Finally the forest and the bog.

Finally I dared walk this way again!

I heard a very familiar sound this morning when I had gone down to the kitchen, the sound of cranes. I looked in the sky when I opened the door for my dogs and saw two cranes circle around in the sky. But I had put the battery to my camera in the charger and I had to avoid what one of the dogs had done on the floor during the night. So when I finally had my camera ready the cranes had flown away. So I started to clean up the mess instead. Thankfully it seems the worst is over now but I´ll continue to feed them boiled rice and fish for a while.

This one is for Grenville even if it isn´t a John Deer tractor🙂 I don´t know how old it is but I know it´s a BM.

Most creeks are ice free now.

But not all roads.

When I got out the front door to let my dogs in to the doghouse/ yard I saw another familiar sight, the nesting crane couple had arrived too and was circling above their place on the bog. But I didn´t have the time to fetch my camera so no crane photographs today either.

I talked with my neighbor on our walk to the fields when I came home and found out that no one has seen the two! foxes with scabies (I thought that it only was one) for a long time, so I changed my mind and we went in to the forest and to the bog for the for the first time in weeks🙂 I do like the open fields but I love the forest and the bog🙂

I kept my eyes extra on little Super Nova because of her resent trip on her own to this area🙂 She was like a rubber ball in the beginning so I had to use my angry voice several times🙂🙂🙂 As soon as she didn´t do exactly as I told her the angry voice echoed in the forest and she came running like crazy back to me🙂 But she did behave exemplary on our way home🙂 I really want to let her walk free of a leash just like my two boys always does, so I´m afraid the angry voice will be heard for quite some time yet🙂

It´s time to make dinner for tomorrow and something to eat for tonight. It´s getting dark outside and I think I might hear some migrating birds if I open the door later, surprisingly many flies around during the night.                                                                                                   Have a great day now!

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Finally the forest and the bog.

  1. The wilderness photos are just great today Christer, as always I should say. Love the one with that big old bear dog too. Sorry they are sick but keep that rice going as it will bring them back to normal. I see the portal is almost closed. Didn’t that mean, last year, Spring had arrived?

    • Hi Z&M!
      I do like the bear photo too🙂 I tell Orvar every day that he is my big friendly bear🙂

      I think the worst stomach problems are over now, but they will have fish and rice for yet some time, just in case🙂

      That´s not the Portal. The Portal is still open and bare of leafs so no entrance to the magic kingdom for yet a while🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. Christer!
    I’m happy that you have no more snow, I can see you smiling🙂
    What beautiful pictures of the 3!
    I fell in love Orvar look🙂
    I hope they improve soon the stomach, they should not be happy with a diet of rice and fish.
    And here in Salvador windy and dark sky, this morning the wind breaks and a transformer was a huge noise in the morning. And of course we were without power until morning.
    kisses to all
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      I´m happy too, but snow can come yet. It´s not uncommon that it snows in April🙂

      Yes fish and rice calms down most stomachs and I hope they will get better soon. I´m tired of washing the floor early in the morning🙂🙂🙂
      It´s very easy to fall in love with Orvar🙂 He´s my big friendly bear🙂

      It happens that transformers does make noise here too and that we´re out of electricity for some time🙂 Especially when we have a thunderstorm🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Welcome back to the Forest!! Great photos of everything, especially the individual photos of each dog! I am looking forward to crane photos, so keep that camera with you at all times!!

    • Hi Robin!
      It was so nice to finally come out to the forest and bog again🙂 I´ve missed the place with all creatures living there!

      The winds are to strong at the moment so most cranes seems to stay on the ground in the early morning, but they will be photographed that I can promise🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Good to see the forest and the bog again. It’s not surprising that Nova was bouncing around like a ball. Bogs and forests are such wonderful places for a vole hunting champion. Be careful not to strain your Angry Voice from overuse.🙂

    I saw some chionadoxa just peeking up through the soil. Things are moving along here. Soon there will be something in bloom besides the skunk cabbage.

    Have a good evening.

    • Hi Caryn!
      It felt like coming home again when we reached the bog🙂
      Yes there are a lot more exiting small creatures to search for in the forest for Nova🙂🙂 I had to strain my voice today, but more of that tomorrow🙂

      No sight of any chionadoxa´s here yet and I only have a few of them, they don´t seem to like it very much in the soil we have here.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Tried to leave a comment, earlier, but WP was having problems. I love the forest photos and the dogs. They’re going to have a ball, this summer. Hopefully, their tummies will have settled and you won’t have to worry about where you put your foot!😎 Come visit when you can.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Word Press has had a lot of problems lately. Sometimes I can´t get in here at all! I do hope things will turn to the better soon!
      No stomach problems today🙂🙂 So I do hope they will stay that way for long now🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Very nice pictures that make it look like Spring is nearly set there!

    I love the pics of the forest and the dogs around the trees! Also, it must be nice to see ground again instead of ice and snow!

    • Hi Jim!
      Thank you🙂
      Well it seems spring has arrived here now, but one never knows. Snow can come any time yet I´m afraid but I´ll enjoy this as long as it lasts🙂

      It was really nice to be able to take a walk in the forest and by the bog again! I feel more at home there than on the fields to be honest. But I was a bit surprised over how much snow and ice still was left in there.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer, sorry the dogs all have not feeling well, so rice and fish are a cure? Handy knowledge if we ever have a dog again, although boiling fish doesn’t seem too pleasant either. The forest photos were beautiful and nice to see the land and trees without the snowfall again. Thanks for posting the tractor photo for Grenville!

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Well I´m surprised it doesn´t happen more often to be honest, considering all strange things they eat🙂🙂 and the best thing to give them when that happens is boiled fish and rice, chicken works too. But it isn´t that bad to boil fish🙂 Boiling kidneys is much worse🙂🙂

      I came to think of Grenville as soon as I saw my neighbor with his old tractor🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • Hi Nancy!
      Nova is neither as far as we know. Officially she´s a Border collie/ staffordshire bullterrier mix but we think there are more breeds in there somewhere🙂 But there´s lab in both Orvar and Hector.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

