Tomorrow the stitches will be removed.

It rained to much to take any photographs on our walk, so I just took some photographs on the same flowers as yesterday but with raindrops on them🙂

It´s one of those days when it doesn´t matter that I have to spend all day at work. Reasonable warm but it´s raining and it will continue tomorrow too. But the birds seems to like it a lot so who am I to complain.

We´re getting an almost brand new painting box at work soon and today I went over to those that´s selling it and got a look at it. This one cleans itself almost totally. So instead of taking an hour to clean out the box it will take fifteen minutes at the most! It´s very complicated but the manufacturers will help with the move and they will also teach me how to use the box properly🙂 I´m so looking forward to this🙂

Snowdrops.

The Hepatica close the flower and nods when the rain comes.

Nova will follow me to work tomorrow again and we´ll leave a bit early to go to the vet. Normally I would remove the stitches myself but since we have to go anyway they´ll do it. As You know she has an ear infection but she has something else too I´m afraid.

Redberried elderberry bush flower buds.

I got an ointment when she arrived here, an ointment against itching. I´ve put it on if I have seen her scratching to much but it just don´t seem to help that good. I have been thinking that she might have gotten fox scabies but I doubt that because she´s loosing fur in small spots here and there. If they have the scabies the fur just don´t fall of, they scratch it off. But Nova hasn´t been able to scratch herself on the head these two last weeks and the fur falls off anyway, so I think she has some kind of eczema.

Thankfully “my” vet is really good in different eczema’s so I´m pretty sure he will figure it out🙂 It feels a bit chilly indoors even if it really isn´t, but I have no fire logs left so I can´t start a fire in the stove. I´ll buy some more tomorrow if we can make it to the store before they close on our way home from the vet. I´ll tell You more about Nova on Thursday.           Have a great day now!

20 thoughts on “Tomorrow the stitches will be removed.

  1. hi christer…it is raining here too. i hope things go well with nova tomorrow. teddy is limping today and her eye infection is back. this seems to be chronic. we might have to take her to the veterinary school to have it examined. i wish these guys could talk and tell us what is wrong! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      It would have been so much easier if they had been able to tell us what´s wrong🙂 I do hope they can figure out why Teddy gets her eye infections! Why does she limp? hope it´s nothing bad!

      Thankfully “my” vet is good with these kinds of eczema and other skin diseases.

      I hope for the best for both Teddy and Nova!
      Have a great day inn the rain!
      Christer.

  2. I remember one of the really bad skin afflictions was “Mange”. Maybe that’s a short version for the more medical term. We had one dog, growing up, which had it so bad she was treated with shots for most of the summer months. It’s good that you’re getting it checked out. Let us know what the vet says it is. Enjoy your coffee!

    • Hi Z&M!
      I looked and Mange is most probably the same as scabies. I´m not which is worst scabies/mange or eczema.

      I´ll let You know on thursday what it might be!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    If it isn’t one thing, it’s another. I had a dog a long time ago who was allergic to flea bites and to flea medication. If he got bitten by a flea, he would scratch so much his skin got irritated and the fur would fall out. If I put anti-flea medication on him, same thing. I had three cats at the time as well and I swear every flea they brought in jumped off them and went to the dog. I tried a natural flea repellant mixture of eucalyptus, pennyroyal and some other stuff but I was allergic to it. Finally I found a prescription pill that I had to give to all the animals that would make their blood poison to the fleas. It had to be given every three days which was a pain but it was the only way to control the situation.
    I hope little Nova has something easy to fix. Have a fun time learning about your new paint box.

    • Hi Caryn!
      So true! I think I´ve only heard about one dog having fleas in my whole life, so it´s not especially common here I think. But I know mosquito bites can give the same reaction in some dogs (and humans). I don´t use any kind of anti tick on my dogs either because Hector can´t take it at all. He actually gets very stressed by it and reacts to every little sound he hears. So I have to go through every animal as soon as I catch them at night to get rid of any ticks, not easy with my cats🙂🙂🙂

      It isn´t too bad with Nova even if it looks really nasty🙂 But I´ll tell You more about it tomorrow!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. I’ve had good results keeping a dogs coat healthy by adding brewers yeast to the food. It also helped keep fleas at bay. You might consider speaking to your vet about it.

    • Hi Spokes and welcome to my blog!
      I´ve heard that it can help against allergies in the skin and it was quite popular to give it to dogs when I was young, but now days I don´t know anyone that gives it to their pets. But what Nova have needs anti biotic´s I´m afraid.

      Have a great day and thanks for the tip!
      Christer.

  5. It could be the spring, too, Christer. My little Angel suffers from pollen (she’s a dog!) and has to get shots in the early months of the year. I had some horses that used to have something similar to scabies and I discovered that I could bathe them with a mild solution of 1 capful of Lysol to 1 gallon of water and would wipe over the spots, every morning and evening, and it worked. You might ask your vet about this, to see what he/she thinks.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Nova must have had this for quite some time, but since she has been given mild antibiotics for a long time it has stayed rather calm. But now it showed up and in lots of places it showed. Unfortunately I read this just when I came home from the vet🙂 but it would have been interesting to ask him. But I don´t doubt that we soon will go there again🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Det är jobbigt när man har djur som inte är bra, dom kan ju inte tala om sina problem!

