Winter wonderland and a dogs that just makes me crazy :-)

There were no signs in the sky of how it would look here in the morning.

I know I can´t trust any weather forecast here but still, I really didn´t expect 10 cm (4 inches) of snow outside when I woke up this morning🙂 But that was nothing compared to how much snow it was on the long road between the village and the highway to work. I was the first one driving on the road this morning and became the one that plowed the road with my small and low Mazda. I think it was around 30 cm (12 inches) of snow on the road and I wasn´t even close to drive to fast🙂🙂🙂

Tomorrow night the moon will be full and closer to earth that it has been for over twenty years.

This is what I saw this morning.

I managed to buy some more fire logs on my way home and I saw hundreds of geese on the fields outside the village, eating what ever they could find in the snow that only had melted slowly during the day.

I wonder if I actually can paint my door so it looks like it does now. I like the green on the brown door but algae and moss is never good on wood.

We had walked our promenade and the dogs had eaten their food when they all wanted to go out into the garden again. I think I left them out of sight for five minutes and suddenly I only had one dog left! After shouting and whistling for a minute or two one more came home from god knows where, but Nova was still missing.

When she hadn´t come home after ten minutes I walked out on the field outside my cottage and started shouting after her. No dog to be seen anywhere. It couldn´t be because she couldn´t hear me, believe me🙂 I have sung in choirs for several years and and my lung capacity is 50% bigger than that on an average person so my voice echoed over the fields, the forest and the bog🙂

So we walked the way we most often walk and especially to a place where she had cought a vole this afternoon. She got really annoyed when I didn´t allow her to eat it too🙂 But the vole were still there and I couldn´t see any tracks from her either. We were out for half an hour and I had given up for a while and talked with a neighboring couple so they could keep there eyes open too. Just when they were about to leave a small black dog could be seen running from the bog towards my cottage🙂

I could see that she was ashamed already from a distance but I did tell her that she was the most shameful dog that ever existed from a family of the most shameful dogs there ever were. I have no idea what she has done and I´m not sure I want to know either🙂 But she was exhausted when she came home so now she´s sleeping deeply in my bed🙂 It´s friday night and it´s SciFi night at channel six🙂                                                                       Have a great day now!

20 thoughts on “Winter wonderland and a dogs that just makes me crazy :-)

  1. Well prepare for a knock on the door. Some chicken farmer is coming to call on little Nova and he plans to light her little butt afire. Better keep her on the leash for future walks until she can behave. Poor NOva. With accent on the NO! I think you have to pressure wash the moss off that door and likely do the entire door before preping it to paint. Oil based paints work really well on outside woods and keep the moss away for years.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Thankfully there´s no farms that way for several miles🙂 and I do hope she didn´t chase any deers either.
      There´s no problems when we´re out on walks, but she likes to jump outside the fence out from the garden when I´m not with them. So from now on I´ll have to follow them out to the garden every time they want to go out.

      Yes pressure washing is needed on that door but no paint will help on the north side of the cottage. The paint we have here now days is so environmentally friendly that it doesn´t stop anything! The moss and algae will come back within two or three years anyway. I think it is the humidity in the air here that helps them more than enough to start growing on our houses.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. Nova! bad girl! But thankfully she returned! Sorry to hear about your snowfall, I know how anxious you are for No More Winter. Here the snow has melted, the yards are very swampy..but it was 60 degrees F today! I have some crocus blooming…can you believe it?!! March is notorious for late winter storms, so I am not convinced we are done yet. Have a superNova weekend!

    • Hi Robin!
      The good thing is that she did come back, not all dogs doesn´t find their way home again after running away like that. She does feel ashamed now🙂 She looks very guilty when I talk to her and sort of hides behind Orvar🙂🙂

      If the weather forecast is somewhat right this time this snow will melt away rather fast, but this can continue all through April too here. Nothing but snowdrops shows over here yet.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer….uh oh nova……bad doggy! maybe you should get one of those small doggy cams and put it on her collar and then you will know where she has gone. i guess she is still learning. it is 75 degrees here today. yuck! i have a wood framed house too and in the humidity i live with in the warm months, i deal with rotten wood way more than i care to think about. thank heavens she at least came back! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Yes bad dog🙂 But she feels ashamed and shows it very obviously every time I talk to her🙂 She even hides behind Orvar when she can🙂🙂 and I didn´t even yell att her🙂 But the good thing is as You say, she came back! Some dogs actually gets lost when they run away like this.

