By the Crane Lake.

Early morning by the Crane Lake. Unfortunately I had to photograph towards the sun most of the time so some of them aren´t especially good. All lying photographs will get bigger and hopefully better if clicked on.

I woke up around six am and looked outside the window. It looked promising for a really nice day. The sun was just about to rise over the horizon (6:06) and there were no wind at all. So I gave my dogs their food and then I jumped in to my car and drove to the lake.

This is a small part of the parking lot during Crane season. Normally it grows grass and wild flowers here during summer.

I think there were over 15 000 cranes by the lake yesterday, this is only a few of them here.

This is anything but silent birds, but I doubt that You can imagine how it sounds when 15 000 starts shouting at the same time🙂🙂🙂

I thought that most people still would be sleeping in their caravans or at least still eat their breakfast. But I think that over a thousand people already stood by the lake and watched the cranes when I arrived. Since the morning was so nice I only had a sweater on and I had to regret that rather quick, the wind suddenly returned and it was nasty cold!

On their way to the fields to eat.

There are lots of other birds by the lake too, but they are hard to spot amongst all the cranes.

I do like to see all these cranes at the same time, but I do prefer to see a few walking around my cottage during summer.

People all around me speaking all kinds of languages stood there trying to look in to their binoculars or cameras with tears in their eyes because of the strong wind🙂🙂🙂 But to be honest, no binoculars were actually needed, the cranes stands only a couple of yards away🙂

The red little shed beside the church is the café.

See that crane with its wings open? If his/her mate (they bod for life) does the same and they starts to jump up and down it´s called dancing.

This predator bird turned up and started to circle around is up in the air.

I think I had been there for fifteen minutes taking over 65 photographs when I stopped feeling my fingers and my hand became rather numb too so I returned home again🙂 I would have stopped a bit longer if the café had been open, but I was a couple of hours to early🙂

At home again and out on our morning walk.

We took our walk as soon as I got home again and this time I had a jacket on🙂 We walked in to the forest for a while and then turned towards the cow pasture so Nova could run free for a while, now without her collar. She got a bit to wild for the two brothers though🙂🙂 but I would have been too if I have had to wear a cone like that and suddenly was free from it🙂🙂🙂

The first thing Nova did when released from the leash was to run around like crazy🙂

Then she stopped because she had seen that...

Hector had found a really nice stick🙂 But he simply refused to give it to her so...

I had to start a fire in the stove this morning because of the strong and cold wind, it chills out the house to much. I´ll tell You the story about how I came to move to this county and eventually this cottage tomorrow. It will take some time to write it down so I better do it in Word and copy it over to the blog, I never knows how long the internet connection will last and it´s so tiresome to restart it on and on and on….                                                                     Have a great day now!

she had to find herself another small little stick🙂

But Orvar didn´t care about sticks this morning.

 

20 thoughts on “By the Crane Lake.

  1. Vilka underbart vackra bilder! Både på tranorna och på hundarna:) Har aldrig varit vid Hornborgarsjön och sett tranorna så det var faktiskt en upplevelse att få se dina foton;) Här är det ett underbart väder idag så det blir nog att vi fortsätter att fylla på med jord/gödsel i rabatterna. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Kul att du gillar dem🙂

      Vinden har lugnat sig något litet, men fortfarande är den så stark att den förstör en dag som kunde varit riktigt härlig.
      Jag får hoppas på morgondagen istället.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Åh jisses va bilar o fåglar det var det värsta. Jag har nog hajjat att det är ett evenemang i världsklass, men ändå. Det är nu du ska stå där på parkeringen och sälja älgskit till tyskarna och frön till svenskarna🙂.
    Man får hålla i hatten här med, men vet du vi har faktiskt gräsfläckar nu mellan snövallarna det du.
    Kram LjusneLotta

    • Tjänare Lotta!
      Detta är ändå bara en del av bilarna man ser, på en av platserna runt sjön🙂🙂🙂
      Attans att jag inte tänkte på älgskit när jag åkte dit i morse, fast det var mest norrmän, danskar och holländare på den parkeringen🙂

      Minsann, gräsfläckar🙂 Men då har det ändå gått rätt fort med smältningen! Med tanke på hur mycket snö ni hade borde den ju legat kvar till midsommar🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott vännen!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    The cafe could be missing out on an opportunity by not opening up early during crane season. Looks like there are enough cold, coffee-craving folks around to warrant the extra hours.
    Nova and Hector look great. Orvar looks above it all, as usual.
    Sunny here with not much wind but it still seems a bit chilly. They are talking about maybe 80F on Monday. 80! Bet it won’t happen around here. I’m too close to the ocean. Not close enough to benefit from the ocean but close enough to make it cooler than everywhere else.
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I was thinking just the same thing this morning, but then I realized that most of those that were there came from the caravans. I guess that they make their own coffee when they wake up.

