Never relax even for a second :-)

It has been a very nice day today even if the wind still blows hard here. 12,4C (53,9F) and sunshine makes the soul happy🙂 Sometimes planning doesn´t work as it´s supposed to do so suddenly we had nothing to paint at work, even if we really have an awful lot to paint🙂 So I stood outside and high pressure washed some huge things they will paint with normal paint (as some of You know I paint with powder that we electrify with 90 000 volts).

I have to say that I couldn´t have done a better thing🙂 The wind couldn´t reach me where I stood and the sun warmed me up. I had one more hour to work when I had finished the job and realized I really didn´t want to go in to the factory again, so I asked if I could go early and came home really early🙂🙂

It´s only on open fields that Nova is allowed going around without a leash for now.

We walked to the stone circle hill and Nova, or as I fondly likes to call her now “the little demon from hell” was leashed all the time. I didn´t let her go without the leash until we came to the hill because from there I can see here everywhere. Yesterday I trusted her and had to regret that a lot You see. We walked down to the creek and she stayed close to me all the time, except for that time when she tried to walk on the ice in the ditches and the ice broke🙂🙂

This is how the sky looked yesterday morning.

We came down to the creek and she wasn´t more than a couple of meters (the same in yards) from me until we reached the end of the forest. I stopped for two seconds and took a photograph and suddenly she was gone!! I shouted as friendly as I could, but that´s really hard to do🙂🙂 for over an hour and no Nova in sight. My first thoughts was that she had gone through the ice somewhere else and drowned. But after that both I and Hector had to refill ourselves with our medicines so we had to go home without her.

The water flows up through a hole in the ice that You can see just below the water surface.

I had to change clothes and shoes too, there is only a few dry places out here now when the snow and ice is melting and my shoes were soaking wet. We went back again (I had hoped that she already had come home before us to be honest) and went the same way we got there the first time and I was shouting loud the whole time. We came to the end of the forest and walked to a small hill, well hill is to much to call it a hump is a better word🙂 and when we got there the little demon from hell wandered out and met us, strangely enough completely dry!!??

The entrance to the forbidden forest.

So I believe that she had been there all the time but since I shouted really loud trying to be heard through the strong wind, she most probably believed I was really angry and stayed so I couldn´t see her. I was naturally relieved but also angry, wanting to strangle her, when i finally saw her🙂 But I just put the leash over her head and went home again. Since she once were abused it´s no good idea to yell at her at all. But she wasn´t allowed to sleep by my head last night but down by my feet instead🙂 So if the weather permits it we´ll start training on coming back when I shout after her, with lots and lots of treats🙂🙂🙂

It´s time to drink a lot of tea with the strawberry honey I got from Joyce some time ago. My throat is really aching after yesterdays shouting🙂🙂                                                           Have a great day now!

You can see some of Nova to the right in this photograph and one second later she was gone for two hours!!

24 thoughts on “Never relax even for a second :-)

  1. How sweet of you not to yell and scold Nova when you do finally find her, although I’m sure you want to strangle her at that point!🙂 Yes, she was probably afraid that she would be punished if she came out from wherever she was. She is probably just enjoying this freedom she has never known and just forgets what she is supposed to do in her new environment…like come when she’s called! ha ha!
    Yes, I’m sure with your kind patience and plenty of treats that she will in time, learn her boundaries. She’s a lucky girl!!🙂

    • Hi Chris!
      Well there was really no use in yelling when she actually did come🙂🙂🙂 but You´re so right, strangling was the kindest thing I wanted to do to her🙂🙂🙂

      She has had a tough life growing up, but the couple she lived with before she came to me have made a miracle with her! She really is a fantastic dog otherwise🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I have to say I was looking forward to Nova’s latest transgression after you mentioned it in your replies yesterday. Seeing that she has some terrier in her breeding, you are going to have to be two steps ahead of her all the time.🙂 Work on that recall and get her fixed now. At least you won’t have to worry about little Novae showing up after one of her tearaways.
    Hector looks quite pleased with himself as if to say “I would never do such a thing. No sirree!”😉
    Enjoy the rest of the day.

    • Hi Caryn!🙂 I´ll call the vet as soon as possible to get that surgery done as soon as possible. But they only answers the phone between 8-9 am and that´s when I´m the most busy at work. I really don´t want any more puppies in the house, they are adorable but I´m always exhausted a long time after they all are gone🙂🙂🙂 But it is a good thing that she either goes home or to the place where we were together🙂

      Hector does look that way🙂 But he does walk away sometimes too, but only to my neighbors to see if he can find anything edible on their compost🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Didn’t you say she was abused by the previous owner? Maybe that has something to do with her malcontent. Sad but we do read of dogs going out too far in waters and not making it back to the shoreline. We lost a Great Dane that way. So you can’t be too careful when it comes to dogs and water. She was testing you.