      Yes wood houses and humidity is no good combination. We have the same problems even if we don´t have it as warm as You do during summer.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Bad Nova. My first thought: she’s not neutered yet, is she? I’d be getting that done as soon as possible before I let her off lead again. She’s old enough.
    You can paint the door the algae green color first, let it dry, paint over that with the brown paint and then when the brown is dry, sand it down to the green in those areas that you want the green color to show. You have a lovely photo to go by so it should be simple to replicate that look.
    It’s sunny, 68F and very, very windy here. Tomorrow we will be back in the 30’sF again. One day of lovely weather and I’m already spoiled.
    Enjoy your day and don’t look out the window at the snow. It’ll be gone soon.

    • Hi Caryn!
      No she isn´t neutered yet and but I was thinking of doing it soon! For a second I started to think that she was in heat already, but that shouldn´t happen for yet another month or so.

      That was a good idea about the door! I do like how it looks now even if I know it would destroy the door pretty fast if I didn´t do anything against it. I´ll think about that when I can start painting the cottage this spring!

      68F! Oh that would be wonderful to have here now, but that will take quite some time before that happens even for one day only🙂 If the weather forecast is close to be right the snow will melt down within days again!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • My bitch hit her first heat at 6 months. Nova is older than that. I think you said 10 months. Does the shelter provide any monetary help towards the surgery?

      • Hi Caryn!
        I found out she´s actually 18 months now! She was born September second 2009. I guess it´s because her bad and troublesome time growing up that makes her that childish as she still is.
        No since neutering is something that I really don´t have to do it´s nothing they will help with financially. Over here it´s still almost tabu to even think that thought, but things are thankfully changing.

        Christer.

  5. Snow again? That must be very boring! Think it’s going away … and it comes back.
    Here today we have just the phenomenon of the moon the sky is cloudy : (
    Christer ,thought about painting the door green? Green Beetle! I can imagine that the neighbors would call you eccentric is not it? :))
    New still has no sense, I can imagine their concern. what will you do now? Leave the collar?
    Kisses to all and a reprimand for Nova:)

    • Hi Didi!
      Yes it is really boring but this can happen even in April if we´re unlucky.

      The sky is clear here so I´ll take a look at the moon later to see if it is full yet or if that happens tomorrow night.

      My neighbors already thinks I´m a bit eccentric🙂🙂🙂

      I think Nova will stay calm for some time now because I can see how ashamed she is🙂 But I´ll have to follow her out in to the garden when she wants to go out again. She behaves perfect when we´re out on our walks though.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Well, snow would make me happy but then I no longer have to go to work in it. Today’s photos, as always, are gorgeous. Oh dear, Nova was a bad girl. Are you sure she is not yet in heat? I guess you will know soon enough. Maybe she is acting guilty merely because she ran off????

    • Hi Nancy!
      Well I have to say that I don´t shout of joy when I see snow, ever🙂🙂

      I think it´s in late April or early may that she will be in heat, so this was just a bad case of curiosity I guess🙂
      Yes she knows she´s not allowed to run off like that so it´s the reason she acts guilty. She´s continuing that this morning too🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. I bet you felt a bit of panic when she didn’t come when you called!
    I would be so frightened if one of mine got away! Just last week I found an old pitbull walking down the sidewalk ( I plan on blogging about but I just haven’t had the time) luckily I found the hysterical owner…I’ll right a post pretty soon if you want the details, but her owner was so worried! Thank God I saw and stopped the dog….
    Anyway. Sorry about the snow!
    I have an idea about your door. I painted a rock (with a dog face on it) as a memorial marker for a friend. I sealed it with marine varnish (the stuff they use to seal boats) and I think it was by “Valspar” and the rock is outside in all weather and she says it still looks fine. So, maybe you could sand your door. prime it. paint it and then seal it with a marine varnish!🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Well not panic directly, but I could see how much problems I would get if she didn´t return home again. I had to call the police and the rescue centre to tell what had happened and why and that would only lead to more problems.

