Home again!

It´s dark in the morning again after changing to summer time. But that´ll soon change🙂

We came home an hour ago and the surgery has gone well. But while I was waiting so I could get my Nova I heard one dog that was miserable shouting loudly and I was hoping it wasn´t Nova.

We had just come home when I took this photograph. She´s not happy but she did want to follow me around the garden for a while anyway. I´ll take the stitches after 14 days and the collar must stay on for at least ten days. Now I also have to keep an eye on Hector so he doesn´t try to lick on her wound.

It wasn´t but I can say she´s not a happy camper at the moment. She did eat some treats but won´t touch her regular food and who can blame her, most people doesn´t feel especially hungry after surgery (well I do but I´m never allowed to eat anyway🙂🙂  ) So now she´s sleeping in my bed and will probably stay there until tomorrow morning and Hector keeps her company.  See You all tomorrow!                                                                       Have a great day now!

30 thoughts on “Home again!

    • Hi Robin!
      She sleeps like a baby right now, so I think she will sleep well tonight too.

      I´m used to take stitches from my animals so that won´t be any problems🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  1. Poor little angel – but it was for the best. Healthier for her in the long run to be spayed too. Those collars are horrible, and how dogs hate them. Poor things bump into everything and it usually scares them. But, unless you can be with her constantly, a necessity for her safety.

    One of my dogs is a nervous boy, and he chews on the top of his feet – near his ankles. Similar to a person chewing their nails, he nibbles his ankles. Doesn’t hurt himself, but it looks like I take hair clippers to his ankles – very uniform job he does. =)

    I’ve been reading your blog for awhile. I love all of your 4-legged critters. Absolutely beautiful photographs. What a lovely place you have to hike around. And what a wonderful person you are – to rescue dogs and give them a GOOD home.

    • Hi Jennifer and welcome to my blog!
      Yes even if her temper doesn´t get much better she will at least not have a couple of nasty diseases.

      Orvar panics when he has to wear a collar like that. Last time I don´t think I had a single thing he didn´t destroy🙂🙂🙂 But his brother doesn´t care at all and when I had his mother and my first dog they actually had fun with collars like that. They realized that they could throw things rather far with the help of those collars🙂🙂🙂 But I realized I don´t have to have a collar on Orvar, he never touches a wound.

      It must look funny on Your dog🙂🙂 Nova doesn´t seem to injure herself either, but I hope she´ll stop doing it soon.

      This is a great area to live in! I can walk wherever I like to and as long as my dogs doesn´t hunt anything I seldom have to leash them🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. How do they eat, etc., with that bag collar on? I’d need a place for my elbows!😎😎 She looks so sad… 8-( Give her some ice cream, or something really special. Take care and come visit when you can…

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Yes she does look really sad. But they usually don´t have any problems eating after practicing some times🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Stackars liten så ynklig hon ser ut. Så skönt att det nu är gjort och att det gick bra:) Pussa o krama henne från mig. Ha det gott/Monne

  4. åå stackars liten att ha en sån stor tratt runt halsen då man vill snosa och springa omkring är inte lätt.

    • Hejsan Berit och välkommen hit!
      Inte lätt alls, så snart har hon nog knäcket den så jag får skaffa ny🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer
    How are you ?
    Nova looks sad and hill but I bet : tomorrow will be better. You have to bear up this night perhaps ?….. Good night , all my positive thoughts for you two.
    adriana

    • Hi Adriana!
      I´m very well thank You🙂 and I hope You are too!

      If it hadn´t been for me worrying that I would kick Nova while sleeping the night would have been good. But I woke up every now and again just to check her🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Ahhh Christer,

    I hope it all turns out well for her. Yes, keep a close eye on her “helper” friend.

