plants look a whole lot better than ours. BUT we only paid $5.00 each for ours so i’m really mothering them. We are too far south for the low bush wild berries. While we were in Maine i gorged myself on anything blue berry🙂
    Hope your Holiday Weekend is great and that the witches don’t crash land in your garden. Grenville

    • Hi Grenville!
      I do like the moon🙂

      I´ve heard about those pellets but I have never seen them in any store over here. But I need the peat because my soil is mostly sand, gravel and small stones. So the peat will help lowering the pH at the same time as it keeps the water in the ground for a longer time. My three plants costed me 417 swedish kronor ( 64 US dollars)! So they better survive and thrive🙂🙂🙂

      I´ll keep an eye on those witches🙂 If they crash here I´ll make them some coffee🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Kul – och gott – med egna blåbär! Här är det ont om dom, vi har ju så kalkrik jord här på “kalkstenshawaii”.🙂 Däremot så har vi enormt med blåsippor, även om dom flesta inte är så blå utan mer lila, karmosinröda eller rosa.:-)🙂
    GLAD PÅSK
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Jag hoppas verkligen att de tar sig och trivs här. De ute i skogen ger aldrig bär här av någon anledning, däremot ger odonen en del men dem vet man ju aldrig hur de smakar.

      Det konstiga är att vi egentligen har riktigt kalkrik mark här också, fast just kring mossen där de planterat mycket gran så är det en aningens surt i marken. Vete fåglarna hur det där fungerar egentligen🙂🙂

      Men jag vet inte hur många gånger jag letat efter andra färger än blått på våra blåsippor, men aldrig hittat någon🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott i påsk!
      Christer.

  10. Your photos are FANTASTIC! I just love them!🙂
    Hmmm. I’ll watch the sky for witches this weekend🙂
    Now you have me thinking about planting blueberries. I love blueberries and I know they are SUPER good for health.
    I have to work both Friday and Monday….and NOT any extra pay😦
    Oh well, at least I have a job! (around animals🙂 )
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Thanks🙂

      I think I remember that american witches flies somewhere special too, but I just can´t remember what that place was called. They will fly back home on easter eve🙂

      I think You have a better job than I do even if I think You have had way to much over time these last weeks. I don´t work much over time to be honest, only if I can bring my dogs with me and that´s never any problem to be honest🙂 But by working over time on Monday I´ll be able to be free from work from June 2nd till june 6th🙂 We have our national day on june 6th You see🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

