A bit of this and that.

We´ve changed to Summer time, or as You all would call it Daylight saving time and it´s cold, windy and cloudy outside. Not a great combination since I really don´t like changing time like this and had hoped for at least some sunshine longer than ten seconds every now and again.

Nova wasn´t the least cooperative when we started training either so I had to be a bit tougher than I had expected to be. She and Orvar had a huge fight too, I think Orvar accidently sort of chewed on her lip when they struggled over a stick and she didn´t take that very well at all🙂 But now things have calmed down and they all seems to be good friends again. Tomorrow I must remember to call the vet so we can get that surgery done (neutering her). I hope she will get less adventures and perhaps a bit more well tempered too🙂🙂 Don´t get me wrong now, Nova is a fantastic little dog 99% of the time.

I´ve paid my bills too today and that didn´t lift my spirits especially much either🙂🙂🙂 I get most of my bib bills every third month and this was one of those months. More than half my paycheck disappeared within five minutes🙂 But then again, next month I´ll keep most of my paycheck instead🙂 I´m really glad that I learned how to plan my economy a long time ago🙂🙂

The flower buds on the redberried elderberry bushes in the forest are swelling now.

Their Siberian cousins in my garden have come a bit further though.

As most of You now know I really dislike commercials on tv and in my mail, but every now and again I do like to look through the mail ones and now it seems most electronic stores have sales on Tv´s. My dvd player is slowly giving up and I have one of those old thick tv´s so perhaps I should buy a thin one with a dvd player in it? But then again, the tv programs doesn´t get better just because I have a thin tv and if the dvd player breaks down I´m not sure it´s removable so that I might have to bring the whole tv with me if I want to repair the dvd🙂🙂🙂 I think it´s better just to buy a new dvd player instead, I can always connect the sound system from my computer in to the dvd player in that case.

They say we´ll get some rain later today and there´s nothing worth looking on tv, so I think I´ll start writing down the things I know about sowing seeds, pest control, tree/ bush pruning and so on in that beautiful note book I got from Wiccan Writes. Things so easily slips out of the mind if one doesn´t do them all the time.                                                               Have a great day now!

30 thoughts on “A bit of this and that.

  1. Hi Christer,
    See this picture of Nova shows how she has no idea of the size of things :))
    Today I like macro shots especially the macro on the flowers and so pretty snowdrops.
    I think it’s a great idea to write down their knowledge.
    And it would be a good idea to post! I love the net to find ways of doing things.
    I wish an excellent Sunday to you all, kisses and itching in the ears of all children🙂
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      So right🙂 she doesn´t🙂🙂
      It´s nice to see how flowers finally shows but it snows here at the moment!!! Lots of that white garbage is falling right now.

      So many things has already slipped out of my head so I thought it was best to start writing. It was another thing when I was working in my gardencentre all day, then I had to remember everything🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. I would love to see an Elder tree or bush .I’ve read about the berries how good they are for us .I wonder if they’d grow here or if it is to cold ?
    Christer you know we more and more buy the dvd or rent from the library .I find all the shows the kids like are almost all on dvd like mythbusters etc. I can get all my old fav shows I like too .I’m saving for the pippi longstocking collection ☺
    tv is so bad now .in amongst the hundreds of channels we will find a few good shows . I must say I do love that old movie channel but again I can get almost all old time movies from our library .
    The sun is strong today !
    Lov Rox

    • Hi Rox!
      I´ll show You an Elderberry tree later on when they start flowering here. The good elderberry tree has black berries, the ones that grows here has red berries and almost all varieties of them are poisonous to us humans, although the ones I have in my garden (from southern Siberia) is said to be ok but I won´t try them anyway🙂🙂 I love elderberry flower and elderberry berry lemonade🙂

      I rarely find anything I like on tv now days and even if I would get more channels I doubt I would find that many more programs that I would like🙂 So I do look a lot at dvd´s. So perhaps I´ll better start looking for a dvd player. But I grew up with Pippi Longstocking and they show it quite often here in swedish television🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Härliga bilder som vanligt, men det var otroligt var ni har snöfritt! Ser nästan ut som mitt i sommaren – och det trots att ni har mycket kallare än vad vi har och har haft!!
    Nu har vi fått det bekräftat; Vi har åtminstone Ekstas snöigaste tomt, folk i byn t.o.m. pratar om det. Så inte konstigt att våren kommer extremt sakta här – men nu har vi snödroppar, vintergäck, cyklamen och kinesisk trollhassel som blommar bland alla snödrivor i alla fall!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Kan berätta att vi har allt annat än snöfritt nu. Snön vräker ned och det har nog kommit 5 cm hittills!