      We won´t be close to that kind of temperatures up here🙂 It´s going to rain several days next week according to the predictions. For some reason they always seems to be right when it comes to rain🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. The flock of Cranes is amazing. We have something similar here with Snow Geese. Glad to see Nova is doing so well. Our weather is still changable too. BUT next week is to be in the mid 70’sF.
    Grenville

    • Hi Grenville!
      And this is just a few of the cranes I show in my photographs🙂

      The weather will continue to stay rather unsteady the coming week but that´s typical for April🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. I can only imagine the noise! My neighbor had a small flock of geese and the sound was unbelievable in the spring. Nova looks wonderful; you are good medicine for her… How long do the cranes stay? They should leave lots of fertilizer for the land up there; no? Hope you’ve enjoyed your tea. The pictures were fantastic, today.

    • Hi Sharlene!🙂 They really have strong voices those cranes🙂 But I guess it´s one of the most loved sounds we can hear here in spring🙂

      The cranes comes and goes during a couple of weeks. most of them travel to Norway after resting by the lake. They do leave a lot of fertilizers but the area is poor of nutrition so I guess it´s a good thing🙂

      I always enjoy my tea🙂🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Hi CHrister, enjoyed seeing the cranes and what a large group of people in that parking lot for an early morning. I can understand how one’s fingers can get quite numb while taking photos – happens to me all the time in cold weather. Gloves are just not good for shooting photos as you know also. Orvar takes a great photo too! GOod to read that Nova is collar-free now. Enjoy your weekend!

    • HI Beatrice!
      And still, it was just a small part of the parking I showed🙂🙂 I have more photographs that I´ll show every now and again and some of them shows rather many people🙂

      The wind was really nasty cold and as You say, gloves and photographing really doesn´t work well🙂🙂🙂

      Nova is only collar free as long as I can see her but still, that´s better than nothing🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. I just read all your posts that I’ve missed, sorry that I haven’t been by but I’m just a walking zombie! I’m hoping it will only be a couple of more weeks of this crazy time at work! Not only do we all put in overtime but there doesn’t seem to be a spare down moment… I love the photos of your dogs! Nova looks like she’s feeling great!
    Wow, all those cranes, how cool! I can only imagine the sound. It’s probably pretty intense. I hope it warms up for you and stays there. Today I woke up to hale hitting the windows and pounding on the roof. After it quit raining, it hit the 80″s here. Sunny and real warm! That’s crazy! and then tomorrow it’s supposed to be severe thunderstorms and possible tornados. I’m supposed to drive an hour out into Iowa farmland and go to this womans house that is going to teach me to groom Ralphie. She said I could bring Mimsy too. I hope we don’t get blown away on the Interstate.
    Anyway, I gotta get some sleep now!
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I know how much You work! You must rest as much as You can when You can, blogs can always wait till another day🙂

      We won´t even get close to the 80´s here🙂 But we will get rain and this night we had frost :-)But isn´t it the wrong season for tornado´s now??

      Be careful on the roads now and have a great day!

      Christer.

      • Nope, tornados start now and are REALLY in full force in May. Our town has never been hit yet but the outer towns, the little towns more out in the farming communities do sometimes have tornados touching down. But every spring we have at least one BAD storm that knocks down the trees and brings the power lines down with it. A couple of years ago several of the towns were without power for 3 days. Thousands were in the dark. I work acorss the river and they were fine over there. So I would go to work and come home to a GHOST TOWN because it was so hot out that people had escaped to the malls or the movie theaters where it was cool. I was actually getting used to reading by candlelight and talking walks with Blue rather than TV and Internet.
        Have a Good Day! I begged off going to that womans home in Iowa. My back isn’t feeling too great. So I will stay home today while it storms!🙂🙂 – Cindi

      • Hi Cindi!
        It´s actually nice not knowing when tornado season starts🙂 We very seldom have any here but those we do have are rather small (and we call them tromber) but when they do come it´s in late summer.

        We´re a bit lucky here in this village because we get our electrical power from two different places, so when one goes out the other one gives electricity just seconds after. But it is nice to read by candle light and skipping tv sometimes🙂

        Good thing that You will stay at home instead of getting out in that storm! Grooming dogs is hard for the back too so that´s another good reason to wait a while longer.

        Have a great and relaxing day at home🙂
        Christer.

  8. Härliga bilder! Såg ett par tranor här igår, dom måste ha fått fel på GPS´n stackarna!!
    Skönt att Nova kan få vara utan tratt när hon är ute, förstår att hon blev vansinnigt glad. Bara hon inte gör som Penny gjorde efter analsäcksoperationen. Hon sprang iväg en bra bit från oss, sen pallade hon upp stjärten mot en murken stubbe och så slickade hon. När vi hunnit fram hade hon redan slickat sönder bölderna hon hade så det var blod och var överallt. Hon hade istället fått ett “babianarsle”. Du måste alltså hålla koll på Nova ordentligt – men det gör du förmodligen!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Det börjar ju bli ont om häckningsplatser för tranorna så det kanske letar nya områden?
      🙂🙂 hundar kan vara bra kluriga när de vill🙂 Men Nova håler sig nära hela tiden och verkar inte bry sig så mycket om magen alls. men så fort jag vet att jag inte kan hålla koll på henne hela tiden åker kragen på igen🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