      The few pitbull´s I know is the most adorable dogs there is, but the thing with pitbull´s is that if they snap they do become really dangerous. But then again, all reasonable big dogs does become dangerous if they snap. But most people doesn´t mind if dogs takes a walk by themselves here as long as they don´t hunt deers or moos🙂 So big Orvar is usually greeted with a smile when he walks around without permission🙂 Nova however is way to knew here so we really don´t know if she would hunt those animals. But they do love the fact that she´s a great vole and mice hunter🙂🙂

      The problem (in this case) with our boat paints is that they are just as useless as our house paints. It´s not allowed to have any kind of product in them that might kill any marine life. Very good for the environment and the bottoms of lakes and ocean, but quite useless on boats🙂🙂🙂 or anywhere else for that matter.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Den första bildens himmel är kanonsnygg! Precis exakt den färg som vi egentligen ville ha på fondväggen. Men…det är ju inte så lätt att få till det flammiga – när man vill ha det flammigt. : -)
    Alltså fick vi välja den gråblå istället och nu är väggen målad och det blev riktigt snyggt. I vitrinskåpen framför, 3 st på 1 x 1,20, så har gubben nu målat bakgrunderna med precis samma nyans fast lite mörkare och i metallic. Blev ännu snyggare!
    Han håller precis nu på att sätta fast bakstyckena och dom nya belysningarna, ska bli vansinnigt spännande att snart få se resultatet.
    Visst känns det obehagligt när ens “råttor” försvinner så där. Man har ju inte en aning om vad dom ställer till med. Som tur är har det ju bara hänt en enda gång med Penny (och en enda gång med taxen Brasse fast han alltid gick lös), så nu har jag henne kopplad när jag är ensam ute med henne. Hon hör ju inte när man ropar på henne och har väl dessutom en släng av “Alzheimer Light” skulle jag kunna tänka mig.
    TREVLIG HELG
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Nä flammigt får man det bara när man inte vill ha det🙂🙂 Hoppas ni får det resultatet ni vill ha när allt är färdigt!

      Jag hade ju precis börjat lita helt på den lilla damen och så gör hon såhär! Men idag har hon skött sig exemplariskt och hållt sig bara ett par meter framför mig🙂
      Orvar och Hector traskar ju iväg titt som tätt men bara ned till grannen för att tigga något gott🙂 Nu får vi hoppas att hon håller sig till tomten framöver, men jag kommer att få följa med ut den närmaste tiden i alla fall.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  9. Well, that was your hour and a half of spring! A little more cold and then you’ll have another hour and a half of summer — then, back to snow! I’ve got it all worked out. Poor Nova! I bet she was scared when she realized how far off the beaten track she was and, yes, you are very lucky she found her way back. Just exploring her territory, I guess. She should have left you a note and had Orvar give it to you.😎

    Don’t know what to say about the door. Wood and humidity don’t mix and that just means you’ll always have something to do! Isn’t that fun?! Enjoy your TV and tea, and Nova — who came back…

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Yes spring passes way to quick🙂🙂🙂

      Well to be honest I don´t think she got scared at all🙂 Not until she came home again. They did beat her a lot at her first owner so I guess she was expecting something like that I´m afraid. But I only pointed towards the door and let her in. She slept next to my head all night after that. But I have to say that the couple that had her before me have made a miracle with her. She was nothing like she is now when they got her. All thanks to them she´s now a happy little dog!

      Most houses and cottages are made of wood here so we all know what we have to do for the rest of our lives, paint, paint and paint🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