      Även om ni har den snöigaste tomten i landet så har ni i alla fall blommor🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Love the photos today. Sorry Nova is working out the alpha structure. Neutering should definitely calm her down. After all, it is springtime when all the sap is rising in everything.

    Just to let you know. I was going to buy a combo thin TV with DVD player and the Best Buy salesman said they are nothing but problems. People are always returning them. Just thought I would let you know.

    I hope you can find something to enjoy on TV, this evening, but, if not, getting started on your gardening journal is an excellent idea. Enjoy your tea and the springtime.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I do hope she will get a calmer temper after that surgery! But she knows she´s done wrong and does whatever she can to make Orvar forgive her.

      I have heard something similar about those combo tv´s so I think I´ll keep my eyes open for a good dvd/blue ray player instead. But there´s nothing special on tv, so I´ll keep on writing instead🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer…..nova looks so cute with that big stick. no wonder orvar wanted it. it was big enough for all three of them! it is such a good idea to write things down though i seldom remember to. i always think i will remember it but a year later i rarely remember what i did the year before. it is still very cold here though it is sunny. i hate daylight savings time. it just seems so unnatural. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Well she ditched that stick and tried to take the one Orvar had🙂 He, of course, refused to give it to her and I think he accidently chewed on her lip and then the fight started. The times she looses her temper she really looses it! and I think she might have psychological problems that we weren’t aware of before. She chews on her feet every now and again! I thought at first that she only was thorough when cleaning them, but a couple of days ago I saw that she chewed on them. Must talk with the vet about that too!

      Things does slip out of the mind much faster than one thinks🙂🙂

      It is unnatural to change time like that. I know that tonight I won´t be tired when I have to go to bed and tomorrow I´ll feel like dead when going up one hour earlier!!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Always a good idea to keep a journal for those times when the memory doesn’t work right!

    Besides, it will make some interesting reading in later years, don’t you think?

    • Hi Jim!
      Yes I think it´s a must to write these things down now and because I won´t remember anything later on I do believe that it will be interesting to read what I once knew🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. If I were you, I would NOT get the tv with the built-in player. I got a nice DVD player for $30 and if they come up with a new and improved, I can easily change it out. Then they had a sale for DVD players for only $24. that I hooked up to the old thick TV up in my art/spare bedroom.The old TV doesn’t receive digital and although I could hook a converter to it, I didn’t. All I really need up there is to watch DVD’s as I work on my projects.
    My terriers (terrors!) have beem much better since I picked them up from work. Maybe they just needed a “time-out” at the boarding kennel! Ha! Or maybe it was just me that needed the break. I’ve been so stressed with working all the over-time and then going to a funeral😦 that I think maybe MY nerves were shot and I need a break so that I could get back my “positive” energy!🙂
    Take care! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I just came back here from Your blog🙂🙂
      If I buy anything I most probably will buy a dvd/blue ray player and nothing else. The old tv works great to be honest so I really don´t need a thin one🙂🙂

      I think it might have been a combination between they realizing they gone to far and You being stressed by to much work and a funeral on top of that! Nova shows clearly that she knows she´s gone to far. But I´ve realized that she might be far more damaged than I thought at first by the abuse when she was young. She chews on her feet and that´s not a good sign. At first I thought she just was very thorough when she cleaned her feet but then I realized that she was chewing on them for a long period of time. I´ll talk with the vet about it when I meet him next time. It might be something she´ll stop doing when she finally feels secure of staying here permanent though.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. I laughed out loud when I saw the photo of Nova and the gigantic limb of a stick. I was thinking, “uh,oh this is going to get out of hand”. And it never fails that one “kid” is going to want the other ‘kid’s” stick! Beautiful snow drops and elderberry buds! I am happy to hear you are starting to use the journal; a very good idea to record the garden planning and planting and so forth!

    • Hi Robin!
      Well she finally thought that this particular stick was a bit to big, so she quickly moved over to Orvar and tried to take his stick🙂 Not a good move at all🙂🙂 But now they are friends again and she does know that she´s the one to blame in all this.

      I´ve started to write down different ways of sowing and propagation with different kinds of cuttings🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. We have house taxes due the end of this month so I will remain pennyless until end of April. Doesn’t that just do it for you? Glad you’re buying a new TV set; we should too but like you say, there is little improvement to what you want to watch. For news I can get more on the internet but still buy a morning newspaper. I think the paper and coffee go together.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Thankfully my cottage is so small and is placed in an area not many want to live in, due to no busses and no stores if the car breaks down, so my house tax is tiny🙂🙂 But I will be penny less to since Nova is going to be neutered on wednesday and that isn´t cheap. But it must be done, she can´t control her temper sometimes and even if my boys can´t be hurt by her, smaller dogs can so it´s best to do it now!