    Love,

    Sharon Lovejoy Writes from Sunflower House and a Little Green Island

    • Hi Sharon!
      So far so good🙂 She doesn´t allow the other dogs to clean her up thankfully🙂 As long as she doesn´t get any infection things will turn out for the better.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. hi christer…….poor nova! her tail is down. she probably is still a little out of it from the anesthesia. i hope she gets used to the collar. teddy is such a lump that she could never reach her stomach to lick it. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I don´t think she´ll ever get used to that collar🙂🙂 Her tail has been down today too just because of that collar. But she did have a good day at work🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer,
    ohh poor Nova … I feel very sorry for that hour!
    But it will be for a short time and then everyone will be happier.
    I know you will fill Nova with love 🙂
    Today, kisses and caresses all go to her
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      Yes I did feel sorry for little Nova yesterday, even if the first thing she tried to do was to bite Orvar🙂 So now she has to wear this collar for 14 days and for her that´s14 days of shame🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Awwwe….poor, little Nova…but she will be be ok and recovered in just a few days! You take such good care of her..she will be back to her old self really soon!

    Get Well Nova!!

    • Hi Chris!
      As long as she doesn´t get any infection she will be ok again, but I hope she doesn´t get back to her normal self again though🙂🙂 Her temper is one of the reasons we put her through this surgery🙂🙂🙂 But she did run around in the garden when we came home today, so I had to stop her so the stitches wouldn´t loosen up🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  10. Poor baby, but at least she got through safe and sound and is now back home with you. I am sure she will need to sleep off the anesthesia. When she is feeling better, give her a hug from me, please

    • Hi Nancy!
      She already feels much better today! She started to run around in the garden as soon as we came home so I had to stop her🙂 But she does hate that cone she has to wear for 14 days🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  11. Aww, poor Nova.
    They’re making her wear the Cone of Shame? My bitch didn’t have to wear it after her surgery but then she didn’t have stitches that needed to be removed. She had the ones that dissolve on their own.
    Thanks for posting on your non-posting day and letting us know how it went. Pet her and spoil her a little bit for us, too.🙂

    • Hi Caryn!
      Yes the cone of shame🙂🙂🙂 and she really is ashamed of that cone too🙂🙂 I had hoped they would use that technique when they sow her together again, but it seems they only do that when it comes to cesarian.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  12. Oh Christer…how sad she looks…as though she thinks she is being punished. Poor baby girl! If anyone can make her feel better and not so sad, it would be you. I think it was wonderful that you took her to work. I hope it made her feel special to have all of your attention. You are a true dog lover!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      She really was sad yesterday and she did, rightfully, blame me. But she´s much better today🙂

      She did get a lot of attention today, not only from me🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  13. Stackars Nova, hon ser riktigt lidande ut men snart är hon nog som vanligt igen! Ja, kanske inte riktigt “som vanligt” förstås om allt går som det ska!!
    Det där med att ha tratt är inte kul. Penny hade jätteproblem med sina analsäckar när hon var 5-6 år och var tvungen att operera bort dom, men först skulle inflammationen gå ner. Så då fick hon tratt i normalmodell för en 6 kg pyttehund.
    Det funkade tyvärr inte, hon bara pallade upp stjärten mot nått och så slickade hon. Hon är nämligen enormt vig. Då fick hon modellen större, men det hjälpte inte det heller. Så till slut var det “Dobermanmodellen” som hon hade på sig – den var nästan större än henne själv! Sen opererades hon och fick ha tratten på efteråt och då var hon väldigt ömklig och skulle ligga under täcket hos matte på natten – och det fick hon!!
    Efteråt blev hon otroligt inflammerad av dom “självförstörande” stygnen så hon såg ut som en babian i stjärten och kunde knappt bajsa så till slut – efter mycket tjat från mig som förstod att nått var riktigt galet – opererades hon om (kostnadsfritt).
    Tratten satt alltså på i hela 12 veckor och mina ben blev till slut alldeles såriga för vem hade hjärta att köra ut henne ur sängen när hon var så dålig, så gissa om det är några i den här familjen som HATAR trattar!?

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Vi får verkligen hoppas att det inte blir som vanligt igen🙂🙂 Men risken är stor att inget händer om det inte var hormonellt. Men i vilket fall kommer hon ju aldrig hem full av valpar om hon skulle ge sig av vid fel tidpunkt🙂🙂🙂

      Stackars er bägge! I tolv veckor dessutom!! Måste nog erkänna att jag inte låtit Nova sova under täcket med kragen på🙂 Tack och lov att hon inte gillar det🙂🙂🙂 Så de kan få problem med den sortens sutur? Hade jag ingen aning om! Kanske därför de bara använder den när de gör kejsarsnitt då. Bra att veta sådant!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