    Penny ska också till “vetten” imorgon. Hon har två problem, det ena är att hon numera ett par gånger om dagen ibland vinglar till och nästan tappar balansen. Det såg vi ännu mer av för två somrar sen när hon rusade ut på morgonen och åt gräs. Sen kräktes hon och då fick hon syrebrist till hjärnan och svimmade någon sekund. Mycket otäckt, så det gällde att hålla kollen på henne ute. “Vetten” gav oss rådet att ge henne något att äta direkt hon vaknade, men hon är inte sugen då.

    Det andra problemet är nog mer psykologiskt. Hon har ju alltid varit pratig, men numera finns det bara två lägen. Antingen sover hon – vilket hon gör mycket – eller också så gnäller, skriker eller skäller hon – HELA TIDEN! Alltså ett stort problem för OSS!!
    Hon har inte ont någonstans vad vi har kunnat upptäcka, men hon hör inget alls längre så förmodligen har det med det att göra. Hon kanske känner sig ensam och har tråkigt t.ex. – i alla fall undersysselsatt förmodligen. När vi är ute i skogen är hon tyst, glad och pigg och hoppar och skuttar fortfarande, men hon vill inte vara på tomten med oss – då vill hon att vi ska gå in så hon får sova.
    Men…..hon är ju 16+ så man kan ju inte förvänta sig att hon kan vara frisk och leva hundra år till!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Vinglandet låter som det gamla Erna också hade, problem med ryggen. Hon låg nära korsryggsförlamning men fick en medicin som here Metacam som tar bort smärta och inflammation. Efter det blev hon som en valp i sättet igen🙂

      Skällande kan ju göra en galen, framförallt om det är ens egen hund som gör det. Erna sägs ha skällt hela dagarna när jag var borta, men aldrig när jag var hemma. Tack och lov har jag grannar som inte stördes av det🙂
      Det är nog inte lätt att vara såpass gammal och lomhörd, hon kan nog bara höra sig själv när hon håller på. Men man får hoppas att de hänger med så länge som möjligt.

      Ha det gott och lycka till hos veterinären!
      Christer.

  7. Christer, Nova is giving you quite a lot of concern and hopefully the visit to the vet will ease some of her problems and put your mind at ease too. It’s raining here in NJ where I am visiting my mother for this week. And since I have been helping with some cleaning and other chores, the rain has not been a problem as my time has been indoors, escept when going to a local library (like now) for some internet access. The raindrops on the flowers were quite lovely – there is always something beautiful in nature even when the sun doesn’t come out.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      But she´s worth it🙂 Now she´s having yet another cure with antibiotics for the skin problem and something I´ll drop in her ear three times in a week.

      It actually feels better if it rains when cleaning🙂 But then it will get dirty quite fast since the roads becomes muddy🙂🙂

      Yes, nature is always beautiful!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer…
    I am happy that the ordeal is nearly over. I hope it’s nothing too serious as far as her fur falling out. Maybe a bit of salve can cure it.. If Mele’s fur ever began to fall out, I would be in serious trouble as she has so much of the stuff.
    The only flower I could identify immediately was the snowdrops.
    It’s always amazing how fast the snow disappears everywhere. It’s there one day and one the next it seems. It’s beautiful in Southern California right now..but our lovely green will soon turn to brown and then the fires…you know..the usual!🙂
    I wish Nova well!

    • Hi Mona!
      Hopefully it is🙂 But now the cone is gone anyway🙂 But she got some drops for her ear and yet another round with antibiotics.

      They still have rather much snow left further north in this country, but soon they too will get rid of it.

      I do hope the fires stays away from You!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. The flower photos are gorgeous! What is the bottom flower that looks like a lily? I have never seen that coloring before. Poor Nova, so much going on at one time. Did the vet do a skin scraping to rule out scabies from the fox?

    • Hi Nancy!
      The bottom flower is an Iris (Katherine Hodgin). There is a group of irises that flowers in the early spring and they are just 2-3 inches high. Really fussy too🙂

      He didn´t have to do skin scraping this time, he saw the blisters and knew exactly what to do. The vets in that vet station is really good with skin conditions thankfully🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  10. My Blue has chronic staph infections. I just started following a blog where this woman feeds her dog “people” food, but healthy people food. She gives her dog whole wheat bread and crackers, cottage cheese, fish, yogurt, spinach, green beans. She cooks eggs and chicken and dices it all up. She showcases the “meal” and it looks like a GREAT meal for a person! Her dog is a 12 years old very energetic black lab with a shiny coat and she’s been feeding her this menu for, I think she said 8? years! So I’m considering starting to do the same for Blue. (I plan on blogging about eventually) That might be an idea for Nova!🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I do hope Novas infection isn´t chronic!
      I know a lot of dog foods have way to much grains and soy in them to be healthy for dogs, so I use one that contains very little with those things. My old boys and their mother and grandmother never have any problems thankfully, but I do have to think about Nova if this continues.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