      So that means no new tv but that doesn´t matter, my old one works fine after all🙂

      Yes the paper and coffee/tea beats everything else🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  10. Verkar som om du haft en händelserik söndag med både hundslagsmål och betalning av räkningar och mer snö:) Här har det också snöat men tack o lov inte så mycket. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Jodu🙂 men här blev det nog 5-6 centimeter till slut, fast allt är bortsmällt idag🙂

      Ha det gott du med!
      Christer.

  11. Oh, the macro photos today are superb. They all are but I truly love close shots of flowers. We don’t have much that is that in bloom yet, here in southeastern Pennsylvania. Crocus, daffodils, sure, and the early shoots of the hosta, but nothing else. We had 70 degrees a few days ago and now it is 32 degrees F. I hope Nova does well with her surgery. How can I forward to you some photos from a local shopping village, where the grounds are beautiful? Please remind me again of what kind of camera you use? I think it will be another year before I can afford the digital SLR I have in mind, but I would like to get a better compact or point and shoot digital from what I have, preferably one that works in RAW format. Thanks!

    • Hi Nancy!
      I actually didn´t use the macro for those photographs, the camera made it anyway but that´s not the case every time. It all depends on the cameras mood🙂🙂

      We really have nothing else than snowdrops flowering here now, nothing has showed from my crocuses at all. But I live in what we call a cold hole so we´re always three or four weeks after everyone else around here🙂

      I´ll mail You in a while so You can send photographs to that mail address!

      I have a Nikon D3000. I bought it last year and I really like it! But is there ant compact camera that works in RAW format?

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • The Nikon D3100 works in RAW as does the Canon G12 which I guess is a compact as it is not a DSLR. Does the D3000 not work in RAW?

      • Hi Nancy!
        D300 is a DSLR and I think most Nikons are actually. I want that little mirror in my camera🙂 otherwise I wouldn´t have bought it🙂 So Yes my camera works in RAW but I seldom uses it.

        Have a great day now!
        Christer.

  12. Ahhh… the photos are lovely! With no snow on the ground, things are looking very spring-like and hopeful!
    We’ve been eating elderberries for years now, but maybe they’re a different species from yours, eh?

    • Hi Kate!
      There´s one elderberry bush that I know of that we can eat the berries from, the rest of them is said to be toxic for us. The edible one where one also can use the flowers has the scientiffic name Sambucus nigra and has black berries. When it comes to the red berried ones they now think that it might be possible to use the berries if the seeds are removed. I love lemonade made from them🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  13. Hi Christer,
    Love the elderberry shot. I used to have some in my swamp but other things moved in and pushed them out. I think it got too wet for them down there.
    Nova could be chewing her paws because she is still feeling stress about finding her place in the hierarchy. Someone told me to use roll-on deodorant on the paws to keep the dog from licking/chewing. Don’t know if it works.
    Finally got the bathroom sink installed with a new part to replace the one we broke. It’s nice to have a sink in there. I was tired of brushing my teeth in the pantry.🙂
    Have a good evening.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I have an elderberry bush in my garden but the climate is just to tough for it. It freezes down to the ground every winter. I do hope we´ll get some mild winters now so it finally can give me some flowers and berries🙂

      It´s either that or she just have moved around to much from when she was young and naturally being beaten is never a good thing. But I´ll talk more with the vet when I get there on Wednesday.

      Congratulations to Your new sink🙂 Yes I agree, it´s always nicer to brush the teeth in the bathroom🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  14. Christer, add my thoughts in with the other comments about not getting a conbo TV/DVD unit because sas you said in your post, what about if just one breaks down? We have several of the thin TVs but do not even subscribe to any cable services. Instead we use them to watch DVDs and agree that a better set doesn’t make for better TV viewing. One of the DVD units, which is well over 10 years old, is often hanging up in the middle of a movie, but not all the time. We did buy a small DVD unit at a local thrift store so have a backup when it totally fails. It was not a fancy unit but the price at $10 (U.S.) was a great deal. I enjoyed the forest and water photos today and the elderberry bud was great.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      My oldest dvd player does like Yours do, stop in the middle of the film🙂 and the one I have in my old computer works if it finally decides to start at all🙂🙂🙂 But that has to wait now when Nova is going in to be neutered. I hope that will help her to calm down from both her really bad temper that she sometimes can´t control and that chewing on her feet.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

