Oh Joy of Joys….

Oh Joy of Joys! All three dogs has bad stomachs! Isn´t that great 🙂 Especially since none of them understands that it would be a good thing to wake me up if they have to go out. No all of them, yes even Nova, sits by the kitchen door pressing themselves hard towards it and hopes for the best. Not a good strategy if I may say so myself 🙂 I usually wakes up when the smell reaches my bedroom.

The pond behind my garage is over flowing with water, well it´s really the start of the bog.

Not much snow left, again!

Well I am a bit unfair towards Hector to be honest. He does run around like crazy sometimes and if I´m lucky he does that close to my bed so I wake up by the noise. So from now on they all mostly eats cooked rice and very little else. I would have given them some boiled fish too if I had some but as usual I walked around in the store trying to remember what it was that I really needed. I came home with lots of things, but not any fish to boil.

You know there must be starlings nearby if a tree starts to sound like a car alarm 🙂

We reached 10,5C (51F) today but it has been a cloudy and windy day so it didn´t annoy me that I had to work 🙂 But now comes the time when it isn´t necessary to have a fire in the stove because it´s cold indoors. No now comes the time it´s necessary to have a fire in the stove because of Jackdaws 🙂

A good stick is always worth a fight 🙂

As many of You now knows Jackdaws are one of my favorite kind of birds. It´s a close relative to the crow, has only black and grey as colors and smells really awful. But they are just as intelligent as a parrot and I once had a tame one 🙂 His name was Robert and he only had a small problem saying it because r´s are difficult for birds to say. So mostly he said Vobert 🙂 🙂 🙂

It broke in two so Nova got one part.

And Hector got one part of the stick.

So why do I think there´s a problems with these wonderful birds? They do love to build their nests in chimneys and are clever enough and strong enough to remove many different hinders. If they can´t remove a hinder they still tries to push down sticks and things down the chimney anyway 🙂 🙂 🙂 So I will continue to have a small fire in the stove until I know they all have nests and that can take some time 🙂 🙂

Orvar didn´t care about any stupid stick.

Neither did Bertil.

It´s time to make something to eat and to ignore Teodor as good as I can. He sits on the ladder outside my kitchen window and shouts 🙂 No I´m not cruel! He´s been running in and out like crazy this last hour and now I´m tired to open the doors for him all the time 🙂 🙂 Enough is enough I say!                                                                                                                 Have a great day now!

Nova soon got tired of her stick and started to look for other things to do, like vole hunting 🙂

 

18 thoughts on “Oh Joy of Joys….

  1. Gud vad jobbigt att de alla tre är dassiga i magen! Hoppas att det snart går över:) Jag tycker också att kajor är fina, det är verkligen häftigt att de är så smarta. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Visst är det toppen 🙂 🙂 Fjärtarna smattrar uppe på övervåningen just nu 🙂

      Kajor är otroligt roliga fåglar, men de är ganska så irriterande med sina försök att bygga bo i skorstenen 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer….i wonder why all three of them have the doggy trots? maybe nova is sharing her voles with them. i still can’t figure why teddy refuses to go in the car to the park. it has been a week since she has gone there. this is the first time in almost 6 years. we have been hauling mulch for the gardens in the part of the car which is hers and we are thinking that might be it. maybe she doesn’t like the smell. though as soon as we put mulch down in the garden she rolls in it. go figure! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Well they do eat anything they find on the ground, so I´m surprised this doesn´t happen more often 🙂 But from what I saw when she cought her last vole I doubt she would share with the others 🙂 🙂 🙂

      It is strange that Teddy behaves like that! Do You know if her eyesight is worse after the infection? If so that could make her a bit insecure when being outside her own domains. It could be the smell too, but still most dogs loves it 🙂 But a smell in the wrong place might annoy her of course. I do hope she´ll change her mind soon!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Sorry that your dogs are sick. They can make a big mess when stuck indoors. Sad too that all three had it at the same time. You need to build a barn for your car and put the dogs in there overnight. Just trying to help. I limit our pets to two that we spoil and the feral family that isn’t really any maintenance since I gave up tracking them, they are too fast for me and have figured out traps. But I enjoy feeding them and playing with them while gardening. Almost always when I’m in the garden I have a free watch cat somewhere on the edges. They just sit and watch me work. I have fallen in love with little Karlacita. She’s my favorite and if I had the money I would trap and keep her.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Thankfully it only was a small mess this morning. But I can´t hear their stomachs working like I could yesterday so I hope it will stay with farting as they do a lot right now 🙂
      But I can imagine how especially Orvar would howl all night if he wasn´t allowed to sleep in the cottage with me 🙂 🙂 🙂