    • Hi Z&M!
      It was the ones before the previous owners that abused her. But I think it´s the hunt of voles, moles and mice that makes her walk her own way and the hunt is so much more interesting than listening to me shouting after her🙂🙂 But as You say, it might have been a test of what she´s allowed to do too.
      Thankfully she doesn´t like water in the way that she swims out in it, but the ice is traitorous now and there´s always the risk of breaking it when walking on it, even for a small dog like Nova.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. So glad Nova’s absence wasn’t due to a mishap, just her misbehavior. I can imagine how many emotions you must have been feeling while she was missing…worry, anger, frustration…She just loves to go off on her own, I suppose. And now she has a taste of wandering the woods alone, and finding voles and such. I would keep a leash on her for a while. So Good Luck with the training!!!

    • Hi Robin!
      Millions of thoughts went through my head those two hours🙂 But it´s my own fault to be honest, I haven´t had to think about dogs running away for many years now so I´ve been a bit lazy to be honest. It´s so much easier when they grow up in ones home from the beginning so that they learn all rules already from day one🙂 Nova was grown up when she came here and even if the previous owners were great for her she still has a sad background that still is there like an old ghost.

      So now I´ll use a leash on her all the time we´re in the forest or by the bog, in the open fields it´s more difficult for her to just disappear like that🙂 The weather forecast says cold but sunny weather so we´ll start training on Saturday🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Christer hi!
    When I read the post title, then I thought: it was Nova!
    She is still a child and makes mischief. I think you’ll still spend a lot of cookies and lots of patience to fix it there.
    I get nervous just thinking about Nova releases in the fields.
    And I can well imagine his distress … and of course, will and strangle her :)))
    Kisses for all
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      I guess that thought came automatically🙂🙂🙂 But she is to old to say that she´s a child still, she´s actually 19 months old now🙂 But she will continue to do things I don´t want if I don´t keep an eye on her all the time🙂🙂🙂

      I did get very stressed imagining all the awful things that might happen to her and some things I would like to do to her, like strangle her🙂🙂🙂 But now we´ll train with lots of yummy treats🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Nova tänker bara på sina egna nöjen och vill testa hur långt hon kan gå – och inte bryr hon sig om att andra oroar sig för var hon är och gör. Låter som en typisk tonåring tycker jag! Det går alltså över!!
    Fick höra en mycket sorglig historia igår. En bekant hade för många år sen en yorkie som väl var en 13-14 år. Sen skaffade sig bekanten barn och det tyckte inte hunden om. Babyn fick all uppmärksamhet, den skrek nästan jämt – speciellt på nätterna när hunden ville sova. En natt så tröttnade hunden och började skälla och hoppa upp och ner framför vaggan.
    Mamman – som också var trött – blev arg, skällde på hunden och öppnade dörren och tvingade ut hunden. Hunden hade tidigare ALDRIG gått någon annanstans än till svärföräldrarna som bodde på andra sidan den lilla infartsvägen, men den här gången såg hon hunden springa ut på vägen förbi deras hus. Mamman visste hon gjort fel så hon kastade på sig lite kläder och sprang efter i mörkret. Det här var alltså mitt i natten.
    Där sprang hon och skrek på hunden, men hunden bara pinnade på. Så hör hon en bil komma, hunden ställer sig mitt på vägen och starrbligar mot ljuset – och bilföraren, en 18-årig grabb, körde rätt över den.
    Hunden dog naturligtvis omedelbart (som tur var), grabben var otröstlig och min bekant visste att det var hennes fel och kan aldrig förlåta sig själv – alltså har det inte blivit någon mer hund efter yorkien!
    Vilken mardröm!!

    • Tjänare Susie!
      När hon kommer in i sitt sökande efter sorkar blir hon döv för världen många gånger, men eftersom hon var ren och torr tror jag hon kan ha blivit lite rädd när jag skrek efter henne som en galning🙂🙂🙂 Men det är rackarns svårt att låta snäll samtidigt som man tar i för fulla muggar🙂 Men visst är hon som en tonåring den lilla demonen🙂

      En sådan otrevlig histotria! tack och lov är det riktigt långt till vägar här och alla som bor i byn vet att det dyker upp alla slags djur när som helst på vägen. Men jag kan ju förstå hur alla inblandade kände sig efter det!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. oh boy!!! nova sure is a pip! i am so glad you found her. good to hear you are still using some of the stuff i sent to you! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Yes she sure is and I´m happy that she always walks either back home or to the place she left at. I talked with the previous owner and they said she did the same when she ran away fom them sometimes🙂

      The two different honeys and the maple syrup I have left is used carefully🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. hi christer…i have been thinking about nova all day. i think she might finally feel so safe and secure in your family that she is acting like the young puppy she never got to be. if she felt threatened by any of you, i doubt that she would risk the threat of being horribly isolated by the group. i think she thinks she is finally home! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Yes that might be the case! But I sure hope she´ll grow up fast in that case🙂🙂🙂
      She knows she´s done something really wrong because she waits for me to put on the leash now🙂

      Christer.

