And so the working week is over.

The sky had turned grey by the time I came home from work, but before we got home from the walk the sky was clear blue again.

Finally the wind has calmed down, or perhaps it just changed direction so I can´t feel it here. The sky is clear blue with only a few clouds far away and that means the night will be cold again. I don´t mind as long as it doesn´t snow🙂🙂🙂

Now it´s possible to see a little part of one of all the villages on the mountain to the left in the photograph. Click on the photograph to make it bigger and hopefully better.

I could hear the cranes from  the lake this morning and that´s because there´s over 1500 of them there now. I passed the lake on my way to the grocery store in Gudhem this afternoon and now there´s some open water and lots of different birds there. I didn´t have my camera with me or the money to put in the parking meter they put up there every year when the cranes comes.

All the money put in those meters goes directly to the birds that takes a break in their flight northwards because they eat tons of seeds every spring. Once upon a time the cranes stopped here because they had a distillery here making alcohol out of potatoes. Lots of potatoes were never dug up and cranes loves potatoes that has been frozen. But they shut down the distillery and many of the cranes stopped to take a break here so they gave them seeds instead. Now those birds brings more tourists than any other thing here in this county.

They both want the same stick.

She really doesn´t understand that she is a much smaller dog than orvar🙂

Unfortunately I forgot to get change that I can put in that parking meter so I will most probably not go there this weekend, but You can all relax there will be photographs of cranes and other migrating birds by the lake here in my blog before they all leave🙂

The struggle over the stick is somewhat uneven🙂 A 45 kg (99 pond) big dog against a 20 kg (44 pond) dog and I have never seen Orvar giving up a good stick🙂

Orvar got tired of the stick after a while and then Nova and Hector broke it in two pieces🙂

I have a pot of tea ready by my side but I´m so tired today that I´d rather go to bed to be honest🙂 But it is after all SciFi night at channel six so I´ll be up all night🙂                           Have a great day now!

18 thoughts on “And so the working week is over.

  1. I never knew Cranes eat potatoes. They must peck at them as a whole potatoe would be too much for one to handle, I would think. But we all can’t wait for photos of the Cranes this year. Try to get some close up shots. Thanks!

    • Hi Z&M!
      I have no idea how they ate the potatoes, but since it was the ones left in the ground during winter I guess they were rather mushy in the consistence.

      Hopefully I can see some flying close to the cottage and get some good photographs of them, otherwise I´m afraid You´ll have to wait for some time more🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. Kul att det har kommit så många tranor nu;) Vi har grejat i trädgården hela dagen och det har varit underbart:) Ha en trevlig helg/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Ja nu trillar de in minsann🙂 Igår var det ju helt fantastiskt ute, men det blev inte alls lika varmt idag. Men jag stod ju på jobbet hela tiden så mig störde det inte🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer, bet you are glad the work week is over. In today’s photos, I liked the third photo in which the tree reflections show in the water. Of course, reflections of any type are so interesting to me and sometimes more so than the actual objects being reflected. Also, I just caught up on a couple of days of reading and Nova is certainly difficult some days. I liked seeing the 3 dogs together and hope they are feeling better from the sour stomachs which it seemed from th running and stick pulling they were doing. Also hope the hot tea helped your sore throat. Enjoy your sci-fi evening and the weekend.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      That´s my favorite photograph for today too🙂

      Nova does have her ups and downs🙂🙂🙂 But it works really good most of the time. No more bad stomachs at the moment and I do hope it will stay that way for a long time now🙂 My throat however is still a bit sour but nothing compared to yesterday🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Christer,
    Enjoy scifi night-I’d be right there with you if I could. Nothing better than science fiction movies to while away the evening, especially the B movies!

    • Hi Kat!
      Tonight’s movie is about Mutants🙂 Mutant´s chronicles and I guess it´s a B movie🙂🙂 As You say, they are the best🙂

      Have a great day now!

      Christer.

  5. It’s nice to see solid ground, again! They put up the meters for the cranes? Gosh, I didn’t even know that they carried any money! Enjoy your SciFi and tea.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I do hope it stays that way now because I´m so tired of snow and winter now!

      No that´s for humans parking their cars 🙂 But they change the money to seeds for the birds instead🙂 Tourists are camping by the lake now and will continue to do so for quite some time, It´s amazing to see 15 000 cranes around the lake, but I think we had 18500 here as most one year.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. hi christer….at first i thought it was awful that they put up parking metes to see the cranes. but knowing that they use the money to feed the birds is a very good idea! does anyone police the meters or is putting money in them optional? i love seeing the pups playing with sticks. they are just like little kids playing with toys. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I got that feeling the first time I saw those meters too🙂🙂 But then I read the info on them and then I thought it was quite ok🙂 I have never heard that anyone police them so I think it´s optional, but every one pays. Some live in their caravans there for weeks now and they get a discount on the price. There´s also a little café they open every crane season and it´s fairly cheap.

      It is much like seeing kids playing when they run around with their sticks🙂 Like when I was little and we played Your it🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer,
    It’s not size but stamina and determination that wins the stick. It doesn’t hurt if one is a female, either.🙂
    It’s cloudy and sunny here but on the cold side. Some of the birds are singing territorial songs but it’s a half-hearted effort. The time is not quite right.
    I’d like to go to bed early but I’ll be prepping some more walls for paint. Enjoy SciFi night.

    • Hi Caryn!
      True and Orvar is both big and probably the most stubborn dog I know🙂 Nova didn´t stand a chance of winning that struggle🙂🙂🙂

      It´s Saturday morning here now and it´s absolutely fantastic outside, but also 15,8F. I think I´ll have a cup of hot tea before we get out on our walk🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. I never realized until today’s photos, how much smaller Nova is than the other two dogs. It does not seem to bother her, however. Beautiful photos, as always. Interesting tidbit about the cranes and potatoes.

    • Hi Nancy!
      Photographs can sort of lie sometimes. Nova isn´t even half the size of the boys but that doesn´t stop her at all🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!
      It´s because their constant lack of money that wee poor humans have to pay🙂

      The SciFi movie was so bad so I went to bed instead🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