      All feral cats here gets adopted by the farms so they become rather tame, at least towards the farmers. They do come here sometimes but strangely enough it seems they panic every time a big and happy dog comes to greet them 🙂 🙂 I remember when I visited a huge and famous graveyard in Paris, many older women fed all feral (and some tame) cats there. I think there were at least a couple of hundred feral cats in every graveyard. The women could handle every single cat but if I came close they all ran away.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Well at least they threw up at your back door!
    Mine throw up on the bed as we are sleeping! I HATE that! If I hear the gagging sound, I try to set them on the floor before they barf! Once, several years ago when I had really long hair, one of them vomited in it as I slept! AARRGGGGGhhhhh!!!!
    I woke up and ran to wash it out! It made me “sick” too. So you see, it could be WORSE! 🙂 😦

    LOL! Bertil and Orvar don’t need no stupid stick! Ha! Funny!
    🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Oh I wish it was throwing up they do 🙂 🙂 No it´s the worst kind of diarrhea they have! I´ll let them out real late tonight and then hope for the best 🙂 But I have to say that it can´t have been especially nice having a dog throwing up in Your hair 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. It’s hard to say what makes them sick when they’re running around, but I’ll bet they’ve been eating those voles or found something they could all share… the rice should calm them down. But, it’s hard work on the master, no? Keeps the adrenaline flowing, though, so that’s good. Enjoy your 51 degrees and tea.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I think it´s most likely it´s deer droppings they have eaten even if they have done that since they were young. Or they might have found something dead and rotten to eat too, the smellier the better 🙂 🙂

      Yes it is hard work for me 🙂 But it felt like all adrenaline just flowed away this morning 🙂 🙂 🙂 But I do like the smell of chlorine 🙂 🙂

      It got even warmer today 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. This post made me laugh 🙂

    I liked the pictures of Bertil ‘enjoying the day’ in the previous post. Cats in the sun just look fantastic.

    Have a good afternoon/evening 🙂

    • Hi Perovskia!
      I´ll most likely laugh in a month or so too 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Bertil did enjoy that day of sunshine 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Ibland så blir dom små liven sjuka eller gamla och har svårt att hålla sig. Inte dirket kul, men det är ju inget dom kan rå för. Synd bara att dom inte lär sig vad det är dom blir sjuka av, det vore rätt skönt!
    Som tur är skriker Penny så vansinnigt högt vid ytterdörren så man måste vara döv för att inte vakna. Men…det verkar som om min gubbe är nästan helt döv på ett öra! För ligger han på det opererade som han hör hyfsat med, då hör han ingenting. Så det är alltså jag som i nio fall av tio får gå upp ett par gånger varje natt för att släppa henne. Hon dricker nämligen numera väldigt mycket vatten – och speciellt precis innan hon ska sova – det går ju så med gamlingar när saker och ting som njurar håller på att ta slut. Och inte kan man ta bort vattenskålen på kvällen heller, då skriker hon som en galning tills man tröttnar! :- )

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Nej det är ju ingen idé att bli arg, bara till att ta fram spannen och clorinen och börja svabba 🙂

      Jag önskar mina kunde föra en massa ljud som er Penny gör! Ingen av alla de hundarna som härstammar från gamla Viran har gett ifrån sig något ljud när de behövt ta sig ut fort. De bara sitter där och trycker sig mot dörren och hoppas på det bästa 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Erna drack också mängder det sista men orkade alltid hålla sig tills nästa morgon, men så är vi oftast uppe runt fem ändå 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  8. hi christer…..i figured out why teddy would not go to the park. chow chows are really fussy about water. though teddy will run into a lake and lay down, she hates little puddles of water. a couple of times her water bowl spilled just the tiniest amount of water in the back of the car where she sits and she totally freaked out. we have a suburban and the entire back area is teddy’s kennel. her territory! we keep a cooling mat under her blankets back there to keep her comfortable. it is a thin mat filled with water. recently, my husband has been buying these huge bags of mulch and loading them back there. i hardly ever use this car so i never look in the back of it. theweight of the mulch bags caused the water mat to leak. i went out there this morning and looked in the back of the car. her entire area was like a wet sponge. of course, my husband never noticed a thing. the last time she was in the car was after he brought the last batch of mulch home. he had to take her to the vet which is a 3 hour round trip. poor teddy sat on those soaking wet blankets for the entire trip. no wonder she wouldn’t get back in the car. so, i soaked up all the water and put down a bunch of towels and some new dry blankets and she went to the park and had a great time. my husband said that when he opened the door and she saw the park she cried a little bit. she was so excited to be back there. and then i killed my husband. the end.

    • Hi Joyce!
      I´m so glad it wasn´t anything worse, even if it must have been terrible for poor Teddy! But even if I like taking a bath I wouldn´t have liked to sit down on something as wet as that 🙂 🙂 I can imagine how happy she must have been when she finally came to the park again!

      Thanks!
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Christer,
    It’s good to see the cats and dogs again. Sorry about the bad stomachs-Gracie once had that same problem but in her crate. Yikes!

    I love to see your world is so much greener.

    • Hi Kat!
      I have to admit that it´s amazing that they don´t have bad stomachs more often after all! All those halkf rotten things they find and eat sometimes 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Well it´s greener for the moment, but it can still come more snow and cold weather here all through April if we are unlucky.

      Have a great day now and take care!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