  9. Oh Christer I’ve had that same scare ! When out at my mums my dog jack took off one day while out walking .He and lizzie normally run run run with my mums dog dusty but always go back and forth between me and the bush .One day they heard other huskies calling or sometimes the coyotes too I can’t tell which is which and jack took off . he would not come back !
    We called and called but nothing . I walked back to my mother’s place and after about an hr. he came wandering into the yard . happy as a puppy could be . looking at me with that “what ?” expression on his face !
    I felt just as I do when I’ve thought a child has been missing scared , upset and even angry but jack too had been abused before and he truly thought he was just being a real dog , not my little jack jack😉
    did I tell you my dd loves black labs and has a big goofy fellow named Fritz🙂
    Christer I can hardly wait for 12c ! It is coming , we just missed a snow storm it wernt below us into the Dakotas so I was happy .No more winter please !
    this coming week is to be sunny with temps of above 0c so the snow may be gone lets hope.
    This new blog format is really nice .I like the photos seem much more clear and size is just a tad bigger ( good for my aging eyes )
    I love your updates Christer
    Lov Rox

    • Hi Rox!
      I haven´t had to worry about any dog running away for many years now. They have all grown up here and sort of learned the rules from the day they were born. Nova however is grown up and even if the previous owners made a great dog out of her when they got her she still has many rules to learn. But she is really a fantastic little dog with the occasional deafness when I call on her🙂🙂🙂
      Fritz is a great name on a dog🙂 and I do love labs. I was planning on getting one or a lab mix this summer but the rescue centers call changed that🙂 Well maybe next time🙂

      It´s going to get colder again, but no snow thankfully🙂 I really wish spring could continue without any colder periods now. But I´m happy as long as it isn´t winter🙂🙂

      Yes Word Press really shows the photographs so much better! All lying photographs does get bigger and better if one clicks on them as You already knows. I feel there are less problems here too, even if we´ve had some these last days.

      Have a great day my friend!
      Christer.

  10. I totally get how you would want to strangle her! I’m kinda feeling the same way about my 2 terriers right now. They jumped on my Ruby over an ice cube and then the next day jumped on my 5# little Rosie because I got the cereal box out (I sometimes give them Shredded Wheat as a treat) I was so mad that I left them overnight at my boarding place to give myself a break from them. Later I realized that one on them actually BIT Rosie on the back of the neck! I”m getting angry again just thinking about it! So, it seems like I have alot of work to do with them😦😦😦
    and it sounds like you have work to do too!
    Good Luck! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Terriers are special dogs thats for sure🙂🙂 We don´t know how much terrier it really is in Nova but my guess is that it´s at least 50%. I´ve never had a terrier before but I know how much energy they have and that they never quit🙂🙂🙂

      Yes I do have lots of work🙂🙂 But one usually comes far with lots of treats🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  11. Såja tonåringen är i farten hör jag. Du det finns många sätt säger dom som kan få bukt med det där…………..sa hon som har haft 2 vita idioter som aldrig hajjat läget. Man kan negligera dom när man hittar dom, avvisning helt enkelt. Kan var lite marigt när man är orolig och lite hysteriskt arg. Eller att man jamsar med dom andra så hon blir sotis, kan locka henne tillbaka om hon är nyfiken och vill vara i centrum. Kräver dock nerver av stål, hihi, har du sånna *ler stort*?????
    Nä men jag håller med dig det finns inget så nervöst som att leta hund. Nu har vi BARA 40 cm höga snövallar på hela gården, kanske blir vår här med.
    Kram LjusneLotta & Co

    • Tjänare Lotta!
      Jodu! Tror jag prövade de metoderna men inte skam hjälpte det🙂🙂🙂 Det blir till att försöka minnas hur jag gjorde med gamla Sickan, för hon var precis likadan. Vad jag än gjorde blev hon en mycket bättre hund än jag förtjänade🙂🙂🙂

      Det är ju nästan sommar hos er då när ni har så lite snö🙂🙂🙂 Här är nästan allt borta nu tack och lov🙂

      Ha det gott min vän!
      Christer.

  12. Gorgeous pictures, today! Thank you, Christer. I agree with Joyce that Nova is finally feeling comfortable with you and your guys and was just feeling her sprintime oats! She’ll settle down, before long, and then you’ll feel terrible that she’s not worrying you so much!😎 Come visit when you.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      But it would be rather nice not having to worry so much🙂🙂 I haven´t had to do that for years and sort of liked when I didn´t have to worry🙂🙂 But she´s a terrier and border collie so she has the determination and the intelligence to keep on for many years more🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

